Business Solutions

2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(144 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(144 Reviews)

Reviews


WB
gravatar
WALTER B.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/18/2022
Verified Review

Car inoperable

Car became inoperable after only 3 days from purchase Waiting almost 5 weeks for repair and no word from service department as to when may get car back. Cannot really rate car due to having to drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/18/2022 12:08 PM
we’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

DB
gravatar
DUSTIN B.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/22/2022
Verified Review

Customer Service / Vehicle Nightmare (2 NEW CARS)

Requested a call to discuss. Transmission issues, headlight condensation, buttons for windows and moon roof window work part time. Dealership has been a nightmare to work with and ended up going somewhere else. (1) of (2) cars is in the shop now at a different dealership and the other will go in soon after. BlueLink is a joke and works to remote start for cold weather options 4 out of 10 times. Really want to talk about this with a higher up.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/25/2022 09:07 AM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MI
gravatar
Michael I.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/12/2022

Problems started with the dealership to cruise control to corporate lack of response

My problems started when I bought this car from the dealership. The management at this dealership is toxic. They used the lack of new inventory to their advantage and forced you into things that you may not want saying it is required such as their extension protection plan. The car hadn't even been delivered yet and said I it was a part of the price. They tried to force me into their financing as well which was higher than the going rate. I did get my own financing and avoided that problem. My next problem was the day after I acquired the car. My first say fully driving it. I drive a lot of miles so I take advantage of the cruise control. Well my cruise control has a problem. It has two modes of this problem. One is it throttle up for half a second then go back down. It does this over and over. I may stop for a while but it will go back to it. It doesn't matter the speed, road condition or if I am going up or down a hill. It will do it. It will do it when I am on the road by myself. My version doesn't have the dynamic cruise control so that doesn't play into it. The only mode but less likely is it will slow down for half a second and then go back up to normal and does this back and forth. I have also had the problem where if I try to speed up or slow down the car will jerk even with a single mile an hour change. All of this gives a person nausea. On a rare occasion when I have increased the cruise control it will jump up to 110 mph. I will have to disengage and reset it to stop the car from going up in speed. The gas mileage is good but not as high as I was hoping. I am about 47 mpg. I am not a speed demon and usually go the posted limit or slower. Most of my mileage is highway/freeway. I have noticed that when the batteries are charging that the engine revs much higher than I would expect as it gets noisy. I had it in the shop to look at the erratic cruise within 2 weeks of getting the car. The shop agreed that there was a problem, but someone at corporate whom they consulted with said there was no problem. When I got my car back the shop guy gave me the number for the corporate office to open a complaint. I talked with someone and opened a case. I was told that I would be contacted within 10 days but I got no response back. I have tried several times in contacting this person and they are never available. I did talk to one person a month later and they would not escalate this problem at that time. A couple of weeks ago I talked with someone at the normal service and they said they were going to escalate it up but I have yet to hear back still. I am starting to have connectivity issues with my phone in the last week or so as it drops the connection ever once in a while. This may be an app glitch but at this point it is just another problem to add to the list. If I didn't need a car when I bought this one or I had other options for a high mpg car, I would never have bought it when first dealing with the dealership.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JV
gravatar
JAY V.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/15/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai Elantra Hybrid

Wouldn’t buy another one gas mileage is reason for buying very disappointing. Can’t get 53 to 56 miles to gallon. More like 46 to 50 never ever got 53 and I am a conservative driver. Also when cruise is on the car is constantly surging to maintain the cruising speed.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/15/2022 01:07 PM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KD
gravatar
KATHRYN D.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/20/2022
Verified Review

Better off getting a Hyundai model that is not a hybrid

The car gets good gas mileage, but it is nowhere near what is advertised and not worth the extra cost of the car when you can get the same, if not better, fuel economy from the other Hyundai Elantra. I even got a car in a color I didn't want with the interior that I didn't want just so I could have this specific car for the fuel economy. So, it's a big letdown when the fuel economy is not what it should be. Everything else in the care is as expected and good quality, but it's just not worth it to get a hybrid when Hyundai has so many other cars with better features and the same fuel economy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PS
gravatar
Patrick S.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/21/2022

Cruise Unusable & Mileage Not Even Close

Purchased a new 2023 Elantra HEV Blue 11/2022. If the car functioned properly it would be OK for what it is, a low power, no frills, economy car for commuting. Unfortunately, the economy and commuting are awful. When the cruise control is on the rpm continually surges, which is aggravating to the point of being unusable for me and also makes bad fuel economy even worse. Also, I'm getting mid 30s for mpg on the highway, at best. This is with driving the car very easy and forcing EV mode as much as possible. Basically, this car is awful for its only real purpose of getting me down the freeway comfortably and efficiently. I took the car into the dealer and got zero help. Cruise functions "as designed". I'm guessing they didn't design it to be worse than anything built since the mid 70s. If you're looking at one of these cars please take it on the freeway, test out the cruise control and ask yourself if you'd still want it getting only 35mpg.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KV
gravatar
KULDIP V.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/02/2023
Verified Review

Not happy

Vehicle lurches, speeds up unexpectedly . Head light water build up.....................................................................................................................................
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/02/2023 11:28 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. 

JM
gravatar
JAMES M.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/07/2022
Verified Review

Great for gas mileage, Terrible for ride quality

The vehicle gets phenomenal gas mileage, however the excessive noise when driving is unbearable. The overall drive quality is also not great. We have a 2022 Hyundai Palisade and a 2021 Hyundai Sonata, both of these vehicles are phenomenal. However, the 2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid is FAR from keeping up with the the other Hyundai makes on the market. Will not be keeping this vehicle long.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AA
gravatar
ALVARO A.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/15/2022
Verified Review

Awesome mpgs at a riding quality sacrifice

This is a sleek looking vehicle packed with safety features at an affordable price. It delivers on its advertised mpg, specially if you use the SMART eco feature. The riding quality is subpar and the cruise control is erratic. This vehicle needs some more refining to be considered against its competitors in this segment.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/17/2022 10:00 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

IW
gravatar
IRVING W.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/20/2022
Verified Review

Car looks great, but the MPG is nowhere near its supposed level

The dealer and communications was fantastic. However, the MPG which started in the mid 50's quickly went to the mid 20's and has stayed in that range ever since. Makes no sense that a hybrid should have such a low MPG.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/20/2022 11:50 AM
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

SH
gravatar
Svitlana H.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/20/2022

I love everything about my car besides 1 MAJOR issue

I bought this car brand new wrapped in plastic, of the truck, in Schenectady NY. I loved everything about the car the first day. The cool design, mpg, how smooth it goes… Until I start using navigation system. It doesn’t work at all. No matter if I try to use car navigation or my phone. It gets lost, doesn’t realize where the vehicle is, shows random turns. I got lost twice and almost got into the accident once. I wonder if Hyundai would take responsibility if I kill myself because of their maps. I tried doing everything rep on the phone told me to do - hard reset, reset to factory settings, different phone, different wire…. The most frustrating part- when I called the dealer to schedule service (car was literally 100 miles in) they went “we can schedule you in a week or two, we’re busy”. I apologize, but what am I supposed to do these 2 weeks, with my brand new car? Buy a phone mount? In that case I could get 2006 vehicle, but I was sold on this extreme advance technology of the car. Also when I brought the car in, dealer went - we don’t see anything wrong with it, maybe we’ll replace the whole radio. So, they want to take half of an interior of a BRAND NEW car apart, because of something which seems to be software issue. Widely advertised blue link doesn’t work properly as well. It tracks the car, but doesn’t perform any action like door locking, remote start, etc. after being on hold for 40 min, blu link rep told me - it’s an engineering issue, we’ll contact you within 10-15 business day with update. So same question here - what am I supposed to do during this time, not to drive? Greatly disappointed with customer care. My experience with my brand new car was ruined, looking into solutions now. Contacted Hyundai of America, awaiting response.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BH
gravatar
Brent H.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/02/2022

Unhappy with MPG

The listed MPG is well below 20 percent. It makes paying for a hybrid unrealistic. The dealership seams to think we should accept the numbers. I would have never bought a hybrid, I would have gotten a regular gas vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EL
gravatar
ELEONEL L.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/07/2022
Verified Review

Customer service from the dealership has been horrible.

Sales rep does not return text or phone calls. I have not received my mats or key fob. I was promised when I purchased the vehicle. The customer service is way below average. I would love for someone to call me back
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/07/2022 02:54 PM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. please contact our customer connect center at (800) 633-5151, so we may further address these concerns. Thank you. ^cc 

WA
gravatar
WISAM A.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/30/2022
Verified Review

.........

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TJ
gravatar
TIMOTHY J.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/22/2022
Verified Review

Cars are too expensive

I had to get a new car because mine was totaled. I had a rental that was a hybrid and really enjoyed the drive type and the fuel mileage so i got interested in the elantra HEV. Great car for city driving. Highway mpg is only about 50, rather than the 56 advertised (still very good). The cruise control is terrible, it feels like you're gonna get whiplash from it. The features are nice though. I wish that the passenger seat had height adjustment and that the entertainment system was the same as in the gas version of the elantra. I don't see any reason that they had to put a worse entertainment system in the HEV when it's supposed to be the "futuristic" car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BC
gravatar
BRETT C.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/20/2022
Verified Review

Burning smell comes from car, only 41 mpg average, cruise control is stop and go

Mpg is terrible only 41mpg average. There’s been a burning smell since I got it. EV is very loud and has a humming/buzzing sound. Cruise control is very uncomfortable, as it stops and goes. Styling and entertainment are great
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/20/2022 08:37 AM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

PH
gravatar
Paul H.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/28/2022

Fuel Economy Not as Advertised

We were excited to buy our Elantra Hybrid Blue and even waited a couple of months for one to be delivered to the dealership. If I had known that the mpg would be so drastically under what is advertised, I would have saved the money and bought a conventional gas model or searched for a different hybrid. On most short drives, which is what we typically use the car for, we get under 20 mpg. Averaging under 40 mpg total so far, way less than the promised 54 mpg combined it is supposed to get. I baby the accelerator and try to stay in ECO or EV mode as much as possible, and still, terrible results. I don't know why Hyundai is allowed to get away with this and why they are not called out for this blatant misrepresentation in the media. Other than this glaring failure, it offers a nice ride. The infotainment system can be annoying and glitchy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KC
gravatar
KYELOR C.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/02/2023
Verified Review

Great Car, Terrible Dealership

I love the car 100%. However, the dealership Clay Cooley in Rockwall, TX provided the worst service I have ever experienced. They were late to deliver the car, snuck in added expenses, avoided my calls, sent my registration information to the wrong state, took months to fix their issue, and never returned calls. I had to remind them to fix their mistakes with the paper work for over 3 months. I still do not have the proper information to register my car after purchasing it in October of this year… it is now January.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/02/2023 09:47 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. ^cc

DJ
gravatar
DAVID J.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/03/2023
Verified Review

Broke down 7000 miles

Vehicle jerks forward in out of ev and engine power. Accelerates when braking. This just happened at 7000 miles. I called dealership and made appointment to drop off car. At this point I don't know what is causing the issue.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/03/2023 01:44 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, David. Please know that we have created a case with our national consumer affairs team. They will be reviewing your vehicle's history and reaching out to you to discuss your situation further. Thank you. 

MS
gravatar
MIKA S.
2023 Hyundai Elantra Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/03/2023
Verified Review

Gives more than I expected, but rattle interior which gives me a headache

Everything is almost perfect. But in the first month, around 400 miles rattle sound occurred around the radio controller. Drove it for another few hundred miles, abnormal sound from passenger’s front and rear door. I would love to give this car a 5 star. But I couldn’t. I have never experienced this in my life. Buying a brand new car and rattle interior occurred in just about a month
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/04/2023 08:07 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Mika. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. 

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 142 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Puente Hills Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(5075 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(214) ReScores