Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EL
Elizabeth L.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/21/2020
Very low maintenance.
The car had 139k miles when I bought it in 2015 and had one repair done in the 5 years I have had it. It is older and has 152k miles on it now but I still appreciate how reliable the car has been for me.

Pros
Reliable and smooth ride. Low maintenance.

Cons
Not a fancy car but a fancy car is not always the better choice. Reliability over beauty is important to me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Josh S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/22/2020
Garbage
I have owned this car for 2 years, i have basically replaced every part in this car and it still continues to break. I am driving it normally and its mainly highway driven, but it seems I have a new problem every other month going from power steering pump to radiator to alternator and battery and etc.

Pros
Features

Cons
Paint chipping
Broken hatch handle
Headlights fog up fast

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sean M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2018
2002 Hyundai Elantra Milford, CT.
I Love it in Red. Transmission repaired under Warranty had recalls taken care of. Dependable reliable great ride, Cargo Space great. Recommend it. Jennifer Figueroa one of the service people I highly recommend as well. She will take great care of you and check on Recalls on vehicle and does what needs to be done. You can trust her.

Pros
Space, Price, Reliability, Feel, Maintainability great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRIAN M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/21/2018
2002 Hyundai Elantra GT
Nice little car, great features. But the 2002 Hyundai's have one thing in common, Bad Rust. I had to get a lot of things replaced because of rust. I also have a 2002 Santa Fe with the same issues. My understanding is the medal they used in the early models were from China, and they did rust proof the ones they sent to northern states that have snow. Hyundai is a Great brand. I would recommend just getting a new model.

Pros
Features and Reliability.

Cons
Bad Rust.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Louise M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2018
Our 2002 Hyundai Elantra hatchback
Our Hyundai is 16 years old and just hit 100,000 miles. We’ve been very happy with it. The leather interior shows no sign of wear and the exterior is showing some signs of age but still looks good.
This Hyundai is not the most comfortable and the driver’s seat is too low. But i’m Sure that in 16 years these issues have been addressed.

Pros
I love to drive a stick so I think it’s fun to drive. For a 16 year old car we’re very happy with it.

Cons
Most are due to the cars age. It’s a bit noisy and the driver’s seat sits too low. But for its age, it’s been a good car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cecelia C.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2018
Dependable
I have been very pleased with this vehicle. It has served me well for almost 16 years now with minimal maintenance. I recently had an accident in which I struck some cones left on the highway by the electric company crew at approximately 50 miles an hour. The car in front of me served but I had no time to react and hit them dead on. The only part replaced was the bumper. I was amazed at how well it held up. I was actually on vacation when this happened and was able to continue my trip and return home safely. I also think the fact that I carry nitrogen in my tires enabled me to complete my trip. The dealership suggested nitrogen some years back. This dealership is the BEST !!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Evonne P.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2017
Elantra
Dependable car

Pros
Correct size for limited parking spaces in the city

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Challen A.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/29/2017
With proper maintenance, the car has been reliable and I'm over 100,000 miles
Gas efficient, appreciate the non-skid brakes as a feature.

Pros
Appreciate features like anti-lock brakes, reliable air conditioning,

Cons
Concerned about whether quality will hold up for another 50,000. I am told that the frame is rotting and I only have two more years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jeff O.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/18/2017
02
Great lasting car

Pros
Long last reliable

Cons
Now it is old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Donna S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/02/2017
Good car
Despite it's age, this car provided us with a smooth ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
Eric Y.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2017
02 avante xd
Best car hyundai makes!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Janet S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2017
2002 Elantra GT Sedan
I love my Elantra. She is the right size for me and still rides well, still has the pickup speed when I need it. Still shiny black, almost looks brand new, and low mileage. Thanks Hyundai. Also thanks for NOT using those Takata airbags, thank goodness.

Pros
Black car looks best clean and shiny, so I recommend you wax car right after waiting 2-3 weeks so you save the clear coat sealer. I have always had good pickup speed to enter expressway traffic when you need it, and still have it today = nice engine. Comfortable seats, good lumbar support, good storage, large trunk space, good on gas. A definite low maintenance car, as I do not have 50k miles on her yet. I still love my car.

Cons
Speakers could have been better, but mine are still strong. Plastic headlight protectors dull badly after being outside all the time in all weather conditions and cannot really be "shined clear", so lights not bright enough during night driving. Black metal trim is fading due to weather/age, same w metal wiper holders (windshield). Hubcaps could have been all metal vs the plastic coating over metal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2017
2002 Hyndai Elantra
Great car , drove to work every day. owned it for 15 years , and now my niece is driving it to work. no major engine problems over the years. only good service. I am very grateful. outstanding.!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leo W.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2017
Hyundai Elantra 2002 Quality keeps going
Had this vehicle since new in 2002. Never a major problem, only normal maintenance items. This is a great value at a great price.

Pros
Price
Reliability
Not costly to maintain or insure

Cons
Some lag in pick-up, not a major issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
Eric Y.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2016
2002 Avante XD
Greatest car made at the Ulsan plant in Korea
I take pride in my Avante!, "Avante"
(The original car name in Korea)

Pros
Problem free car!

Cons
Remote control
Bluetooth
Abs
In dash navigation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RICH B.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/09/2016
GLC
We bought this car off the showroom floor in 2002. Other than routine maintenance, there have been no mechanical/maintenance issues. We truly love this Great Little Car!!

Pros
Very, very reliable. When you twist its tail, it is always ready to go!

Cons
Not the cars fault, but the older we get, the harder it is to get in and out of it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SABINE E.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2016
Great car
I bought this car used. I keep on top of my regular maintenance and have had no major issues other than regular wear and tear. Great car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tim P.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2016
2002 Hyundai Elantra
I have owned a total of 4 Hyundai vehicles and have had no major issues, just regular maintenance on all.

Pros
Very quiet engine
Great fuel economy

Cons
Could have a little more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHELLEY M.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2016
I love my Elantra
My Elantra is 14 years old and has never let me down. 309K miles later it is the best car I have ever owned hands down. I keep it up to date with all the routine maintenance and I think that is the reason.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leo W.
2002 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/11/2016
Hyundai Sevice the Beat
Have always brought this vehicle to McCafferty Hyundai for service and would recommend to all.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Sticker said 33 hwy and that's what I actually got constantly on interstates i.e. 300 mile trips.

Cons
4 cylinder so not fast on pick-up when AC is running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 26 in total