Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BB
BILL B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2017
2005 Hyundai Elantra
This is absolutely the best car I have ever owned. 223,100 miles and still going strong.

Pros
Reliable, good gas mileage, manual transmission, plenty of cargo space

Cons
The brakes wear out quickly, some road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2017
Great little xar
Got this cR see no miles. Great in gas a d good design,

Pros
Good on gas and handles well.

Cons
Small but it's ok with me .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
Heidi D.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2017
I've spent less than $2000.00 in 12 yrs.
Very low maintenance vehicle, we drove it brand new off the lot in 2005. I fried the clutch in 2012 which I replaced at another shop but it's held up. Got a new high pressure power steering hose in 2014. New back brakes in 2008, 2010, and 2015 and a timing belt in 2011. This car drives like new despite my abuse and to think we were going to get a Honda all those years ago! Glad we bought this hatchback GT. Easy on gas too 24 to 32 mpg depending on use, not one check engine light either. Oil changes at the dealership can't be beat and their customer waiting area has more amenities and food and coffee than any other I've been in. I go there sometimes just for coffee and popcorn.

Pros
Easy to maintain , quality , value, sips gas, no DEQ problems. Battery lasted 8 years before replacement.

Cons
Can't maintain alignment, rear brakes pads wear out quickly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
David F.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2017
05 Elantra sedan
Standard transmission. This has been a reliable car for 11 years now. At 80k miles, it hasn't hit a major issue yet other than wear and tear on tires and regular maintenance points.

Pros
Reliable, gas efficient, handles well

Cons
Birds won't stop pooping on it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Philippe D.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2017
Over 10 Years of Trouble-Free Comfortable Driving!
I bought my Hyundai Elantra in December, 2005. The vehicle was serviced annually at the Northtown Hyundai dealership, for the New York State inspection, and routine oil change, etc. During the 10+ years, I have never had any problems with the vehicle! Nothing has broken or failed to work as intended. Although I live in Buffalo, which does have harsh winters with snow and cold, the vehicle is showing very little rusting anywhere. I've never had a vehicle before that has been so trouble free for so long! I plan on keeping my Hyundai for many more years.

Pros
Trouble free, sporty, stylish, fuel economy, sun roof, roomy trunk space, comfortable to drive and ride in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
William P.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2017
Excellent value comfortable ride
No trouble history love this car will purchase another one in the future

Pros
Good ride nice handling

Cons
None that is worth talking about

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MARIAN M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2017
Great Car for the Money
Very pleased for the look and quality of my Elantra.

Pros
Sporty. MOON ROOF. SPOILER. Cruise control. CD player. Great mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Laura E.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2017
I love my car
This car has been fantastic. 12 years and still running strong. Looking forward to another 12 years!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Vaneet K.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/03/2017
Elantra Review
Owned vehicle for 11+ years, runs well, low miles 60K, however has a lot of rust so the body may fall apart before the car.

Pros
Good car for short runs

Cons
Car has a lot of rust
Gas mileage City is around 20 MPG, which is quite low for this type of car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Karen N.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/27/2016
Love my Elantra
This has been the most dependable vehicle I have ever had! I love my Elantra!

Pros
Everything is (still) great - good-looking styling; very dependable!

Cons
Wish I could move the seat just an inch or two further away from the dashboard/steering column.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Richard K.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2016
Reliable ars
193,000 and still going. Would have liked the ac to have lasted longer

Pros
Good quality

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Guenter S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/20/2016
dependable
never let me down

Pros
absolutely dependable

Cons
its not a mercedes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Van M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2016
2005 Elantra Still Running
One large problem at around 75K with the transmission after car used for eight years. Hyundai fully covered fix under warranty. Pretty good.

Pros
good economical transportation

Cons
after thirteen model years looks dated (duh)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Virginia M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/25/2016
Love these cars! Have had a total 5, gave one to my daughter, and later she bought another!
Gets good gas mileage, as long as you keep up with the proper maintenance, the car will last you for a very long time! I always get a good trade in value on it, when I purchased the next one!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Eric S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2016
2005 Hyundai Elentra Hatchback
A very reliable automobile, comfortable to travel long distances, and also allows me to carry many different items for normal daily activities

Pros
While maintained by Coastal Hyundai, this car performs very well

Cons
A little noisier interior than very expensive cars. The computer system generates excessive radio frequency interference which hinders using my mobile amateur radio.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Darlene N.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2016
Overall the best car i have owned
Overall the Hyundai Elantra is the best purchase I have ever made! March 2005 I drove in to the dealership and had the best experience ( back then you could haggle the price) They were very professional and informative. I have never looked back! I have over the years sent many customers to them because they made you feel like family. I have had all of my car maintenance there--many times I hear from friends WHY! it cost more! I say no...they know my car- they know me (they greet me by name every time I enter the service entrance), I know my car is being worked on by Hyundai certified mechanics and all in all I have really only had to deal with maintenance issues on the car! The warranty was awesome and they are fair with prices and always have coupons of some sort. When I am in the market for a new car (which is hard to think because the Elantra is still running strong after 11 years. Don't get me wrong I would love to be driving a new Elantra GT but the need is not there yet! Thank you Tony and the Pride Hyundai family.

Pros
everything is great considering the year of which the car is at this point

Cons
should have gotten the sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Marie W.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2016
2005 Hyundai Elantra
I just love my 2005 Elantra
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Angela S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2016
Great cat.
This car has served me well for the past eleven years with regular maintenance at my local Hyundai dealership and is still going strong. Very satisfied!

Pros
See above.

Cons
None come to mind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2016
Things get better with age
Am original owner car. This is the second Elantra I have owned. Love the look and feel of car. The Elantra feels comfortable. Great driving auto.

Pros
Great Value for the money.

Cons
Nothing I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHARLES T.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2016
Great Auto
No regrets in purchasing my 2005 Elantra and 11 years later still no regrets. If I need another auto then it is another Elantra, purchase or lease, and with no second thoughts. Also, keeping up with maintenance and with the dealer is the best way to go. Yes, the costs may be slightly more but well worth it and you can drive away feeling safe and confident that your auto is in the best shape it can be!

Pros
I would purchase or lease another Elantra!

Cons
None from my perspective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 74 in total