2005
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(74 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


VK
Vaneet K.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/03/2017
Elantra Review
Owned vehicle for 11+ years, runs well, low miles 60K, however has a lot of rust so the body may fall apart before the car.

Pros
Good car for short runs

Cons
Car has a lot of rust
Gas mileage City is around 20 MPG, which is quite low for this type of car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jose O.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/07/2017
Gas saver.....bumpy ride but economical.....
Money savings little car 🚗....
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/12/2017
Okay for reliability
Always need reliability and Hyundai has proven that for me.

Cons
Because it was bought for economy it lacks a lot in comfort for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Virginia M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/25/2016
Love these cars! Have had a total 5, gave one to my daughter, and later she bought another!
Gets good gas mileage, as long as you keep up with the proper maintenance, the car will last you for a very long time! I always get a good trade in value on it, when I purchased the next one!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Guenter S.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/20/2016
dependable
never let me down

Pros
absolutely dependable

Cons
its not a mercedes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FP
Francis P.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/14/2017
My 2005 Elantra Hyundai has been a good car overall.
I have had some service issues through the years but overall, this has been one of the best vehicles I have owned.

Pros
Gas mileage, dependability, warranty

Cons
Comfort, ride, exterior, wheel covers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Raymond P.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/27/2017
Good Car for the price.
Good reliable car for 12 years and counting.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tyrone H.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2018
Old faithful
I've had my car for 7 years now, it's been good to me. Been through a lot, traveled a lot of places. I'll drive it until it dies. Not too big but not too small. Easy to park, very convenient vehicle to drive. Great for going to work or running errands.

Pros
Excellent on gas

Cons
Not a lot of power pulling hills

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kelly M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2018
Reliable
This is a great car for those on a budget, but want a car that will always be reliable with very low maintenance. The overall exterior of the car doesn't look as dated as other cars in its class. The gas mileage alone is a great feature.

Pros
great gas mileage

Cons
doesn't have AUX cord ports

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JOE V.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2015
excellent car
Car has over 130000 miles and have hardly done anything to it. Just regular maintance and really great on gas for being a 2005 it just keeps going strong

Pros
Great gas mileage and easily to maintain

Cons
Not many bad things I can say I wish car was a little bit higher from ground being
Tall stooping down to get in car is a challenge,my fiancé has no problem.other
Than that pretty awesome

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Leonore H.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2015
2005 Elantra
Love everything about it - handling, exterior and interior, comfort, gas mileage

Pros
Good gas mileage both in city and on highway, using regular gas
Except for replacing battery, maintenance has been minimal

Cons
Cannot accelerate quickly after a full stop

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Bernard M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2015
05 Elantra
Roomy, economical, handles nicely, durable, reliable, plenty hp,.

Pros
DOHC engine delivers. Plenty of room in back seat.

Cons
Paint scratches too easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHARLES T.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2015
Great Auto
I purchased my Elantra as it was rated highly by consumer reports. Originally I wanted to purchase a Honda Civic but the rating by Consumer was less than that of the Elantra. Would I purchase another Elantra? Yes without hesitation. The new and improved Elantras are what I wanted however, at this point in time I need to stay with my 2005. The only item I would have like on my 2005 would have been alloy wheels instead of wheel covers. 8

Pros
Happy with my original purchase and the fact that it is holding up after 10 years.

Cons
Cannot think of any Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LYNETTE W.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2015
Elantra GT 2005
This little car has taken me a lot of miles with no major problems. All the work I have had done is regular expected maintenance- no surprises. I am thinking that with regular service, this car should last a long time.

Pros
This car:
I bought this car with 30,000 miles on it. It now has over 148,000.
It has been reliable.
It has a strong engine.
It has had very few problems, and nothing major.
It has lots of miles with no change in performance. It seems to have an engine that won't quit.
It has good trunk space that is accessible from the back seat.
It seats five people.
It has leather seats.
It has a tinted moon roof, which is great for air circulation without blowing everyone away.
It has a great v-rroom on acceleration.
It has a pretty smooth ride.
It has a great air conditioner and heater.
People have wanted to buy it from me.

Cons
*A little more foot room in the back would be nice.
*The hydraulics went out on the hatch, but I can get the parts and have it repaired fairly inexpensively.
*Gas mileage could be improved.
*You have to be extra careful about the blind spot because the head rests and vertical side panels between the front and back windows appear pretty close together at the blind spot. .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MARIAN M.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2015
Special Edition
I like my car because it is an upgraded Elantra. I would consider another Elantra in the future.

Pros
A great value. Sporty. Reliable.

Cons
I would only want a smoother and quieter ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
ETHEL L.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2015
I Love my car!!!
I Love the style, the size, the color and I get very good gas mileage with my car, if I ever have to purchase another car I would definitely consider another Elantra, the car is just awesome with top performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jon D.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2015
Jon's 2005 Hyundai Elantra
Before I bought this vehicle, I devoured every online article I could find concerning its looks, finish and fit, and operation. I rented one in Denver, testing its characteristics on actual flat and mountain roads, and made the decision to replace my old Bonneville with the Elantra. That decision has never caused regret; even after 122,000 miles, I still like the look and feel of my 2005 Elantra.

Pros
The Elantra's 2.0L engine seems perfect for use in central Illinois. It has plenty of pick-up on non-mountainous terrain, and its gasoline usage figures have consistently been 40+ miles per gallon.

Cons
I discovered, using an identical Elantra rental vehicle, that the mountainous terrain of Colorado Springs was daunting for the 2.0L engine. There simply was not enough low-end power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ARLINE W.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/21/2016
best car ever
after 10 years - this is the best car I have ever owned.

Pros
comfort and reliability

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Louis C.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2016
2005 Elantra
When I bought my vehicle in 2005 I didn't know how long I would have it. 16 years and 213,000 miles later, I am still driving it. Among other reasons, it's reliability and low cost maintenance is why. When I look at the new models while I am having my car serviced, I think to myself I want a new Elantra however I realize don't NEED one. One day, when I am ready to purchase a new vehicle, It will definitely be an Elantra and most likely will purchase it from Causley Hyundai because of their Service Manager Andrew and Service Advisor Austin. I welcome for consideration, any offers for a new Elantra.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LO
Linda O.
2005 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2016
Love my Elantra!
My Hyundai Elantra is a workhorse! I can haul bags of mulch in the hatchback or fill it with luggage and travel across the country. Reliable, gas efficient. And easy to handle in tight spaces. Love it!

Pros
Small, cargo spacious, gas efficient, reliable

Cons
Not enough knee space for my 6 foot husband, cheap stereo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 74 in total