2006
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(75 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


EP
Elizabeth P.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/16/2017
Problems
Since 2006 I have had multiple strange problems...first, the wrong gas tank on my car, which had to be replaced, original tires wore completely out around 5,000 miles, dead battery at low mileage, which they reimbursed me for, dash split in half, windshield wipers rusted out quickly, drivers inside door handle broke, don't get the gas mileage was told to expect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KV
Karen V.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/13/2017
Runs very well, but has body issues
I have no/very few issues with the run of the car, but the interior has lots of small, cosmetic or minorly function-impairing issues. Two door handles have broken off on the inside, the trunk latch doesn't work well, etc. Overall, everything is almost universally good under the hood. However, anything that CAN be made with cheap plastic is made of cheap plastic, and shows it.

Pros
Reliable, good acceleration and braking. Smooth drive with very few issues. Good heating and air conditioning.

Cons
Cheap work on body and very few extra features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerry S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2019
Good car for the money
Reliable car for senior bought new in 2006 xxxxx xxxxx cxxx xxx xxx xxxxxx xxxxx cxxxx xxx sssssss sssssss xxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxx xxxxxx xxxxx xxxxxx cxxxx xxxx cxxx xxxxxx

Pros
Good gas mileage easy to handle

Cons
Front seats are not comfortable over time expensive to replace dash light $200 at least steering wheel does not adjust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
ROY L.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2015
Very dependable transportation
Purchased in 2006.My wife has been in a couple of accidents in this vehicle.I feel she was well protected.The car mechanically has been superb! Many little things in the interior have not held up well.-Center console material peeling away,passenger visor mirror fellout.Floormats (the ring that holds the mat to the floor gave way.mat frequently slides under gas/brake pedal)

Pros
Very dependable! Great gas mileage.

Cons
Little things inside cabin breaking/falling apart.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
Peggy E.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/14/2016
Love my car
I have not had any major problems with my car. It is 10 years old and still runs well.

Pros
Easily fits in small places. Drives great. Got a good deal on it.

Cons
Not enough leg room in the back seat for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carolyn F.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/19/2016
DON'T KNOW WHAT THIS CONCERNS
VERY PLEASED HOW WELL IT HAS SERVED ME FOR PAST 10 YEARS!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Steve B.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2016
Love the performance
Drives like a sports car

Just mediocre design

Pros
Pickup and handling

Cons
Design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jaimie H.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/18/2017
Great commuter vehicle
I drive 60 miles per day roughly and this vehicle has stood above and beyond my expectations.

Pros
Great gas mileage, reliable, smooth feel

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AU
Ahmed U.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2017
Good car
It is a pretty reliable and budget car. Good mpg and decent engine. Less expensive in maintaining and good running.

Pros
Less maintenance
Efficient fuel consumption
Good handling

Cons
Needs some regular work after 150,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
GARY N.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2017
Overall performance
Had car since it was new it's the best car I had in a long time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GN
GARY N.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/26/2017
My Hyundai elantra
Had car 11 years always reliable
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2018
Enjoyed the car until the last two years
I enjoyed my Elantra for ten of the past twelve years. Then the maintenance costs started increasing compared to its monetary value. I took my car for the majority of its service needs back to the dealership where I bought the car. The paint started peeling off the rear trunk. I'm not sure if it is related to the Florida heat and the fact that my car sits outside for the hottest part of the day while I'm at work or if it is a flaw in the painting job done by Hyundai. About a month ago water started seeping into the front headlights of the car. It seems that the rubber seal around the headlights dried up. The dealership gave me an estimate of $500+ (including labor) to replace the headlights and said that they didn't have any type of a sealant to apply around the headlights to prevent any more leakage. On the positive side, I have enjoyed how comfortable the seats are (two different levers to adjust the height and lumbar support), how spacious the inside is (front and back seat areas) and that the car has good acceleration when necessary. The trunk is quite spacious and the back seats fold down if you need more trunk space.

Pros
See my notes in my review.

Cons
See my notes in my review.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jackie S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/21/2018
love my elantrabluebell
I love my Elantra it maybe eleven years old but it runs good and gets me where I need to go.If I get another car it will definitely be a Hyundai Elantra! it is worth the money I paid for it and I have enjoyed it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marilyn S.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
2006 Elantra
This vehicle is reliable and cost efficient. It is a little on the noisy side, but it is comfortable and gets you where you have to go with little problem/concern. I feel it is a good vehicle for the cost.

Pros
reliable

Cons
vehicle is a little on the noisy side

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CLAUDIA J.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2015
10
10

Pros
Love my Elantra

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Charles E.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2015
2006 Elantra
Never had any problems with this car.Took it on many trips.It is a reliable vehicle.

Pros
Excellent car

Cons
As for me there is no cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Sally A.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2015
My 2006 Elantra
I bought my Elantra new in 2006 , it's got about 54,000 miles on and it still basically runs like a clock except when the left turn signal decided to break down. I had the part replaced and now I'm off and running as usual. I have no intentions of trading it in for a newer model, can't find a reason to. I'm retired and it's a perfect car for m.8

Pros
driven my Elantra cross country, very comfy to drive for long distances

Cons
Needs better control of A/C vents
Needs to be able to raise the seat height. I'm only 5'2" so have to sit on a driving pillow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Victor B.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2015
Elantra Only Needs Maintenance
My Hyundai Elantra has only needed maintenance work for 9 years now. That's the way a car should be built. Its quality is impeccable. I recommend Hyundai cars because I get high quality and a great 10 year/100,000 mile warranty, both for a low price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jim C.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2016
great car
Safe, comfortable & reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RHONDA N.
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2016
Great Car!
One of the best cars I've ever owned! (I have nearly 200,000 miles on mine and it's still going strong.) I recommend the Hyundai brand to all of my friends and family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 75 in total