2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(209 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ED
Edward D.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/08/2018
Great Car
This is a car for those who want to keep a car for the long haul. I have had mine for almost 10 years. It is great on gas and very low maintenance. The only drawback is the fact it is not for large build people but on the otherhand...once in there is sufficient Room up front. When driving it feels super safe.

Pros
Reliable, good on gas and low maintenance

Cons
Compact car (this car is not for a large frame person)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Ted J.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/30/2018
Best compact car out there.
My Elantra came with the best vehicle warranty of any other car. Have never had a problem with this car. It rides and handles great and is quite comfortable on long trips. Best of all, you get a lot more for your money than the other makers compact cars.
I plan to buy a new Elantra in the near future.

Pros
Extremely reliable.
Great warranty.

Cons
Front seat cushions need to be a little longer to help better support lower thighs. Seat cushion rears need thicker foam support.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mary R.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/11/2018
EXCELLENT
EXCELLENT. THIS IS MY MINIMUM. RIDICULOUS TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER ADD MORE CHARACTERS, HERE THEY ARE XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!

Cons
NEEDS ROOF RACK.
NEEDS BETTER PAINT JOB

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nicholas P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/09/2018
car caught fire, hyundai jerked me around on repairs
Car caught fire when turned off sitting in my driveway. The ABS system shorted out and burned up. How this happened without the key in it I will never understand. 88k cars were recalled for similar defect but mine wasnt. It was only through God's grace that the car wasnt parked in the garage that day or it would have burned down my house. Since it was parked in the driveway a neighbor saw and called the fire department. Hyundai spent 6 months jerking me around and refusing to repair the car. I have never been treated worse by a company. The car has a major defect in it that can burn your home down do not buy. The interior and everything is very cheap and chintzy and falls apart after a few years of use. My car is about 10yrs old but the newest models are not any nicer. No major improvements in a decade but they cost $5,000 more!

Pros
It holds up pretty well in accidents I've wrecked it a few times and it held up. My honda fit got in one minor wreck and was totaled.

Cons
Quality is poor, the horn quit working after a year , the alarm would go off randomly ,sun visors fell apart, AC goes on and off constantly and the ABS system caught fire when the car was off. traction control system randomly goes on and off. its a piece of junk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Guy S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2018
We’ve bought our 4th Elantra ... that pretty much says it all!
Over the years, we have purchased 4 Hyundai Elantras. We drove the third one 293,990 miles before passing it on to someone else. It’s still in great shape and, hopefully, will go many more miles! The only reason we bought a new one was so we’d be starting new and have it paid off before retirement.

Pros
It’s great!

Cons
No cons so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Judith B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2018
WOW
I have a 2009 Elantra. It's the most reliable car I've ever had. It's comfortable and easy to maneuver. Would but another Hyundai in a second. Im looking at the new.Kona. it seems just the right size for me, but since my Elantra only had 29,000 miles it might be awhile.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Geraldine G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/25/2018
Elantra 2009
My Elantra has been a reliable good vehicle for past 9 years and now at 166,000 miles continues to be dependable. I have enjoyed it’s maneuverability and comfort in seating. Most features have been durable and the car has maintained its design as a good style.

Pros
Drives well - great turning radius - good sound system with radio

Cons
Noise level could be better (road noise)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michelle B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/16/2018
My Elantra
I love my Elantras. both my husband and I have one and we have bought some before. I would buy them again. I would recommend them to anyone that needs and nice comfortable smooth riding vehicle. I got mine at AutoFair each time. I like that place and then give me a good deal.

Pros
Everything's a pro for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Cheryl L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2018
Elantra
Great car...I love the sun roof and the blue tooth...It runs smooth, easy on gas, ans reliable. I recommended it to one of my church members and she bought one herself...She is happy and satisfied with her elantra..

Pros
great car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michael G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2018
Probably the best new car I have ever purchased
Bought new and have had it 10 years. Only problem is that now and then the door locks up when closed without setting the alarm. Weird. Also, had to replace the struts during warranty period. I like the big room inside for a little car.

Pros
Big room inside for a little car.

Cons
Now and then the door locks when I closed the door without setting the alarm.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lori R.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2018
My 2009 Hyundai Elantra!
I am very happy and feel safe driving
my 2009 Hyundai Elantra. I purchased the
Elantra brand new. I have had no major
repairs or major issue with my Elantra. I have had basic repairs to my Elantra. Would love to
purchase another Hyundai Elantra when it is
time for a new car!?

Pros
Nice comfortable ride! It has been dependable for me all these years!

Cons
The way the newer cars are built today
verses back in the day, I do see that if a rock
or something flies up and hits my car I am
more prone to ding marks! Or someone
dings my car with their door. Always leaves
a mark!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HG
Helen G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2018
Hyandai Elantra
My elantra is a 2009 and no lie it has been the best car I have ever purchased. It holds its value enough that I was able to borrow against it twice after it was paid off to get stuff done.? Love My Haundai!

Pros
Price
Gas mileage
Features
Retains value

Cons
Yep! Can't think of one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Guy S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2018
2009 Elantra served us well
Our 2009 Elantra has 293,990 miles on it and is still running strong. We just bought a 2018 Elantra and hope it runs as well as the 2009, which we hope to sell. The 2018 is our fourth Elantra so, obviously, we like the car.

Pros
Good looking inside and outside. Reliable.

Cons
Can’t last forever.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Valarie S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/14/2018
Dependable Elantra
Have had my Elantra for 9 years and still shines and feels like new. Never any problems and is very reliable. Only negative thing I have experienced is it doesn't stop well on snow. If I keep it longer I may try snow tires.

Pros
Very reliable for 9 years old. Still looks snd feels like new.

Cons
Doesn't brake well on snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Donna B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2018
Good car
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxcxxxxxxcccccccccxcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccçhgggggvggggggggggggggggggggggggccgfdffdddfdddffffffffffffffffffggggggggggfcdddddffffffffffffk

Pros
Quick and easy to drive.

Cons
Basic features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/04/2018
9 Years and Keeps Delivering
We bought this car new and have maintained service through Hyundai. Delivers a good ride for the price. Still looking nice after 124,000 miles with only the transmission starting to fail. Didn't expect that.

Pros
Gas mileage
Trunk space
Parking ease

Cons
Not so peppy engine
Transmission problems at 124,000 miles
Paint durability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Diane P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2018
My 2009 Hyundai Touring.
I have owned my Elantra Touring since buying it new in 2009 and could not be more satisfied. As a registered nurse (BSN) it is imperative I fill my shifts at Yale. I have commuted over 75 miles from home every day (all year) and have never had a breakdown. When I bought it my husband researched cars by comparing the technical components and compared them to a similar BMW. The Elantra was about half the price at the time. I think he was right, 180,000 miles with only scheduled maintenance service and I still commute with it every day.

Pros
Lots of room, good gas mileage and reliability. Inexpensive to maintain and good mechanics and features.

Cons
Slightly under powered, and fabric seats did not wear well, stained a bit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jacqueline R.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2018
Amazing!
I love the people at Rick Case Hyundai in Duluth! The people there are genuinely nice and friendly. They are a professional staff and it shows every time I visit. Thanks to everyone for servicing my vehicle!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/24/2018
GARY'S REVIEW OF MY 2009 HYUNDAI
;I REALLY LIKE MY CAR. I MUST TELL YOU THOUGH, THE ELANTRA IS NOT RATED AS A GOOD SMOOTH RIDE. I HAS NOT RECEIVED A GOOD RATING AS PER CONSUMER REPORTS. I ALSO BELIEVE THE PRICES FOR A NEW CAR TO MUCH TOO HIGH.

Pros
EASY TO DRIVE

Cons
NOT GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Ange L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/21/2018
2009 Hyundai Elantra
The 2009 Hyundai Elantra when purchased was at a reasonable. Back then it did not have all the features of the newer cars but it was strong and reliable.
The only maintenance is the wear parts and oil changes.

Pros
reasonable price at the time
Reliability is good

Cons
Not the best performance but good enough for the street

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 209 in total