2009
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(194 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


NP
Nicholas P.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/09/2018
car caught fire, hyundai jerked me around on repairs
Car caught fire when turned off sitting in my driveway. The ABS system shorted out and burned up. How this happened without the key in it I will never understand. 88k cars were recalled for similar defect but mine wasnt. It was only through God's grace that the car wasnt parked in the garage that day or it would have burned down my house. Since it was parked in the driveway a neighbor saw and called the fire department. Hyundai spent 6 months jerking me around and refusing to repair the car. I have never been treated worse by a company. The car has a major defect in it that can burn your home down do not buy. The interior and everything is very cheap and chintzy and falls apart after a few years of use. My car is about 10yrs old but the newest models are not any nicer. No major improvements in a decade but they cost $5,000 more!

Pros
It holds up pretty well in accidents I've wrecked it a few times and it held up. My honda fit got in one minor wreck and was totaled.

Cons
Quality is poor, the horn quit working after a year , the alarm would go off randomly ,sun visors fell apart, AC goes on and off constantly and the ABS system caught fire when the car was off. traction control system randomly goes on and off. its a piece of junk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
RAYMOND E.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/07/2015
2009 Hyundai Elantra touring
Trim stinks. as far as warranty don't let them suck you in it is not honored.

Pros
Great turning radius
Looks good

Cons
Car does not last Trim on door cut my hand cheap material looks good out the door does not last. Dealership does not honor warranty here in bluffton SC. VERY HIGH ROAD NOISE. .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Danny B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/30/2017
09 elantra
Rough riding vehicle, poor suspension and loud road noise. Cheap and poor quality door handles. One of mine just snapped off. I will never buy another Hyundai and will tell others not too.

Pros
Nice headrest. Manual transmission. Gas mileage.

Cons
Cheap console. Poor suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Susan A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2016
Many issues
Bought new in 2009. Had to have transmission replaced, radio, horn, window issues, many inferior parts. Hopefully they have addressed part problems with newer cars.

Pros
Good service dept in Meriden CT. Warranty is good for 100k

Cons
Bad parts installed. Inferior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sandy C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/13/2017
Hyundai Elantra Year 2009
I do not like the beige color seats, as they get dirty too quick. Also, my CD player went out and I was told I had to get it fixed somewhere else. I wasn't happy with this. My Mitsubishi was 12 years old and the cd worked in it. Now I have to listen to Cirrus XM and it cuts out more than it plays. I now have had to put front brake pads and rotors on it. I just think that these things should not be happening to a car of 7 years old, and a one owner car at that.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Shenese T.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2017
Efficient Vehicle
One amazing feature of my vehicle is that it is excellent on fuel and quite durable in the winter.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
John G.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/12/2018
Car required a one thousand dollar transmission repair with only 85,000 miles.
Since my last four cars (three Hondas and a Suzuki) each got over 200,000 miles without a major repair, a one thousand dollar repair on a car with only 85,000 on it does not speak well for the brand. This was a well cared for car with probably 75% of mileage as highway cruising miles. Other than this, my biggest complaint was the high beam switch; instead of being a rocker switch that returned the knob to its starting position, the knob was pushed away from my fingertips and required me to remove my hand from the wheel. Better sound-proofing would have been nice.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/24/2018
GARY'S REVIEW OF MY 2009 HYUNDAI
;I REALLY LIKE MY CAR. I MUST TELL YOU THOUGH, THE ELANTRA IS NOT RATED AS A GOOD SMOOTH RIDE. I HAS NOT RECEIVED A GOOD RATING AS PER CONSUMER REPORTS. I ALSO BELIEVE THE PRICES FOR A NEW CAR TO MUCH TOO HIGH.

Pros
EASY TO DRIVE

Cons
NOT GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/18/2019
My 2009 elantra
I really like my elantra, but, I must say and this can be verified by Consumer Report, this is not a smooth ride. Probably needs more suspension on the car. Could be better on gas as well. Would probably by something a bit larger next time.

Pros
Bought this used, at a good price.

Cons
Does not ride as smooth as I thought.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOMENIC B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/26/2015
Love it!!
Love my Elantra. Great car for the price. Easy to maintain. It's my second Elantra. Will be looking for my third maybe next year.

Pros
Value for the price.
Fun to drive.
Dependable.
Good room front and back.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TOM L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/29/2015
for what the car is, is great
VERY maneuverable with excellent steering and braking. Tough BIG inside felling little car with lots of inside space, and trunk space.
VERY HAPPY with the car. Don't expect a lot of power for like going up a freeway ramp, as car seems to struggle with that.
Once it gets going, it goes VERY well. Have driven it back and forth on highways to California 10 times.
Everything is located well, lots of nice adds with mone work well-
cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine- AC is GREAT for AZ, and car cools down fast. Car goes down the road very straight, stops and steers great,
but there is cabin noise- like on occasion, i check to see if a window is open.
GREAT value car- tough as nails, great size/maneuverability for getting into small parking spots, great AC- nice gas mileage.
My wife loves the car.

Pros
VERY maneuverable with excellent steering and braking. Tough BIG inside felling little car with lots of inside space, and trunk space.
VERY HAPPY with the car.
Once it gets going, it goes VERY well. Have driven it back and forth on highways to California 10 times.
Everything is located well, lots of nice adds with mone work well-
cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine- AC is GREAT for AZ, and car cools down fast. Car goes down the road very straight, stops and steers great,
GREAT value car- tough as nails, great size/maneuverability for getting into small parking spots, great AC- nice gas mileage.
My wife loves the car.

Cons
Don't expect a lot of power for like going up a freeway ramp, as car seems to struggle with that.

cruise is fussier than Nissan, but is fine-
there is cabin noise- like on occasion, i check to see if a window is open.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DEB A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/04/2015
She's Been A Good Car
After driving this car the first few months, there were a few things I would have changed- but I was used to driving Buicks. One issue of the 2009 at least -is road noise. Secondly would be the cheap quality of the tires which are worthless in winter and needed replaced before 10,000 miles. As time went on- She needed new brakes before 20,000 miles, and I am not a brake rider. There have been a few recalls - but I respect that Hyundai accepts responsibility and takes care of know problems.
On the plus side is she has not needed any major repairs, good gas mileage, good visibility of your surroundings, seats that are very adjustable, large trunk. I joke and call her my pedal car- but truth be told - she is peppy enough to do anything I have asked her to do.
The biggest drawback of me buying another Hyundai is that I have to drive at least 40 miles one way for any repairs or maintenance. For this reason I go to a local shop- which probably voided any warranties.

Pros
Still no major repairs, NO rust yet. (6 years)

Cons
Road noise, poor quality brakes and tires
No "local" Hyundai dealership for warranty work or recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
VIVIAN M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/28/2015
Some slight problems
Although I do enjoy driving my car around town, I have had some technical problems. There were a couple of recalls one for ESC which drained my battery repeatedly and when I brought my car for service they replaced fuses but the same problem occurred. Eventually, a recall notice came in and eliminated the problem but it did cost me a couple of batteries and service repairs. I also had sunroof repair, but other than that my car is running well. I recently replaced a transmission and my 6 year old car only had 58,000 miles! However, the warranty covered everything. My car is great on mileage, easy to handle and comfortable during long drives and still appears new.

Pros
Good looking vehicle and handles well on the road. Great on gas mileage. Awesome trans warranty!

Cons
A couple of recalls and minor sunroof problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Diane L.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/07/2016
Great small car
Great car!

Pros
Bought car used with only 30,000 miles, 3 years ago. Now it has 98,000 miles. It has required basic maintenance and upkeep.

First Hyundai purchase, not my last.
-Gas mileage
-Comfort
Use for occupation in sales and drove 36,000 + miles last year.
Car looks good and is easy to drive and operate.

Cons
1) Poor driving in snow and ice. First year I purchased car was in Midwest winter weather. Had a few scares with car sliding on highways, exit ramps and residential streets.
Purchased snow tires to improve driving in these conditions. That helped. Need new snow tires again. They lasted 1.5 seasons and that's with rotating them seasonally.

2) Driving long distances in car in hot weather where temperatures reach 75 (F) and higher. The interior gets hot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
ROY A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2016
2009 Elantra
Dependable, roomy, economical.

Pros
Reliable roomy economical

Cons
AC does not cool well at idle. Sluggish on steep hills from a dead start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bret B.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/13/2016
Great Commuter Car.
Let me say this isn't a luxury vehicle, but one designed to be inexpensive, great on gas and reliable. It is all these things.We bought it when my wife was going to school in Reno (more than an hour and half away). We averaged about 35 mpg overall. The only maintenance we've had to do is the changing of the timing belts every 70K. I don't long the "interruption head" design of the engine, which isn't forgiving of any tardiness in getting those belts changed (huge repair bill, if they break). Relatively comfortable seats; we drove all the way to Yuma AZ from Susanville, CA and even with my bad back, it was bad at all. However, at 6' and 240, I'm right at the edge of size they will accommodate. Blue tooth for the phone is cheap and poor sound, but it does work without problems. Engine power isn't going to rocket you around slow traffic, but it's adequate for passing safely and quickly. My biggest complaint (hence the 4 stars) is the road noise. It seems like there is virtually now sound insulation in the car. It's the noisiest car I've ever owned. .

Pros
Great economy
Inexpensive
Reasonable comfort

Cons
Bad road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Miriam M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/07/2016
Love my car
I bought it used 2 years ago. It's fun to drive. We've transported building materials for our house, taken long trips in comfort.

Pros
Stylish and comfortable interior

Cons
Electrical problem with the rear window controls from the drivers door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Michael C.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2016
just what I wanted
reliability and comfort
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
Gena A.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/27/2016
I Love my Car!
It's not the prettiest car but it hasn't given me any major problems and it's a 2009! I can rely on it to get me wherever I'm going. I think my next car will be a Hyundai also.

Pros
It's a good car.

Cons
There is a concern with me getting cancer from the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
C M.
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/07/2017
Good, comfortable ,affordable transportation.
Good, comfortable ,affordable transportation. The interior was a bit “fisher price” with hard plastic on the door panels & dash. But it was definitely not a deal breaker considering all the bells & whistles that came w/the car for the money. It drove better & was more comfortable than a briefly owned Toyota Corolla & while not as comfortable as my old Camry, it was a close 2nd. Plus the air cabin filter, something my Camry didn't have, was an absolute blessing in the summer w/VA famous “super pollen”. The 28 mpg is correct as stated, all features work & I've had no major repair issues since my purchase, I would buy this car again.

Pros
See above

Cons
Side impact crash results could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 194 in total