2010
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(350 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DR
Daniel R.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/03/2016
Not very satisfied
Has a lot of issues hopefully the newer models were built better
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Amy S.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/20/2018
Think twice
I have a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. Bought it new in 2010. I chose it for the price and the 10 year warranty. I thank God that Hyundai USA does stand behind the warranty. If they didn't, it would have went to the junkyard a couple of years ago. Once it hit 50,000 miles, EVERYTHING started giving me trouble. Among other very expensive parts, it has already had the transmission replaced(refurbished) and the steering column.

Pros
Good gas mileage, plenty of power for a 4 cylinder.

Cons
Dealerships/service departments( we are on our 3rd one), have to really stick to your guns on getting the warranty to cover parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

DB
DONNA B.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/30/2016
2010 Hyundai Elantra
The overall vehicle has been good with few repairs; thankfully the 100k warranty saved me because of THREE transmission replacements throughout the life of the warranty.

Pros
Great car overall, good gas milage

Cons
Transmission problems - 3 times in 100,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mike A.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/14/2017
Bad milage
Dealership are great but millage on the Elentra is poor. I will change o Ioniq this summer.

Pros
Great company and awesome dealership.

Cons
Poor mpg. never got above 25 mpg. Was supposed to be 38 mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Glenn E.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/23/2017
Gets me where I need to go
For a small budget car, it runs reliably and gets me where I need to go. It isn't ad comfortable as other cars and doesn't handle as nicely as I would like.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Not very comfortable to sit in
loud road noise
handling on curves is rough
mpg isn't as advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Deb A.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/03/2017
car only had about 45,000 miles on it when it started gushing oil. including the timing belt the repair was over $1400.
My daughter bought the car used but since it had been longer than 5 years Hyundai would cover the repair which was wrong since it was obviously a defect with the manufacture of that car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Glenda B.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2017
Good car
I like car just wish the transmission was not going bad on it

Pros
It’s a great small car

Cons
Don’t think the transmission should be going bad on it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jose L.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/29/2017
Awesome
Awesome thank you!

Pros
Good

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gustavo E.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/22/2018
Economy car, but very efficient
I buy my Hyundai on 2010, after to crash in the front and back, after professional bodybuilding fixed. My car still like new, of course follow the manufacturer recommendations. Because the people want a good car, but they only put gas, and sometime oil change, but only a few follow the recommendations, is better pays a couple hundred a not a couple thousands.

Pros
Very economic, and good driving

Cons
The material for inside, not good quality, the a/c controler lost the cover and look scratch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carolyn G.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/11/2018
2010 Hyundai Elantra 103,000 + miles
I did a full research on multiple brands and models of cars prior to purchasing. Once narrowed it down, I checked the pricing in more detail with various types of sites and discussed with friends. I came ready and with positive thoughts. They didn't have my first choice of red with decent interior. I don't know if ANY dealership ever will. So I settled with silver/grey. Everything was excellent for a good while till the transmission. Then seeing scratches on the car in the oddest places...no not by grocery carts. I felt like was in St. Augustine for repairs WAY TOO much.
Well, it's nearly been 8 years since I purchased the car. Warranty expired just before I hit the 7 year mark. According to the Service Advisor, I should be fine for quite some time after ALL of the major maintenance work I just had done.

Pros
Excellent Brakes, Very roomy for 5'10" lady's long legs, this year Elantra is very spacious front AND back. 10 year/100,000 mile warranty

Cons
Transmission replaced within 3 years!!! Exterior paint very, very light. No tinted windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michelle G.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/15/2018
My 2010 elantra
Nice enough for the price when I bought it. Might buy different hundyai in 2019. Seats need to be more comfortable. Better quality AC aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
It was very affordable at the time. Nice little car if a buy again will just add some pizzazz

Cons
Seats not so comfy on the back!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2018
A $.70 part
I had a clicking noise a while back on my steering column. The part was 8nder a dollar to fix yet they charged me over $300 to fix it which to me is highway robbery. How can a part that cost under a dollar and only take 20 min. To fix cost over $300 please explain that. I love my Hyundai but very very very disappointed with the price I had to pay for a part that cost less than a dollar. I only had the car less than a year and this dealership had the Gaul to charge me that kind of money. I am going to buy an Iconic in 2020mbut it won’t be from this dealership.

Pros
It gets decent gas mileage.

Cons
The tires wore out to fast. I only have 36,000 on the vehicle and it needed new tires. Not good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gustavo E.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2018
Very good car reasonable price
Very good car by the price, but The part special on the interior bad quality, my a/c controller lost the cover shine, years ago they have recall to change the inside door handle for poor quality, they need recall for the A/c for the same problem.

Pros
Economy and efficient on gas

Cons
The part special on the interior bad quality, my a/c controller lost the cover shine, years ago they have recall to change the inside door handle for poor quality, they need recall for the A/c for the same problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Darlene M.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/04/2019
Elantra,
I like the size and the mileage. It is easy to handle. I do not like how far down I sit, hard to see out the back. There has been a lot of problems with the GPS, not the best. Not sure I would purchase another one.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
I sit too low, GPS leaves some to be desired, Telephone does not work properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MICHELE W.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/11/2015
2010 Hyundai Elantra
I love this car, very little to keep it going, although I did have a battery issue only four years into owning the car, and have had small repairs
needing to be done, it is a great car, fantastic on gas mileage, yet apparently not much for trade in value at least not to the dealership that sold it to me. Yet Hyundai you can't beat the 10 year warranty!!

Pros
Great on gas, great warranty,

Cons
Small things seem to go wrong with the car, warranty issues. Also found this to be the first new car that I had to replace the battery after only four years. Other than that it is a great car, yet bad on trade in value to Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GERALDINE S.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/05/2015
Loyal Customer
My first Hyundai was brought in 2005 loved it. I upgraded to a 2010 because I like the car and the warranty that went with it. I must admit it was the first I had heard of this kind of warranty on a car. I have no complaints except the one with my 2010 Hyundai so far. I just want them to fix that lock and I should not have to pay for it. I reported the malfunctioning of the lock over a year ago, while under warranty. This could be a potentially dangerous thing or put me in a dangerous situation.

Cons
Malfunctioning door locks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOHN G.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/11/2015
good ride, good on gas , very reliable
The car is terrific however the only complaint is its fishtailing in extreme snow. I do not feel as safe while driving in the snow because of this fault.

Pros
all good

Cons
problems driving in extreme snow
I have to work regardless of the amount of snow on the ground.
there are times when I don not feel safe.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
GEORGE D.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2015
2010 Hyundai
Runs good fits my needs.1010
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Cindy M.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2015
Get-ee Up & Go~
We purchased our 2010 Hyundai Elantra from a private party & was immediately impressed by the sporty-like suspension. This vehicle is wonderful on gas mileage and is ideal for road trips because it contains comfortable seating.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Keone M.
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/12/2016
elantra
2010 elantra is a winner. great car so far. just maintain oil changes and regular maintenance of recommended part changes and the car is good. looking to step up to a bigger car in the sonata this year. the sport package looks awesome
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 350 in total