2011
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(388 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


VP
VICKIE P.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/09/2015
Hyundai Elantra
Took 2 years to get used to driving loose and touchy steering. People don't like driving my Hyundai because of it. Totally ridiculous to have to look on internet for how to change a headlight bulb due to lack of directions in service manual and hard as heck to pull headlamp out on drivers side without scratching vehicle. Should not be that hard for what should be an easy fix. And don't tell me, as Hyundai service tech did," thats how all cars are nowadays". Bull! Last time I buy a Hyundai. Though it is a step up from a Kia Rio.

Pros
Looks good. Pretty interior lights. Lots of doodads if you're into that. Fairly good gas mileage, 32mpg. Reliability good for three plus years so far. Brakes excellent. Probably due to my excellent non bad braking habits. Has good acceleration to get around people driving in passing lane. Go the speed limit and move to the right.

Cons
Touchy steering. Terrible under the hood maintenance accessibility. Makes a disturbing noise at start up til mechanics are lubed than quieter ride. Horrible trunk opener position where your left driver foot can hit it at anytime. Oooops. Pull over and shut trunk, again. Can'y wait to pay it off. Jeep here I come!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sandra R.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/31/2018
Poor-Low Quality
The vehicle is nice up until you hit 100K miles on it and the engine goes completely to waste. I bought this car because I was told that it was reliable and dependable car. It has not been and continues not to be the car I spent thousands of dollars on. I work hard for my money and I expect a good quality car. Hyundai is definitely not the product I was told it was. It is very unlikely I would ever purchase another Hyundai and recommend others to seek elsewhere. At 100,000 miles it should NOT be going to crap. I’m very disappointed and a very upset consumer of this product.

Pros
It looks great

Cons
It’s not a good quality car and a waste of my hard earn money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dean B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2019
Engine went at 48,000 miles
A 2011 with 48,000 miles had the engine go. Hyundai would not honor the 100,000 powertrain because I was not the original owner. We bought the car used from a little old lady who died with 11,000 miles on it. At 48,000 the bearing went bad on the 3rd cylinder. Only after the dealer fought with them did they cover parts. The dealer said they had seen this before on these cars.

Cons
Engine quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Katherine F.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/26/2019
Wouldn’t recommend
Traded it off due to engine knocking at 105k . I only put 22k on it and always maintance it. Why would they sell a certified pre own car if they knew about the engine issues with theses cars . It’s all over the Internet wish I would’ve researched more before I bought it but was in a bind for a car at the time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Rodney F.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/09/2019
ELANTRA HAS ENGINE PROBLEMS
The engine is making a loud metal sound when you first start it up. The service personnel said they knew exactly what the problem was. In researching the issue, I have found many others with the same engine issue. The engine is still under warranty, however, I was notified that the engine would need to be torn down to investigate. I was told they may or may not cover it under warranty. If they did not, I would have to pay to have the engine put back together. Since it is a known problem, they should take care of it under the "100,000 mile warranty". I hate it for the dealership, but, I cannot recommend buying a Hyundai based on my experience with the car.

Pros
Good mileage.
Fun to drive.

Cons
Engine issues.
I bought the car based on the advertised fuel mileage, this information was not accurate.
Rides rough, but it is a small car.
Hyundai does not want to stand by the "100,000 mile warranty".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Stacey B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/08/2015
Too many problems
I have been, overall, disappointed with the 2011 Elantra. I bought this car for my son and it has had quite a few problems and issues. I drive a 1999 Honda CRV with over 245,000 miles on it and have had less mechanical issues in 16 years than I have had in the 3 years I have owned this Elantra. I will say that while the car was under warranty Hyundai did honor it and made the repairs but now I understand why it is necessary to have such a warranty. Now that the car has passed the warranty period, every repair will fall on me and that makes me anxious. I also notice a difference in the service I receive at the Hyundai dealership as compared to the service I receive at the Honda dealership. I cannot remember the last time I came to have the oil changed (and I have the oil changed every 3 months) where there was not something else that needed replacing, repairing, etc. The car only has around 80,000 miles on it and I have had problems with it since around 35,000 miles.

Pros
Looks nice.
Roomy interior.

Cons
Too many mechanical issues.
Bad experience with service department (multiple times).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
John H.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/28/2016
Hate this car.
Very lightweight. You can feel EVERY bump in the road. Car gets blown around too easily in moderately high wind. Road noise very high. Factory radio not very loud. MPG not as high as advertised -- took a class action lawsuit for Hyundai to 'fess up to that and offer petty restitution.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/15/2017
Cute car, but this car has alot of issues
The overall looks of this car is very cute and sporty, roomy and cute for a mom/dad with kids. That is why I got the car. However, blind spots and more blind spots, you have to bob your head several times to see . The mirror and the door make a huge blind spot on both the right and left. You will miss pedestrians, cars at stop signs, motorcycles and bikes, so if you buy this car, until you learn it, you will get honked at and hopefully not crash. The seats stain so fast and with just water. What kind of material stains with water that isn't silk or satin? Apparently, this material does. The car dents and scratches very easy. I got my car before they changed the gas millage rating. I drive about 150 miles a day mostly highway and I get about 30 miles to the gallon. My car seems to have light issues, break lights go out frequently in my car I have changed them about every 3 months. There are spares in my glove box because I am always having to replace lights. The car engine seems to do well. The transmission sensor on my car has gone out twice now $995 fix (warranty expired). I have also had my barrings replaced twice (both under warranty) the drive train replaced (under warranty), the steering wheel electronics i.e. cruise control, volume, phone etc. system broke ($600 fix warranty expired). Car runs winney and rough shifts it has always done this and one of the complaints on the car. The other issues, this car is horrible I mean horrible in wet and snowy conditions. I have bought the best freaking tires money can buy for winter and my car tire just spins. The car is too light and it just don't go. You will get stuck on hwys going up hills so put spare clothes in your trunk and make sure your phone is charged. There are other issues with this car things just are always needing fixed on it. Last repair, my oil turned to sludge somehow, I get regular oil changes and the oil light wasn't on, but when they were checking my oil they said the dip stick was dry. So $300 repair for diagnosis and sludge clean out and oil change. Of course I currently have 200745 miles on my car, so it does seem to last a little while. I got 250,000 on my chevy malibu before my trans went out and 260000 on my chevy caviler before I traded it for the Malibu. So I guess we will see if this car can make it to 250,000.

Pros
Cute, good amount of head and seat room. Good size trunk. Cup holders are good.

Cons
Blind spots by mirrors and doors, easy to stain seats, dents easy. I never found the car "fun to drive" it is cute but it isn't like a fast car that holds the road tight or anything.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Bridgett G.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/15/2018
2011 Hyundai Elantra Limited
Not impressed with this car. I’ve had major problems with the gear shift twice , engine parts twice and mileage useage on gas. I do not recommend purchasing the Elantra. However Great service as always with service advisor Jose and service assistant Delores. Delores is the only service assistant that is patient and takes your concerns seriously. Both Jose and Delores take the time to hear your car issues and concerns. I feel Jose is very honest about the best course of repairs for my 2011. Delores makes sure to communicate my message to Jose for me. Delores makes me feel like an appreciatived customer. I have been a customer of Frank Hyundai for more then 25years and I’m always treated professional.

Pros
Cheap purchase

Cons
To many recalls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Diane B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/22/2018
Potentially dangerous, unresolved issued by Hyundai USA
After owning this vehicle for 7 years, and maintaining it regularly, I am now left with a vehicle that is unreliable to say the least, dangerous at most, because of an issue that is effecting other Elantras and that cannot be identified or resolved by Hyundai. Hyundai needs to step up it's game and figure this out. Lives are at risk, as well as your reputation as a car manufacturer.

Cons
Very uncomfortable front seats.
A lot of road noise is heard while driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OB
Oscar B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/20/2019
Lemon!!!
I'm not sure how many time I brought the car for same engine code problems. Can't even defend on it anymore.Now I'm closed to 100000 or 10 years warranty. Hopefully it won't happen to my 2017 Tucson SE.

Pros
Good size

Cons
Suspension won't last.
Engine codes problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YG
Yvette G.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/23/2019
Sound System
The only thing I dislike is the sound system. I wish I had paid more attention to it before purchasing it. I can't hardly hear the radio when I travel on the highways. The sound system is very poor.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Ridge A.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/22/2015
Affordable but not without issues...
Nicely equipped vehicle for the money. The creature comforts are nice but the drawbacks are readily apparent when driving. Road noise is annoying but that's an inherent problem with most small vehicles and I wish manufacturers would address that. The steering is not quite up to par and I believe I read that has been tweaked in the model years following. The rear suspension is terrible when traveling over bumpy roads it skates all over the place. I haven't lost control but had I been speeding I wonder what the results might be. The final negative note is on the mpg fiasco that Hyundai flubbed on big time. One of the main reasons I purchased this car was because of the fuel ratings being touted at the time. I was quite angry when the deception was discovered and Hyundai lost a lot in the credibility department from me.

Pros
Bluetooth, backup camera, navigation, steering wheel controls, styling

Cons
Road noise, steering, rear suspension, no power seat option, navigation update too expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jason K.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/30/2016
2011 Elantra
I was excited about my Elantra until I realized the MPG was a sham. The program to reimburse me really doesn't help. I have to wait several months sometimes a year to get an amount of money worth the effort. I also was not happy with the leather peeling off my steering wheel within a month. The have had several issues with the fuse popping out that controls the sound/navigation system. It happens frequently. I should have waited for the Apple Play, the older Elantras have an obsolete sound/navigation system that cannot interface with any iPhone after the 4.

Pros
Comfortable
Stylish

Cons
Lack of MPG accuracy
Electrical issues
Leather interior lacking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lesley K.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/21/2016
Disappointed MPG
2011 Elantra Limited Edition. When new,I was getting 35 MPG. Today, I am getting 18 MPG. Even after over $500 service, new tires, and driving with the ECO on, as recommended. Never experienced this with our Honda and Nissan. DISAPPOINTED!

Pros
Great car for the price

Cons
Drastic drop in MPG about the 5th year of ownership.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Suzanne S.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/26/2018
It's ok...not great
This was my first time buying a Hyundai....and most likely my last. Cute design of car and good mileage...but that is about it. I've had to replace both sun visors (at $100 each) just from warping...when googled, it is apparent that this is a problem across the board. The leather on the front drivers seat started splitting at the seams after 3 years of use and the electrical system gets confused all the time (for example, lowering the radio volume changed stations!) All of these problems, and more, of course began the minute the warranty was up! Overall, I would say that these cars are very cheaply made.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dan B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/04/2018
Lots of road noise and I get paid for Hyundai overstating the MPG
Overall okay but lots of road noise since Hyundai saved cost and weight - didn’t even come with a spare tire, just a can of fix a flat and good luck with that if your sidewall gets punctured. Even with this, Hyundai still got busted for overstating the MPG, so I have to go out of my way every year to get the odometer read and sent a reimbursement.

Pros
Inexpensive, styling, reliability

Cons
Road noise, no spare tire, MPG lower than claimed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Nicholas M.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/24/2018
good car but uninspiring to drive
Have had this car for 7 years and it has generally been reliable-dealer fixed problems with accelerator that was under warranty and crankshaft sensor that caused car to stall . It is rather sluggish to drive and the gas mileage is much poorer than it should be for a smaller car. Comfort is OK for daily commute but not for long trips. Rear seats are really only comfortable for kids under 8.

Pros
generally reliable, easy to park in city

Cons
sluggish acceleration, poor gas mileage, not very comfortable for long trips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Derrick G.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/07/2018
Eh
I got my car in 2011 when the whole model was revamped. It was great at first, but with new models comes lots of problems that need to be troubleshooted. I’m sure the newer models are much better, but I had issues with things in my car that just didn’t work months after we bought it. Also, the car didn’t get the mileage per gallon as the advertisements suggested, and it was like pulling teeth trying to get the gas cards that were owed to us after the lawsuit. Ive asked for the gas cards multiple times, but no one gives them to me.

Pros
Reliable
pay $30 to fill up 1.5 weeks
A lot of the features are nice to have

Cons
Mpg
Wear and tear
Entertainment system/iPod jacks
Went downhill all at once

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Stephen E.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2018
The Nuts and Bolts of a Recent Experience
I keep losing air pressure in my tires. I am constantly getting the amber low-pressure warning when the seasons change from hot to cold and vice versa. The dealership nicely puts air in my tires each time--but, of course, who wants to continually have to drive back to your dealership for air? They confirm that it's not the tires' fault. Something seems deficient with the metal rims. Very annoying.

Pros
I love the looks of the car.

Cons
See Vehicle Summary Above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 388 in total