Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PB
Paula B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Dependable
My personal opinion is my 2011 Elantra is one of the top cars. It is dependable and easy to handle. I have driven in all kinds of weather. I have kept the maintenance and oil changes up so to avoid any problems. If I have an unseen problem I take it in right away so it doesn't create a big problem. I would say it's worry free. It goes when I want to go and has a trunk big enough to carry many pieces of luggage and if need more room you can lay the backseat down to extend the trunk. Whatever the occasion its good to go. A smooth ride and safety features. I have crossed the country several times with no problems and drove to Monument everyday. Overall I give my car A+.

Cons
Not much leg room in back when passenger seat is pushed completely back. Not for people over six foot front or back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Rodney F.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/09/2019
ELANTRA HAS ENGINE PROBLEMS
The engine is making a loud metal sound when you first start it up. The service personnel said they knew exactly what the problem was. In researching the issue, I have found many others with the same engine issue. The engine is still under warranty, however, I was notified that the engine would need to be torn down to investigate. I was told they may or may not cover it under warranty. If they did not, I would have to pay to have the engine put back together. Since it is a known problem, they should take care of it under the "100,000 mile warranty". I hate it for the dealership, but, I cannot recommend buying a Hyundai based on my experience with the car.

Pros
Good mileage.
Fun to drive.

Cons
Engine issues.
I bought the car based on the advertised fuel mileage, this information was not accurate.
Rides rough, but it is a small car.
Hyundai does not want to stand by the "100,000 mile warranty".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OB
Oscar B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/20/2019
Lemon!!!
I'm not sure how many time I brought the car for same engine code problems. Can't even defend on it anymore.Now I'm closed to 100000 or 10 years warranty. Hopefully it won't happen to my 2017 Tucson SE.

Pros
Good size

Cons
Suspension won't last.
Engine codes problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kam C.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/10/2019
Good starter car with asterisks
This was one of the few cars I bought new. I purchased it when gas in my area was almost $4.00 per gallon, expecting to own it for 7 years. I now have 118k miles on it after 9 years. The vehicle has held up pretty well in all but 2 areas: The engine began knocking at 9,500 miles, the "Next Track" button on the steering wheel failed early on and the worst issue is that this vehicle will dent in every hail storm or casual door ding it encounters. I've had my KIA van and this car in the driveway during a small hailstorm and the KIA has yet to show a hail dent while the Elantra was estimated (by the insurance adjustor) to have about 750 dents that effectively totaled the car. In subsequent storms, the damage is compounded and I have about 20 door dings and dents from parking lots. Again, the other cars I have owned do not have these scars and they are in the same environments.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Styling inside and out
Price

Cons
Body panels are too soft. Any hail or door dings will leave a lasting 'impression'
Engine began knocking at 9,500 miles. Old dealer never owned the issue and it's now out of warranty, but a new car should not have internal engine issues so early

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Josh B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2019
Excellent Ride
My Elantra I bought used, but whoever owned it before put in a very nice audio system. The steering (in my opinion of course) is amazing. You feel like you have full control of the car without having to use much effort to guide the steering wheel left or right. Braking is on point, while the acceleration takes time to build it. Given it is a fuel economy car, so the hp isn't as strong anyway. My model is the limited edition so the heated leather seats are an excellent must have during the winter. I will agree on the cabin size being small. I'm 5'10 and my head is close to brushing the ceiling. The backseat leg room is tight as most say, but it isn't much of a problem. Again, this is a fuel economy car so size and power aren't a priority. I would recommend finding an Elantra is 17" rims so it matches the body of the Elantra. Makes it look sporty and not as fat. Summing it up, the 2011 Elantra is an excellent car if you are looking for fuel saving (cost too) and modern style ride. Don't expect as much leg room or horsepower though.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Luxury at a small price

Cons
Lack of horsepower and space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
I LOVE MY HUNDAI ELANTRA LIMITED
My 2011 Hyundai is a joy to drive. It has been a very reliable vehicle. It drives extremely smoothly on the highway. I thought I was going around 55, however the speedometer registered 110. It takes off with the feel of a sports car, and the amenities are the same as much more expensive vehicles.

Pros
Speed and smooth drive. Electronic options.

Cons
The seats could be more comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Teresa S.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Exceptional Vehicle
I have a 2011 Elantra. I follow the guidelines for preventative maintenance and only let the Hyundai dealership service my car. When I had a major repair due to a road debris hazard, the service department did an excellent job fixing the problem in a timely manner.

Pros
Reliable car for 8 years. I love my Elantra!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Ramiro G.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Reliable
Have had a very positive experience with my vehicle. Economic, dependable and reliable! The gas mileage is pretty good, especially since gas prices keep changing!
I am glad that choosing an Elantra was the wisest choice!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
2011 Elantra
I have been very pleased with my 2011 Hyundai Elantra. I find it comfortable and dependable. Very happy it only requires the use of regular gas. I would consider another Hyundai for a future automobile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Charnetta C.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
Great economic car
Very reliable , and a great gas saver. Easy maintenance and great for travel . Seats are comfortable for long distance travel. Great when you have to haul small things or game equipment for kids. Can’t wait to upgrade
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Franklin M.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
I love my car.
If I ever got another new car I would get another Hyundai. I have nothing else to say why do I have to come up with 200 words. The lady who took care of me was just wonderful Donna Noonan would love to get her again when I come back.

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Donna W.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/11/2019
2011 elantra gls
This is an average car for under $20,000. It is not fun to drive and gas mileage is ok. There is no spare tire included!
The new design and styling is very pretty and sleek. The warranty offer seems to be excellent.

Pros
Styling and Design is pretty
Good price & warranty

Cons
No spare tire
Not fun to drive like a Mazda

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Katherine F.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/26/2019
Wouldn’t recommend
Traded it off due to engine knocking at 105k . I only put 22k on it and always maintance it. Why would they sell a certified pre own car if they knew about the engine issues with theses cars . It’s all over the Internet wish I would’ve researched more before I bought it but was in a bind for a car at the time
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/23/2019
2011 Elantra
I have been very pleased with the performance, comfort and miles per gallon of my Elantra. So happy it runs on regular gas, no more premium gas prices for me. Heated leather seats are comfortable and have held up well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Corinne S.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/23/2019
excellent vehicle
I am very happy with my Hyundai. It is a very good car. In the future, I would buy another Hyundai because it is reliable. I am so happy I do not have my 2002 Saturn. I would never buy a Saturn.

Pros
I have to press the button and make sure my key is in the car. It rides really nice. I like the GPS. It is very easy to use. I like the sun roof. It nice to have it open during the Spring time.

Cons
I press the button with the key in the car and it did not start. It has leather seats it is too hot for the summer time. It does not come with a spare tire. I have to buy a spare tire in case I have a blow out. I have to update my GPS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/11/2019
Totally Worth It
I bought this car, because I was over/under my Passat that was costing me a fortune. I needed a safe car, with good mileage and the luxury items I needed, for a fair price. Here I am, 7 years later, still with my Hyundai Elantra Limited. Totally worth every penny from the day I purchased it to the maintenance I’ve had on it to keep it going. I highly recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

QT
Quynh T.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
I love it
I love the pearl white color, 2011 overall design (interior and exterior). My most favorite is the CD player and radio stations with the best speakers system. The music sounds best. I bought this car just because the sound of the speakers is strong and clear when I first test-drive the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dean B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2019
Engine went at 48,000 miles
A 2011 with 48,000 miles had the engine go. Hyundai would not honor the 100,000 powertrain because I was not the original owner. We bought the car used from a little old lady who died with 11,000 miles on it. At 48,000 the bearing went bad on the 3rd cylinder. Only after the dealer fought with them did they cover parts. The dealer said they had seen this before on these cars.

Cons
Engine quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Matthew B.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2019
6-speed Elantra
Wonderful car. 96,000 miles and no mechanical problems. Good gas mileage, and fun to drive the six-speed. Great value for the price. Car is eight years old and drives like new. Also, still very stylish looking compared to new models.

Pros
No mechanical problems, low cost maintenance, fun to drive the six-speed.

Cons
front windshield fogs up when defrost is on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mattie T.
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/01/2019
Love it, except
I love everything about my car expect the sqweeky brakes. I bought it 3 years ago and I noticed sqweeky brakes a week or so after I bought it. Since then, I’ve had them look at the brakes multiple times. They’ve been replaced 3 times, cleaned, and I’ve been told there’s nothing wrong with them multiple times. The sqweek can be annoying. Other than that. It’s been great for me. I haven’t had a lot of issues. I love my car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 382 in total