Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JS
Joel S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Elantra Spells Excellence
Elantra is the perfect compact car that allows me to access the busy roads of Los Angeles. The car perform wells with regularly scheduled maintenance. The Elantra is fuel efficient, and is an affordable vehicle that is pleasing to drive.

Pros
Affordable to maintain, fuel, and insure.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bonnie P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/11/2019
Beautiful car but lots of service required
I love the look of this car but it has cost me a lot of money in service over the years! It seems there's always something acting up. Some issues that come to mind are the crankshaft, spark plugs and starter.

Pros
Beautiful design, sporty, fun to drive

Cons
Regular service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Frank S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/10/2019
just average
bought for price, gas mileage & comfort. major complaints: car is very light & subject to wind pushing it around & no real snow traction. front windshield is subject to outside reflection, but this may be true to all sedan models with aerodynamic design. tire sensor light comes on every year on 1st cold day & dealer evaluation is $150, so I just let the light stay on now.

Pros
good gas mileage & reliability

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gerald H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/10/2019
2012 Hyundai Elantra
This is an evaluation of my own opinion of my car since i purchased it in August 2011. The smoothness of the ride is a little rough but to be expected with low profile tires. The front of the car has been very noisy some time after the 60,000 mile mark. I like the style and would buy another Hyundai if I would buy another car.

Pros
Very stylish

Cons
Parts wear too fast.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BETTY M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
My car of choice!
Been driving a Hyundai now for 13 years, A deer took out my first one and my second one is now 7 years old and I have had not the first major issue with it! Small car with plenty of leg room, it's stylish, affordable, very dependable and gets you where you need to be. My next car will definitely be a Hyundai!

Pros
Best most dependable car around! Get you one! I promise you won't regret it!

Cons
Doesn't come with a spare tire, that's it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Margret M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
My 2012 Elantra
I am very happy with my 2012 Elantra. It drives well in city traffic but loves the open road. The Elantra likes speeds of 75 to 80 mph, gas mileage on the open road is about 33 miles per gallon. I’ve driven it from California to Iowa several times fully loaded and it has no problem keeping up with traffic.

Pros
It’s a small compact car with style and good gas mileage on the open road.

Cons
It has two blind spots. The front windshield, on the corners and the back window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Patty H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/04/2019
Overall Satisfied
I have enjoyed my Hyundai's great gas mileage and dependability. Have had a few issues (steering went and windows fog on inside when it rains), but love everything else about it. Seats fold down which allows for transportation of larger (longer) purchases; great trunk space.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Windows fog (condensation) on inside when it rains

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
Wilma T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
My best car ever
Even though my car is now 7 year old, it's still running very smooth and nice. Performance didn't change at all. Oh well, maybe because of the timely oil change and always go to the dealership when I have some major repairs to be done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Kathleen J.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2019
My Elantra
My 2012 Elantra has served me well, but now after 7 years different noises are being heard. The other Elantra customers in the waiting room agreed that this car is a lot bumpier ride than others. I am considering looking for another car.

Pros
Been a good car, but after 7 years I am hearing more rattles than before.

Cons
Seating is not too comfortable - you have to pump up the driver's seat all the time and I do not think the passenger seat goes up. Too low for us older folks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Review of my 2012 Elantra
I love my 2012 Elantra. It cost little to maintain. Hub Hundai is Houston are great to work with.
Wish intown gas mileage was better. Like the paint color of light blue. Trunk size is good. Fair enough over speed bumps.

Pros
Always reliable
Getting compliments all the time even though not new

Cons
Gas mileage could be better since I only drive in town

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BI
Bryan I.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2019
Excellent Car
I purchased the car in 2014 with 25k miles on it. I am still driving it as of May 2019. Easy to drive, seats 4 adults (5' 9" H) comfortably, excellent trunk space. This car has performed surprisingly well in the snow.

Pros
Easy to: drive, connect phone, set clock, ergonomic controls. After 95,000 miles, still getting between 34 and 36mpg hwy, 24 to 28 city.

Cons
I Do not like the fabric used for seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Javier S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2019
Love me little car
Like said above love my little car. Great MPG. Low
Maintenance. Everything works great. Even at 118,000 miles. Only reason i gave 4 * and this was my fault when purchasing, wish it had more power. Back-up camera wouldnt have hurt. All new models have these options.

Pros
MPG

Cons
Not enough power, rough ride at times. No back-up camera option in 2012. Small, wish could go back in time and have purchased bigger car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joseph B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
The Elantra is a great car --period
I drove this car off the showroom floor brand new in 2012. Now, with 83400 totally trouble free miles, I am glad to publically praise Hyundai for this American-made gem of a car. The people in Montgomery, AL clearly did a great job in building it, but the engineering is something just as worthy of mention. I bought a Limited so it has the technical goodies you'll find on any car or suv costing ten grand more. Except, at least from what I've been told by friends driving those fat, gas hogs, from Brand X and Y, MY technical toys all work! And, they work easily, dependably, and intuitively! You can do everything by voice if you want -- the accuracy is 99%. If Hyundai can do it this well, why can't the others?

Pros
That 1.8 four mated to the six speed automatic is wonderful! The transmission beats those from competing makes for quietness, smooth shifting, and NO hunting or constant downshifting in city traffic.

The technology package is worth the money and SO easy to use compared to others I've driven as rentals when traveling.

Awesome MPG -- I use no-ethanol regular or mid-grade from a top-tier brand. I drive at 68 mph on area Interstates (S.L. is 75) and can reliably get 38.5 to 41.3 MPG depending on wind and how many people are in the car.

Surprisingly roomy. It'll accommodate four people comfortably.
Leather seating is very good quality -- still looks like new after 7 years!

Cons
Comfort was downgraded; by two easy to remedy engineering issues: 1) the still ride. You'll feel pot holes, especially with R55 tires; and 2) the road noise at highway speeds because somebody skimped on sound insulation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Betty W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2019
8 years of Elantra... No problems..
Female driver. I thank God for Riverdale Hyundai. They put so at ease on the maintenance that was needed. I had not been keeping up with my maintenance checks for 8 years so when I finally went in I was so pleased with them being so tentative with my concerns. May God Bless you all.

Pros
It’s fine for starters, beautiful body. Color,and style, Designed very nice for the price.

Cons
Doing 60 or above I get a fish tail swing in the back. I hear the road when driving and the breaks seems like something is wrong when I hit a crack in the road when trying to break.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Linda D.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2019
Dependable vehicle
This is my wife's vehicle and she loves it. She drives 86 miles a day and averages between 40 and 42 MPG. We have put 85,000 miles on the car since we purchased in in 2013 and have had no repairs other than tires, oil changes and a couple of exterior light bulbs

Pros
dependable, fun to drive, excellent gas millage

Cons
To low to the ground for my 6'3" 240lb, husband to get in easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Douglas M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/03/2019
Decent
We like the 2012 Elantra for the most part. It's been a decent car. Looks stylish. The biggest complaint my wife has is the seats. The "wings" on the seats come up too sharply and irritates her sciatica. And after the first year they got a couple of stains. We purchased car upholstery cleaner several times and tried to clean the couple of little spots and it just made big spots that we can't get rid of and look disgusting. It got 41 mph once when we first had it but hasn't gotten near that since.

Pros
Styling, reliable, economic

Cons
Seats, brakes about every 30-40,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Wallace C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
Alantra
This is my 3rd alantra. My first one went to 130.000 miles. I would buy another one if I ever have to. I got a black one with tan interior but gray interior would of been better. Next time I’d buy a white one with back up camera. That’s really a nice thing they started to do. Keep up improving and people will buy

Pros
Like the style

Cons
Passger seat sets to low. Need handle to elevate it higher

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joye M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
My Hyundai is great.
I love my Elantra and it still runs great with only routine maintenance and small upkeep. I have had it 8 years and 113k+ miles and I have had only one major issue with the car. The motor but it was replaced and I have never been happier.

Pros
Upkeep minimal. When I can afford another car I will buy another one.

Cons
It’s an older model so doesn’t have a lot of features but it’s ok for 2011 basic model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FK
Franz K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/30/2019
A good car with one concerning issue.
My primary issue is with the electronic power steering, which I feel is poorly designed. I have read other reviews for this model that complain of this problem, so this is not just my particular car. The rest of the machine seems to be a good product.

Pros
The car is generally responsive in acceleration and steering when well tuned and aligned (see cons). I like the styling. The interior is comfortable, although rear seat headroom is somewhat limited.

Cons
Electronic power steering leaves much to be desired. The slightest deviation in front wheel alignment can make the car difficult to steer. This can even be sensitive to weather temperature. The only shop I've found who can get the alignment right is the dealer. Neglecting this can be risky.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Caren E.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/27/2019
reliable car
I own a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. I bought it new when I lived in Nevada. It's been extremely reliable, and overall I'm satisfied with the car. I do regret not spending a few dollars more and getting upgraded like GPS.

Pros
Very reliable

Cons
Sound system kind of sucks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 831 in total