2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5rating 4.55
4.6
(869 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TD
Terry D.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2018
Love the car but....
I really like the car. Easy to handle, good gas mileage. The down side on my car is not a good paint job. It scratches very easily and you can't buff it out. Also, I never had
a car that didn't have some type of rubber or felt between the car and the window. All my previous cars you could roll down the window and it would wipe off the water
or snow. This cars does not. You have to remove any water or condensation by hand. This is a pain. I have a 2012 and hopefully they have fixed the problem by now.

Pros
Wonderful cockpit, midsize easy to park, small but has a good weight. Not "tinny like a some small cars. Lots of pep. Good gas milage

Cons
Have to wipe of condensation from windows. Not a great paint job. I also have 17 inch wheels and I would prefer 16 inch. Easier to find and in 6 years of having the car I have gone through 12 tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Perry R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
Very good car.
The Elantra gets over 40 mpg with 140,000 miles. I have changed the oil and filter every 2500 miles. It gets us where we want to go no matter how far and is always ready for the next trip. We usually go 500 miles one way only stopping for gas and breaks. We are looking for a small SUV type vehicle so ingress and egress is easier and to sit higher. It will probably be another Hyundai.

Pros
It's a good reliable car.

Cons
A little hard to get out of the front passenger seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kris P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2018
My Elantra takes care of me!
I did a lot of research on the safest cars that get the best gas mileage and decided on the Hyundai Elantra. I bought it in 2011, just as the 2012 model came out, and I still drive her and love her just as much as when I bought her. I take care of her by getting her serviced every 5,000 miles and she has always taken care of me. When I finally decide to get another car (a Hyundai, of course) I plan to give her to a family member who will love her just as much as I have. I know that she will take care of my family.

Pros
She's sexy for a compact car. She's reliable and gets excellent gas mileage. I've driven her around the world and back and she's always driven well.

Cons
No cons. I love this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
Ginger C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2018
Elantra
Love my Elantra. It’s been a great car. Any issues the dealer takes care of it quickly. I have the tires for life program. The service department is wonderful with Crystal and all the othe representatives. Sells department is not pushes and very knowledgeable.

Pros
Great car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2018
Bulletproof
2012 Elantra. I purchased this vehicle brand new. After 93K miles and two teenagers beating the crap out of it I have had no major issues. Just standard stuff like oil changes, brakes, and bulbs. Two TPMS sensors did go bad recently, but I can't complain about a couple sensors after 6 years. Still runs like a champ and doesn't leak or burn anything. Can't complain. I bought a second Hyundai recently due to the experience I have had with this elantra.

Pros
Value
Reliability
Economical
Comfortable
Warranty

Cons
None really

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Elizabeth H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2018
Very good
Good car . Good gas mileage with the incentives. Runs good I have put a lot of mileage on the car and still works great. Great for teenagers and good price for all the extras I bought. The rear camera is a plus .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2018
dependable car.
Vehicle rides smoothly. we've taken it on several round trips over 800 miles. so far, so good. fairly comfortable seating. good luggage capacity in the trunk. It has a timing chain rather than a timing belt, according to the service writer. Soon it will be due for a tune-up, maybe a coolant change.

Pros
Rides well, has not yet had a major breakdown. readily maneuverable,

Cons
Difficult to clean the interior windshield and back window because of the angle of the windows. Vehicle needs a rear window wiper. Also the A pillar obstructs the driver's view when making a left turn on a curve. My next car will have a non-obstructive A pillar and a rear window wiper. Headlights are not as bright as I need, and do not illuminate the road on the front right when making a right turn. It's always a guess.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LO
Lisa O.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2018
Hyundai family
We are a family of Hyundai owners. We are on our fourth Hyundai and love the vehicles from the Elantra to the Tucson to the Santa Fe. We talked my mother into buying the Sonata. Reliable and a great priced vehicles.

Pros
Great warranty

Cons
A small car. My next pirchse will be the Sant Fe.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Madge L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/21/2018
Hyundai Elantra 2012
The Hyundai that I have has been working pretty well. I'm impressed at Hyundai for their wonderful work with this car. I haven't had any major issues with it, thank God. So, I'm a very satisfied customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nima P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/16/2018
As whole, Elantra is affordable car for any purpose
Body's Aerodynamic is great, and as whole body design is nice. Acceleration of Elantra is really fun because of having 1800 horse power which is totally appropriate with body
weight . The seats are comfortable. Trunk capacity is enough for a four door car.

Pros
Acceleration
Body design
performance is fairly good
Affordable

Cons
I think brake line on this car is weak.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jada O.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/15/2018
Good Solid Car
I've had my car for five years and it has performed well. The lack of spare tire and the non-functioning EFT (what is that?) has been bothersome, but it continues to be a solid performing car. I will probably not buy another and look at other makes/model cars.

Pros
A solid performance family car. Always receive compliments on the exterior styling. I've put a lot of mileage on it and the maintenance costs have been reasonable.

Cons
Seats have not held up well to family living. CD player stopped working out of the blue two years ago, not a great stereo system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Heather R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2018
love this car
This is the best little car I've purchased. Great mpg's, reliable and nice ride. I have recommended this car to a couple friends who have since purchased and they love it to. It is just a fun little car to drive..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anita M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2018
2012 with a 92,000 miles.
I have my Elentra for over 6 years. I love my car. It gives my great mileage. It hasn't given me any problems. I really enjoy my car. It's spacious both inside and has a huge trunk. I will be purchasing another Hyundai in a few years.

Pros
I love everything about my car.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Aliya S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2018
Smooth, Efficient and Cost Effective
I've had my vehicle since August 2013 and I must say that I love my car. The Elantra gets great fuel economy ratings. The Elantra Eco is even more efficient: 32 mpg in the city and 40 mpg on the highway. The Elantra is a good car in a very high competitive class. Its combination of quality and value is one of the best in the class.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jennifer M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2018
I love this car!
I used to be a Honda owner, but my Elantra is a nicer car. I will definitely be a Hyundai owner from now on! I bought this car used, but it was just as nice as a new one. Very happy with my Elantra!

Pros
Comfortable and has everything I would want.

Cons
Could be a little zipper, engine-wise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Frankie F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
2012 Hyundai Elantra
The 2012 Hyundai Elantra is very well built car. It has great gas mileage especially with the rising cost of fuel. The Hyundai Elantra has a very comfortable ride easy to handle on the highway and in town. It is nicely equipped with Bluetooth and XM satellite radio. The 2012 Hyundai Elantra has a very sporty feel and look. I will definitely purchase another Hyundai.

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Very low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Barbara G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/01/2018
New Motor etc
I have had basically everything major replaced on my car including the motor which I had to argue to get. Took well over a year. And 2 years to get the leaking sunroof fixed. Only reason that happened is because I took a video of the water pouring on my drivers seat and said I was putting it on facebook. Was a factory defect where the rubber had a fold in it. Car still smells moldy.

Pros
Ran great for about 6 months. Was fun to drive

Cons
Paint is chipping by pinstripes and not covered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

MW
Mary W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
Great car.
Bought my 2012 Elantra new in August 2011.. No problems with it, general maintenance has all that I have done on the car. Just repaired for recall which was not a safety hazard. Best car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DAWN R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/26/2018
Worst experience I’ve ever had
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.
The worst blind spots. Very dangerous.

Pros
Nice looking exterior

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Katy P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2018
Love My Elantra
Except for the slow acceleration, I love everything about my Elantra—the way it looks, the way it handles, the accessories, the comfort, the gas mileage. I highly recommend this car to anyone looking for comfort and reliability.

Pros
Sleek design
Comfortable ride
Quiet drive
Easy navigation
Accessible controls
Heated seats
Well built

Cons
Slow acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 869 in total