2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5rating 4.55
4.6
(873 Reviews)
Latest review about 23 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RT
Roberta T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2019
My first New Car
I have to say I love my Elantra I’ve purchased many cars over the years and they all seem to die right when I’m almost done paying it off, but the Elantra is all mine now paid in full and just keeps going. It does make a difference that it has the 10 year warranty or 100,000 mile don’t believe anyone else has a warranty that could beat it.

Pros
Limited edition has all the bells and whistles

Cons
No back cam display ☹️

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Janice D.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/07/2019
Hyundai Elantra 2012
I have only had one problem with my car and that was a faulty neutral safety switch which was repaired under warranty until now. Now my car starts intermittently and the mechanics can’t resolve my issue because it won’t happen for them.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Duble F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2019
Elantra
The 2012 Huyndai Elantra is a very good car
I have this car for 8 years, it is working very well and I have never experienced problems with it. Greatest car ever . Please read this and go to Huyndai plaza and get one Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AZ
Arthur Z.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2019
Good "bang" for the bucks.
Received delivery of my 2012 Elantra on November 11, 2011. It has been a very reliable car. I have not had any MAJOR REPAIRS done in the 8 years I have owned the vehicle. It is a decent running car on long highway trips. I have driven it from St. Louis to Chicago at least twice a year for 6 years and the ride was not fatiguing and the gas mileage was 34 -36 mpg.
The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because Hyundai could not fix the pulling and drifting to the left that the car experiences. It makes driving a little frustrating to have to keep correcting the direction of the car's drift.

Pros
Great "bang" for the bucks. Many exceptional standard features for the price. Beautifully styled.

Cons
Drifting left when cruising and pulling left when accelerating. Road noise. Airflow vents placed too low on the dash board.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Janet F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2019
I love my Elantra.
The Elantra never lived up to the gas mileage that was advertised. And the original tires are absolutely NOT appropriate or acceptable for Michigan winters. That said, the Elantra has been dependable and comfortable and I enjoy my car.

Pros
I love the look and feel of the car.

Cons
Tires were terrible. I have bought all weather tires for the summer and winter tires for the winter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Julie G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2019
Hyundai ELANTRA
Hyundai ELANTRA amazing VehicleI don’t like where I have to answer so many questions and have so many characteristics on them I would let you know if there was a problem when I take my car in there I appreciate everything

Pros
Love the car

Cons
The light shines on the dashboard and it’s hard to see how fast you were going also where you have to have your seats up really high so you can see over the car door

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/30/2019
Bought mine used
I did purchase my 2012 Hyundai Elantra GLS from a used car dealer. Of course it has issues but not because of the maker. I need a jack assembly in the trunk, the windshield is broken, the hood latch is broken & a few other things. Overall the car rides good & in descent condition for the age. So far I have really enjoyed my, new to me, vehicle. I was sad to see the resale value was not what I expected but still, it gets me from point A to B. No engine issues thusfar. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. I could use some help finding & repairing some of the issues I do love my car!

Pros
Great on gas mileage, comfortable while drive, ease of operating. great style & design, radio works great, air & heat work well, love the features.

Cons
Could be a little more comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Margaret K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
Great little car
My Elantra has served me well since 2012. It is comfortable but I wish the driver's seat were more comfortable and higher because at times I have run over cement parking space markers and pulled the splash guard off. This has happened numerous times. Overall it is a nice small car.

Pros
A great little auto that has served me well since I bought it.

Cons
I had to use a 2020 Elantra while my car was being serviced. It was an excellent auto with all kinds of bells and whistles. It also seemed larger than my auto. I wish I could afford it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
Glennon A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2019
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Cheap light bulbs that burnt out every time you turn around. Ignition coils fail the day after the warranty expires. Seat upholstery picks up stains that cannot be removed. Too much engine noise in the passenger compartment. Miles per gallon kept getting worse the longer we kept the car. The ride was never comfortable. The front seat is too low to the ground so it is hard for the driver to get into and out of.

Cons
Cheap light bulbs that burnt out every time you turn around. Ignition coils fail the day after the warranty expires. Seat upholstery picks up stains that cannot be removed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gail H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Soooo Dependable
I bought my Elantra as a new car in 2012. It has been a wonderfully dependable vehicle. I would highly recommend an Elantra to anyone looking for a good car. Not only has it been dependable but it has great leg room both for front and back passengers and has great style. I wasn’t able to buy one with a lot of bells and whistles but this one has been a joy to have. If I could afford a new car I’d buy another Elantra without hesitation.

Pros
Comfort, fun to drive, stylish and dependable.

Cons
The suspension is somewhat irregular. Anytime I have to brake, if on gravels or uneven terrain, it’s difficult to control as it slides much more than other cars I’ve driven.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jason R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/17/2019
2012 Hyundai eleantra
Appointment made for service repair on 2012 Hyundai Elantra clock spring. Car kept for 3 days without rental while being repaired under warranty and never fixed. Having to wait almost 2 weeks to take care back for repair and who knows how long it will be kept again or if even gonna get fixed. Ain’t don’t know why dealerships having to order there own parts when pretty common issue with these cars

Pros
No pros for sure

Cons
Service advisors are cons and cars are poorly built

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kathleen B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2019
great vehicle
168k and counting has only needed regular servicing and tires and brakes. hyundai is a wonderful product . we have 5 hyundai's in the family and they all are trouble free. would recommend hyundai to anyone who wants a quality, trouble free vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sara L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/07/2019
Nice little buggy
I am pleased with the overall performance and dependability of my 2012 Hyundai Elantra which was previously owned when I purchased it from Gettel Hyundai in 2014. It is a dependable little car with a bit of pick up when accelerating from a dead stop. I can hardly hear the engine when it's running and don't have many mechanical issues even though it's 7 years (yikes!) Old. I had owned a Suzuki SUV prior to the Elantra but adjusted to this little buggy pretty quickly mainly because of the pick up and maneurverability.

Pros
Easy to handle, dependable, good gas mileage, zippiness

Cons
Steers like a buggy, road noise, mirror placement blocks vision at some lines of sight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Susan W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
This my 2nd one that will also make it to 100,000 miles.
Not only is this my 2nd Hundai Elantra, I hope to purchase a 3rd...in another year or 2.
My brother bought one too, and loves it.
Hundai stands behind their products, usually replacing items that failed, rather than fixing them.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Great car
We have had our Elantra for 8 years now and still love it! It has been great on gas mileage. We haven’t had any mechanical problems. We have over 100,000 miles on it and it is still running well.

Pros
Love the sporty style and reliability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VN
Veronica N.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2019
I love my Elantra
Sleek, powerful pick-up at traffic lights, saves money on gas mileage, easy to drive, super warranty, great price and lots of features for a compact car. I am the original owner of a 2012 and have never had any issues.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
great gas milage and sporty
Paint is very durable and minimal rock chips. Holds a good shine even for a 2012 model. Trunk is pretty spacious for a smaller car. I do not like the lighter colored seats because they show dirt easy. I do my own oil changes and is easy to assess the filter and oil drain. 108K and expect to hit 200k with the normal maintenance.
Very peppy engine for 1.8 liter. 30MPG city driving and close to 40 on a trip.

Pros
good value for money

Cons
lighter colored seats show dirt easy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kevin P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/16/2019
Great car
Love my Elantra. I have the Limited with the tech package. Great vehicle. Good on gas. Not fast but plenty peppy. Had an accident with a deer and hardly any damage. Lots of bells and whistles for not a lot of money. Very reliable and comfortable.

Pros
Could use a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Neal R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
2012 Elantra LTD
It is a good vehicle and gets excellent gas mileage. I have 162500 miles on it now and the only big problem I had was resolved when I installed an aftermarket brake light switch. This problem was covered online and it was a 15.00 repair. It has been in over 1k miles without any repeat problems.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Edith K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
great car
Have not had any major problems with my car. I am very satisfied.
So far only oil changes and new tires and filters and bulb were needed.
Only problem the visor broke - first on passenger side (I can see this since I use this visor) - but now also on passenger side (this one is never used).

Pros
runs well and low gas milage.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 873 in total