2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5rating 4.55
4.6
(868 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SG
Sharel G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2015
2012 Hyundai Elantra…Fabulous cara
Love this car….great on comfort, mileage and style…love the way it handles….Love the Service Department at Towne…
Would definitely buy another Hyundai…..great car, great warranty, I really like everything about it….

Pros
Mileage, sryle, comfort, room, large trunk which is fabulous, great sunroof and sound system and bluetooth…just a great car..

Cons
Hard to see the front of the hood (I am short)..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VIOLET S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2015
Reliable
Almost 80000 miles, changed oil regularly, no other problems, very reliable reliable reliable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2015
130k miles and not a single issue
Great experience with this vehicle. Only returns have been 2 minor recalls.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Diane R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2015
Best Car I ever bought !!!
I love this car so much, it is a like a tan / light brown color. I darkened the windows after buying it. I have seen no other on the streets as cool lookin as mine, I like how it looks inside and out. It is going to be 4 years since I bought it, I don't even have 27,000 yet. Never had anything done on it but Oil Changes, I would consider getting a second one when I need a new car in the future. Thank you

Pros
EVERYTHING

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2015
The Elantra is Roomy, has great trunk space, and gets great gas mileage.
Elantra has great styling. It is a standout car, that is roomy and has great gas mileage with enormous trunk space.This is my third hyundai over the last 20 years. The styling is superb and the car has been virtually maintenance free up to this point in time.

Pros
It is a fun car to drive and very reliable.

Cons
I can't think of any since the side mirrors have been modified to eliminate any blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RICHARD A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2015
Loud road noise while riding on the highway, peppy accelleration, gas mileage not as good as expected in city driving especially, paint job improved compared with older previous models.
Features and quality is good for the price of the car compared to some other brands. should be more honest about true gas mileage especially in city.

Pros
Nice styling for it's class. Good features for the price. Good warranty. Engine is peppy.

Cons
Visibility and blind spots in both side/rear too large. Dangerous in backing up due to this. Loud road noise on highway. Plastic surface under rear window melted in the sun and is sticky even when cool, making it difficult to impossible to clean. This happened soon after I bought the car and I think it should be replaced under warranty, but dealer's service advisers don't have any interest in that!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DONNA B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/08/2015
piece of crap
this is the worst piece of crap I have ever owned in my 56 years on this earth I would never ever ever recommend this car to anyone I wish I had never walked into this dealership there are no words to describe my displeasure with this piece of crap I can't wait until I can get rid of it

Pros
I'll soon be able to get rid of this albatross.

Cons
I'm stuck paying for this piece of crap Untill I can get rid of it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CARLTON H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2015
My Elantra
Two words--"Love it!"

Pros
Great fuel economy,fun to drive,handles great

Cons
Could have a bit more noise damping(road noise)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Janis B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2015
Recall
Went in for a recall and bought a new 2016 Elantra.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anita M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2015
Love my car
It's very spacious. Love the blue tooth and xm radio. I also love the warranty on the car. I have a red car and love it.

Pros
Spacious comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ANIL K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2015
It's just ok
Major bummer is miles per gallon. I got it mainly to get better MPG. I get like 26 miles per gallon now. Not acceptable for an "economy" car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHEN R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/03/2015
Disappointing
Our 2012 Elantra did not live up to expectations. Primarily, the fuel economy is worse than advertised. Evidently Hyundai was hit with a class action suit about it. However, that complaint was about highway mpg being over estimated. That's not my experience. In my case, the epa city estimate is higher than real life. The epa estimate is 29 mpg. I'm lucky to get 24 in town. Since this is where I do 95 % of my driving, it's kind of a big deal. When we first got the car (new) the mileage was even worse, maybe 21 mpg in town. I told the dealer about this several times, and was told I was probably driving it wrong. Well, after several months of dismal mpg, and several talks with the dealer, they said they had a bulletin from Hyundai, and there was a computer "reflash" they could perform. After they did that, the mpg improved, but still not to where it should be.
Secondly, our car makes a horrible sound from the engine when first started in the morning. The dealer tells me this is normal. I've never had a car make this noise, so I have a hard time believing that.

Pros
Comfortable seating, decent engine power, good transmission performance, good steering feel. Roomy interior, very nice interior finish and controls. Classy exterior styling, large trunk space. More ground clearance than you would guess.

Cons
Poor in town fuel economy. Terrible engine noise on first start up of the morning.
Suspension, or ride quality is rough.

Did I mention poor fuel economy?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BARBARA F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2015
our elantra
Great car ,we have our car 3 years now. Never a problem because we service it faithfully.

Pros
Leather interior, heated seats, great styling.

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
GILBERT A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2015
will probably purchase another one for my wife.
Want one for my wife

Pros
great gas milage

Cons
passenger seat not very comfortable on long rides

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ALAN T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/22/2015
Big bang for your buck
I have had my Elantra for 3+ years and am very happy with it. I put a lot of miles on my car as I live 40 miles from work. You get a lot of features of luxury cars on the Hyundai Limited. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it isn't well insulated and the road noise is fairly loud. Otherwise it's just the perfect little car (actually has more room than you would think). Handles well and pretty good on fuel economy.

Pros
Almost everything!! Too much to list. I don't think there is a car out there with as many bells and whistles as I have for the price.

Cons
Road noise - could use better insulation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Nathan R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/13/2015
Great, Reliable Car!
My 2012 Elantra Limited just turned 109,000 miles this week. Fuel mileage is still in the mid-30's and there have been no major repairs. I just wish it had come with a manual transmission!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Betty M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2015
Elantra For Me
My 2005 Elantra was a great car, but my 2012 Elantra is wonderful! I have been so pleased with the comfort and beauty of it. It runs beautifully and with professional service I get from First Team, I know it will remain in great condition. I have complete confidence that my Elantra will get me to and from ever destination I take. I ALWAYS recommend the Elantra as a wonderful car to own and recommend First Team Hyundai as the place to shop. I told them what I wanted and they made sure I got it! Thanks First Team! I'll be back!

Pros
Love everything about it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
ESTELA A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/11/2015
Not Recommended
I'm so disappointed in my purchase of my 2012 Elantra. I had Hondas before and I loved them. Big mistake to change to Hyundai.The only pro I have is the outside appearance.Car acceleration is to bad and very slow. MPG is just 22 mpg.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
RONNIE H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2015
1st time owner, now lifetime Hyundai owner
I love this car! It's sleek, sporty and sharp looking. I've seen other models look good in red or black, but the purple/blue is my favorite and is absolutely gorgeous! It has fantastic gas mileage, cool features, it's comfortable, it's dependable, it's built to last and it's fun to drive!

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
It sits too low to the ground and scrapes bottom over speed bumps, parking blocks and curbs. The door will also scrape the curb/sidewalk if I park too close to the curb. Also, it's very difficult to reach buttons at ATMs & other automated machines because it sits so low to the ground.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DONNA B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2015
so far, so good!
First 46,000 have been excellent. New tires and several oil changes! Looking forward to next 46,000!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 841 - 860 of 868 in total