2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5Overall Rating 4.55/5rating 4.55
4.6
(869 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DR
Douglas R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2018
Love my '12 Elantra
Car has been fantastic....now approaching 80,000 for a 6 year old and still looks new and rides great. Mileage ranges 33 mixed to 40 mpg on freeway. Car is attractive, nice "red" color and I love the tan/black cloth interior. Plenty of room and love the dashboard. Sorry to say (for the dealership) but I'm not giving it up for a long time!!!! Feed it gas, follow maintenance schedule, and it is as faithful as my Scottish Terrier (who loves getting rides in it).

Pros
the car and dealership

Cons
cloth seats get dirty after awhile....get the car detailed and shampooed couple times since having it.

FOB in my pants pocket would open the trunk whenever I brush against a table or hard object. Finally stopped using it and now do the the "old school" way by opening doors with keys.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cory J.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/22/2018
I hate my Elantra
My 2012 Elanta developed a steering problem a couple of years ago. Hyundai America has denied my request to have this poor design/manufacturing problem fixed under warranty. An internet search showed me that this is a common problem with the Elantra. The steering won't drive straight, you have to constantly make adjustments since it feels like it sticks. So every time I drove this POS I am remained just how much I hate this car. I will never buy another Hyundai as long as I live!!!!! @#!@$!@$#!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/22/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

GC
GAIL C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
Car Review
Love My Hyundai Elantra! It’s a safe realiable, economical car! Having fun driving this car. I bought this car used from York Toyota and it has been a great car for me. I travel a great deal of the time and It has been a safe, comfortable car.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Does have some blind spots but that’s they only negative

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Patrick N.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Great car
Lots of features and excellent reliability. Though a compact car, the interior is plenty large enough for five, but preferably four, passengers. The styling, interior and exterior, is closely coordinated and beautifully executed.

Pros
Well designed throughout and well executed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joel S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2018
Hyundai Haven
This is my second Hyundai, a 2012 Elantra. My first Hyndai was a 2003 Tiburon, and I have enjoyed both cars. From Culver City Imports to LA Hyundai at LAX, then onto Hooman Hyundai, and currently Nissani Brothers Hyundai, I always know a Hyundai dealership is nearby. I'll keep on driving with Hyundai.

Pros
Stylish and economical

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joyce M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2018
Love this car.
We needed a car good on gas and getting back and forth from appointment, shopping and doing errands. This car does it all. Love the GPS and sun roof. It's been a pretty good car only wish it had all wheel drive.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Wish it was all wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
Efficient
I am already looking forward to getting my next car from Hyundai. I always talk about how my Elantra has been our best car so far. I’ve also talked to my froends how the service department of Hyundai is the best! I only hope that next time when I go there to get my next SUV that the sales staff would be more accommodating and not arrogant!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Tom T.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
Love my Hyundai Elantra
I Love my Hyundai Elantra that I purchased in the fall of 2012. It now has 80,000 miles and it has been absolutely trouble free. It gets 33-34 mpg and still looks as good as it did on the day I bought it. Would I buy another one, you bet, but first I want to enjoy at least another 100,000 miles on this one, I love driving it so much. The service I get on it is great, the service department is so knowledgeable, trustworthy and treat me superbly every time I bring it in. I highly recommend this vehicle, it is relatively inexpensive and you will be pleased with it for years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mary R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
I still love my 2012 Elantra
My Elantra is a great car it has is everything I need and more the body Integrity is excellent I would buy this car again if I needed to I would recommend this car to a friend I am sure my friend would not be disappointed
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nancy S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2018
My elantra
My elantra is the best car on the road. It gives me such joy. The style has class. The Napleton dealership is great and treats me right. Steve is my favorite representative. Although everyone has been great and got the work done on time.

Pros
Drives great

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Donald L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Pleased with my Elantra
So far, my 2012 Elantra has performed as hoped. The gas mileage is excellent. The only issue I've had is that the rear calipers froze (locked up). After some discussion the Dealer covered the repair.

Pros
Great gas mileage, great look, runs well. Front brake pads still okay after 51K miles.

Cons
Both rear brake calipers froze (locked up) and had to work hard to get the dealer to cover it as a non-wearable part. Bucket seats too small, and I am not a big person.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sue K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Good value for what we spent
We bought this car new. It's 6 years old. We are well pleased with it and the dealership that we purchased it from. Our steering wheel needed replaced and it is wearing again and also the front driver's seat upholstery didn't hold up. We plan to have it repaired. Our car has less than 70,000 miles on it so thought it would wear better. Our 2004 Ford van has over 100,000 miles on it and the upholstery looks like new.

Pros
style, economy, good warranty

Cons
Storage space in glove compartment and front seat area is lacking. Our steering wheel needed replaced and it shows wear again and also the front driver's seat upholstery didn't hold up. We plan to have it repaired. Our car has less than 70,000 miles on it so thought it would wear better. Our 2004 Ford van has over 100,000 miles on it and the upholstery looks like new. We are a senior couple and our car gets light use - so that is a disappointment!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Annette B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
2012
I bought my 2012 HYUNDAI Elantra at the end of 2011.... I absolutely love it.... it drives so smooth and has been very reliable... I’ve only had to do two small things to this car since I bought it!! Very lucky to have picked out this vehicle!! I defibately would buy another one someday!!!

Pros
It’s is a very smooth comfortable car!!

Cons
There’s a few blind spots that makes it hard to see other vehicles sometimes but I think all cars can!! Other than that, I can’t say anything bad!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DEAN C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
2018 Elantra Value Edition.
All the features of a luxury car for about $20k. Having owned a 2012 Elantra, I decided to upgrade to the 2018 Value Edition. The newer model is roomier and handles more like mid-sized car similar to the Sonota. Great car, great handling and love all the features.

Pros
Great features

Cons
Not terribly stylish but very reliable and practical.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Ethal A.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/26/2018
Never Buy the 2012 Elantra
Otherwise you will have a lot of Problems like I did!! WoodHouse Hyundai of Omaha, is the only Reason why I still have this Car.!
Other than that the Car does very Good on the Highway, including Milage

Pros
Good on Milage on the Highway

Cons
Mileage Isn’t very Good in the City

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
James W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2018
A Family Experience
A really fun experience that has served our military family across the world. Purchased in San Diego, driven to the east coast, and shipped to Bahrain and back and it continues to serve our evolving military family well.

Pros
Satellite, Navigation system and Bluetooth entertainment system, spacious storage.

Cons
I have to let my wife take it on occasion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Sandra E.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2018
Navigation
I am a home health nurse. I have a poor sense of direction. My navigation always takes me to my patients home. My navigation system has led me home from unfamiliar destinations...once even through a storm! So grateful!

Pros
Easy to maneuver

Cons
Low sitting, rough riding at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Adele H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Great Service, Great Car
I have driven many cars in my lifetime. this Hyundai Elantra is by far my favorite. The design is especially clever and convenient. It is good to look at and amazingly convenient to drive. I continue to love this car.

Cons
could use more leg room in back, but I knew this when I selected a more compact car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Best Deal Around
I now have 116400 miles on my 2012 Hyundai Elantra. I have never had any work done on my vehicle except regular maintenance. It is reliable, gets great gas milage and is fun to drive. It is sporty and looks more expensive than the actual price. This car is a great value. Also, you can't beat the 100,000 mile warranty and the excellent customer service from the dealership. Highly recommended.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tanisha M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2018
Great Car!
I love my Hyundai Elantra it takes me everywhere I need to go I love the whole fact that I have SiriusXM when I get to the center a lot of my favorite radio station I love the way that it has Bluetooth technology and I can be hands-free on the road I love the Eco but and especially because I get save gas and get the places that I need to get to on a weekly basis and it only cost 30 bucks to fill up my tank that is so awesome I also would love the way that you know if it's all my friends and comfortably I love the way that my daughter can sit in her booster seat in the back and feel so comfortable with armrest and cup holder there's enough trunk space for me to fit everything I love my Hyundai Elantra it has never failed me

Pros
everything is great about the Hyundai Elantra especially going to the dealership to get it serviced it doesn't cost that much to get anything done as long as I keep up with oil changes tire rotation you know it's just a pretty overall good cars great on gas I never have had any serious issues with it not even the AC I pretty much you know take care of it and it takes care of me

Cons
I don't really think there's any cons about the Hyundai Elantra there's nothing but great things that I have to say about my car I have no complaints I can't think of anything bad about it at this moment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 869 in total