2014
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(1046 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PF
Philip F.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/28/2015
They Dont Fix Problem
The Tire Pressure Light has been on since I purchased vehicle . I have been given every excuse including Hyundai puts on CHEAP tires and I should buy NEW tires for my NEW CAR ! I did buy $800.00 tires and the TPS light is still on . Hyundai claims to have the best warranty ? They do just don't ask for anything to be fixed under it !!!!

Cons
They don't fix problems !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WRANDY B.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/09/2015
great car
love the car its great on gas and lots of room

Pros
perfect size car for our college student driver great on gas

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ANNA W.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/27/2015
great car.fun to drive.
Great car .great on gas

Pros
All

Cons
Side mirrors cause blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SAMANTHA L.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/13/2015
Comfort Issues
This car is pretty to look at but the ride sucks there is no comfort at all!

Pros
Pretty

Cons
Seating and no comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jose R.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/14/2017
Elantra 2014
Had to get the clutch replaced after 20,000 because of a factory defect. Had a Honda civic before which went well over 120,000 before needing a new clutch. Will definitely go back to Honda after this. I'm afraid now that the new clutch will only last 20,000 miles. It's ridiculous!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Gabriela M.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/08/2018
Elantra
I have a 2014 elantra, 2015 Tucson, and a 2016 accent. Our 2014 elantra is a poor car!! Alot of THINGS broke asap. And it needs alot of repairs. Tires, shocks, lights, and things are falling apart. Terrible.

Pros
Warranty

Cons
The rest of the car is a cons...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Sarah F.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/05/2018
Disappointed
I am a single lady. I've worked hard all my life. Was so proud when I purchased my 2014 Hyundai Elantra. I have tried to keep it up and keep it in good shape. It only has 31,400 miles on it. About 18 months ago, I had to replace the battery. Then the tires were wearing really badly. I had them rotated at the dealership. Then at my recent 31,400 oil change, I was told, I not only needed TIRES, I needed BRAKES!!! I do not ride my brakes. I am well aware that is not good. I am just overcome with disappointment in this car. I thought I had a nice low mileage car that I kept up and serviced and all these things are going wrong with it. I have a sister who bought a Honda Civic the same time I bought my Hyundai. She has more miles on hers and she has not had ANY of these things replaced. Her tires right now are in GREAT shape. I am aggravated, disappointed and mad at Hyundai. Surely you can build a BETTER car than this. Is this the way to treat your customers? Do you want this reputation? THen the dealership charged me crazy to replace the brakes and do a "brake flush"!! AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!! This month, I am spending over $1,000 on a car that has 31,400 miles on it! Do you think this is really good performance??? Are you really proud of this review???

Pros
I THOUGHT it was a good value for the money but with everything going bad on it at 31,000 miles or less, I am beginning to think it's not. It is a nice looking car and I have tried to keep it nice.

Cons
It has a lot of "blind spots" in the shape of the windshield, especially when you are making a right turn. The AC is not as good as it should be. The heat is fine. The backup screen is too small with a horrible glare on it. Totally worthless in bright sunshine. Apparently, the tires, battery and brakes were all cheap quality.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Alfred H.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/06/2018
Driving blind
My 2014 is a great little car that is comfortable, handles well and gets good gas mileage. It's downfall is the visibility while driving. Amonsgst other things I can't see any part of the hood and front fenders in front making it hard to part or maneuver in close quarters.

EVEN WORSE, THE RIGHT SIDE "A" PILLAR IS VERY LARGE AND, TOGETHER WITH THE PLACEMENT OF THE REAR FEW SIDE MIRROR, HAS CREATED A HUGE BLIND SPOT WHICH HAS DAMN NEAR GOTTEN ME KILLED TWICE IN THE LAST FOUR YEARS.

My strong recommendation is to turn your stylists towards creating a vehicle with maximum visibility in all directions.

Pros
Comfortable with decent performance and handling

Cons
Terrible visibility, DANGEROUS!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Virgina S.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/22/2018
Have not had any problems with my Elantra until now, with the traction control light going on and off, Jerking and losing power. Really dangerous when driving on the freeway.
This traction control light is very unsafe especially when driving on the freeway. Took my car in to Larry Hyundai at 9820 coors and they could not find the problem. The light still come on and off, jerking and losing power. Feeling very unsafe and afraid to drive my car.

Pros
Will Love my car again when I can feel safe and my problem can be fixed.

Cons
Right now, do not feel comfortable and safe in my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kim M.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/19/2019
Dangerous vehicle
The ESC system on this line doesn't function properly. Hyundai Corporation refuses to make repairs. The malfunctioning system will cause the vehicle to not accelerate and strip the brakes. It also blew out coils on my vehicle. Merging is extremely difficult and can result in accidents. I've been almost hit multiple times and run off the road. Do not purchase this line. And consider purchasing your car from a different company since Hyundai Corporation refuses to address the issue. They claim if they can't replicate the problem than they can't fix it. Necessary repairs are pushed past warranty time lines and they then claim it's now all YOUR financial responsibility to make repairs despite years of documented complaints with them. This company is not consumer safety oriented.

Pros
Looks sporty

Cons
Unsafe. Bad company in Hyundai Corporation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HOLLY B.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2015
elantra limited
High interior noise level. 6 months after puchase loud interior rattles. And vibrations.

Pros
Good gas milage

Cons
Inexpensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
APRIL J.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/22/2015
This car is average
No space for kids in the back and I have 3 of them, the tires sucks, sometimes they go low on pressure. The sunglass holder broke. I wouldn't get another one. I'd get something else anything but an elantra.

Pros
Brakes are potent.

Cons
Too expensive for its worth.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MICHELLE E.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/25/2015
2014 hyundai elantra
Very good looking car but steering and accelaration failed on my expectation.

Pros
Good looking car

Cons
Steering feels not very safe to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JENNIFER S.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/12/2016
Eats Tires
Front suspension issues - Had it at the dealer and they said my tires were bad, which was causing noise/vibration. I had the tires rotated. A short period later I put on new tires. Noise, vibration, and bad handling are all still there. Shop that installed the new tires said the alignment is off and there is likely a suspension issue.

Park release button - When it's very hot out the gear shifter will not come out of park. We have to remove the tab and push the button beneath it to get it to come out of park. We had the car in the dealership for other issues and this was supposed to have been taken care of then. When we picked the vehicle up we noticed this issue had not been touched.

Here we are with 40,000 miles on our car and it is riding horrible, it's eating up our brand new tires, vibrating and making noises, doesn't shift out of park when hot outside, and our dealer seems to blow us off on service calls.

We are about ready for a new car. Other than these (what should be minor) issues, we love our Hyundai. We would like to upgrade to an SUV. However, at this point we may go with a different make of car simply to go with a different dealer that can service our car better. I feel like we are being blown off in hopes of the warranty running out or something.

Pros
Great bang for the buck.

Cons
Dealer service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Cindy M.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/08/2018
needs improvement on tires
Very annoying to have tire pressure light come on every week to 10 days. If this is supposed to be this way, I'll look else where for my next car. Overall car is good. No other problems except very bad tire pressure maintenance. Never had a car I had to check tire pressure every week.

Cons
tire pressure light comes on every week to 10 days. Need to find tires that hold pressure.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HT
Haley T.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/29/2019
Attractive car, lackluster performance and longevity
This is an attractive, mid-level sedan. It wants to compete with the big boys in terms of luxury and feel, but it falls short in nearly every category. Unreliable: 'Bluelink' technology package is useless. Simple bluetooth technology is unreliable and backup camera is guaranteed to need to be replaced early on in ownership and likely repeatedly. Interior: Leather is low quality and wears quickly and easily. Only pro is that it is relatively inexpensive to maintain.

Pros
For a well-known, lesser quality brand, it is attractive and modern in appearance.

Cons
Things are designed to break down quickly. Technology package is weak.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Nancy W.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/20/2019
Not happy
70 k miles engine is making knocking sounds from piston slap, dealer solution was oil change Hyundai gives a 100k mile warranty but is not standing behind their product. This car needs a new engine, not an oil change

Pros
Lots of bells and whistles

Cons
Engine is crap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
SPRING A.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/22/2015
rusting door hinges squeaky doors.
Other than door hinges rusting & doors squeaking loudly. I haven't had a problem this far, but then again I shouldn't have any rust or squeaky doors on a 2014 vehicle I've only had my vehicle 8 months.

Pros
Good on gas fairly smooth ride decent amenities

Cons
Door hinge rust doors squeak brakes grind everyday at first drive & brakes & rotors appear rusty all the time.

I will never purchase a service vehicle again.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
AMANDA T.
2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/06/2015
should have bought an American car
Haven't had the car a year yet and experiencing problems when braking after I left from a tire rotation. Bluetooth fades in and out or stops when listening to music.

Pros
Smooth ride for this type of car. Nice entering design.

Cons
Touch screen should be mounted a little lower to avoid the sun hitting the screen.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2014 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2015
Elantra 2014
Looks great. Needs improvement in brake and transmission performance. (Automatic transmission)

Pros
Looks good.

Cons
Needs improvement in braking and transmission performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1046 in total