Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LC
Lloyd C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Love our Elantra
We have had our 2017 Elantra for four years. We have put over 65,000 miles on it so far. I was surprised by all the "extras".
I like that I can connect my phone and use the info on it, whether it is my music, my phone contacts or the maps. I appreciate that the trunk will open when I approach the locked vehicle with hands or basket full. And----it is a nice looking car!
The mpg is amazing. We usually average around 38-40 mpg, but I have gotten more on long trips.

Pros
Blue-tooth, backup camera, touchscreen, mpg.

Cons
Paint job has peeled in spots and interior door pulls have peeled.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ryan S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Great Car!!!
Coming from a 2005 Monte Carlo SS to the 2017 Elantra was a slight change, but it was a great choice. I drive a lot and I needed something good on gas and that’s comfortable. This car has it all! This vehicle is very fuel efficient, around the rural area towns I tent to get 33-36 mpg, and highways I get 39-41 mpg. I am really impressed about that!! It’s also a fairly quiet ride, and for the SE being base model has so many features in it that I wasn’t expecting! I have the touch screen in my Elantra that I love because if you need to use the GPS, you can connect your phone through Apple CarPlay and it’s all there. No worrying about trying to find the old GPS to connect and plug in. I can not recommend this vehicle enough! Well worth it! And the price isn’t bad either!

Pros
Touch screen, Apple Carplay electronics in the vehicle. AC/Heat works well and doesn’t take long to start feeling them. Quiet ride, and most importantly GAS MILEAGE!!!

Cons
No power seats in the SE, or heated seats, or sunroof but for the price I can’t complain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Christian P.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/26/2020
Terrible
Terrible quality I regret buying a Hyunda Elentra. I bought the car used with 48,000 miles paid 14,000. One year later I have paid $2,000 extra in repairs. There are no warning so I will say it here. It’s a terrible car.

Pros
There are no pros for this vehicle just dissatisfaction and distrust for the dealer the company.

Cons
The door handle is falling off after two years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 10/27/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

CC
Christopher C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2020
Very dependable and great fuel economy!
I drive this vehicle almost 200 miles a day for work. Great fuel economy and very dependable. I purchased a second Hyundai Elantra for my wife to drive back and forth to work also. We both have a long commute to work and we are pleased with the reliability and fuel economy with our vehicles

Pros
Great fuel economy and dependable

Cons
Resale value not the greatest

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Faith B.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/11/2020
Wont purchase again.
I've already had numerous issues with this vehicle awhile still under warranty. Plastidp on driver and passenger side door started peeling before I hit 10,000 miles. I constantly have problems connecting bluetooth through usb and the gas tank causes the pump handle to click multiple times as I'm trying to get gas no matter where I go.

Cons
Various vehicle issues. Constant maintenance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Erika W.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Hyundai Dealership
Great car............................................................ ..................................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Ginnie K.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/02/2020
Suboptimal Reliability
I purchased a "Factory Certified Used Vehicle" 2017 Hyundai Elantra in January 2020. Within three months, the battery died and required replacement. The dealership considered the item as "maintenance" and would not cover the cost of replacement. Within that same period, the radio temporarily stopped working for a week. Further, recurring rough idling, power loss, vehicle shuddering and near stalling prompted four service calls between February and September. Apparently, the roadside assistance line was down during part of August so I had to hire a towing company to transport the vehicle to the dealership. It took quite awhile and a letter campaign before Hyundai reimbursed the towing cost some weeks later. During the 2nd warranty work for the above engine problem, two (of four) faulty coils were discovered and required replacement. Less than two weeks after that, the problem recurred, the service engine icon illuminated and another service call was made. The dealership kept the vehicle for a week at the time but could not diagnose the problem, despite my description of the identical malfunction as with the prior event. The vehicle was returned unrepaired, and soon the problem arose a fourth time (September), when yet another coil was determined to be the problem. Luckily, there are many other makes and models of vehicles available, and based upon my individual experience, I will not purchase another Hyundai, regardless of its impressive warranty. It certainly needs a ten-year warranty. It has been an inconvenience to date, requiring me to seek alternative transportation each time the vehicle sits in the dealership service department.

Pros
Good gas mileage (part of that behind a tow vehicle...)

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Denise P.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2020
Great car!
Just an overall great vehicle. Love Hyundai! Handles easy and runs smoothly. I love the color. I like everything about this car. Engine is quiet. What else can I say, all in all a very good vehicle 🚗

Pros
Best gas mileage!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2020
Warranty Work
While driving home in my car on Saturday, the check engine light came on. I called (hands-free of course) and they told me to bring it in. As it was busy I didn’t expect it back the same day but by the end of the day they had called me and told me it was ready. As it was warranty work it didn’t cost me any money but they were as conscientious and careful as if it was a paid job. All is well and the car drives beautifully.

Pros
Technology is great. Comfortable also.

Cons
So far none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lee C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2020
Great vehicle
The car has been great for my commutes and travel. It averages over 30 miles per gallon in city and highway combined. No major problems encountered in 55000 miles of driving. The only problems encountered was the replacement of the battery with less than 30,000 miles traveled.

Pros
So far great reliability and performance.

Cons
No cruise control on SE model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Myda C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2020
Hyundai Elantra value edition 2017
Exchanged my other Elantra for a newer model. Only thing i didnt Like was the da t it didn’t have heated seats like my other model. But other than that it’s comfy and stylish. Definitely a girls car!!

Pros
Stylish
Comfortable

Cons
Windows need darker tinting
No heated seating

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Rachel E.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2020
2017 Elantra
I feel very safe and comfortable in my Elantra. The power steering is a breeze to use, and the visibility is so virtual for safety. I’m currently driving my third Elantra, and can never see myself leasing or owning any other car. It’s just perfect for me.

Pros
I like having a dependable car, so I never have any worries about my safety or comfort. When my lease concluded, I didn’t want to give it up, so I bought it!

Cons
Wish it had a built in CD player .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
Harmeet K.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2020
Good car
Hyundai Elantra is good and nice car.when I drive the car it’s very smooth and easy.the functions of the car are very good and it’s spacious.the trunk of the car is also spacious. I like this car and enjoying it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
GEORGE G.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/24/2020
below hyundais usual standards
have owned hyundais before and enjoyed the ownership. This time around not so thrilled. I have had some mechanical issues starting with brakes, then a running condition, now headlights. Seems like a lot for a vehicle with only 45k miles. In regards to the vehicle feel the quality control is poor. blemish in paint paint pealing from armrest. if it was 10 years old maybe ok but was less than 3 not so much.

Pros
great mileage and better than average power, turning radius is great, a/c better than average Honda has you beat. Apple Play is a definite plus

Cons
seating not so comfortable for long trips, needs a USB port for back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jon W.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2020
An Excellent Value
My 2017 Elantra is an excellent value that delivers great economy and service. Operating costs with the factory recommended preventative maintenance is very low. A comfortable very reliable automobile.

Pros
Great value

Cons
Could use more torque, rear disc brakes and less tire noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Roberta D.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2020
Great car
I have had the car for 3 years and taken it on several road trips across the country. Usually average about 40 mpg on the road trips and a comfortable ride even for my 6ft husband. The heated seats are wonderful on cold days and the sunroof is fun.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Brittaney R.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/09/2020
Car problems
I was excited to own a new car it's a family size vehicle that's what I wanted for my kids & I but there has always been problems with it I don't recommend this vehicle I'm always at the dealership getting something fixed thankfully it's all under warranty but still very frustrating

Pros
It's small inside & out that's what I wanted easy to clean

Cons
Indicators pop up on dash board no one seems to know what they are they come in go I've been at the shop alot since purchasing this car system problems that are serious my car once shut off completely as we were driving Hyundai said bad battery will replace under warranty I said on a new car? Shouldn't of happened to my kids & I at night driving pain & suffering with this vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Chandrika T.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/05/2020
General
Brand new 2017 model already have following issues:
1. Recall for door handle
2. Had to replace a battery
3. Engine light came on and had to replace thermostat
Little disappointed for having a brand new car.

Pros
Very comfortable and a good car. Love all the features and enjoying my car.

Cons
Little disappointed for having a brand new 2017 car, had hoped to have less headaches. Had already one recall, dead battery and replacing thermostat for engine. Now keeping my fingers crossed 🤞

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DIANA J.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/04/2020
Fraudulent practices
My 2017 Elantra Limited software system is a complete failure! No proper indicators to inform me of problems! No low oil warnings, no check engine warnings! My car system just started shutting down completely while I was driving. Replaced engine at just over one hundred k miles!! Also proprietorship on 95% of parts means all dealer parts which are expensive!! Will never own another Hyundai!!!

Pros
Fun to drive
Heated back seats
Looks sharp inside and out
Sport mode yes!

Cons
Warning systems problems Leading to engine failure!
Large portion of parts dealer only! Expensive!!
Integrated thermostat and housing 400 to replace!
Even hoses dealers only parts!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marlene H.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2020
2017 Hyundai Elantra
I love 💕 my Elantra. It continues to run smoothly and efficiently. I do keep up with my Oil Change and Maintenance, as my Father said👨‍👧‍👦“maintenance upkeep should always be done to make a car last”. The paint is still a beautiful I call “Baby Blue”. I also believe I got the best bang for my buck. I consider it the baby brother of the Honda. Well worth the less expense sticker price of a Honda though.Thank you for this opportunity to express my enjoyable experience of my Hyundai Electra. 😊👩🏽

Pros
Operating very well for 3 years

Cons
Paint may need to be reapplied after 3 years but only slightly as living in Florida the Sun can be harsh. Need maybe a better deal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 5055 in total