2017
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(4843 Reviews)
Latest review about 6 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CW
Curtis W.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2019
A very well built car, however, they lost 60% value in under 3 years.
Great little first car for anyone. Extremely low cost to own. We have had one issue in 40k miles, that is amazing! Over 40 lifetime mpg! Will keep it till it dies and buy another, but used to save some serious money. I could understand a 30-40% depreciation but over 60% is insane for 3 years old.

Pros
- Car has been rock solid since we bought it new in 2016.
- Have lifetime averaged 45 mpg.
- Lots of room in a small package.
- I would recommend buying one, but not new, find one used and save yourself a TON of money.

Cons
- Car has lost over 60% value in 3 years, horrible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARIA S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
I love my 2017 Elantra
It has apply okay, heated seats, AC, several speed modes, fuel efficient, plenty of pace, I could have this car forever. This is great for a first car, specially because the salesmen worked within my budget!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
Florian G.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
Smooth sailing
This vehicle drives so smoothly... I love my car! Every time I get in to drive, I'm reminded of why I bought the car new, and couldn't be happier. Wished I would have gone for the sunroof and heated seats as added features though...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Rosemarie S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
Great Car.
I love my Hyundai. Considering I bought it for what it looked like, it's been a great car. Very easy to drive, great mileage, etc. I would definitely buy another one, and would recommend it to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHRISTOPHER C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/18/2019
horrible brake issues soon after warranty ran out
My brakes began failing at high speeds within a couple thousand miles of losing the 36k mile warranty and i had taken it to multiple Hyundai dealerships multiple times for the issue, it was not consistently happening at first and they never bothered to look into it farther than just saying they could not replicate the issue. Then when my family was driving across the country(just had an oil change and made sure everything was in good condition) the issue became VERY bad in the mountains of Colorado and we were basically stuck there for a week, returning it multiple times for the same issue and they kept saying they could not replicate the issue, the brake would get stuck, shake hard, and you could not press on it. we had to get flights back home and abandon the car at the dealership where they held it for over a month before shipping it back, this car is the biggest regret I've ever purchased. Hyundai neglected to understand the severity of the issue because we never crashed(thankfully). Apparently unless it kills somebody they don't care about it. I am extremely upset and disappointed.

Cons
seats stain easily, even with water.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/18/2019
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

MM
MARCIA M.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
Great car to buy or lease
Fuel economy is awesome. All of the extras ie, cruise control, heated seats, side mirror vehicle detection, Bluetooth, phone integration (Apple Play), etc. is very enticing! Definitely recommend buying/leasing a Hyundai!

Pros
Price, style, look, cruise control, heated seats, Apple Play, Bluetooth, side mirror detection

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRANDON M.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2019
2017 Hyundai Elantra
It’s probably one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. Hyundai priced this model very reasonably and very affordable. The fuel mileage is exceptional and would make a great car for a college kid or someone who has to drive far to work everyday. It has a sport mode and surprised me at the acceleration and difference it made in responsiveness. Every feature on the car is easy to use and not at all hard to figure out. Would recommend to anyone

Pros
Apple CarPlay
Sunroof
Sporty style
Easy features to use

Cons
Stitching in seats
Engine idle is kind of rough at start then becomes normal

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Pat M.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2019
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Overall it is a great car. I don’t drive it a lot, since I am retired. I love the color, metallic gray. It is a comfortable car and fun to drive. The size is just right. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great car.

Pros
Love. Fun to drive.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SWATI S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2019
Value for money
I bought 2017 value edition. It’s features are awesome. It has apple car play and blind spot who I did not see at that time in any car fro other brands. I am talking about brand new. Over all I am satisfied with my purchase and 2.5 years late I am still driving without any problems.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bettie H.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/16/2019
Feelings about my car
It's inferior, poorly made. I have 17,000 miles. Two months ago had to be towed, it was running rough, found out defective could had them all changed. Battery died, replaced with new on no warranty defective tail light put a new bulb in same thing happened, now they say a pully or something like that needed to be replaced. I'm afraid to drive far this car is defective and a lemon if they put in a new battery why wouldn't they warrenty

Pros
Drives ok, looks nice from out side good gas milage

Cons
Poorly made, paint bubbling up on trunk lid, left me stranded three time already. Coils went bad, light keeps going out some involved replacing a pully? For the light.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/18/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JS
Joseph S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
Joe Swatsell
I love the mileage, all the modern up to date equipment on the dash, bluetooth etc, backup camera really nice, heated seats all the comforts you want, except a cd player, but that's just me. I own a recording studio Oh yes, it pulls my boat just fine

Pros
Dependable, great milage, all the bells and whistles, handels like a champ, seats go down in the rear, and a large trunk.

Cons
No cd player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Diane M.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2019
Diane’s review
I like the reliability of this vehicle. It is not the fanciest car I’ve ever owned, but it serves my purpose and is economical. I bought it to be mainly a back-up for my big SUV, but I drive it more often because of the gas that I save.

Pros
Economical & reliable.

Cons
The doors lock up too soon after being unlocked. I hate this feature and it cannot be turned off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nicholas C.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Elantra
We Love the Elantra! A Awesome Vehicle. We been buying them since 2005! We wouldn't buy other vehicle! We recommend the Elantra over every other vehicle! Take it for a test drive. Test drive it. You will see for yourself!

Pros
A Great Vehicle! We wouldn't buy anything but an Elantra!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shane S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/11/2019
2017 White
After two years the paint on the hood and roof began to flake off. I was told this was a known issue with white cars in particular. Hyundai according to the dealer seems resistant to honoring the paint warranty.

Pros
Very economical and lots of standard features

Cons
Paint quality is substandard. After 2.5 years, Hyundai agreed to paint the hood and roof. I have never seen paint flake away like this on a new car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Amanda S.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/10/2019
I would never reccomend
I bought my car brand new and was initially happy. However, after a year I had issue after issue and they could never be resolved by the Hyundai dealership. I am so disappointed in this vehicle and in customer services as a whole. I never recomend this vehicle or make to anyone.

Cons
After a year the car had multiple issues that were a nightmare to get resolved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOSEPH H.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/10/2019
Nice Package Until Engine Grenaded (Elantra Sport)
For the money, this was a clear beat value choice compared with other new and used car options in the under $20K range. Excellent packaging, sporty performance and great features. Multiple engine issues, including a required replacement, kept the car in the shop 30 days so far. One dealer made several botched repairs that we had to go to another dealer to address. Now there is an excessive valve ticking noise. We will not keep this car a minute beyond its warranty expiration, and will not buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Features, performance (acceleration), comfort, room

Cons
Engine reliability, braking performance, fuel economy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Terri T.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2019
2017 Hyundai Elantra
This car is so fuel efficient yet so sleek. The interior is spacious and very comfortable. All the bells and whistles just add to all the things I love about this car. I will make my next car purchase an Elantra.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Anne H.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
My Second Elantra
This is my second leased Elantra, and I will undoubtedly be leasing another when this lease is up. The Elantra is peppy and cute, and when I drive it I feel like I am in an expensive spirts car. I have had no mechanical problems with either Elantra.

Pros
Lots of pep, sporty looks, dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Elena R.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/06/2019
2017 Elantra lease.
I feel the Elantra a good vehicle but I would not choose again. First, not easy for me to get in, too low. Secondly, not having a rear wiper is really detrimental to bad weather driving. Third, front fender too low to pavement. Just turning a corner has caused a scrape. 2

Pros
Economical, so far reliable drive.

Cons
Too low to pavement, no back wipers, difficult to enter drive side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jason O.
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Car.
My 2017 HyunDai Elantra Sedan SE is wonderful on gas, I just wish it had cruise control instead of the basic model. I travel with it a lot for work and it's the best vehicle I have ever had and I would like to get another one with cruise control in it.

Pros
XM radio.

Cons
No cruise control in it and I wish it had it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 4843 in total