2018
Hyundai
ELANTRA

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(2335 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/21/2018
Parking break light came on after 3 weeks
After 3 weeks owning a brand new car the parking break light came on suddenly while driving down the freeway - will not go off - dealer can not fix so far after 2 1/2 working days of working on it - they have consulted the factory and they still can not make it go off. This is Sunday night and they have had the car since noon last Wednesday. They have reprogrammed the computer, changed the sensor under the parking brake, changed the vacuum pump, checked the wiring harness, and tomorrow they are suppose to change out the ABS Module. I have been told more than once that the next fix should take care of it. At this point they are guessing in my opinion.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Charles F.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/22/2018
Set up to fail!
elantra has a major design flaw. I have the 2018 Elantra and The grille has no mesh and is wide open. I've only owned the car for 2 months and my AC went out and their trying to make me pay 800 dollars for repairs because a rock hit the unprotected condesner and it's not covered under warranty because an object came through the wide open grill and hit it. So now every few months I'm supposed to pay 800 dollars??

Pros
It drives

Cons
The car has been engeneered horribly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Norell J.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/04/2018
Powertrain drive
I have a 2018 Elantra but it was manufactured with all the 2017 before the gts were built Jan. 2018. So basically it’s a 2017. It’s sucks. It has no drive power for a 4c. I’ve seen some 4c take off but this car is ridiculous. Accessing an on ramp on the interstate is frustrating because you hear the engine takeoff but th car doesn’t move. This is unacceptable and I’m so disappointed and unhappy with this purchase.

Pros
It’s very sporty and comfortable enough for me.

Cons
The power drive performance sucks. Sometimes I just hate to drive it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

SP
SILVIA P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/23/2018
Elantra
Assembly of engine very poor and probably not inspected vehicle to ensure to sale. Because if this situation I have to spend time waiting for vehicle repairs is very sad now to pay for a car that doesn’t meet my expectations and let me with not peace of mind even that the warranty can cover repairs I believe that will be more problems with this car that it wasn’t inspected or assembly properly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Karla A.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/13/2018
2018 Hyundai Elantra
Vehicle performs poorly: unreliable—stops, chokes. This car was bought new in February 2018 and has been problematic early on. He has spent a great deal of time in service. The car has proven to be unreliable and unsafe.

Pros
Stylish exterior

Cons
Performs poorly:stops, chokes, unsafe, unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kimberly M.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/19/2018
Crap
Won’t buy another one. I was a day late to return it to get another and that was due to it being Sunday when they were close. Never again. How does a new car this day in age and it doesn’t have Bluetooth. Better yet cruise control on a 2018. Really it’s like having roll up windows on vehicles and a cassette tape player. Seriously people. I absolutely HATE MY CAR and I’m stuck with it.

Pros
Comes with warranty and it drives on wheels. Better than walking.

Cons
No Bluetooth. No cruise control. Doing 65 on the highway and your car will be pushed with just a little bit of wind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sonia R.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/29/2018
ELANTRA 2018
Like I said personally I like it, this is my second Hyundai, so I know I can trust the quality of the car, beside they are low gas consumption and they are great in the highway.
If I have to buy another car it for sure be a Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pamela S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2019
So sorry I gave up my CD player!! I am still missing a CD player.
If you enjoy your CDs don't think you will enjoy this car. It's too low to the ground, and makes a whole lot of noise both beeps and road! I did turn off the beeps except the 39 degree snowflake arg! The back up camera is just a bother. The tires are low when it's cold and then inflate to 40 at 80 degrees arg! The radio should turn off when the engine stops rather than giving that awful battery discharge notice arg!

Pros
I can afford it. It's still new

Cons
The back door jets out to hit one in the face. It makes alot of noise. Sometimes when I turn on the engine it does not start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PU
Patricia U.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/28/2019
Not Happy with this Lemon
Within a couple of months New Engine, air went out, heat doesn’t work. Lemon. I’m stuck with it and less I want to lose a couple thousand dollars five to be exact! Thank God I have a warrantee . The dealer tried to help me as much as They could! This obviously was not their fault they did not make the car

Cons
Lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/25/2019
Hyundai Sport Turbo 2018 is very unsafe
I am very disappointed and fearful of this vehicle. I have almost been in a few accidents with this vehicle, do to it hesitating or sputtering and almost turning off on numerous
occasions. I've taken it in and computer shows nothing wrong. We tech drove it it did the same thing to him. I was told its because its dual transmission.
If I would have known it was going to do that I would have never bought it. IT IS VERY UNSAFE !!!!
Please let me know what can be done before I look for further action. Very disappointed.

Pros
Car has good features, looks nice and sporty. Nice Interior , Nice Exterior.

Cons
Car is very unsafe it sputters and hesitates on take off.
Almost been in a few accidents.
Very Disappointed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/28/2019
Elantra. No way
Worst car ever would never buy a Hyundai Elantra again. There is nothing nice about it. I wish I could turn it in now and get a different car. I would never recommend to anyone. My worst car ever. I literally hate it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Abby F.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/16/2019
Cheap, cheap, cheap
I wouldn’t recommend. I have a 2018 Hyundai and within a year and a half, it had starter issues and the overall quality of the vehicle is beyond cheap. Big hole on the floor mat and the inside panels scratch way too easy. I’ll be back to Honda after this vehicle.

Pros
Looks good, but soooo cheap.

Cons
I wouldn’t recommend. I have a 2018 Hyundai and within a year and a half, it had starter issues and the overall quality of the vehicle is beyond cheap. Big hole on the floor mat and the inside panels scratch way too easy. I’ll be back to Honda after this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Maheswar G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
Elantra
I am not satisfied after completing 23000 miles on my Elantra car. I don’t like this car Elantra. I don’t want to refer anyone of my friends to this Hyundai cars. What I expected from this nothing...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JASON B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/06/2019
Poor quality go with Honda or Toyota the few dollars are worth it
Poor quality car, noisey ride is rough brakes are week. Car has electrical issues. Vibrates any speed. My old 13 elantra was a much better car compared to the 18 I have now. I would not recommend Hyundai to anyone at this point.

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Poor quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Niel N.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/19/2019
Car is great, transmission is terrible. Even worse, Hyundai does not seem to care.
Within days of purchasing our Hyundai Eco, we started to experience issues with the transmission - it slips in the lower gears when accelerating from a stop. So far, Hyundai denies this is an issue and will not do anything about it.

Pros
It is great except for the issue with the transmission - which is a safety hazard (as the transmission stalls in intersections)

Cons
The transmission and the Hyundai attitude about the issue - their attitude is that the issue does not exist.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Derek S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/30/2019
4th Visit to Hyundai Service Center - Cylinder 4 Miss-Fire P0304
I have been taking my car in for repair since 3,000 miles. I am now at 17,000 miles and some change. I have o my 4th visit to Hyundai for repairs for the same issue. I litterally had it fixed on my third visit and within 20 miles of leaving the Hyundai Service Department, the issue started again. The quality of vehicle and repairs is very poor. I have even tried going to different Hyundai Service Facilities. Absolutely unacceptable.

Pros
Inexpensive

Cons
Poor quality

Paint job chips so easy
Car has had issues since 3,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SHELLY G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/06/2019
Hyundai Elantra
Too bumpy. Not a smooth ride. Shocks are horrible and it's very uncomfortable and actually hurts at times. My kids hate it because it is not smooth. I also paid way too much for it. I regret ever buying it

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Paid too much for a low end car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Matthew A.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2019
Cheaply Made For An Expensive Price
I purchased a 2018 Hyundai Elantra Limited Edition. This car is costing my double the price that a regular used car would of costed. Issues with the muffler, along with the radio going through multiple replacements, and if one of your back tires comes out of alignment don't count on having it repaired. Turns out it can't be repaired from what I was told. Also the car shakes once you pass 40 mph. This car was amazing the first week I had it, then it exhibited nothing but constant issues. Avoid this line of cars at all cost!

Pros
Nice Interior
Beautiful on the outside
Amazing headlights
Cold Air
Good gas milage

Cons
Constantly having issues
Horrible radios
Transmission revs at any slight tap of the gas
Shaking once at a higher speed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Wael S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/15/2019
2018 elantra
the car so cheap i was impress for android apps in the car and some gadget i should did more research
the car so cheap build within 8 month i visit dealer ship 6 times for problem and 4 time changing wiper blade they go bad so quick i change 2 door handles passenger side the button on the handle stop working and the rear driver side door handle came out so easy while i tried to open the door the whole handle can you imagine you try to open the door and the handle come out very very cheap job i used to have Chrysler 300 year 2005 better than 2018 elantra once year i visit mechanic
buying Hyundai elantra is the worst decisions i made
my advise dont spend a dollar on these cars if there is less than one star rating i will give

Pros
poor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jessica P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/20/2019
I bought a Lemon and it wasn’t even yellow.
Having the car only two months (14 miles on the odometer on purchase date) there was a leak at less than 1500 miles. Took it in to the dealer. They had it a month and “fixed” it. Got it back drove for a month and noticed a considerably larger leak. Took it back in they said I needed a new engine. It had 2000 miles or less on the odometer. Took it in in February just got it back yesterday 9/19/19. Fingers crossed it doesn’t mess up again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2335 in total