Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(599 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(599 Reviews)

JM
gravatar
JOHN M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2022
Verified Review

Great small SUV - the reviews are right

All of the rave reviews are right regarding this vehicle. Performance, convenience, looks, and ease of charging are all excellent. I have gotten several unsolicited complements in parking lots :-)
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
DEREK P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2022
Verified Review

Simply the BEST!!!

An awesome vehicle in every aspect!!! Comfort, styling, fuel efficiency, and amenities!!! The handling is smooth, quiet, and extremely comfortable. The Ioniq 5 does not disappoint and is a JOY to drive and own!!! :-)
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AF
gravatar
ALAN F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/05/2022
Verified Review

Left my family stranded

We loved everything about our Hyundai Ionic until the car just quit on us during a family road trip. The new car (less than 4,000 miles) suddenly slowed to 40 mph on a busy highway and instructed us to turn the engine off while a loud chime sounded in the cabin. Had to tow it 90 miles to the nearest dealership at a cost of $600 and cancel our vacation plans. Dealer couldn't find any problems so now we are afraid to drive the vehicle more than a few miles away from home.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WL
gravatar
WILLIAM L.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/04/2022
Verified Review

Best car I've ever driven

Incredible car in nearly every way. You've read the reviews. It's all true! Only downside is the charge port light is too bright, but that's easily covered. Incredible car in nearly every way. You've read the reviews. It's all true! Only downside is the charge port light is too bright, but that's easily covered.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AF
gravatar
ALEXIS F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2022
Verified Review

In love with the car!

We haven’t had the car for too long but absolutely love it. It could use auto lock upon walk away and battery preconditioning. It’s very fun to drive and the build quality is great from what I can tell so far!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NB
gravatar
Norman B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2022
Verified Review

Simply a great EV for todays families

Awesome ride and performance. Comfortable and quick. True to range and exceeds rated range regularly. Great controls, visibility, ride and handling. Interior quality is amazing. Roomy interior. Stylish and looks like an EV should. Brings a lot of attention. Fast charging is awesome. I use the Driving Assistance features daily. Charge management and the remote app works well. I have no complaints. Faster and a better ride than a Mach E Premium ER.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HR
gravatar
HELEN R.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2022
Verified Review

First EV

Overall satisfied and happy with Ioniq5. Just the hassle of fear to run out of battery and the awareness to charge frequently. Safety features are superb. Leg room is excellent and interior quality for a standard vehicle is amazingly great.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
JOSEPH W.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2022
Verified Review

Love this car, local charging infrastructure, not so much.

The IONIQ 5 replaced my Prius Prime, which I was very happy with, but I wanted more interior room, all-wheel drive and, ideally, fully electric. IONIQ 5 has been perfect for that. It is great to drive, Interior comfort and roominess is awesome. I'm 6'4" and it is easy to get in and out of, with plenty of interior head/leg room. Steering wheel is easy to adjust, but I still can't find a position that gives me a perfectly clear view of the speedometer. Charging at home, even with a standard outlet, is fine, but depending on where you live, the availability of the 150/350 fast chargers can be challenging. Electrify America has very few in the upper mid-west. When you can find a good one, the charging is super fast and easy. Overall. I love this car!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KO
gravatar
KWASI O.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2022
Verified Review

Everything you need in a vehicle!

Always admired Hyundai from the sideline. Then they stared to release models such, as palsides, genesis sedans etc. I was hooked especially with solid warranty’s. The next level in my life brought to Hyuandi dearlship haven’t looked back.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HD
gravatar
HO D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2022
Verified Review

Excellent entry to the EV Field.

Great vehicle and intro to the EV industry. Highly recommend test driving it. The features on the SE model are great but I came from a full mechanical car (2012 stick shift) and it seems like rocket ship. However, if you’re coming from a new vehicle the features may seem lackluster to you. In any case, it’s a fantastic car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TV
gravatar
TRAO V.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/01/2022
Verified Review

car feels like is going to flip turning at 40 mph

I have very mix emotion on this car. looks nice pros : great color love interior cons: 1.big heavly ugly wheel cant lift to change cause its soo big and bulky. 2. headlight although look nice at night you cant see anything 3. car feels like is going to flip turning at 40 mph 4. driver assit keeps telling you put your hands on wheel 5. hood space bad
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/01/2022 11:23 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JM
gravatar
JONATHAN M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2022
Verified Review

I love my Ioniq 5

Overall, I'm extremely satisfied with my Ioniq 5. What would make this great car even better is a longer range (reliably over 300 in the 300-350 range) and a little more vertical storage space. Other than that, we love this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SE
gravatar
STEPHEN E.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2022
Verified Review

Ionic 5

I am happy with the new ionic 5. It suits my driving patterns for recharging. But since my last car was over 11 years old it has been a learning curve for all the new features like lane assist and back up camera.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KG
gravatar
KAREN G.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2022
Verified Review

A Gem

I'm sure enjoying sportin' a smooth stylistic looking ride in the IONIQ 5 EV! It's an eye popper, I get lots of nice compliments on the rims, Teal color and style. Sure is nice avoiding gas stations too!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DC
gravatar
DAVID C.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2022
Verified Review

Exceeds Expectations

Before I bought the Ioniq 5 I did a lot of research on line and knew that it was a great vehicle, but now that I own one, it is even better than I was expecting. Although there are cars that will do some things better, there is no other electric vehicle at this price range that does this much as good as the Ioniq 5. The outside styling is amazing. I get lots of looks and people come up to me to talk about it. The interior is spacious and comfortable. It is a great place to just be in. They used quality materials and the seats are comfortable. Charging is fast. The infotainment can be a little confusing at times but it is responsive and functionable. Tons of customizability. The autonomous driving exceeds what I was expecting. It takes a lot of the fatigue out of highway rush hour driving. The ride quality is smooth and comfortable, handling is great and acceleration is fast and responsive. We test drove the Tesla 3 performance. The Tesla has more storage. The ride quality of the Tesla was firmer than the Ioniq and while some people may prefer that, I prefer a more comfortable ride on my daily commute The technology was better in the Tesla, but it is a STEEP learning curve. On my test drive I was constantly confused as to what I needed to do to perform a function. I am not confident my wife, or mom would be able to learn it. The Tesla, gets constant accolades on its autonomous driving functions, but the Ioniq 5 seems to be on par with the Tesla. That said, I was not able to to an extensive test drive of the Tesla. The acceleration was also better in the Tesla but the overall quality, fit/finish, comfort and materials was far inferior to the Ioniq 5. Finally, one screen and two buttons on the steering wheel is not enough for a safe user interface for a car. We also tested the Volvo XC40 and Polestar 2. Both had a far superior ride quality in terms of comfort. However these are both ICE based cars, so the interior was far more cramped then a pure EV. Also the technology is far inferior to the Ioniq. The Ford Mach E was no longer even available at the time we were looking at different cars I did not consider the ID4 and it has gotten consistently worse reviews than the above cars. We drove the Kia EV6 but considering it is the same platform, we focused solely on styling and preferred the Ioniq. We live in a region that gets lots of snow so we did not consider FWD cars like Kia Nira, Hyundai Kona, Chevy Bolt. Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Rivian, Lucid, Jaguar were all out of our price range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KM
gravatar
KEVIN M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2022
Verified Review

Ioniq 5

Overall great entry into the electric vehicle market. Optional all-wheel drive was a must for me personally, but probably cost prohibitive for the average compact SUV buyer. SE and SEL package levels are a little more practical. If the Federal Tax Credit had not applied to this vehicle, I may have passed it over. The newly passed Inflation Reduction Act in 2022 saw the Ioniq 5 lose its qualification until Hyindai can take the necessary steps to re-qualify.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AM
gravatar
ASHISH M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/25/2022
Verified Review

Bold & Stylish at a good price point.

Loving my new Ioniq 5. Great style at a good price. Nice interior as well. Electric passenger seat at the lower trim is a miss. The other great miss is an app that calculates the route efficiently like Tesla. Except that, Ioniq 5 is a beauty.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TF
gravatar
THOMAS F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2022
Verified Review

EVs are the Future

I was concerned about range and ease of use but not after driving it for the last few weeks. With a level 2 home charger there is no reason to ever run out of charge. On long trips planning ahead is the way to go but new chargers are coming online all the time. The Ioniq 5 is quiet, smooth and comfortable. I laugh at gas prices now.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LB
gravatar
LAURENCE B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2022
Verified Review

Great time to switch to EV

The IONIQ 5 has been reliable and very fun to drive. I have been hesitant on moving over to EV, but the availability of chargers now removes any worry of feeling like the car will die in the middle of the road especially knowing that this car has great range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GW
gravatar
GUY W.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2022
Verified Review

First electric car

So far very satisfied no real issues, of course there is a learning curve both with the electric car side but also with the new technology as my newest car is a 2009 and there is a huge upgrade in the tech field since my last car was built.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 589 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Dick Smith Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2933 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(140) ReScores