Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(594 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(594 Reviews)

NB
gravatar
NATHANIEL B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2022
Verified Review

2022 Ioniq 5, excellent performance with a couple design flaws

Driving the Ioniq 5 is like piloting the shuttle of the Starfleet USS Enterprise: it's that sleek and futuristic. The driving experience is outstanding, the over design is cool as can be, and the value for the price is great. It's few flaws are, unfortunately, quite noticeable because they're features one uses all the time, as in the dedicated climate control console's poorly located touch capacitive (not hardware) buttons, or that one wishes one could use when needed but can't because it doesn't exist, as the missing rear window wiper (!) and a sunglasses holder. Still, an excellent car and plenty of reason to help the planet by getting rid of your internal combustion engine ride and going electric.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CR
gravatar
CRAIG R.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2022
Verified Review

This car is electric

I may have purchased the first 'phantom black' ioniq 5 in the valley and it has yet to catch on fire. Besides that risk, everything is great. The build quality, styling, and features are shockingly good. With over 300 miles of electric range, I have no anxieties about running out of juice. Engine performance is so above what a hybrid or ICE car can do, there is no turning back.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VK
gravatar
VANDAD K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2022
Verified Review

Great Range, Fantastic Look and High quality

I have the RWD SEL. The quality of built is fantastic. Nothing feels cheap in this car, and the look is Awesome ! The range is great, and I normally spend ~15 minutes for charging the vehicle to 80% (from 20% ish)
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PG
gravatar
PAULINE G.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2022
Verified Review

Very spacious and fun to drive

I am very happy with my 2022 Ioniq 5. Best part is not having to put gas. The car is very comfortable. I must say I am very impressed with the car so far😊 my first electric car and I absolutely love it 😀
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RM
gravatar
RYAN M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai Absolutely Nailed it with the iONIQ 5

We absolutely love this vehicle!!! The amount of interior space is so surprising. The handling, performance and overall aesthetics on point. We have never received so many compliments on a car we owned.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
RACHELLE P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2022
Verified Review

I love my Ioniq5

I love my Ioniq5. It may not look big but once inside, it is very roomy. The legroom and headroom are adequate. I get a lot of compliments of how modern and clean looking it is. I like the way it drives, very smooth and the mile range is good. I can get up to 340 miles once fully charged. I definitely recommend getting this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
TIMOTHY W.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2022
Verified Review

I absolutely love it!

I was in the market for an EV SUV or crossover. I narrowed my search to a Tesla Model Y, a Volkswagen ID.4 PRO, and the Hyundai IONIQ 5 SEL. While I really wanted 7 seats (I have 3 kids), I thought I'd give the IONIQ 5 a try since I preferred it over the others in almost every other aspect by a pretty large margin. While having a 3rd row of seats would have been a great boon, it was a compromise we were willing to make.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SK
gravatar
SCOTLAND K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2022
Verified Review

LOVE THIS CAR

Stylish, fun to drive, fuel efficient (Free charging for two years!!). I’ve never enjoyed driving before. Now I volunteer to be the driver whenever I get the chance. This Ioniq 5 was worth waiting for.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ED
gravatar
ELIZABETH D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2022
Verified Review

The Ioniq 5 is a winner

Though I purchased this car sight unseen, I am completely delighted with it. The ride is amazing, unlike any I’ve experienced in the past, including a Lexus. My garage is set up with a Level 2 charger, and my solar array provides the electricity (indirectly), so the car is fueled by sunlight. How elegant is that? It has all the amenities imaginable, and it is gorgeous.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MOHIT K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2022
Verified Review

Good car, avoid Hyundai dealerships

Terrible experiences all around. Multiple dealers in Austin had minimal information about the car and/or weren't particularly interested in selling this car. The dealer we finally went with delivered a damaged car and then lied about repairing the damage. All of them wanted several thousand $ extra for no added value. The car itself is great. Unfortunately you have to deal with a dealership to actually buy one, which makes it a much harder sell.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DT
gravatar
DU T.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2022
Verified Review

Awesome first EV car

Ioniq 5 AWD has been great so far. Would definitely recommend vs a Tesla Model Y or VW ID4. Styling and features have been amazing. Love the safety features and overall fun driving experience. Everyone asks about it when they see it. It's a head turner.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EK
gravatar
ELLEN K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/25/2022
Verified Review

Range was a Lie

I purchased this vehicle largely for the range of the EV Battery. I’ve never been able to drive the car further than 250 miles despite the advertised range of 300+. Buy the Mustang Mach E. Customer service response has been insulting this far. I am so disappointed.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 03/25/2022 10:25 AM
Hello, Ellen. Thank you for providing your feedback. We've contacted your case manager, India, as well as their supervisor, and they will be in touch shortly. Thank you again. ^cc

DF
gravatar
DAVID F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2022
Verified Review

A modern family family vehicle

The Ioniq 5 is an excellent car overall, making it one of the best electric vehicle options available to the average consumer. It has some design quirks that are silly and should never have been allowed to make it into production, such as its lack of rear seat folding controls located in the hatch, no wireless CarPlay or USB-C ports, lack of seating climate control switches necessitating delving into the computer menu to access them and some other minor annoyances to name a few. However, these things shouldn't prevent ownership if you like the design, performance and overall functionality of the car. It's a winner.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RB
gravatar
RYAN B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/24/2022
Verified Review

Nearly perfect

Perfect other than two things. First would be it needs auto lock on doors when leaving vehicle. Secondly, ability to mirror screen when charging and play games on infotainment screen. Other than that it is a great vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TM
gravatar
TERRY M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2022
Verified Review

Not all areas have been experienced yet.

Not all areas have been experienced yet. As stated earlier, I am like a young boy driving his first car purchased with the money he earned on his first job. Riding around singing to the Oldies. Everyone stops and stars.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RM
gravatar
RONALD M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/23/2022
Verified Review

Great car

This car far exceeds expectations I had for an EV. The car performs well. Has decent range. Much bigger than it looks, both inside and outside. Performs great in the snow and in dry conditions. Definitely a must consideration if you are looking for an EV.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EH
gravatar
ELIZABETH H.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2022
Verified Review

HYUNDAI IONIQ 5, 2022--fabulous car!

The HYUNDAI IONIQ 5, 2022 is a quiet, smooth running car (much better than the Tesla 3 or Y's choppy/bumpy ride) that handles outstandingly well and has a 303-mile range. It has comfortable seats and handsome, modern, elegant and unique styling--both interior and exterior. I tried several all electric vehicles and the IONIQ 5 was by far the best and was rated exceedingly well by online reviewers who had test driven the car. The only downside is that most items are controlled on a computer screen with multiple steps so your eyes are off the road extensively. This is distracting and dangerous. A front and side camera also would be welcome and perhaps (?) these features come on higher-end models. I wanted only the RWD so didn't explore other options. Another downside (that I expect to get repaired) is that the CarPlay function cuts out every few seconds. Sometimes it comes back on, others you have to go to the screen to turn it on. Same with the navigation function. Reliability of Hyundai has been good. Because I have less than 1000 miles on the car, I have no way to judge. Be sure that the regenerative braking is OFF or on low when test-driving the car or acceleration isn't what you would expect. Acceleration is excellent with the right paddle on levels 0 or 1.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
SU-MYUNG B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/23/2022
Verified Review

Great EV but with some flaws

Great EV with ample passenger space I wish there is little more storage here and there. Lane keeping / smart steering MUST be improved. It is simply way too dangerous to use. And tons of cheap hard plastics panels around and cloth seats making way too much static shock/zaps.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HD
gravatar
HECTOR D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2022
Verified Review

Best Car I’ve Ever Owned

The Ioniq 5 will change the car industry forever. A message to a Hyundai….Please dear god, just don’t kill this car by making some huge changes on the next refresh. Buyers of this car love the futuristic / retro combo design.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
KEVIN R.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/21/2022
Verified Review

Fix the kinks in ownership! Be honest about charging and keep partners accountable!

Overall, the car functions very well. Smooth handling, clean and stylish design, solid cockpit. Hyundai needs to do better at understanding the diversity of ownership experiences. Not all drivers want bright lights inviting attention on multiple sides of their car when charging. Those of us in more extreme climates may need more than 10 minutes of climate control despite Hyundai's 10 min timeout. We might also have challenges with the tire slime freezing; how will we deal with a flat then? How cold or hot can that can get? Far, far better support is needed for using third party charging platforms. Wireless Android Auto should be available on a 2022 vehicle in this price range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 481 - 500 of 584 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Dick Smith Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2933 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(140) ReScores