Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(624 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(624 Reviews)

Reviews


MM
gravatar
MEGAN M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Nice Design but NOT a premium experience

Nice design and it rides nice but there are issues with the economy (only gets 60% of what is advertised), Lane Assist (can be jerky and pull you suddenly despite being in the middle of the lane) and getting the car into gear or staying in park
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/26/2022 09:02 AM
Hello, Megan. We welcome your feedback. If you'd like, please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

BC
gravatar
BETTY C.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/28/2022
Verified Review

Ioniq 5 is a great car in terms of appearance and fast charging capability.

Ioniq 5 is a great car in terms of appearance and fast charging capability. However, the SE trim is overpriced for all the basic features. It doesn't have a power passenger seat no Homelink mirror which means cannot connect to a garage opener. No ventilation for the back seat. AC performance is far from satisfactory.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MELVYN K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/04/2022
Verified Review

stunning design

While the car is beautifully designed, the storage space could be better thought out. I experiences a number of mechanical issues with this vehicle within a few days after purchasing it which is very disappointing and one tends to lose confidence in the brand. When one experiences warranty issues almost immediately, Hyundai should offer better support to their dealers by providing a rental vehicle to at least make up for the inconvenience. My dealership only has 2 loaner vehicles and its on a first come first served basis. Having to endure these inconveniences does not make for an overall compelling argument to purchase this vehicle. Hindsight is 20/20 because had I been aware of so many issues for a brand new car and the inconvenience factor when it comes to the difficulty of having easy access to a loaner vehicle, I would never have purchased this vehicle
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/09/2022 07:31 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Melvyn. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

JS
gravatar
JERMAINE S.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/05/2022
Verified Review

Miles

Pissed off about the miles it gets now Hdhdududududududdudusususususususysysysysysysysysususususususysysysysususysusususududududidififidififididididududududududidifififidudududufududifudufififofifididididud
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
J S.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/05/2022

Hyundai ionic 5 change in miles and 7500$ rebate

They need to tell people before they purchase this vehicle that the miles on a full charge are going to drop dramatically from what they tell you in less than a few charges of having the vehicle. In less than 3 weeks car went from 310+ miles to less than 250 miles on a full charge and this seems to happen to everybody. For a 60000$ vehicle I would think a person would want to know that before they purchase it and how you only get the rebate depending on how much money you owe on your federal taxes.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MF
gravatar
MARIO F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/05/2022
Verified Review

Strong appearance but falls short of range expectations

Great futuristic styling. Many standard features. But all the good is shadowed because of falsely advertised range milage. Build quality is above average. SE should come with leather as standard equipment.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PP
gravatar
Prashant P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/08/2022
Verified Review

Not very impressed!

I decided to move to EV in 2022 from gas vehicles. I have a Tesla booked and waiting for delivery. I picked up this IONIC5 because it was available. The vehicle is nice but, the features and functionalities available are poor in comparison to Tesla. IONIC5 is over hyped - that's my take.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
CHINTAN P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/14/2022
Verified Review

Dealership Markup

Very good vehicle but it is very expensive due to Msrp and top of that i had to paid Dealership Markup as well. Very poor dealership customer service. They charge over MSRP even i paid deposit on car month prior to come in dealership stock.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/15/2022 07:11 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Chintan. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

SA
gravatar
SANELE A.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/30/2022
Verified Review

Charging issues

Overall a good vehicle in terms of style, comfort, sound and drivability when at optimum functionality. There is an ongoing battery issue and the amount of miles gained once charged to 100% is far below the estimated 305 suggested by dealership. This car only give about 220 to 250 miles per 100% charge. Keep in mind most of the charging is done to 80% to preserve battery but only done to 100% for proposed longer trips. This issued has been delayed for more than one month to be fixed by dealerships because of limited available appointments. This is a brand “new car” and its already having charging problems. In addition, actual mileage on dash and mileage on Bluelink is about 2000 difference and I have not gotten a plausible answer only sent a very tedious update link which I have not been able to complete because of time. Also, in order to update software you have to have a flash drive and reset the head, pretty crazy when your iPhone updates once connected and this car is connected through Bluelink. There has been many excuses and still waiting for issues to be dealt with on Sept 8, let’s see what happens. This could by updated accordingly.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/31/2022 06:12 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Sanele. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. 

HD
gravatar
HOAN D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/10/2022
Verified Review

Great vehicle experienced one off issue

Loved the vehicle. I personally had an issue which I initially thought was the v12 battery. Several warning lights showed up on my car randomly one day and none of the functions worked. The windows wouldn’t roll down, the ac didn’t work, all the sensors were not functioning. Etc….
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ND
gravatar
NANCY D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/28/2022
Verified Review

Not enough range for travel

The car looks cool, drives nice. Traveling any distance is a nightmare however, having to stop at every charger to charge gets really annoying. When automakers figure out a way to increase the range and/or let you turn the AC on and still have decent range they will be worth considering again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TP
gravatar
Trung P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/05/2022
Verified Review

No wireless CarPlay

Built in nav is terrible. Apple Maps from CarPlay is way better. Not sure why Hyundai even waste resources building the navigation software. Everyone should be using Apple Maps or Google maps instead. Speakers are also terrible.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TH
gravatar
Tyler H.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/08/2022
Verified Review

Ending of this story is still TBD

Be aware of what you are choosing to purchase, go in with both eyes open. The charging network is not quite ready to truly enjoy this vehicle the way it was intended. It’s a fun car to drive, but know there are some issues Hyundai is clearly working thru to make this the best car it could be.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
ROBERT C.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/15/2022
Verified Review

Very Vanilla

The car does some things great and something poorly so it all kinds of washes out. Making it a very neutral experience. With less than 4000 miles I'm already hesitant to believe this car will make it over 100k miles without falling apart.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TV
gravatar
TRAO V.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/01/2022
Verified Review

car feels like is going to flip turning at 40 mph

I have very mix emotion on this car. looks nice pros : great color love interior cons: 1.big heavly ugly wheel cant lift to change cause its soo big and bulky. 2. headlight although look nice at night you cant see anything 3. car feels like is going to flip turning at 40 mph 4. driver assit keeps telling you put your hands on wheel 5. hood space bad
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/01/2022 11:23 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

DD
gravatar
DANIEL D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/08/2023
Verified Review

Issues

Need rear wiper, roof rails, better battery life. Preconditioning hard to use. Missing EA chargers and many map problems. Didn't receive my mug. Ground clearance a problem as I hit curbs so really in the parking times when 45 degree parking
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JZ
gravatar
JOHN Z.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/09/2023
Verified Review

Ionic 5 problems

Need to fix charging have to restart charging 5 to 6 times to get a full charge. Told us we would get 400 miles only get 248. Would not recommend due to charging problem and no one at dealer can help or tell us why
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SK
gravatar
SHAWN K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/09/2022
Verified Review

Water pump failed after 3 weeks

I purchased the car brand new and was excited to drive it and experience what an EV had to offer. After about 3 weeks and 1300 miles I got an EV light on the dash. Brought the car to the dealer and found out the water pump failed. The part is on back order and they don’t have a ETA on when it will be in to fix. It a disappointment I spent alot of money on the car and it has an issue after 1300 miles. I really enjoyed the car. But now it has me worrying about the reliability of the vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/11/2022 07:44 AM
We're very sorry to hear of your situation, Shawn. We have notified one of our corporate colleagues, Jordan, and they will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

AP
gravatar
ANTHONY P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/14/2022
Verified Review

Nice car but my climate control doesn't work and can't be fixed for months.

The car looks great and for the most part I like it. However after just 5 days, the climate stopped working and I was told that it could not be fixed because the parts are on months long backorder. With temperatures averaging in the mid to high 90s, I cannot drive the car during the day. It's just not safe as internal temperatures are sometimes over 100 degrees (!).
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/15/2022 06:45 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Anthony. We have passed along your concerns to your case manager, Shawnita, who will be in touch shortly to further discuss your situation. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JOSEPH B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/30/2022
Verified Review

I wish it didn't break immediately, but otherwise awesome.

Things I love: the car is smooth. the car is quiet. the acceleration is amazing. it looks very cool. its large, like surprisingly large. The tech features seem awesome, but I can’t fully say until I've been able to use it as much of it doesn't work. the cup holders are far superior to Mercedes-Benz. the magnet spot, I thought that was super stupid at first, but I love it. not functional not needed, but a nice touch. another nice touch is the metal endcaps on the stalks. the pixel motif is very cool, though perhaps even a bit too subdued. I like the steering wheel shape/design including the quality of the buttons. those are frequent touch points and they aren’t at risk of fade. well done. though I really do wish I could change the button so that moving up a track meant pushing the button up. its counter intuitive. Things I'd like to see in the future: static display brightness. auto dimming is not something I like, but I can not disable it. the tune and channel select button I would love to be able to invert the controls. right now down is up and up is down. the star button....I’d love to see the options open up more on that. they are a bit restrictive. please stop using USB-A ports. I assume you had a ton of them laying around but it makes no sense otherwise to use USB-A when everything is now USB-C especially in a 'future' car. more customization of the display would be great, perhaps wallpaper uploads of .jpeg or something over the USB data port. Things that are not so positive: the rear seatbelts bang against the doors all the time. I know you know about this because there is an extra bit of fabric to help this, and it does help. but, the guide for the seatbelt is not sufficiently to keep the belt from twisting when exiting the rear. I have kids, this is 100% of the time they are in the car the belt twists upon retraction as a result of the force of the retraction and the weight of the buckle. I can already tell the front grill vent is going to be a challenge in the winter. I can see that being a problem and I’m able to avoid snow travel for the most part, time will tell. ergonomics: I am 69" tall and 170lbs. absolutely everything is a nightmare to reach. the infotainment, the center glove box (the concealed box in the arm rest) the seat controls, basically everything. I understand that ergos are very subjective to the individual, just do with that what you will. the lumbar support does not maintain position. I haven’t told the dealer yet because I’d really like them to focus on my AVN. my sales rep was amazing his name is Don Fischer. He was amazing. he went above and beyond. the service manager and I, are off to a rough start. I hope that he does right by me. if he doesn’t, I’ll let you know. the AVN issue is of the utmost concern. my GPS doesn’t function. HDA errors out. GPS is a very important feature to me. it’s a long story, I told the service manager, he should understand my frustration about this. its literally essential to me. the HDA function not working is very very sad. this is one of the key features I was excited about. I do a lot of highway driving and now I don’t have it after having it just a short while. there is a bit of creaking from the driver side a-pillar. seems to be related to body roll. do I really really need the little cap on the DC ports? can I just put a bit of no-ox in there and remove that annoying dangly junk? that was clearly an after-thought. Right now, I'm still generally undecided about my decision. this host of issues so very early in one of the most expensive offerings from the company, a flagship vehicle that when asked by peers I have to give an almost embarrassing disclaimer. it is what it is.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 581 - 600 of 614 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Wilson Premier Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(653 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(30) ReScores