2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Electric

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(16 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JK
Joseph K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2019
This is a great car, and may have converted me to a 100% electric car buyer.
I must admit, I was skeptical about the Ioniq when I leased it - to be honest I was mostly impressed by the Ioniq Unlimited Lease offer. It just made sense for a commuter car in California, where carpool access and free Fast Track usage, coupled with never stopping at a gas station made me decide to give it a try.
What surprised me was how fun this car is to drive. Quick acceleration, decent handling, excellent interior space for a bigger driver, and all of the technological advancements / features made me love this car.
The only downside is the limited range (around 110 miles of spirited driving with the radio on and climate control at a comfortable setting), slow charging [compared to the higher end electric vehicles] and limited seating - when the driver's seat is where I like it. That being said, as a pure work commuter, and not the primary family transportation - i could not ask for anything more of this car.
Highly recommend this car for anyone who has about an 80-90 mile or less round trip (unless you can charge it at work).

Pros
Fun to drive
Technologically advanced
Good looking car
Quicker than you might imagine

Cons
Good luck trying to fit 4 adults in there.
Limited range
Slow charging

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VV
Vytautas V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2019
Super efficient and comfortable electric car
Nicely built electrical car, one of the best cars under 35K budget. The efficiency just stands out: 5miles/kwh on the highway and 6milesm/kwh or more on the surface streets. This car does not have any compromises except the battery size, has full comfort and all tech features of regular subcompact car. From practical point of view, it has a potential to become the best electric car if the battery size could extend to 60 kWh.

Pros
comfort, efficiency, infotainment, phone integration

Cons
range (battery size)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jerry R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
This is my 3rd Hyundai, but this one is just incredible
I love my ionic e! There isn't anything that it doesn't do well. The ride is incredibly smooth, being an electric vehicle of course it is very quiet . My only wish is that I could get more mileage out of it per charge then I am getting. I am getting much more than your window sticker says, but at 120 I am always looking for a charger. It would be nice if your dealer shops had fast chargers, and I would be more than happy to pay for charging!
There are not enough available at times, butbyou seem to have numerous dealerships in most cities now! EVgo and charge point are the biggest suppliers in our area, think about it!!!

Pros
Great economy

Cons
Not enough charging stations

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/05/2019
Best car I have ever owned.
Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.Best car I have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VV
Vytautas V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/24/2018
The most efficient high quality electrical car on the market
Ioniq electric is the best deal you can get for the money today if one needs a car for daily commute. It is loaded with features equal or better than some luxury brands. Even the limited range of 125 miles isn't too bad for longer trips because of high efficiency and fast charging speeds topping at around 80kw. I hope the next model upgrade will increase the battery size to 40kwh or more to make it well-rounded all purpose electric car.

Pros
Very efficient, high build quality and fun to drive electric car. Has very rapid DC charging which alleviates limited range on long trips.

Cons
28Kwh battery provides limited range on single charge. It will become less an issue as the charging infrastructure improves. Hopefully, next model upgrade will have at least 45kwh battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joseph C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2018
Love it!
I've never owned a Hyundai before, and this is my first electric car. I love it. I love the torque on this car. I don't drive fast. I don't need to race anyone, so top speed is not my concern, but being able to accelerate quickly is always handy, and definitely a thrill. The car itself has many little novelties. Cruise control that keeps the distance for you, blind spot assistance, auto braking that holds the car in place at stops lights (and let's go when you starts to move), super bright headlights, a nice sound system and seat warmers :). Not to mention the fact that I never have to fill gas. The 130 mile battery is sufficient (I would love to have an electric car in the future with over 300 miles). I've had the car for almost a year, it still feels new :)

Pros
A lot of nice extra features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mark G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2018
Reliable & I never have to deal with pumps again
I LOVE my full electric Ioniq! Since the day I drove this vehicle off the lot I never had any complaints. The car runs smooth and is very quiet. The best part are the incentives and never having to use a gas pump again!

Pros
Runs Smooth, Full Electric, great features

Cons
Wish there was more mileage when fully charged

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michele S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2018
Great commuter car
Love this car now with the gas is so expensive. Wish it had a longer range. The sport mode allows you to pass without a hiccup. Fun to drive. Room trunk and back seat. Needs work on the android App to connect Cell phones.

Pros
Smooth fast car

Cons
Not enough charge capacity.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Metz R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/18/2018
first time Hyundai Buyer
Software is not as expected. Locks up many times when in Canada and Blue Link/Google feature never work there. I have family there so I go at least 3 times a week. have to reboot audio/navigation system or wait for it to reboot itself. Can take up to 45 minutes for it to reset on it's own.

Pros
Mileage in warm or hot weather is as expected

Cons
Software is not as expected and all does not work while in Canada. mileage in cold weather is very poor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OM
Ofir M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/20/2017
Nice car but can be much better
The car can be much better if Hyundai will improve the stability and breaking power.

Pros
Fast, nice looking with many nice features. great audio system and navi.

Cons
Cons: Breaks are weak, not stable on sharp adges or fast curves, Battery only good for 122 mills and not 133 miles, the dynamic driver system cannot be trusted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2017
My Ioniq Electric
Top feature model has all I could want. Great camera. Pleasant interior & quiet ride. ALL my riders (Lyft, Uber) are very impressed. This is a large, upscale population here in Santa Barbara.

Pros
Value ffor $

Cons
Limited battery range. Should compete with Bolt at least.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Javid K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/14/2017
Performance and comparision of each full Charge compared to Chevy Bolt
i already explained below.

Pros
Very Comfortable and smooth drive

Cons
Comparing this car with Chevy Bolt, mileage on each full charge is pretty low. This needs to be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Edward C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2017
Fast little electric
Fun car that has great distance. Though it's a compact car, it big enough for the family to go on drives to Legoland in relative comfort. My average charge rate on a 120v charger supplied with the car is 4% per hour or 5 miles per hour at the way I drive. So charging at home is fine for my daily commute without a 240v charger. The vehicle can easily hit 150 miles without the ac on and with the way I drive normally.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Metz R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/24/2017
New model
Overall the vehicle drives well. As it is a new model, some kinks are evident and dealer training is not up to speed. The mileage is good but not quite as high as I thought it would be and I'm a conservative driver, not rabbiting from stops or pushing the envelope as I try for highest mileage possible.
Navigation and audio system have occasion lock up for audio or nav system doesn't recognize some addresses even though they have been there for years.

Pros
Handling, features and comfort

Cons
Vehicle doesn't slow down well and brakes are used more than expected. Audio and nav system are not updated as one would expect.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MEGAN O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2017
Great car
My fuel economy is great obviously and I'm super happy with my car. The only way to use navigation though is with my phone and it has to be plugged in. Now I can't use my iPod while I'm using navigation.

Pros
Fuel economy, low price for hybrid, good sound system, comfortable seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Metz R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/16/2017
New Car
Overall the vehicle is good but not matching to mileage quoted in sales brochure and sales people. As it is a new model, kinks exist and software is not as sound as it could be. Also training on the product by service techs is not quite up to speed.

Pros
Like the handling and drivability. Power is good and seats are comfortable as well, the features are good.

Cons
Hybrid does not have the capability to slow down. Example, the 2006 Prius has a braking feature on the transmission that allow car to slow down and use less brakes. The manual mode on this car actually uses significantly more gas and milage quotes is not anywhere near what brochures and sales quote. :In cruise, more gas is used than in non cruise-I am a moderate driver and do not speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 16 reviews