2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1052 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SW
Shawn W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2019
I love this car!!
My husband bought me this for my birthday last year and it is the only new vehicle we have ever owned. I love the sporty feel and the amazing gas mileage. I like the sports mode also. I like the app that allows you to start the car and set the temperature even though I hate technology and didn't want to download the app initially.

Pros
I love the gas mileage because we travel so much! I like the sleek style and the moon roof

Cons
I do wish that there was a spare tire that came with the new car. You have to drive the car "just right" to get the optimal gas mileage. The most I have been able to get is 50 miles to the gallon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Martin M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/31/2019
Reliable, high fuel mileage. Nice styling. A bit noisy........................................x
Works as advertized. But if I had to do it again I would by a Prius..................................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
High mileage

Cons
A bit noisy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Susan B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2019
My 2017 Hyundai Ionic
The gas mileage is excellent and is as advertised except in very cold weather when gas mileage decreases. The car boasts a sporty exterior and roomy interior. The ride is quite comfortable for both driver and passengers. The trunk space is quite roomy.

Pros
Gas mileage is absolutely superb. Sporty exterior and interior. Excellent Hyundai warranty

Cons
I'm looking forward to additional safety features such as automatic braking and front view sensors or camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jim W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2019
Hyundai Ionic Hybrid
I previously owned a Toyota Prius C. I was familiar with hybrids and have like them. I wanted to get a newer model, and I researched both Toyota and Hyundai. in my search it discovered the ioniq hybrid, and I was really impressed with this performance both and gas mileage and all around performance of the vehicle. The Toyota hybrids are all CVT transmissions, and the Hyundai ioniq is a 6-speed transmission. I really like the way that it handles. In warm-weather my gas mileage is over 50 miles per gallon. This past winter with short trips and a cold engine, the mileage is in the low 40s.

Pros
I get frequent comments about the looks and styling of the Ionic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jessica R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/28/2019
Interior is terrible
Salesman lied (what a surprise) about interior cloth seats. They are poor quality and stain easily. I am embarrassed to even open the door. The finance guy lied about the extended warranty. It doesn’t even cover air filters although he said o wouldn’t have to pay a dime while having it.

Pros
Great gas Milage.

Cons
Disgusting interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Michael C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2019
2017 Hyundai IONIQ hybrid
My wife and I both love this car. It is quiet, very smooth riding, and handles very well. I have had two Toyota Prius and one Honda Civic hybrid, and none of them come anywhere close to the level of this car. Mileage is very good, frequently in the 60+ mpg range on long road trips. Having the main battery die on the two Prius in the 150,000 to 160,000 mile range, the original owner warranty of free replacement of the main battery (if needed) was a major sales point for me.

Pros
Battery warranty
Standard features included in the price
Interior roominess
Heated sets in the winter!

Cons
If you change your own oil, getting the filter loose can be a pain. Beyond that, I have not found any "cons"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VH
Veronica H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/26/2019
So Glad I Got it!
I could hardly be more satisfied with this car's performance and handling. Fuel economy is great although not as good as advertised. The only other complaint I have is that there were 2 recalls. Both of the recalls were handled well by the dealer.

Pros
Good safety features, handles well and good fuel economy.

Cons
Still a higher priced than I would like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Susana R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2019
Awesome
We were very happy with the Ioniq. My husband had an accident and the car protected him and saved his life. Awesome vehicle! My husband wanted to purchase another one but didn’t have his color of vehicle. So we purchase a Kona..

Pros
Awesome Vehicle

Cons
No Cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Juanita M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/23/2019
I love my Ioniq
Hyundai should advise his vehicle more - it truly is a hidden gem! It gets great gas mileage- claims 59mpg HWY and I have gotten up to 70mpg!! Glad I made this purchase and will definitely buy again when the time comes but will splurge for the extras.

Pros
Great mileage

Cons
No auto start on my model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tim M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2019
Big fan
We have two in our family and planning on adding a third. This car is still like new at about two years.
I have visited a number of car manufacturing plants. I would like Hyundai to make plant tours of Ulsan a “thing”
Many Americans are unaware just how good Korean engineering really is .

Pros
Value
Mpg
Warranty
Visibility
Honesty

Cons
Add blue link to ioniq blue trim level

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
Glenn M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/21/2019
Too many repairs
Although the service was great and the Tech Victoria was super sweet and helpful, I take pause about a car in repairs for over a week for an led dashboard. Would love to trade in . Only has 3700 miles!!

Pros
Best looking hybrid around

Cons
Repairs took too long

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2019
The Best Hyundai You've Never Heard Of!
I was intrigued when I first saw the car in the showroom. I stared at the EPA mileage rating in total disbelief. 50 MPG, really??
I have had it now for over a year. My ACTUAL mileage has been 49.7 MPG. WOW.
It's hilarious when you are doing 70 MPH and you are watching your miles-to-empty going UP!
All the while, the climate control system is set at 71 degrees and works perfectly. The only time ever Ilower a window is at the local drive-thru restaurants...
Has reasonable acceleration and responsiveness in traffic.
Seriously. It is a quality build.

Pros
fantastic mileage
well appointed mid-range model
good road feel & comfort

Cons
road and wind noise at highway speed is noticeable
Google Android Auto is clumsier to use than a built-in system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Paul K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2019
I never received a response for my initial review concerning the vehicle painting defects I reported.
My vehicle was probably damaged at the factory and it was spray painted by hand.
There is a noticeable difference between robotic spray painting and human spray painting, unevenness, blotches and running clear coat overspray.
Why are you so concerned about getting a five star review when you do not care to see the quality of the product you are delivering?
If you wish to see the vehicle I can bring it to Fairfax Hyundai at your convenience.

Paul Kuzmik

Pros
n/a

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beryl H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2019
BH
We love our 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid. It has done everything as indicated in the literature. The gas mileage is wonderful. We love the styling and the fact that the rear seat can be laid down which makes it nice when I need home improvements and need
Bags of garden soil for my flower beds. A excellent car.

Pros
We are totally satisfied wth way it drives and ride on comfort.

Cons
I have no cons. The is the first time I have had a car with no cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mirage K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/16/2019
Meh
Sound system is horrible. Car is meh. Gets great distance. Boring drive. What more is there to write.,..,,ehejdbfbbdbdbdbdbxbbsbxbebxbsbxbbwbxbebdbsbejsbebdbsbdbdbdbbwbzbehxjddjejsjshhs that's word limit

Pros
Great on gas mileage

Cons
Boring to drive, even in sport mode. Sound system is whack

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lisa B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2019
Excellent commuter car
We bought this for a long daily commute (45 minutes each way) and it has run reliably and gotten the advertised gas mileage (55-60 MPG). It's also fun to drive.. It's a little small on the inside but you can't have everything
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Donald L.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2019
IONIQ
For the price it is one of the best vehicles on the road. I am stunned that I don't see many more of them on the road. Probably due to lack of advertising. I have not seen any commercials for the Ionoq in a long time.

Pros
mpg with hybrid and comfort far superior to Prius

Cons
Could use more features such as nav system,and typical enhanced safety features found in Subaru

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Frank W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/12/2019
Best Car Ever
I've been driving over 55 years and during that time have owned or driven dozens of cars including high end models like my Mercedes or Cadillac. NONE of them were as good as my Ioniq. This car is unbelievable in price, quality, and performance. In the past 30,000 miles, I've never had less than 55 mpg and sometimes in the low sixties. The adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking and other high tech features help make this vehicle a pleasure to drive. Thanks Hyundai for making this outstanding vehicle. Incidentally, my previous vehicle was a Prius and I'll stick with Ioniq.

Pros
Too many to list.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/06/2019
2017 Ioniq
I really enjoy my Ioniq!!!! I owned a Prius for 5 years before buying my Ioniq. My gas mileage is great 55.47 during the first 36,000 miles. ( I track it with every fill up. We took a 9000 mile NW trip last year and we averaged 54 MPG on the trip....average highway speed was 75+

Cons
Transmission shifting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joan C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/05/2019
I love the savings on gas without sacrificing comfort.
I originally purchased the Ioniq to save money on the gas. I’m happy to add that I did not have to sacrifice comfort or excellent performance for the savings. At least once or twice a week someone will comment on the sleek styling of the car. This car gas power too! I can easily keep up with traffic and enjoy the smooth ride, too.

Pros
Saves on gas. Peppy response to the gas peddle.

Cons
I can hardly wait until you come out with a Hybrid mini SUV. I like sitting up higher in a vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 1052 in total