2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1009 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CT
Connie T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2019
2108 Hyundai Ionic
I fully recommend this vehicle because it delivers on its promises. Love the fuel mileage. Also heated seats. Plenty of power for mountainous areas and wherever else I want to go. Has satisfactory cargo space when the back seats are placed down.

Pros
Excellent delivery on promised fuel mileage. Nice looking vehicle that is also reliable!
Back up camera Heated front seats.
Lane changing sensor

Cons
The auto button for the windows is very stiff. Scheduled to replace with a new one so we'll see if that fixes the problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ID
Ian D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2019
Great Car
I traded a Prius. Better mpg, more interior room for a better price. Well thought out design. Workmanship is great. Route 44 Hyundai are awesome. I have recommended this car to many people. One bought an Ioniq. He has experienced the same quality, MPG and love of the car as I have.

Pros
Comfortable to drive. Great MPG.

Cons
Needs to have heated mirrors as standard equipment on the Blue model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Cody K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/26/2019
Mediocre
Gets me around, but I paid $400 for a repair that should have been covered under warranty as powertrain, but Hyundai considers ignition coils to be electrical. AND IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. CEL CAME BACK ON RECENTLY!

Pros
Cheap and fuel efficient

Cons
Pay for repairs that do nothing and should be covered under warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jason M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/21/2019
Junk cars
I have only owned my car for a year and it has been broken and at the dealer way to many times for a new car (dead batteries, recalls, malfunctioning seatbelts, etc.). Never going to buy Hyundai again.

Pros
Great looking car both inside and out

Cons
Always something breaking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GREGG H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2019
nice economical car
very good driving car, awesome economy and some good features in the base package. some rear visibility concerns but not that bad once you get used to it. heat sometimes takes a while to get very hot when extremely cold

Pros
fuel economy

Cons
poor rear visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Patricia W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Great car!
My fav car ever! I fell in love with it and waited almost a year before my dream came true. Well worth the wait; I could not be happier! I'm getting 60+ mpg---what's not to love about that? It's my baby; actually saving me money!❤❤❤

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carrie A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/06/2019
Do Not Buy a Hyundai
Hyundai says making things better for people is what they do best. NOT TRUE. Making things better for their wallets is what they do best.

My 2017 Ionic has had four instances of unintended acceleration. One of them caused a crash.

I took the vehicle to a dealership in its post crash condition. They diagnosed it and said there was nothing wrong. Then, they said they couldn’t diagnose it because the crash caused too much damage. They told me, in writing, I needed to get the car fixed and bring it back for diagnosis.

I had been in contact with a Corporate Customer Service rep and asked if it was okay to get the car repaired? No answer. Yet, the rep sent an adjuster to the body shop to inspect the vehicle. The adjuster knew it was there.

The day the car was repaired I took it back to the dealership for diagnosis. Within a few days I received a letter from the Corporate Customer Service Rep saying they wouldn’t take responsibility for the unintended acceleration because I had the car fixed. What???? I was told by Hyundai to fix the car.

Hyundai is an underhanded company, making shoddy automobiles and even more excuses.

If your car works fine, you probably think Hyundai has your back. But the moment your vehicle suffers from their less than stellar manufacturing process, you will quickly know just how dishonest they are.

When I post this story on Hyundai’s Facebook page, I get a private message asking for my VIN and case numbers. I provide them and am told I’ll get a call from a Customer Service Rep.

The first rep called and made excuses for the original rep’s actions. He said the other rep didn’t know this was a product defect issue. I asked how much clearer could unintended acceleration be? Then he told me I should have told the rep I was scared to drive the car. I told him I made that very clear several times. Especially when I said I know this car is going to kill me. The rep asked if he could call me back and guess what happened? He never called me back.

The second rep called and left a message. I called and left her a message. She called one more time and left a message. I have called twice in two weeks and left messages. Guess what is going to happen? She will not return my call.

Hyundai you need to take care of those who invested in your company by buying your cars and who are getting the shaft by your deceptive business practices.

If one person reads this message and chooses to buy a car from a different manufacturer, congratulations. You just saved yourself a ton of problems.

Hyundai, my 2017 Ioniq is going to kill me.

Pros
Cute car, great gas mileage

Cons
Four cases of unintended acceleration and one crash as a result. Deceptive company. Will not stand behind their work and make every excuse to shirk responsibility. Do not buy a Hyundai or Kia.

Go to the National Traffic Safety Board’s website and check out the major issues have been having. Check out Hyundai’s Facebook page as well. Too many customers with the same customer disservice experiences.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Amber M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
Great car!
Very roomy without being a huge vehicle. Great MPG! Have owned for two years with no major problems. Did just get my fist flat tire and didn't realize there was no spare. Roadside assistance is awesome and easy to use! It did come with a tire inflation kit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beryl H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2019
Five Star Service
We love our 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid. Our mileage has been excellent. It is a pleasure to drive. We hardly ever see one out on the road. We think more people should ow one. In about 30,000 miles it has been trouble free.

Pros
Excellent mileage
Outstanding warranties and fun to drive.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARK B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/04/2019
My Car
The car's fuel economy is what recommends it. I don't know what else to say since I am expected to spend 200 words in this section so I can submit this review. It is tedious for these extra words since I can say it succinctly with "fuel economy."

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
Some styling issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Great Value, Mileage, and cool looking.
What's to say? Easy on the eyes. Amazing mileage. Practical, reliable, exactly what I wanted. Only wish I could have gotten it sooner upon on release on the east coast. If you want the most efficient car, this is it. I actually get 58mpg on average too. I've topped 100 on some drives home in heavy traffic on a 7 mile commute.

Pros
Mileage, features, value

Cons
Slightly noisy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JUSTIN O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2019
Great shooter
Great car for cities and traffic, real easy to get around and park is smaller spots. Mpg goes from 50-57 in the summer to 40-45 in the winter. Has smooth transmission and motor starts most people can’t tell when it’s running or not.

Pros
Cheaper and more features then the Prius

Cons
Back seat is a little tight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MICHAEL E.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
My favorite vehicle ever
Comfortable, stylish and most importantly fuel efficient. I got 60 mpg on a cross country trip. It's not the greatest if you have to deal with heavy or deep snow frequently, but it meets all my needs in Colorado as well as on longer distance travel
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mark M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
We love sooooo much
We bought a second one. So amazingly good on gas we find ourselves pumping gas a lot less frequently compared to our Chevy and Toyota cars!
Our adult children highly convinced that they’ll purchase one too.

Pros
Battery warranty is LIFETIME

Cons
all the family mementos want to drive on long trips because they know good on gas = fewer stops at the pump.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nicholas B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
Nice Auto
Needs more refining. Could/should include the first oil change at no cost. Andriod apps are impossible to load and know when can advise. Need more options like air-conditioned seats, especially in Florida. A vibrating seat that will go along with improper lane change signal.

Cons
Mileage only in lower/the mid 40s 2 matter what driving style

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Alfred T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
1111111111111111111111111111
//////////////???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Supperior
We bought this vehicle with 51,860 miles on it. It drives great, and is getting consistently 53 to 55mpg. We like the cell phone link, the radio is good. We like the dual digital controlled AC. I like the fact that the dash has a way to keep track of the mpg, after you fill up. You don't have to
reset it, and it will give you the range, on the new fill up.

Pros
Extremely economical

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Bart H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
Absolutely love a 2017 Hyundai ioniq with two exceptions.
I can't believe the styling and the interior and the exterior it's absolutely gorgeous. Controls are easy to read and within arm's distance. We have heated seats and a early Alert warning system. Hybrid transmission offers both economical miles per gallon between 50 and 70 MPG. The sport mode on the transmission is amazing dual clutch system allows the gas and electric motors to work together and provide performance needed to get on the highway and to pass vehicle safely. I am going as pretty good almost sports car level car seats 5 people comfortably and has a hatchback luggage area with lots of room. I can't believe I own and drive such an amazing hybrid. Two exceptions are simple, there is no rear window wiper blade, a common feature needed in snowy regions like Vermont. The next exception is more of an engineering design issue. Where you owned the car for less than 2 years and the rear rotors and brake assemblies have rusted up and a not functioning correctly. I took it to the dealer and said I thought it was more of a design error using old technology. And I've gotten no reply from the service department regarding my concerns. When your add up all the pluses this is an amazing car. And I would get another one tomorrow if I could.

Pros
Seats five, economical ,great styling, comfortable ride, great styling ,many high-end features sporty handling, smartly made .

Cons
No rear wiper , and the brakes in the rear rusted up and are not functioning at 40000 miles and 2 years of ownership. Not right.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Kenneth A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
I have owned this vehicle for several years and have not any problems. The gas mileage as remained consistently 50 to 55 miles per gallon. The navigation is better than the Chevrolet navigation system. In comparison to the Toyota Prius the Ioniq is even better.

Pros
Gas mileage and Navigation

Cons
Need more comfortable seats.
Excessive road noise
Spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HOWARD H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/09/2019
2017 Hyundai Ionic
Best New car I have ever purchased. Most economical car from a fuel consumption standpoint I have ever owned. Comfort level for a smaller vehicle is more than adequate.Rear vision thru back glass is compromised .

Pros
Exceptional Fuel Economy.

Cons
No service manual provided by Dealership General Manager as promised. Left
Rear Door opening mechanism non-functional at delivery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1009 in total