2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1010 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RO
Robert O.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2019
Best car ever.
I’ve owned several Mercedes, 3 Lexus’s, 2 Acura’s , Toyota Avalon And more. However this Ionic tops then all. The ride, the exterior appearance the safety systems all add up to the best car we’ve ever had.

Pros
You can’t beat perfection

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Paul D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2019
Fantastic hybrid!
We do a lot of driving and with 250,000 miles on my Veloster I chose to buy the Hyundai Ioniq. After 14 months ownership and 70000 miles I am completely impressed! Great running, no issues, 57 to 64 mpg in the summer and 49 to 55 in the cold NH winter I save driving costs and so far only oil changes! Great vehicle, Hyundai delivers quality. When this gets to 300k miles I'll get another Hyundai. Fyi, I am still driving the veloster, my goal is 500k miles!!

Pros
No issues, fun to drive and low cost to maintain

Cons
I have not found any yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
Warren G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
Great
I have had this vehicle for about a year and other than the multiple recalls for minor things it has been great. I would like to have all wheel drive if it was available for the Hybrid but it is not built that way.

Pros
Great fuel mileage and reliableity

Cons
I wish it came in AWD.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/27/2019
Less than, but still good.
Did not expect to need a new transmission at less than 7,000 miles or that the mpg would decrease by 7 mpg after the 1st year. However, the vehicle still comfortably fufills my needs with good cargo space. Car handles well with comfortable ride.

Pros
Comfortable to drive and basically responsive.

Cons
Head support cannot be properly adjusted for comfort.
Tansmission needed replacement at under 7,000 miles
After the 1st year mpg decreased by 7mpg.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/26/2019
Recalls
I haven’t had thecar a year yet & I’m working on my 3rd recall, it rides ok, gas mileage is good, sorry I settled for apple play, instead of upgraded stereo system & gps, & the electronics,adaptive cruise control etc. I have this stuff on other car, I have less than 3,000 miles on it but will be looking to trade it in

Pros
Mileage

Cons
3 recall & car isn’t a year old, car is very noisy inside, no spare just can of inflate a tire you can buy the rim jack & jack handle for an additional 200.00 which I didn’t know at the time of purchase,then you can buy a tire to put on the rim you just bought

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Leonard R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2019
Love it
Nice car with plenty of pep (especially in sport mode) and 50 MPG. Nice to fill tank with about ten gallons. Have had two recalls but I expect that as I am an early adopter. I recommend the Ioniq to anyone wanting a good car with low purchase price and great mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Linda K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2019
Owning a hybrid IoniQ
The gas mileage is great; handling of the car is great, price was very comparable to others, with the IoniQ having greater value and assets. The best dealership is Hamilton in Chambersburg; they stand behind their customers.

Pros
The car is incredible. Even though there were recalls, they were handled quickly and efficiently.

Cons
It has had two recalls in two years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
George E.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2019
We love our Ioniq!
We have owned our 2017 Ioniq for 18 months and 18,000 miles. We have been very pleased with the car since we bought it. Top of the list is fuel economy. In warmer months we consistently get more than 60 mpg, and even had one tank over 69 mpg. Mileage is not quite as good in cold weather, but often at or close to 60 mpg. Better than most motorcycles, and the car handles well, has good acceleration, and is quiet. I love the ability to shift to sport mode and use the manual shifter, great for mountain driving. My Prius driving friends are jealous. My only complaint is the HVAC controls are not as intuitive as some other cars. Blind spot detection, cross traffic detection and backup camera are great features.

Pros
Fuel economy, styling, interior room, sport shift option, Apple carplay

Cons
HVAC controls

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Janet W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/20/2019
Janet W.
Small and economical. Good gas mileage. Just wish Hyundai could work out the check engine light issues. I am used to a bigger vehicle but in finding this one ok. The service department in dealership is good

Pros
Great gas mileage, easy to drive, satellite radio, hands free phone, voice command.

Cons
Check engine light comes on. Factory recalls for it but can't seem to get it fixed. Rough drive at start up ever since check engine light came on, sounds like a leaf blower,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Michael K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
I love my car
I bought my Ionic last October and I thoroughly love it. The car is very responsive. the comfort is unmatched. The price was much more reasonable compared to other cars in its class. The gas mileage is pretty good by and large; during the winter months it goes down to about 43-44mpg due to having to warm it up. The blue link works great. I couldn't have made a better decision.

Pros
it's quiet. the intelligent cruise control is amazing.

Cons
Winter driving requires use of sand bags in the back end.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
I love my hyundai Ioniq
I love my hyundai Ioniq more than when I bought this car only gas mileage issue. I noticed Hyundai Ioniq have more free option than other same size hybrid car. I enjoy my Ioniq without any problem or complain for 2 years.

Pros
I recommend hyundai Ioniq strongly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Barbara F.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
Love My Ioniq
My Ioniq Blue has totally lived up to my expectations. As a previous Prius owner for 10 years I had a very high bar for the Ioniq. Gas mileage is way better than the Prius. In the winter I get an average of 48 MPG while in the summer I get 62 MPG. The winter ride is also better than the Prius. Even without snow tires I am able to travel safely after the snow in Maine....the Prius was never taken out on the roads until they were clear and dry as it could barely go up slight inclines on a snow-covered road. My only complaints are minimal. I liked the cup holders better in the Prius and the flush cargo entry.

Pros
Gas Mileage
Comfort
Winter driving
Interior features
Exterior Design

Cons
Cargo entry

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Daniel S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Trunk cover
Great Car , BUT. Why did I have to spend Money on a Truck Cover, Who would Not want one with a Hachback ? It should come as Standard equipment , Great mileage, reliable, I kinda think the Speakers should be better
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Karyn G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2019
I love my Ioniq!
My 2017 Hyundai Ioniq drives smooth, with smooth, quick acceleration and the BEST gas mileage EVER! It is effortless driving, and a joy to listen to music. Love the Bluetooth! Hatchback trunk is huge! My Ioniq is sporty looking too!

Pros
Gas mileage is out of this world!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ralph W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2019
Great car BUT
When you continually say that this car gets 55 plus miles to the gallon and it only gets 42 + you are misleading your customer.
And when complaint is made over and over you say it looks ok to us and give it back with 36 mpg showing on the reading dial

Pros
every add on you can think of

Cons
poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Ioniq
This is a great car!. It has great mileage and rides so smooth on the open highway. We love it! We definitely recommend it others for purchase and will probably likely buy a total electric vehicle next time.

Pros
Mileage definitely and smooth ride.

Cons
Unable to see clearly due to hatch back from the rear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Dennis A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/12/2019
2017 Ioniq
Overall we are pleased with our 2017 Ioniq. The mpg is amazing. We use primarily as a daily commuter but also for longer trips. Road noise and initial acceleration are the only real issues i have with it.

Pros
Great mpg

Cons
Road Noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alvin W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2019
Great
Ionic lives up to its billing, gas mileage is right where it s supposed to be, great car, can’t understand whynot advertised more, better than Prius and style is a lot better. Service costs are more reasonable than Toyota I had before this car.

Pros
Fun car, great gas savings

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Katherine C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2019
Love my Ioniq
I absolutely love my Ioniq. So much so that I have referred the specific make and model to everyone who will listen. My mom and my aunt have subsequently purchased the 2018 Ioniq as a result of my referral.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carlos G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2019
IONIQ 2017
I like everything about my car. What is there not to like? Gets great gas mileage and looks great. I will probably keep it for a long, long time unless Hyundai comes up with a better car than this one.

Pros
VALUE FOR MY MONEY???? CAN'T BEAT IT.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 1010 in total