2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1013 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AC
Ashley C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2017
Plenty of Space, Super Comfortable, and Amazing Gas Mileage
The 2017 Hyundai Ioniq is very indicative of the Hyundai Elantra. It has plenty of space, boasting a hatchback that can fit 2 suitcases, one large gym duffel bag, 2 backpacks, and room for dance costumes and shoes. The seating has head room for even the tallest passengers (my Grandfather who is 6 foot 2 and my Uncle who is 6 foot 4). I love how comfortable the rear seats are, but the pattern of the cloth interior is also really stylish. The driver's seat has adjustable lower lumbar support, which is perfect since I commute 60 miles one way to work each day. The D-shaped steering wheel gives me plenty of leg room while also being quite comfortable to hold on those long drives. The climate controls, entertainment system, and safety features are all exceptionally helpful and intuitive to use. I personally love the ability to pair my Google Pixel and use Android Auto while I drive to respond to messages, change the music, and make calls.
Finally, the gas mileage is absolutely out of this world. Not only do the EPA Ratings beat the Prius, the vehicle beats its own EPA Ratings in real life! My Ioniq SEL is averaging 59 mpg highway and 63 mpg city. Don't even get me started on how much I love the Sport mode! On the NJ Parkway or Turnpike, I can kick it into sport mode and feel like I can keep up with traffic or just have fun as I coast down the highway to the beach. It is really fun to drive in sport mode, but eco mode doesn't feel sluggish or weak. I still have great acceleration and kick in sport mode and I still average in the mid 50s for fuel efficiency.
The Ioniq is perfect for me due to my long commutes and frequent road trips. I wish the Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid was available back in March when I was car shopping since I prefer plug-ins over regular hybrids, but this vehicle does not disappoint.
For the price, this vehicle exceeds expectations. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable, spacious, and fuel efficient car.

Pros
fuel efficiency, trunk space, driver's seat comfort, entertainment system, exterior style, fun to drive, price of vehicle

Cons
interior is easy to scratch, (I already made a few digs in the soft interior from my ring); seat warmers are too efficient, when I want a warm heat they are usually too hot for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Larry R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2017
Best effort yet of any auto maker in making a hybrid that's the most fuel efficient and attractive!
My new Hyundai Ioniq is a beautiful driving machine that is comprised of great quality, fuel efficiency and attention to detail. It drives and feels much like a somewhat larger vehicle that could be twice the price. Every convenience has been included to make everyday driving a super pleasurable experience. The cool sport mode with RPM gauge, smooth shifting of the transmission, extra cup holders, quality and quietness of the interior, helpful compass built into the rear view mirror, high quality backup camera, duo/auto heating and cooling controls and beautiful exterior styling are the many features that I love that convinced me to purchase long before the car was released in the US. As a former owner of two Prius automobiles, for me the bar was set very high for another vehicle to surpass, but the Ioniq has achieved that and more with its styling, comfort, ride and of course the 60 mpg I have been averaging around my area of SE Phoenix. Good job Hyundai, you've designed and built an awesome automobile!

Pros
Numerous pros as mentioned in my review above!

Cons
Only disappointment was the rear cargo floor and back of rear seats (in down position) are not level as was illustrated in brochure nor is the quality of cargo carpet the same!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Shirley G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2017
Just Love this Hybrid
It's roomy, has all the nice bells and whistles without having to pay for all those added upgrades on other vehicles. It drives smooth and just love the gas mileage I get.

Pros
Great on Gas. Google navigation built in. Very safe & roomy on the inside. Love my heated seats and that I can hook up my phone have everything on my screen. Will read text messages to me and allow me to voice reply back or not. Very safe feature.

Cons
small rear window, would like it a little wider for better viewing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bhavikkum P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2017
Great Car
Best Car, Great mileage and very comfortable
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Daniel A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2017
Great car
Averaging 53 miles a gallon, great handling and very roomy

Pros
Good acceleration when need ,saftey features awesome plenty if room for 5 adults

Cons
No cd player and had to buy trunk cover and no donut

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2017
IONIQ
Loving the IONIQ. The car is new and drives wonderfully!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Linda W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2017
It has been great fun to drive.
I have owned the car for about 4 months and have filled my tank three times it really saves me a lot of money in gas. I looks sporty and I love that, because it fits my personality.

Pros
Great car all around!

Cons
Non yet that I have found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sara D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2017
Smooth!!
What a car!!

Pros
Very modern, high technology

Cons
The neck backing is too high for me. my neck feels too fordward.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Arthur W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2017
Can't say anything negative
Getting average of 62 mpg. Apple CarPlay makes for great user friendly navigation and entertainment control.

Pros
Nice suspension. Fun to drive. Great dash and standard features.

Cons
For 6'3" height, it is not as comfortable as an upright bucket seat vehicle, but for a sedan recline bucket, it is comfortable enough

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Richard P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2017
Wow!
Ok, I now don't think about how much gas costs. I use my car as a ride share car and it has great passenger space, and I regularly get 55 mpg. The brakes take some getting used to compared with my BMW, but just a learning experience. I love the option to put the car into sports mode when I find myself in the wrong lane and need to jump ahead. The biggest thing is that it isn't a Prius, but gets better miles per gallon. I have already put 6K miles on this car and so far all is good. Only negative I can find so far is road noise.

Pros
MPG. Sports Mode. Room. Blind spot detector. Easy to use. Back up camera. MPG! 650 miles on a $25 tank!

Cons
Road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Monika R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2017
was soll das?
Verstehe diese Frage nach der Umfrage nicht!

Pros
Sehr leise beim Fahren

Cons
Mitmenschen hören nicht, wenn der Motor läuft. Das kann gefährlich werden!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RIZALINA K.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Economy at it's best...
This is truly an amazing car at 58-62 mpg. It is very responsive and comfortable to drive.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Very responsive
Fun to drive

Cons
Wheel design is not so appealing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SAMUEL E.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Review
I was surprisingly impressed with the Ioniq. It's fun to drive and get's decent fuel mileage. Looks better than the Prius and other hybrids in it's category. The lifetime battery replacement and the rest of the warranty is what really sold me in getting the Ioniq. Many people I talked to would not get a hybrid because of the battery concerns. When I informed them, their eyes lit up with curiousity. Im hoping no future problems arise and if they do, a replacement vehicle will be provided while it is fixed since I have to work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOHN T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Fantastic Car at a great price!
I was looking for a car that would fit my job well. I travel a lot everyday and need something that will help keep costs under control. Right now I am averaging 56 MPG with city/hwy travel at about 70/30. It took some retraining of my driving habits to get to this point but it is amazing to go so far on a tank of gas! If cost had not been a factor I would have gone for the extra tech packages but they were too much.
The only negative features I can see so far are both related to the trunk. First there is a weirdly placed bar that divides the rear window and cuts down visibility. Secondly the trunk is designed in such a way that when it is raining and you need to get into the trunk, water falls into the trunk.

Pros
Quite nearly everything!
MPG
Sound System
Cruise Control (I like the resume feature)
Trunk Space
Comfort

Cons
Bar in the middle of the rear window that cuts visibility.
Water issue when it rains and you open the trunk.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KIMBERLY S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2017
Love it
Would recommend an IONIC to anyone

Pros
Gas mileage and sleek look

Cons
If you are not tech savvy you need guidance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BARBARA F.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2017
Better Than My Prius!
I never thought I would find another Hybrid vehicle better than my Prius, but I did and it was several thousand dollars cheaper! Ride, styling, and fuel economy all superior to the Prius. Cargo space is larger so the golf clubs and ski gear fit well! Prius owners should definitely take a look at the Ioniq when replacing their hybrid.

Pros
Fuel economy
Styling
Handling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRADLEY G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2017
A hybrid that's actually fun to drive
It's difficult to describe how well integrated the mechanical and the electronic are integrated in this car. The little things you would never think of in driveability and ease of use have been taken care of and I discover a new little feature every day. The interior leaves a little to be desired, but you'll be so distracted by how much fun the car is to drive and how little gas you're burning that you'll hardly notice.

Pros
Fuel economy
Great acceleration and handling
Well-designed media system

Cons
Somewhat plain interior in base models
Minimal rear seat legroom and headroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BERYL H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Sel
We are thoroughly enjoying our Ioniq. It is such a joy to drive. It has been trouble free so far and the gas mileage is excellent about 54 most of the time.

Pros
A super car. We love it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Arthur W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Amazing mileage/great suspension
Could not be happier with the mileage, features, and comfort of the base model

Pros
Great ride .. amazing mileage.. suspension and handling are top notch

Cons
Interior door shape does not allow for comfortable resting of tall drivers left leg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
NANCY N.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Great performance, style and economy--outclasses Toyota Prius
Owned a Prius for 10 years and really liked it but the Ioniq exceeds on all levels of comfort,styling and performance!. More space, solid and extremely quiet, and has better interior finishing. The 6 clutch transmission is far superior to the Toyota variable transmission. It is a hatchback with more room than Prius but looks more like a sedan.

Pros
Smooth, quiet, economical and comfortable

Cons
Headlamps cast an annoying shadow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1013 in total