2017
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1072 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ED
EDWARD D.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2020
MORE FUN PER GALLON
I originally purchased my Ioniq based on the manufacturers strong warranty. I had owned a 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid for 13 years and had 107,000 miles on itr. I keep careful track of mileage and had averaged 46.7 mpg over the 13 years. The though of buying a Prius (which screams "Political Correctness" was antithetical to my personality). I knew it was not time to go fully electric... plus the electricity generated is often less efficient and more costly than gasoline at $2/gal. The Ioniq has been a delightful surprise. I've averaged 59.7 mpg over the first two and a half years. About 65 mpg summers and 45 mpg winters in Maine. The Ioniq has been dependable, fun and good to drive. Transitioning from efficient driving with the Civic Hybrid to the Ioniq took several months to relearn the most effective way to charge and run off the battery system. I had to replace the Hybrid battery on the Honda Civic after 9.5 years and it was covered under the 10 years warranty. The Hybrid battery pack on the Ioniq is supposedly warranted for my lifetime ownership of the car. Since I plan on have this vehicle for 15-20 years this is an important factor. If you want efficiency and reliability in a good looking vehicle I highly recommend you consider the Ioniq.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DIANE B.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
Great style and value
My wife has a 2015 Genesis and my Ionic has almost all the same features at half the cost. This Ionia is the best value out of the 20 or so new cars I have purchased in my lifetime. It has great style,performance,and gets great mileage.

Pros
Mileage and quality

Cons
Opening a locked door while wearing winter gloves is difficult

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RONALD S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
Best Gas Mileage Available
If you are looking for a vehicle that gets terrific mileage, a 650+ driving range, and great performance, look no further. There are a variety of hybrid vehicles on the market, but the Ionic has a 6 speed automatic, not a CVT. CVT's have questionable reliable and drive like golf carts. With the exception of Kia, all other hybrid vehicles are poorly styled. The Ionic combines attractive styling, durability, comfort, and terrific mileage.

Pros
Gas mileage, styling, transmission

Cons
poor rear window visibility during bad weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Billy C.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
26899
After having many vehicles including a prius, this is still a prius killer without the bs cvt transmission. Oh I can work on this one! All of the maintenance I can do with most of the tools I have, from all fluid changes including transmission. Best mileage 79 mpg, worst(42) when dealership put in average synth engine oil and dumped my Amsoil in engine for my free oil change by mistake.

Pros
All positive.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Pauline W.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
best new car i have ever purchased
we are very pleased with this car, it has excellent gas mileage. we are getting on average over 45 mpg. the car is so quiet that sometimes I forget to turn off the engine when exiting the car. I notice to that I have to be extra carefull at crosswalks because people often times to hear my car approaching. The car is very quiet when driving on the road as well. Over all I find the Ioniq to be one of our best purchases of a new car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Samuel T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/05/2020
2017 Ioniq
This is my 4th Hyundai, but my 2017 Ioniq has had a lot of issues with the check engine light. The car drives great and I love the mileage, but I would stay away from the 2017 Ioniq. It was the first year of that model and it is very buggy.

Pros
Gas mileage, handling, torque of the engine, satellite radio

Cons
Lots of recalls, check engine problems, fuel injection issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
WILLIAM A.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
Best car I ever owned
Love it. It's fun stylish..drives great..amazing fuel economy.
Peoplecsyop he in marking lits to tell me how beautiful it is..
I will never buy a regular combustion engine car again.
The handling makes me feel very safe
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BRIAN P.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2020
I love my car!
From the very beginning I have loved driving my Ionic. It handles great and the gas mileage is incredible. As a music teacher I am impressed with how much storage and space there is for hauling instruments.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
TATIANA V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable.
second time getting same car. love it! second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable. my two teenage kids say they wnat the same car when they are able to drive in a year or two

Pros
second time getting same car. love it! great on gas, easy to drive, looks good and very comfortable.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeremie M.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/29/2020
I’m pleased with mine.
Bought it sight unseen and have been happy with it for 50,000 miles. Pretty comfortable. And it goes pretty fast. Good enough pickup and I’ve gone 115 miles per hour. It handles and felt no different than at 70.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Samuel V.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2020
10
I love my new Hyundai ioniq, especially the approximate fifty miles per gallon when we take a trip down south to visit our grandsons. Also the hybrid is very responsive upon entering the interstates, we also enjoy all the safety features, and it's a sharp looking vehicle to boot.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sandra S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
Favorite drive
Blue is my favorite color and I’m so glad the dashboard has blue color inside! Smooth ride, better sound of hearing music (for me but others I dunno) and CarPlay is perfect! I don’t have to hold my iPhone for mapquest!

Pros
CarPlay visibility, signal clearly if I forget to put on seatbelt, etc.

Cons
Front seat and back seat kind of limited for tall people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RYAN G.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020
Great gas mileage with a generally comfortable ride.
Great gas mileage with a generally comfortable ride. There are some issued I have experienced with the handling between EV and combustion modes. It could be a more smooth hand off. The acceleration is good when in sport mode. I really like the adaptive cruise control feature.

Pros
Great gas mileage, great style, nice amount of cargo room, and comfortable to drive on long trips.

Cons
Engine handling between EV and combustion modes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
I have enjoyed the Ioniq. It is fun to drive and is a very safe vehicle. When my lease is up, I am planning on getting another Hyundai! I would like to upgrade to another style such as a small SUV to start.

Pros
Fun to drive.
Exterior styling is sporty

Cons
Interior seating is a little stiff. It would be nice to have a seat back that is more back friendly....not so straight. Maybe a little more padding .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jane S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2020
Hyundai Ioniq is great
I love my Hyundai Ioniq. It far exceeds my expectations. Great gas mileage. Terrific warranty. Very comfortable. Easy to drive. Looks good. Has lots of storage with hatchback. Lots of features. Staff will always answer my questions with a smile.

Pros
Great mileage. Hatchback great for storage. Looks good. Comfortable.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GARY S.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/20/2020
Hyundai Ionic
Best car I've ever owned in all aspects. Reliable in every category. Mileage 55 city/ up to 62 highway. Am going to buy it and keep it after the lease is over. Have recommended
this car to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
ARVIND R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2020
Wonderfully smooth and fuel-efficient
Its been over 2 years with this car and I still have no issues at all with performance and fuel efficiency. I routinely get 50 - 55 mpg (I drive economically) and in winter it drops 45 mpg. I live in MN and the only issue I have is that on cold days (sub-30 deg F) after a cold start, the hot air blower automatically directs to the windshield for quite a while until one can re-direct it to the front. It's an agonizing cold drive for at least 15 minutes when you dont have the time to sufficiently warm up the car before driving.
Never had starting issues, even on one REALLY cold morning when it was minus 35 deg F!
The rear styling could be improved.

Pros
Excellent mileage, smooth ride, great pick up in sport mode, great storage space and incredible value for money.

Cons
Heating system blows hot air only to the windshield for about 10-15 minutes on cold days from cold starts. Not pleasant when you have to start driving in a hurry.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Elaine R.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
Ioniq is wonderful love the gas mileage
Love the gas mileage and maintenance is great. Easy parking. We do 200 mile trips comfortably. Our friends comment on how nice it looks. We get comments from other Hyundai owners as well ad questions but all good

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Storage room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beryl H.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
BHLoves Ioniq Hybrid.
My 2017 Ioniq Hybrid has been an excellent car to own. I love the way it is to drive. It provides a very comfortable ride. It is also one of the best handling car I have owned. It surely has been a trouble free car.

Pros
Comfortable ride
Excellent warranty
Excellent gas mileage
Trouble free car

Cons
Noise level in car needs to be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PIERRE T.
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/08/2020
Best Hybrid I could find
My Ioniq has everything I could ask for. The hybrid systems works extremely well so I consistently experience 50 mpg fuel economy. The interior is very comfortable and the ride is excellent. The exterior design is very sleek and eye-catching. Reliability has been excellent so far.

Pros
Fuel economy (mpg)
Exterior design
Build quality
Reliability

Cons
No built-in navigation system
Slow off-the-line accelaration
Noisy ERS / braking system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1072 in total