2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(446 Reviews)
Latest review about 17 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GS
Greg S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
Ioniq is a hidden gem
Hyundai does not seem to advertise the Ioniq. I guess it sells itself. I like a navy blue exterior and tan leather interior. Settled for black on black. Did not offer rain sensing wipers or hands free tail gate. A bit more leg room in the back seat would be nice. The infotainment screen space is poorly allocated.. Nav system is weak. Sound quality is nothing special. Smart cruise is not stop and go. Other than these items, the car suits me perfectly. It is RELIABLE !

Pros
See Summary.

Cons
See Summary.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edward R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/30/2020
So far so good
Was hoping to get better gas mileage closer to the 57 MPG advertised. I did get up to 53 MPG once but normally I get around 45 MPG +/- always trying to drive in the economical range but the power is there if you need it.

Pros
Very good gas mileage, dependable

Cons
Radio stations don't come in well since my windshield was replaced. Had to have door handle replaced once. Does not come with a spare tire, jack, or lug wrench but does come with an air compressor and jumper cables

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARK J.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2020
2018 Ioniq
Great car. Great mileage and comfort. I commute and hour and a half each way each day. This little car is awesome. Great audio connectivity for pod casts, e-books, maps and other apps. The car even lets me get and answer voice texts. I have 60K on it in two years and no issues.

Pros
Great mileage and audio connectivity

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dody R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2020
Great car
This is a great car. Good gas mileage and features. The seat could be more comfortable but overall no complaints. Great warranty and drives smoothly with good pick up. I would buy this car again because it offers a great value.

Pros
Fuel efficient and great warranty

Cons
Uncomfortable seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
ALEX L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/06/2020
Love the vehicle
I leased a 2018 Ioniq for 2 years and traded up to the current 2019 Ioniq Limited. Very familiar with both vehicles and overall very satisfied, however fuel mileage is unacceptably worse. My daily commute for 2 years was 40 miles on the highway, and got the new vehicle at the same time my daily commute decreased to 5 miles round-trip. The 2018 model AVERAGED 55 MPG ON EVERY FILLUP. I loved the mileage and the vehicle was great. Then I thought I could trade up because I preferred the 2019 body style and interior to the 2020 and got a new 2019 Ioniq Limited in January 2020, but on the same commute for 2 months, followed by my new commute of only 5 miles, I CAN NOT GET THE VEHICLE TO AVERAGE BETTER THAN 43 MPG PER TANK. EVEN WITH ALL AIDES TURNED OFF, MILEAGE WILL NOT EXCEED 45 MPG PER TANK. THERE IS NO REASON THE MILEAGE SHOULD BE 20% WORSE ON A HIGHER-TRIM VEHICLE ONE MODEL YEAR NEWER
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
STEPHEN A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2020
Survey
Love the car easy to drive great gas mileage looks nice but it continually lies about the gas mileage I am getting and the expected miles I should expect after filling it up. We mainly purchased this vehicle because of the superior warranty and extra cargo space over the Toyota Prius.

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gayle R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/18/2020
LOVE THIS CAR!!
I had been told that Hyundai made great cars, but I had never had a ride in one. So, we checked out and rode in several different models. But, the Ionic just “felt right”. The car has everything that I need. But, the best thing for me is the unbelievable gas mileage! I fill up and get over 700 miles per tank...even driving in the mountains. When I drove the 125 miles back to the dealership, the m.p.g. was 68.2 !!! In town/city driving with all of the starts and stops is usually 54 m.p.g. or better! And, the pick up speed when I need to pass someone Is excellent! I was also very impressed that the battery was guaranteed for the life of the car. So, I LOVE THIS CAR!!!

Pros
Easy and reliable to drive!

Cons
Passenger seat isn’t as “cushy” as my Prius was.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANN S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/06/2020
Great car
This car is easy to drive, good-looking, gets above 50 mpg in town and has great features such as several different compartments for storage--all sizes! No opportunities for storage have been missed! The car has all of the features I need--except an electric 6-way seats for the passenger!

Pros
Stylish, easy to drive, excellent gas mileage.

Cons
Does not have electric 6-way seat on passenger side. Must take eyes off the road to adjust the temperature while driving since the panel is flat!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Geliya K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2020
Good for city and suburban life and for long trips
Full gas tank lasts 600 miles. Easy to drive, quiet. Comfortable. Turns around almost inside one spot, so it is easy to u-turn on narrow roads. Climate Control works well. Transparent back. Side mirrors block the view of bike riders, they should be moved lower.

Cons
Side mirrors block the view of bike riders. Should be moved lower.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Judy N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2020
2018 Hyundai Ionic
This is my first hybrid vehicle as well as my first Hyundai. I researched and compared the Ionic to the Toyota Prius and the Ionic edged out the Prius in gas mileage and interior space. I also wanted a hybrid car in order to leave the air or heat running when we take our dog with us on trips while in restaurants. Unfortunately on a trip we were in a restaurant while our dog was comfortably in our air conditioned car and a man came in and announced in a loud voice that a dog was in a hot car. I turned and said he must be talking about my dog and car but assured him that the car air was on and the car was a hybrid. He didn’t believe me so I insisted he follow me outside. At the car I pointed thru the window the lighted instrument and temperature panel and then opened the door for him to feel the air. Also my dog had easy listening radio music. The man just turned away mumbling under his breath without saying another word to me. So yes, even if the engine is on sometimes it is so silent you can’t hear it. So to keep others jumping to conclusions about leaving dogs in hot cars, I created DogSafe.org where you can get car decals to put on your vehicle to inform that your dog is in a climate controlled vehicle.

Pros
I especially like the Apple Car Play display where I connect my IPhone to Google Maps and directions are larger than on my phone.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
DANIELLE O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
Happy Customer
I have had my Ioniq for two years now and have had ZERO issues. I am just about to pass 20k miles and love the vehicle! I regularly get upper 50's/low 60's mpg in the summer and low 40s in the winter (Michigan winters can be brutal). However, since the battery pack is located under the body, the car handles amazingly well in snow/ice and heats up quickly. My only issue is that it's not an SUV because I would like a higher stance.

Pros
High mpgs without having to try
Apple Car Play integration
low low price!
Sport mode for quick bursts

Cons
There is no EV mode
The parking brake is foot operated
No 'Home' button on the infotainment screen
Engine is loud when it kicks on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MICHELE R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/29/2020
Ionic blue 2018
The car is very good on mileage but body inside and out scratches very easily. Seems to shift high between 50 and 60 miles per hour and breaks are very touchy and sometimes make noise. Oil changes are the dealership are very expensive over $100 for this vehicle where there $50 at other dealerships.

Pros
Great on mileage.

Cons
Body scratches very easy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JONATHAN D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2020
No regrets
65 MPG in the summer. Amazing technology, makes stop and go traffic fun, as it charges the battery while I brake. The a/c stays cool in traffic since the fans and compressor are electric and their performance doesn't diminish while stuck in traffic. I have strangers constantly asking questions about it and complimenting the styling. It makes road trips a breeze, and costs little to operate.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2020
60 plus MPH in my Ioniq
Very happy with my “ride” - my wife has an Ioniq too! Quiet comfortable and reliable transportation. It’s a kick seeing 660 miles available for travel when the gas tank gets filled. Glad to be a owner ... to the power of two!

Pros
Sips gas to the extreme

Cons
Glad to have blind spot monitoring - you REALLY need it in this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joseph M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/08/2020
Great gas sipper
It’s a great little car gets 40 to 50 mpg just remember it’s a hybrid not a regular gasser you need to push the gas harder to go up hills accelerate etc. I would recommend a bigger electric motor and bigger battery because the hybrid part leaves a little to be desired during long trips

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Under powered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2020
The Best Unknown Hyundai
As a previous owner of BMW & Infinity I am enjoying this little car possibly even more. It has all the up to date electronics. Is very comfortable (but not as luxurious) and spacious enough to carry a 75" flat screen tv with the hatch closed. Best of all it gets 62 mpg or 710 miles per tank.

Cons
The only flaw is the placement of the drivers side mirror. The angle reflects the dash so vividly that in some lighting it almost obscures the view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Tracy C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
I LOVE MY IONQIC
I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH MY IONQIC HYBRID. IT GETS GREAT MILEAGE. WITH ALL THE EXTRAS IT HAS I FEEL LIKE ROYALTY.
I LOVE HYUNDAI VEHICLES, I ALSO HAVE AN ACCENT 2013, THE COMFORT AND DURABILITY OF MY ACCENT MADE ME RETURN TO HENDERSON HYUNDAI FOR MY IONQIC.
IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING A HYBRID YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO CHECK OUT THE IONQIC.

Pros
COMFORT - MILEAGE - LIFETIME BATTERY - BATTERY JUMP BUILT IN - STABILITY & HANDLING

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Arthur B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
A Real Winner
Currently getting 63.4 MPG under normal driving conditions. Car is ultra comfortable to drive and looks terrific. Would highly recommend the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid. Gas mileage goes down into the high 40's in the cold weather of winter but the car is still ultra comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KYLE M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Love it!!
I was totally surprised how much I would love this car! I got a great deal on a new 2018 in July of 2019. I got it for $18,500 from sticker price of $25,000. I love the gas mileage as well as how comfortable it rides. Definitely a great investment plus it has a lifetime hybrid battery replacement which is much better than the competitors.

Pros
Amazing MPG and great hybrid for the price. Sporty and comfortable for long trips. Plus the cargo space!!

Cons
rough shifting when driving aggressive
Some interior items are cheaply made and scratch easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
PAUL N.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Ionia blue
Good car. GREAT milage. What ......"Comment box should be a "''''minimum"'''' of 200 characters.. BUG.... BUG ...BUG. want let me submit.
Good car. GREAT milage. What ......"Comment box should be a "''''minimum"'''' of 200 characters.. BUG.... BUG ...BUG. want let me submit

Pros
Milage

Cons
Seeing out the rear window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 446 in total