2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(382 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TG
Thomas G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2019
2018 ionic
Was very interested in how the hybrid would perform. After one year it's been better than we expected. Fun to drive great mileage. Took a trip from New York to Kentucky to Georgia to Florida to North Carolina back to New York, averaged 61 mpg.very comfortable ride.

Pros
Mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
ALINA D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Great Hybrid Vehicle
My wife and I replaced our Honda Fit last year and went with the Ioniq. I'd had a Hyunadai before and was very happy with the overall value and performance I got from it. This car has been fun to drive and regularly gets us 60 mpg during the none winters, and about 50 mpg during New England weather.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patricia M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
My Ioniq
I'm very satisfied with my Hatchback Ioniq. I drive Rideshare and have put almost 55000 miles on it in just over a year. I have encountered NO MAJOR issues at all. I would highly recommend this vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2019
Gas mileage does not measure up to the 50mpg gas mileage
The car handles well in and out of traffic. The Hyundai remote start has had some problems timing out. I would like the ability to run the car longer than 10 minutes especially traveling with the dog.

Pros
CAN DRIVE 600 MILES ON A TANK OF GAS.

Cons
WHEN GOING THROUGH A CAR WASH YOU MUST RAISE THE HATCH AND WIPE THE WATER THAT HAS GOTTENN IN.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
Joseph F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2019
2018 Ioniq SEL
I have owned my 2018 for about 14 months. I have put 21,000 miles on it and have had it serviced every 5k. I have had no issues with it overall. However, the gas mileage is not as good as anticipated. I average 52-53 mile per gal during the summer and about 42-45 mile to the gallon during the winter. The cargo space is fantastic also. I am pleased overall. The car is comfortable for long trips and around town. I will consider buying another one in the future.

Pros
Good on gas, Cargo space, Easy to drive

Cons
MPG not what listed, a little road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kenneth E.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
love this car
Love this car. Bought it for the great gas mileage but fell in love with the handling and ease of the way it runs. I really like the way I can pass all of the gas stations. Lots of room for hauling with the back seats folded down.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Spoiler half way in the rear window. But you get used to it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
ALEXANDRA K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2019
Sweet ride
Great car for the price, we initially purchased it for me to travel and Visit my mom in la. This car gets great gas mileage. It’s tight in the back seat for adults but kids fit great. Plenty of room for luggage 🧳

Cons
Back seat is tight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2019
Great car; dubious roadside assistance "guarantee"
I like my new Ioniq. I greatly disliked the dealership, as they somehow stuck me with an appearance package I did not want. How they did it is beyond me. I had a flat tire 15 miles away on the interstate highway. Hyundai Roadside Assistance did nothing to help!

Pros
Great mileage and warranty

Cons
Hyundai Roadside Assistance TRULY might leave you stranded.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Delia B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
Reliable, Affordable and Beautiful!
Affordable, Elegant and compact. No Defects, No complaints, what a relief!
I am still learning some of the additional features which I never had before, such as checking when is time for oil change.

Pros
I am very happy, I love not having to worry about defects or the cost of gas, this car provides me peace of mind. Hyundai has an undeniable charm, you'll fall in love with it, it will take your breath away.

Cons
None, I am very happy to say none, very different from Toyota which is the entire opposite. I owned two brand new Toyota's, both loaded with defects with the A/C and door locks. My auto's doors remained unlocked or I could not get back in the car. I had to jump from the back seat to the front seat just to get in the car, very embarrassing!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Thomas C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2019
Best MPG
I think the car is a great deal for the money that I spent it’s very reliable sporty looking has a lot of functions that I like it’s only a couple things that I find problems with when it’s just the suspension should be a little bit better and for some reason my head lights keep going out actually all my lights other than that it’s great

Pros
Great gas mileage, runs great after 83,000 miles, battery recharge button. Lots of room.

Cons
Head space in rear, suspension seems low quality.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Lori G.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/13/2019
Ioniq
Love my ioniq, it gets fantastic mileage. It drives wonderfully. It has great pickup for a small car. I don't have to fill up but maybe once or twice a month, Highly recommend if your looking to save money on gas, Highest mileage for me was 58.5 mpg. Can't beat that.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Maybe turning radius.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STANLEY S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Excellent MPG without sacrificing power or quality.
My Ioniq Hybrid gets 58 to 62 mpg where I drive, yet it has plenty of power to accelerate when merging into traffic and climbing hills. On a few trips, I got as much as 64 mpg. I usually drive alone, but when I've given 4 other adults a ride, there was adequate passenger space for comfort. I like the capacity of the cargo area, where I can even carry a folding bike. The seats fit my body well. The car is very smart in the way it recognizes my approach and turns on a light at the door handle, and it has reminded me several times that I was trying to lock the car from outside while it was still turned on--the car is silent when in EV mode, so sometimes I've exited without turning it off, but the car didn't let me leave it that way. It also has prevented me from locking myself out while the key was still inside the vehicle. It has lots of smart electronics. The instrument panel display is very well designed, with info that I want at a glance or a simple button push. It's a great car. Love it! I brag about it to people I meet.

Pros
Value for the cost.
Comfort.
Smart electronic features.

Cons
Rear spoiler blocks some rear-window visibility, but I've gotten used to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
JN SNO
My wife got the JN SNO for the plates. John Snow from GOT. My wife bought a KONA in San Antonio and she would much rather drive my IONIQ than her KONA. It has nothing to do with the gas mileage but, just the feel.

Pros
Comfort, driving feel, style, and mileage. My mail man stopped in front of the house and asked me what I paid for my BMW. He was dead serious.

Cons
I'm 70 years old and it is a little difficult to get in. Out is not so hard.
I should get money for all of the selling I do for the IONIQ. Just kidding, but I do have two friends that are seriously considering a IONIQ.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KIMBERLY R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
One 𝚃𝚊𝚗𝚔 667 miles
After driving an 4 wheel driv SUV that got 15 mpg I am very happy to be getting excellent mileage of 58-65 mpg!! Car looks feels sporty. I can even get my small whitewater kayak inside w seats down. Car rides comfortable for my 6’2 frame. AC worked great this past hot summer and heated seats the best last winter.

Pros
Great mileage 60+ mpg
AC & heater w heated seats all great!!
The entertainment center works w my iPhone great.
Luv car does not let me leave my keys inside or locked !!!
Car engine so quiet luv car beeps if you get out w it running still.
Very good safety warning & aids while driving including backup camera.

Cons
Little blind in front when parking.
Rear hatch back light cannot be turned off while leaving door open. At least I am aware of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DOUGLAS S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2019
2018 Ioniq Review
The quietest car I've ever owned. The best gas mileage of any car I've owned. Comfortable, smooth, just all around awesome. Only issues are the exterior paint quality (I noticed a few chips after several months of normal home-to-work driving), and the air conditioning can feel a little underpowered in the summer.

Pros
Gas mileage, quiet!

Cons
Not the flashiest looking car on the market, if that's your thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VV
VIVIAN V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2019
Great vehicle with superb performance
My first attraction to this car was the color. It was a bright turquoise blue that stood out from all the other vehicles. When I test drove it I was amazed at the ease of handling the vehicle. The auto correction from the steering wheel took a little bit to get used to but once familiar with it, it created no issues for me. I love the warning sounds when changing lanes even though I am pretty good at watching out it is a nice feature to have. The rear parking assist and rear driving assist is a wonderful feature and makes it easier to park/ drive backwards. Of course the terrific mileage is an added bonus. 55 miles per gallon is just wonderful and being able to pass a gas station and not have to fuel up is great. I would highly recommend this car.

Pros
connect your phone apps for navigation or music through the sound system.
Large trunk space and a handle at the passenger side above your head.

Cons
Navigation system does not work well and does not recognize a lot of common streets. I use my iphone to navigate. No handle on the driver side above your head.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELLIOTT S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2019
Awesome car
I love this car. Fuel efficiency is excellent and the transmission is awesome. It's fun going from eco to sport. The cars navigation is great and I love that it has so much room. Thank you for engineering this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Paul P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/25/2019
I have an electric vehicle not a hybrid
I have electric. this is BS!!!!!!!!!! You can't ask someone to take their time to review your vehicle THEN DEMAND that at least 200 characters be typed! Not to mention the fact that this car (HYBRID) you show isn't even the one I own! No more surveys will be taken by me if this happens again.

Pros
.

Cons
the only way to get off this screen is to answer these q's! None of them are legit answers because I don't own a Hybrid. You need to have a question, "Is this your car?" then one can exit if it's not or you can put in the correct vehicle for the correct opinion!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Hyundai's Best Kept Secret
Before buying my 2018 Ioniq I did a lot of research both on the internet and test driving. I was looking for the latest innovation and technology for driver assist and safety. I was environmentally conscious and deliberately shopping for a hybrid. I did about 11 test drives between the Ioniq and Prius. The Ioniq won hands down especially after adding the tech package which sealed the deal. I have had it 15 months now and have never gotten less than 60mpg.
Its not the same luxury level I was used to in my previous 2 cars (BMW & Infinity) but I love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angela B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2019
Disappointing
The advertised fuel efficiency doesn’t match what the actual MPG. The sticker said 55/54 and I might get 43. The tank isn’t big enough. Had to refuel about 350 miles. The battery barely gets fully charged so it uses more fuel than electricity

Pros
Smaller vehicle

Cons
Small fuel capacity
Doesn’t reach the fuel mpg of 55/54 as advertised
Battery can’t handle cold climate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 382 in total