2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(385 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BR
BRANDON R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2018
Great car for the price
This is a perfect starter hybrid. I was looking for something eco friendly and a hybrid, but just couldn't afford the prices. I found the Ioniq and researched it and Hyundai had the best deal for the money. Amazing warranty, great stylish car and even better starting price.

Pros
Price, nice exterior and interior design, great mpg.

Cons
There are major delays in acceleration from complete stops and from coming over a hill. The sound system is pretty bad. No sun visor extension. Use of cow skin in some models. It's 2018, why are we still killing someone and using their skin to put in our cars?? There's plenty of alternative options that are just as good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Dennis A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2018
Good Car
Good car and I do not know if I will get the value for money as I keep my cars over a long time. I have a Prius and Insight and they are great cars, hope Hyundai will match their quality. Please make your music and navigation systems better.

Pros
Good car my first Hyundai

Cons
Music and navigation suck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANDREW F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Ioniq Blue
This is my first Hyundai and first Hybrid vehicle. I'd like to say that my favorite aspect of this car is the in-city fuel economy! I went about 550 miles before having to fill the tank and even then I could have gone another 80 miles. I am also satisfied with the quality and amount of options of the base model (Blue) because I felt like it has everything I need for light driving (i.e. power windows, A/C, Bluetooth, Sirius XM option, the controls on the steering wheel, backup camera, and infotainment center controls). The driveabliity is also great for a base model, it drives smooth has pretty good visibility. The styling of the Ioniq Blue is a little more refined over other popular hybrids on the road in my opinion. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase/ lease of the Ioniq Blue and love the gas mileage!

Pros
Great gas mileage.
Great interior design and features.

Cons
Lack of fast acceleration.
Visibility out of the back window isn't ideal with the center bar running through it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WOLFGANG R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
What gas?
I bought this car mainly for its fuel efficiency but have now found out it is a gem in many other ways. I can't think of a single thing I'd like to improve except to raise the car about a foot so I can in and out easier. If there had been an SUV version I would have bought that.

Pros
the mileage is phenominal

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Awesome Fuel Economy
Can't ask for better than 59 mpg in a Hybrid. Love the large gas tank and 600+ mile range. Better looking than a Prius, and cheaper!!!
Awesome acceleration compared to my old Prius C.
Very comfortable to drive. Awesome cargo space.
Would recommend this care to my friends.

Pros
Fuel Economy
Range on a tank of gas
Acceleration

Cons
Weird split rear window like the Prius

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Timlan L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Very Economical
This vehicle has demonstrated that it's a real winner in city driving. I'm getting closer to 65mpg. It has excellent handling and remarkable steering/turning ratio. It also has great cargo storage area once you fold down the seats.

Pros
great gas mileage
Good monitors to help identify how I'm driving

Cons
sound system seems to have dampers on it
Seats could be more comfortable, with more of a bucket style that hugs the driver, but otherwise fine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nancy B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
Hyundai Ioniq
At this point I am still exploring my new Ioniq. I am continually pleasantly surprised at each feature I discover. I know that Bil gave me a lot of information on the features, but I was limited in what I could take in and remember at the time of purchase. So I am still learning all the options that my new vehicle has.

Pros
The features are amazing and so handy especially the safety features, like the lane assist and the blind spot monitors and the distance measure feature on the cruise control

Cons
Really could use a couple more storage areas or larger areas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Ron K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/12/2018
2018 Ionic Hybrid
Car was on a 1500 mile trip and it averaged 49 MPG, but had a hard time going up hills and surging. It only took $105 to go 1500 Miles which was nice on the pocket book. It performed well in corners and was alot of fun to drive. Was hoping to get 55 MPG, but with the wind, hills, it did well at 49 MPG!! Great car so far!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ryan B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
Love it so far!
In the first week put just over 1K miles put on car and the MPG has been spot on to what was advertised. Mostly city driving and short trips. Also when need power it is there just hit the gas! Love the color (blue) with the gray/black interior cloth. Easy to set up the blue tooth and the Android Phone app. I am hard on cars lots of miles and a jack rabbit style driver (nail the gas to go, stop at the last minute) who is used to driving performance vehicles. This is obviously not a performance vehicle, however the acceleration and turning not to bad. Going into sport mode to use the flappy gear paddles is nice add fun to the drive. Even with my driving style the lowest I have gotten the MPG to go down to is 47.6 so not bad at all.

Pros
Great MPG
Android phone integration

Cons
Arm rest for driver would be nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
Patricia T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2018
Great little car!
Quiet, handles well, easy to maneuver, good on gas. Good Bluetooth and other excellent interior features. Nice space for passengers and hatchback provides ample room in pack to haul things home. Love the push button start!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Rachel T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
Very satisfied and love driving the hybrid Ionic. We have had 2Santafe's,2Sonatas's and i enjoy this new little buggy the best!
See comments above for my positive opinion.the dealership was efficient and our salesman Steve Rivera was really terrific. We only thought we were looking since we were using another dealership to service our sonata but found our experience at univeral so good we didn't hesitate purchasing. We hope the service depart is as good as our experience has been .

Pros
Really enjoying the hybrid aspect. And how comfortable the car feels.

Cons
The hatchback can't be opened from insde the car and is inconvenient for us.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kenneth H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
60 MPG and counting.....
I test drove an Ioniq and a Toyota Prius. Both cars were comparably equipped, but the Hyundai Ioniq has a better warranty and better fuel mileage. Plus the Ioniq looks better. I drive 90% highway and 10% city and even at 70+ MPH, I am still averaging 60 MPG. I love My Ioniq!!!

Pros
Great MPG
Great features like car play and hands free calls plus texting.

Cons
Seat could use a little padding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Allan C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/05/2018
2018 phev ioniq
The car gets lots of praises from people all over, but most people gets pretty curious about the ioniq when it is there first time seeing one. Always a great impression. Nonetheless I will always enjoy the fuel efficiency and the incentives
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOHN S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/03/2018
The little hybrid that could
We have been shopping for a hybrid vehicle for some time. When we saw the Ioniq at the NY Auto Show, we fell in love immediately. The styling, roominess for a subcompact, MPG, and features looked great. We test drove an SEL at the dealer and found it surprisingly capable on the road. It handles very well and accelerates far better than a Prius we had years ago. We are especially impressed by the relative low price. We went with the Limited.

The few downsides are: lack of rear wiper/washer and heated outside mirrors; rear cargo cover is an optional accessory; low ingress/egress height that bumps a few heads; poor performance of the Bluelink app.

Overall we are very happy with this car and would recommend it to anyone in the market for a sharp-looking, roomy, sporty, and fuel-efficient car.

Pros
Roomy for a small car; pleasant styling; snappy performance; car exudes high build quality; very good MPG; good value for the price; climate control system works well; hatchback format very useful.

Cons
Doesn't stay in EV mode very much; lack of rear wiper/washer and heated outside mirrors; road noise from the 17" tires (Limited); ride is a little rough/bumpy; ingress/egress height is quite low; lack of interior storage (only 1 seat back pocket, small glovebox); rear cargo cover is an optional accessory; Bluelink app performance is disappointing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHENIE L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/03/2018
Summary
I am a former Prius owner and very accomplished at 'coasting for gas'. I chose the Ioniq this time because of it's higher MPG rating and it's ultra low emission rating. I have found it overall a much better bang for my buck, however do NOT believe the manufacturers rating of 58 MPG HWY. I am averaging 51 MPG HWY and the same City. That's still pretty darn good...and since I have the heaviest model, it is somewhat understandable. I am adjusting to the limited rear visibility, but also understand that it is a function of aerodynamic design so I will adapt and learn. I highly recommend this vehicle for it's comfort, technology and most of all it's environmental considerations.

Pros
High MPG; low emissions; very comfortable; much less $$$ than comparable models by Toyota, Ford or Nissan; sleek ride; fantastic light system.

Cons
Limited visibility at rear; misinformation regarding current average fuel consumption readout.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARK A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Great car!
This car has given me outstanding mileage (60+ mpg) and is fun to drive. I have done a lot of interstate travel as well as city driving and find it a pleasure to drive. Styling both exterior and interior is very good, great driving experience.

Pros
Outstanding efficiency, excellent controls and AV

Cons
A bit slow on accelerating but that is also due to me being a bit gentle with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JACQUELINE C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Happy with my Ioniq
The styling, inside and out, is excellent; am very pleased. Interior color and design is excellent. Ability of adjusting seats, tho not electric, both driver and passenger is excellent; easy to do. Car has solid feeling ride. So far the gas mileage is living up to what it's supposed to be.,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRYAN M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2018
It's pretty pretty pretty awesome
The Ioniq hybrid is a great alternative to the Prius.
It looks great, stands out from the other hybrid cars in my area, instantly recognizable. This car gets awesome gas mileage, and is really fun to drive.

Pros
Gas mileage.
Stylish look that is easily recognizable.
Steering is very responsive.
Easy to use Blutooth and audio system

Cons
Rear view is a bit limited and interrupted by the spoiler going right through the middle of the view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
ELAINE L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
Stylish Economy
I wanted a stylish car with great gas mileage. In addition, I wanted electric seats, bluetooth, navigation, roomy interior and storage space. All this and I had a budget to stay within. Result; stylish car, great gas mileage, all the amenities in the price range I could afford. The Ioniq is the type of car you look forward to driving. A+
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lawrence A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2018
Bad windshield glare!
I am very happy with most of my Ioniq Hybrid. It's comfortable, rides smoothly, handles well, looks great, and gets fantastic mileage. However, there is a glare on the windshield from the dash - on a sunny day, I can see every single part of the dash in the windshield, including anything that is on the dash. If I lay my hand on the dash, I can see it in the windshield so well, it's like looking into a mirror. I'm trying to find a remedy (other than a dash mat) but no luck so far. The glare is such a problem for me that if I had known about it in advance, I would not have purchased the vehicle. I did a test drive, but that was on a overcast afternoon, so it was not apparent. Very disappointed that this otherwise great car has such an awful problem. The glare is so bad it is distracting and unsafe.

Pros
Looks great, handles well, comfortable, feels solid, excellent mpg.

Cons
Terrible windshield glare from dash. Could use a little more storage in the front seat area. Trunk is huge, which can be useful, but if it's not full, one or two items put into the trunk slide all over when driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 261 - 280 of 385 in total