2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(381 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KH
KENNY H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2018
Awesome Car
Awesome car. I love it. Just wish it showed texts and current traffic problems. Maybe someone will tell me how to set it so it will do those 2 things then it will be the perfect car. Love it. My girlfriend is jealous.

Pros
Almost everything

Cons
No texts or live traffic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
FREDRICK M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2018
I wanted the Plug-in but...
I pursued the Plug-in Ioniq, but after discovering it was only available in CA or on the West Coast I "settled" for the SEL. I have gotten 65.3 MPG and it is rated for 58. I have been impressed with it's driveability and styling.

Pros
I love this car. I wish the Plug-in version had been available in my area (Maryland) and it was "supposed" to be last Fall (2017) , but after I researched it, it became evident that that getting one would not be economically feasible.

Cons
None yet except the bumbles from the dealership from whom I purchased my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Keith B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2018
This car feels like we were let in on a secret!
Driving this car we feel ahead of the trend! We rented a hybrid on vacation and could not believe the mileage! When it came time to trade in our leased Tuscan we found the Ioniq! We love it! Our family height ranges from 5’11 to 6’6. We all fit and feel comfortable in the front cabin!

Pros
Roomy front cabin
We are 5’11 and 6’4! Very comfortable!

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
Maria V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
cannot believe I don't see more ioniq's in the wild!!!
I love the gas mileage and the electronic package and the other bells and whistles. I love it.
Actually, I love that I'm the only ioniq driving around. Love it is a hybrid.
Wonder why there are not many on the road.

Pros
Fast off the line. Great handling on corners.

Cons
Wired connection with my Android phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
NEAL S.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/14/2018
Could Not Be Happier
We bought our Hyundai Ioniq a few weeks ago, and could not be happier. The whole experience was great, from the moment we first arrived at the dealership, through the purchase process, including owning it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jafarabad R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2018
Great car overall but needs minor improvements
First of all, let me say that this car is a great hybrid car and in my opinion, better than Prius having test driven both. With this said, there could be some improvements made to make it even better.

Pros
Gas Millage can be great (above 50mpg)
Has room although may seem small (no one has complained about lack of room yet)
Interior design looks good
Exterior design looks good considering hybrid
Price is reasonable

Cons
Needs heated steering wheel
Needs to have DRL to run all the time not just during the day (like most cars nowadays do to look fancy)
Needs to have option to change km/hr to mi/hr
Needs to have EBS with pedestrian detection and better collision alert (it alerts too late despite being on early setting)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HUNTER H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/12/2018
Looks better than a Prius
Overall visuals are much better than its Toyota competitor and the interior is a treat as well. If the new Prius didn’t look absolutely ugly I would’ve purchased a Prius Prime instead. The Ioniq has an EPA estimated 55 city/54 highway, it does not achieve this. I average 50 city/45 highway in Las Vegas commuting to Indian Springs and back M-F, about 80 miles round trip. My only other complaint is that the headlights are aimed way too high from factory and will result in everyone flashing you at night on dark roads.

Pros
Best looking 50MPG+ hybrid in 2018
Looks better than a Prius

Cons
Does not achieve EPA estimated fuel efficiency

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joe T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2018
Excellent car. Good safety features.
Excellent Gas Milage. 55 Mpg. Small tank which means cheaper at the pump. (Nothing cheap in California unfortunately) Good safety features as it beeps if someone is in your blind spot. I can get up to Central Coast and back to Orange County on one tank of gas.

Pros
Excellent mileage. Hybrid Battery is Warrantied for Life!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
DAVID V.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2018
Love It
Honestly, I don’t know why Hyundai doesn’t advertise their Ioniq plug-in more. I live in PA where it’s not even sold. It’s a shame I had to go out of state to purchase the plug-in because it’s a perfect value. Tons of features (I have the fully loaded limited), perfectly priced (when you factor in plug-in fed & state rebates), and best of all it does all of this on > 60mpg, which I find incredible! I think tge Ioniq plug-in could blow the Prius away if Hyundai would make it more widely available & advertise it’s features more.

Pros
Incredible mpg, especially if you plug it in!
More useful, fun tech than any car at this price point than I’ve ever seen
Stylish car. Much cooler than a Prius
The safety features on this car are top notch & adaptive cruise control is my favorite

Cons
Very difficult to find. Had to buy mine out of state. Even in the states that do sell the plug-in version, they’re aren’t a ton to choose from. Wanted a fully loaded (limited version + 02 tech upgrade) blue exterior plug-in, but couldn’t find a single one like that online in the entire US. Settled for a ceramic white version, but I still love it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TIMOTHY H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2018
My opinion , good job Hyundai.
Have about 3,000 miles on car. So far I'm impressed. Not sure of oil change frequency, manual says 7,500. Dealer service manager said 3,750. That's confusing. I assume manual is correct. Not sure he knew what he was talking about.

Pros
Well thought out car. Pleased with lifetime warranty on the battery in comparison to the 150,000 mile warranty on the Toyota Prius.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TERRY C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
We love our new car
We came across this car while browsing the sales lot waiting for our car in the service department. It was love at first sight, even without a test drive! Aside from not having quite the get up and go of our Santa Fe, a hybrid issue I am sure, this car was a wonderful surprise. We have learned to compensate with the transmission when it needs that extra little kick in the gas. It drives so comfortably my wife actually enjoys driving again after years of avoiding it. We love all the extra safety features that provide a slight comfort zone to not being quite as sharp as we once were behind the wheel. The Ioniq has an amazing amount of cargo space, we were pleasantly surprised at how much she could put in it for a one night getaway! There is even room for our suitcases AND the 160# Mastiff, which was why we had had to part with her beloved Elantra Touring a few years back for something larger. The best part is all the gas we save. We can drive twice as far on a tank than we could in the Santa Fe. We are thrilled with our new Ioniq.

Pros
50+MPG
Stylish and sporty looking
Fun and very comfortable to both drive and ride in
Great sound/media system

Cons
A bit short on “get up and go.” You have to use the transmission if you need a real burst of speed.
The rear view mirror has a very limited window space to see through. If you have a full load in the back, it is almost useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SEALTITE C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Hyundai Ioniq.
Love my Ioniq. Performs great. Does everything to my satisfaction and does it economically as well.
Looked at Toyota Prius (had three of them), Honda Civic hybrid and Hyundai had it all over them for
features, quality and performance.

Pros
Does everything well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
PAUL L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2018
Amazing car!
Love pretty much every feature of this car. The gas mileage and safety features were the biggest draws for me. The only thing I would change is the positioning of the pedals on the steering wheel. I accidentally touched them a couple times already!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BENJAMIN R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2018
Early Plug-in Ioniq adopter
Excellent option for anyone looking for an electric commuter while maintaining the ability to extend the range with the gas engine. The publicized 29 electric miles is in idealized conditions (i.e. not using heating/ac), but if your daily commute is under 25 miles total as mine is, you'll essentially never burn gas. "Essentially" because, it's important to note, the Ioniq PHEV has no "electric-only" mode. If you have to accelerate quickly on an uphill, it will kick on the gas engine; and if you need the heat, it will burn gas for a while simply to generate heat. This was disappointing to me at first, but I've quickly gotten used to the idea. It doesn't burn much gas at all to get the heat going, and in the case of acceleration, it promptly turns off the gas engine once you're moving (or accelerating more gradually). I plug in overnight using the wall socket in my garage, and I only fill the gas tank for long drives. In some sense, a PHEV is a half-measure, and it is a bit of a shame to lug around an internal combustion engine that I am constantly attempting not to use. On the other hand, I sure have needed the ICE on long drives -- I occasionally make trips to another city 175 miles away -- and right now the only fully-electric options that could get me there start at $10K more than the Ioniq and would necessitate installing a level-2 charger in the home for another grand. All in all, right now the Ioniq PHEV is the most affordable electric commuter around, and it's a robust option. Trunk space rivals the Kia Niro plug-in and Prius Prime, and it undersells those on price while delivering an attractively "normal-looking" sedan style interior.

A note on charging: the manual lists the "ICCB (In-cable control box)," meaning the regular wall-plug that the car is sold with, as "for emergencies only." This appears to be legalese, for liability issues. Given that there's a gas engine, there aren't really "emergency" situations that you absolutely need electrical power. And there doesn't seem to be any problem with plugging in overnight every night to a wall socket. Sure, it should be have a ground-fault circuit interrupter (which they all do if they're in your garage and they're to code) and be able to take a sustained load. The ICCB has three settings, drawing 8, 9, and 12 amps, so if you're worried about it, you can start low. The car still reaches a full charge overnight on the lowest 8 amp setting. (For comparison, big AC unit draws 12 amps from what I've read.) In sum: I'm charging with the wall outlet full-time, and I'm not the only one, and it's all good so far.

Pros
Combination of price and electric range cannot be beat right now.

Cons
No fully-electric mode.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CAMERON R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2018
Ionic
Nopeccxxxxcxdndjdjdxjxnxnxnxnxnxxnxjdjjdjjxjxjdndndndndndndndndndndndndnndnxxnnxdndndnxjxjxjxjxjxjdjdndjdndnxndndxjdjdnddjdjrjddjfjdjddjdjfjdjddjdjddjdjddjdjjdjdjdjddjdjdjddjdjdjdjddjdjddjdjdjdjddjdjdjdjd
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2018
Very Enjoyable Ride
We wanted a hybrid and found a perfect one at the Hyundai dealership in Muskogee Oklahoma. We live in Enid, OK but drive to Muskogee to visit. After we saw the Ionic and experienced the dealership in Muskogee, we decided to make the purchase and have it serviced as a part of our regular visits there. Besides being very stylish, the combination gas/electric power provides a very smooth and rewarding drive. It is not a muscle car, so don't expect a lot of horsepower and fast 0-60mph times. If neither of those are more important than high gas mileage, then you will love driving this car. We can set the cruise at any speed and it performs very well. I'm sure after the engine has been broken in properly you could experiment with mashing the pedal down and seeing what the ultimate response would be for getting off the line at a stop light or for aggressively passing someone on the highway. Again, we weren't looking for that type of car so we are very ,very satisfied with the smooth and quiet ride we get from our Ionic Limited.

The interior is another huge plus - heated leather seats, moon roof, compass, outside temperature reading, entertainment center with backup camera, and some of the most informative graphics on the dash that you can scroll through to see how the car is performing - and the price to get all these features is extremely reasonable. We paid less than $29K for ours.

We wanted a key-fob car with the push button start and that's how this car comes standard. When you push the button and the car turns on in electric mode without a sound - it is a great feeling that can't be described accurately.

If you get one, I believe you will be as thrilled as we are.

Pros
Very smooth ride. Seamless participation between gas engine and electric motor. Lots of perks for a very reasonable price. Very good looking car. Great gas mileage.

Cons
We don't sense any cons after driving it the past month and a half.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARK F.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2018
Great Hybrid!
The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid is well equipped, has great gas mileage, is fun to drive with plenty of front leg room. I think you will find that it is more economical than other similar vehicles at a cost point that is nearly $1,000 less than other hybrids.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CHESTER W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/06/2018
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
My review it based on the two previous cars that I owned which were Hyundai cars. One car was a 4 door Hatchback and the other was a 4 door accent. Both were basic models with air conditioning and Manual Transmission. The IONIQ will be my first Automatic Transmission car with almost all electric everything. When driving this car I feel like I am driving a Luxury car.

Pros
I love the Key less entry and the Temperature control that you can set to a number like 76 degrees. Keep in mind that I have only had the car for a month so only time will tell if my views will change.

Cons
The Basic model does not have a spare tire but a flat repair kit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GO
GREGORY O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
Better than expected
The fuel economy is as advertised, and fantastic. I purchased the Blue model or the base model, and it has plenty of great options. The best surprise is how comfortable the Ioniq is. Overal I'm very happy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
DAVID T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2018
Refined, efficient comfort
The car is peppy when you need it to be, and very fuel efficient otherwise. Its interior is very comfortable and refined, with a surprising number of options for the price. Its build quality appears very high. It is generally quiet--you can hardly hear when the engine starts while you're driving--but does suffer somewhat from road noise on rough pavement. The dual-clutch transmission shifts smoothly. Steering and braking are very responsive. The ride is somewhat active, but not uncomfortably so. Its smart appearance and perfect paint job elicit comments. It easily gets over 500 miles on a tank of gas.

Pros
Build quality, features, styling, value, performance, fuel economy.

Cons
Road noise, obstructed view through rear window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 321 - 340 of 381 in total