2018
Hyundai
IONIQ HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(381 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LD
Larry D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2018
remarkable!
Seamless abundant power could easily give a sports car a race. Roomy comfortable interior, has all the newest technology, lane departure, auto braking etc. Lots of fun to drive, My wife and daughters feel very safe driving this. AND its getting over 55 MPG! I cannot believe the MPG we are getting, even high speed trips to Boston or around town, its amazing. A fill up is a joke compared to my Ram 1500. A 10 gallon tank gets you over 500 miles. Heated seats are the best I've had, Fast and actually get too hot on High, medium and low are great. Only wish it had a heated steering wheel. The unlimited warranty on the battery took the risk out of going hybrid for me. And the price is very reasonable. That's all folks

Pros
drives great, fun, outstanding MPG, warranty is a relief, and roomy, the hatchback gives quite a bit of space

Cons
no heated steering wheel, no blue link with SEL model, I wanted the auto start and other great features the blue link has but its only available on the top model, BAD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patricia M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2018
Drives like a Dream
My vehicle is my business. The Green factor & great mileage is an important factor. Lifetime Battery Replacement was a great sales feature. Helping to keep expenses inline. Overall very pleased with the performance. Great features as well as being affordable. Thank You Hyundai for making it possible! I have had numerous customers express nothing but positive reviews on the ride & comfort as well. I'm a rolling advertisement for you!

Pros
Very Comfortable

Cons
No hatch release. And only 1 issue with a loose Brake LINE (which thankfully the vehicle alerted me too.)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Steven A.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2018
Hyundai ionic
I love my Hyundai ionic I’ve been getting 63 miles per gallon the rebates are fantastic I’ve been using it for rideshare and have had no problem putting 1000 miles a week on this car, It’s rated for 53

Pros
Guilt free driving at 63.5 miles per gallon

Cons
Hatch back collects soap and water when washed, very difficult to clean gutter in hatch, the doors allow water to enter on door jams making cleaning constant, Dust also builds up in the door jams, the doors are not sealed properly, cealed inside of the door jam but not the outside it keeps the air and water out of the car but not out of the 3 inch space in the door jam which is constantly filled with dirt and water.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joseph R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2018
Ionic hybrid
It is a great vehicle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!’!!!!!!!!’!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!’!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Louis L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/14/2018
Comfortable and efficient
The Ioniq is the best bang for your buck for this category of vehicle. The SEL trim that I own has all the bells and whistles at just under $25k. It’s practical, roomy, elegant, and very fuel efficient. The lane assistant feature can be a little surprising if you’re not expecting it to autocorrect for you. The radar cruise control is great for highway driving, but takes some getting used to. It is a simple yet sophisticated daily driver that’s deemed to please. Overall, if you’re in the market for an affordable, realiable hybrid, look into the Ioniq.

Pros
Reliable, efficient, affordable, genuine.

Cons
Stubborn Lane Keeping Assistant feature, but practical.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
David O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2018
Better than expected
I was expecting to get between 50 and 55 miles to the gallon. This summer with the warm weather I was averaging 65 miles to the gallon. I also really appreciate the tech features. The car has prevented me from having an accident twice between the lane keeping an the braking.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Danielle O.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2018
Close to perfection
I've had my Ioniq for about 2.5 months and have been enjoying it very much. I'm continuously learning more about it and am pleasantly surprised at all of the features that come standard. I wish it could drive on electric only more often but it can be forced with some adjusting of the gas pedal. Sport mode is super fun too but should be used sparingly since it is a hybrid after all...

Pros
Great gas mileage
Standard features
Style
Price
Sport mode

Cons
No electric only driving option
Takes the gas engine a while to warm up the batteries in cold weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gary R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2018
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Decided to buy this car after reading reviews first about Hyundai itself. I was very impressed with their high ratings from customers and rating services and I also talked to several different owners of cars that had bought from San tan Hyundai who all had good things to say about their cars and the dealer.

Cons
Owners manual needs to be edited.... way to much information about other models than the one I bought.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Dane T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2018
Hyundai Ionic
Love my Ionic. Gauge says I’m getting 55-60 mpg depending, it’s off by around 5 mpg actual is 59-55.
Passenger seat belt alarm goes off any time I put something on the seat and service can’t seem to fix it.
Other than that, the vehicle is awesome.

Cons
Some of the dashboard buttons for the ac get hit inadvertently all the time.
Seat warmers? It’s 90 every day, where are the seat coolers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/08/2018
More stylish than a Prius
This review is based on my base model Ioniq Hybrid Blue that I purchased brand new in May 2018. I drive over 250 miles per day on average. My Ioniq feels and drives like a mid sized sedan and until a recent software update, was getting 59 to 61 MPG, now getting 54 to 55 MPG. There is plenty of power to climb hills with ease. There is a lag from the time you push on the gas to when the transmission engages (allow extra couple of seconds if passing). Steering feels smooth and responsive. The low beam headlights provide plenty of down road illumination and occassionly I get flashed at for for being too bright. If you are a bigger person, the driver's seating area needs more leg room. The cup holder area on the door rubs against the outside of my leg and the center gear shift console rubs the outside of my knee. If the shift lever had been more forward and the cup holder in the door removed there would be no issue with this. The cup holders in the center console are too close together to allow for two large drinks to set in them without poppping the lid off on one. The sound system is good but does get drowned out by road noise. The back up camera that comes with my model does not have nightvision and is hard to use in pitch black. The back up lights don't provide enough light to see more than a few feet behind the car. A rear wiper would of been nice but would of added air drag and reduced mileage. I am hoping that the Ioniq stands up to the test of time and mileage.

Pros
Great MPG. Responsive steering. Hill climbing power. Cargo space

Cons
Hesitation during start and acceleration. Driver's side leg room. Cramped cup holders. No nightvision for back up camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kaushal D.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2018
Great car !
Mileage is amazing, ride is great, I like everything about this car. I got about 62 minles per gallon all summer !
Seats are comfy, good leg room for a 6 ft guy like me ! Everything about this car is great !

Pros
- Mileage
- Interior comfort
- Cargo space
- Leg room

Cons
- Should have navigation and moonroof in SEL trim.
- Dont need dual temperature controls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
Patricia T.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2018
2018 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
I can’t say enough about this car. Very comfortable
pleasure to drive and I love the Hybrid the mileage is incredible! Spend so much less on gasoline now
I actually forget to go to the gas station!!

Pros
Great Gas Mileage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joyce C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2018
Ioniq blue
I really like the gas mileage but the ride is rough and it is a very noisy on the roads around where I live because of the chat that has been added to the road. At times it seems a little slow on takeoff but seems to have plenty of power otherwise.

Pros
gas milage

Cons
noise, rough

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Edmond R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
My 2nd hybrid
I was a Prius owner and had it for many years. It died a natural death after many years.
I looked around and visited Hyundai and looked at the IONIQ. After I got the car, I was surprised at several things, It was more comfy and handled well, even in snow and ice. The heated seats and mirrors are a plus. The car seems more "normal" in that it looks like other cars, has just a little more room and gas economy is about 10% better then the Prius. In all, I am very happy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
IONIQ
I love this car! The gas mileage is excellent! The interior design is comfortable and I love the voice control and apple play.600 miles+ per tank! Smartphone integration is easy and quick! Navigation system uses Apple car play and is always up to date!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sylvia R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2018
Roadworthy
The car is comfortable and easy to drive. The safety features, such as the rear view camera for reversing, are important. I have so far found no reason for complaint, although I have not driven it extensively and not in adverse conditions to date.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2018
Love the ride, comfort and Gas mileage
So far I am loving this car so much more than the Prius C that I had before. I am averaging around 64 mpg and the power that it does offer for a hybrid is above average. Lifetime warranty for the batteries cannot be beat.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
I like this car
My Hyundai Ionic Hybrid is a great little car, it fits me, it fits my lifestyle, and more importantly it fits my needs in a vehicle. I too like the fact that it is a hybrid, and that its emissions is practically non polluting. Too, I like the fact that because it is so good on gas, I gain time, because I'm in the gas station half as much as other cars I have owned. I love it's styling, its performance, it's truly a smart car too.

Pros
If it fits you, you'll love its drive.

Cons
It is a little noisy in the rain, or driving in traffic from exterior noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeff M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2018
Best Car Ever
I needed an economical car as I drive a LOT of freeways each month. I looked at most everything in my price range and stumbled on to the Ioniq. I was surprised at how long the car had been on the market and I had never heard of it. after a little test driving, I purchased it. My second surprise was the fuel rating. The window sticker was rated at 53 MPG. I consistently get 58-62 MPG under all driving conditions. This not so little car WAY exceeds all my expectations.

Pros
Fun to drive
Gets amazing fuel economy
Handles and rides like a much larger car
The hatch area is huge and can carry almost anything

Cons
A bit more road noise than expected
Interior styling is very ordinary
The transitioning between gas and battery is a little clunky. Not terrible, but I'm very picky but when you get 60 MPG average, its easy to overlook.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Stephanie C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Ionic
I LOVE my Hyundai Ionic Hybrid! It is so great on comfort and gas mileage. Comfortable too! Drove to Nevada and back and enjoyed every minute. I can not wait to take another trip. Best car I have ever owned!!

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 381 in total