2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(198 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SL
Stephen L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2019
A fun car to drive.
Great value for an EV. So much fun to drive. The smart cruise control is great for long commute with lots of stop and go. Charging with level-1 is sufficient most of time. Many level-2 charging stations available everywhere.

Pros
The smart cruise control is great for long commute with lots of stop and go.

Cons
A choice of large wheel size would be great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Gloria P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2019
Died within 1 month, fixed within 2 weeks.
That said, I love my Ioniq. I was disappointed with the fact the battery management system failed within a month of buying the car, but it has now been fixed and I do love my mileage! The dealership that I took it for service was great, they gave me a loaner and I was charged nothing.

Pros
Again, love the mileage! I like the sport mode when I need a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Donald R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Poor MPG
I bought the IONIQ based on the MPG of 54/ 55 city/ highway driving. The IONIQ was driven well within the economy driving indicator and only got city/ highway MPG 47/ 48. If your main reason for buying an IONIQ is MG you need to be aware of this..

Pros
The car is a good value for the money.

Cons
The vehicle MPG is not as good as stated in advertisement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Service Rental T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
Great Car
I love my new Hyundai. It gets great gas mileage and looks very sporty. It's the perfect size for me and the price was right. I love my Hyundai dealerership (Tuscaloosa Hyundai) as well. They have the best warranty in the business and the entire staff is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2019
A Nice Commuting Car
I really like my new Ioniq. In the cold of Wisconsin it doesn't get the highway mileage the EPA estimates but it's pretty good at the mid 40's and it's a nice ride even in the snow. I really like all the features and it's a very roomy little hatchback that kind of looks like a sedan.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Nice tech features
Comfortable
It does have a sport mode if you want to burn up some gas

Cons
Have to drive a bit like my grandma to get the good gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dean S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
awesome car
I LOVE this car. The gas mileage is AWESOME!!!!! sound system is great. I LOVE the looks of the exterior and the Blue color is very attractive. Exterior style of vehicle is VERY attractive!! LOVE THIS CAR!!!

Pros
awesome gas mileage and very comfortable riding

Cons
engine noise on acceleration is LOUD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STUART L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/29/2019
first electric car
overall style ride and performance are fine
my concerns are with range and availability of charging stations and the amount of time it takes for full charge
also have not driven this car in the snow , and am concerned abt battery life in cold weather

Pros
costs nothing for gas
there are no oil changes
low maintenance batteries are 10 year guarantee
0 emissions
fun to drive w paddle shifters push button transmission dont really need brake pedal
3 driving modes

Cons
range is not great
accessories burn up battery quickly
charging on regular household current is slow
charging stations are hard to find
not compatible w tesla chargers
concerned abt performance and battery life in cold weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
COLTON A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2019
Great Hybrid!
The fuel economy is what interested me about this car. I knew I wanted a hybrid but I did not like the style of certain popular options. This car is comfortable and very accommodating with a good look
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HJ
Homer J.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2019
An Outstanding Value
Bought from a dealership - it had been on the road as a demonstrator maybe - had180 miles and one scratch inch and one half long through the paint. They sold it - an Ioniq Limited with Sunroof and everything - for the price of an Ioniq Sel, so I could not pass that up. This is our first *really* smart car with Lane Keeping Assist, Blind Spot Monitoring, and Smart Cruise Control, and the technology is just - well - awesome. They drove the car to our house in southeast Virginia from the DC area, and the indicated MPG was 58.4. I reset things when I filled up. ant through 2 fillups it shows 53 8 MPG in my commute back and forth to work 18 two-lane road/in-town miles and 12 miles Interstate each way. it is not the 58 MPG but 53+ MPG does not disappoint - and yes I tool around town to stores and back on the battery. We did buy a very nice set of after-market floor mats for our new baby, They work great and are easy to vacuum and wipe down to keep the inside like new..

Pros
See above.

Cons
Nothing we dislike.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Stephen H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2019
Wow.
I absolutely love this car. I came out of a Mustang convertible and do not miss it one little bit. The Moonroof gives the open air feel. The torque of the electric motor makes this little buggy pretty responsive off the line and on the highway. In fact, passing acceleration seems more responsive than my previous pony.
The tech is mind blowing. The dashboard information on the economics, safety, entertainment and comfort answer nearly every question you could have while tooling down the road. The efficiency is downright amazing. The computer is a little generous on the MPG, but not by much. My best tank so far showed a little over 58 MPG on the dash and 55.3 by refill calculation.
The seating is comfortable. Leather is nice. The dashboard materials (lava and sugar cane) make for a great looking interior with a really high quality feel. I expect to keep this one my average 200k plus miles for a car.

Pros
Tech and efficiency.

Cons
Spare tire not included. Had to special order tire, wheel and tool kit with storage mold.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ARTHUR B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2019
Good vehicle
At $99.00/month for the lease,how can you refuse?!? The limited range, 135 miles on a full charge resulted in the loss of one star. Otherwise, it is a decent car with adequate features. It is very quiet and has excellent acceleration.

Pros
Great lease price and runs well

Cons
limited range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
Excellent vehicle for the money.
The Ioniq has to be the most "Bang for the Buck" Vehicle you can purchase. 4 words: Sixty Miles Per Gallon! And better styling than the Prius in my opinion. Has great handling fr a front wheel drive car. Would have like the folding outside mirrors when locked and a trunk that is motorized to open, would have put it over the top.

Pros
The Limited edition has so much more features than the Prius limited for a fraction of the cost.

Cons
Rear hatchback window is a little cluttered with the wing in the lower half, makes it somewhat hard to see when looking through it from the mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRIAN H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2019
Nice car, great efficiency
This car has exceeded expectations. For our relatively short commute we are able to charge overnight in our garage just with our standard 120 outlet. Very efficient, love the electric driving experience, easy to use, prefect size for commuting. With federal and state incentives it's a great deal.

Pros
Electric driving is very calming. Well laid out interior. Hatchback versatility. Efficient. Handles well. Scheduled preheating while plugged in in the garage means the car is nice and warm when it's time to go!

Cons
Back seat legroom not huge.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Alan V.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
My Ioniq review
Bought this car new and have put about 16000 miles on it. Love the car. Drives good. Well engineered. We average about 60 MPG with it, in town and on trips. Has plenty of room. Daughter bought one in 2017 and I was impressed. Would buy again.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Peppy for what it is. Fun to drive. Well suited for our needs.

Cons
Sound system is just ok. Service at some dealerships is lousy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jill D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2019
I LOVE my car!
My hybrid gets almost 60 mpg and I trust this car to keep me safe... When my first Inioq was totaled in an accident I purchased another. I was stopped in traffic on the highway and was hit from behind by someone going about 55. My car and I bounced around as we hit 2 other cars and a guard rail. My car was crushed, no doors would open and the back window crumpled into the back seat. The airbag and the seat kept me protected me though. I only received whiplash and a bruise on my right shin.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOSEPH R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
Ioniq ev
Great vehicle that can be a great daily commuter. We use it during the week and have never had to charge it outside of our free work charging. The car has good range and the nearest charger is great. Nice car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
NORMAN B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
This applied to the EV! Fantastic economy, nicely equipped and great build quality
We have driven 1700 miles. Our economy average has been 130 MPGe in cold conditions. The handling is very good, ride is compliant and features work well. The Audio system sounds great and has all of my connectivity options as well as a back up camera. Lots of programmable options for morning warm up and charging times. You can tailor your economy settings as well. The drive train is smooth and the electric motor is very responsive. The Regenerative brakes stop well and allow me to maximize economy. The interior materials are durable and body is sound and rigid.

Pros
Economy, build quality, performance.

Cons
Ride is firm but controlled. Distance to empty indicator needs to be better at predicting range.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARK R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2019
Great overall car with only minor complaints
Overall the car is great! I only have two issues with it.
1. I do wish the range was a little more, but it meets my needs easily 95% of the time.
2. the sound system in the limited could use some work. At lower volumes it comes across sounding a bit thin. For a $37,000 car I expected a bit more from the sound system.

Otherwise, I genuinely love the car! I have a charger at work too that's free so in the month I've owned it I haven't spent a penny on my own transportation cost.

That alone makes me love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BARBARA L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Love this little cutie
I’ve had this car for about a year and it’s so much fun to drive. I love that it’s all electric, had decent range of 142 miles, charges overnight and has decent pickup and Apple CarPlay. Chose it over a Tesla Model 3 and don’t regret the decision

Pros
Apple CarPlay
Very stylish
Environmental consciousness
Can use carpool lane on freeway

Cons
Needs better battery range
Carriage may scratch the pavement on very steep grades
Poor driver visibility when in reverse and looking over my shoulder through the passenger windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANAND S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/13/2019
Hyundai Ioniq review
This is an awesome find . I have been having this for a month now and it looks great and runs with no issues so far .The only draw back is they really need to work on improving its Range. Currently it is just 141 Miles ..

Pros
Great Vehicle . Stylish , more room and fun to drive

Cons
Need to improve in Range .
Improve rear visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 198 in total