2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(335 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MP
MICHAEL P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
Best vehicle that I have ever owned. Mileage can be as high as 60 mpg. Safety systems and active lane controls are excellent for long trips. Very reliable; no maintenance issues in first 30,000 miles. Great phone integration with Android play.

Pros
Active cruise control and lane keep assistance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DOUGLAS R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/18/2020
Best Hybrid Value
Gets 63+ mpg in the summer and 55 mpg in winter. Great looking, well made, comfortable, great features and warrantee, love to show it off and brag. Let's advertise this hybrid and other electric versions .... never see any on TV. Thank you, Hyundai for giving a valued alternative to the Prius!!!!

Pros
MPG
STYLING
COMFORT
FEATURES

Cons
MORE COLORS AVAILABLE
RESTYLE PLASTIC RIMS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRITTANY D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2020
Perfect Car For Me
I love the safety features, the smoothness and comfort of the drive, and most of all that is a hybrid. I was between the Ioniq and a Prius and the Ioniq proved to be better. Mileage is amazing. I could not be happier!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Reynaldo M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/13/2020
Cost of maintenance at dealership is high
Other than the cost of maintenance at MY dealership, the car is fantastic! It's comfortable, zippy enough to put a smile on my face, good looking and overall, I think it's a good value so far.

We're at almost 1 year of ownership and have turned 15000 miles. We did a road trip and made a loop from Washington to Arizona, New Mexico and back via Colorado, Utah, Oregon and Idaho. My wife and I, all of our stuff and 10 days of travel and it did excellent. Super comfortable and something like $170.00 in fuel cost. For the whole trip!
In Colorado we experienced a little snow and quite a bit of ice. I was wary not knowing how it would handle on the ice and it did just perfect. In about 100 miles of icy road, not a slip and I don't use chains or have snow or studded tires.

The only two things I don't like about the Ioniq are how dirty the back of the car gets from just everyday.driving, but especially in rainy conditions, and how dirty the door aprons (the plastic part that covers the rocker panels) get. It's almost impossible to not wipe the back of your pant leg on this and transfer the dirt to your pant leg.

We like this car a lot! It's my wife's daily driver to work and back, about a 65 mile round trip. She loves it! If I didn't work so close to home, less than 2 miles, we would buy a second one for me.

We bought the SEL. I wish we had spring for the limited for the additional features.

Now that we've owned for about a year, we've figured out that here in Washington at least, seasonal fuel blends have played a big role in our mileage. One tank last summer and we ended up at 63mpg for the tank. That was meticulous driving using the adaptive cruise control the whole time. During our road trip in February we had tankfuls as low as 44 mpg. MPG figures increased a lot in April however, and I think seasonal blends or the gasoline glut may have something to do with it. Who knows, it's just rationalizing differences...

Pros
Comfort, mileage, cute car.

Cons
Accumulation of dirt at the rear of the car and the door aprons (rocker panels).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ALBERT P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
New review
An absolutely excellent alternative to the Toyota Prius, nearly identical handling, cargo space, slightly better sounds system options, similar gas milage, excellent comfort, good seating space in every seat
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
My Hyundai ionic
It is an excellent care really good on gas Millage I average between 50 to 65 miles to the galleon it is a traditional Hybrid it is fun to drive. I really like the fact that Hyundai has a life time warranty on the battery.

Pros
It is designed perfect in arrow dynamics the steering is good it goes around corners smooth the the overall look is really nice and sleek looking.

Cons
for the Hyundai Ionic blue the price is a little steep it doesn't have in it what I would like to have in it it isn't fully loaded and the display could be designed a little bigger and better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gregory W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/06/2020
This is a nice car.
On the pricey side, but very low gas cost. Very AVERAGE looking car, and I have to come up with more words, so I guess I will add that the thing that pulled me into dealership was the lease price on this car.

Pros
Hot ass?

Cons
No heated steering wheel, but nice warm ASS. I CONTROL the car with my HANDS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 05/06/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

TD
THOMAS D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2020
Excellent car great miles per gallon
Great car. Beautiful styling. Fantastic mileage. Easy to use accessories. Many nice comments from neighbors and people on the road at a light who say what a great looking car. A lot of value for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RANDY M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2020
Great Vehicle
I have had this car for 1 year now and couldn't be happier. It looks great and drives wonderful. When I bought it gas was over 3.00 per gallon, even though since then its dropped greatly it still feels good to drive right by gas stations.I did allot of research before buying this car and couldn't be more pleased. I had to drive 150 miles to purchase it since dealers closer didn't have this model available at the time. These cars are hard to find on any lot in Kentucky. Love the Hyundai Ioniq!

Pros
Great gas mileage and overall looks.

Cons
The seats could use a little more padding but not terrible. I also wish the 2019 SEL had navigation. I have to use my phone connected to system which works great but would have been great to be built in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PAUL K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
Great vehicle
This vehicle has incredible mpg, great style, comfortable and warranty. Fell in love with the car first time I drove it.
Incredible vehicle.
Biggest disappointment no LED headlights and no option for fog lights.

Pros
The car

Cons
No LED headlights or option for fog lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
STEVEN W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2020
ONE FINE MACHINE
This is the finest car I have ever owned. It is a fun drive, easy to park, comfortable, fuel efficient and safe. Rings all my bells. It is backed by a first rate dealer system. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Safe, efficient and fun

Cons
moon roof noise, when roof fully opened

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KATHY P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/27/2020
Great car
Had always bought Prius’s but they took out the Sirius radio so looked at the Ioniq. So glad I did. Love the car! Has a lot of options that are great. The reason for the 4 stars is because there is no rear windshield wiper and you can’t see out the back when it rains. Big safety issue. But I would still recommend buying one.

Cons
No rear windshield wiper. Wish there would be an app for the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stuart W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
Hyundai Ioniq
Car drives great. Handling and comfort are superior. I enjoy driving the car and the gas mileage is good ( NOT GREAT). We were told 50-55 mph but so far we’re only getting 45-48 mph. Hopefully it will improve.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KATHLEEN S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Happy with my car. Very Happy
Couldn't ask for better. At first concerned because it was the first year available but with a lease if it didn't work out I felt I would be OK. It definitely hasn't disappointed. We are getting great gas mileage!!! So happy with out choice - the price was compatible with the Subaru Impreza we were looking at so why not get the Hybrid. So glad we did.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
FALK B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2020
Great Commuter
The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Plug-In is a great vehicle. Very fuel-efficient car. I have it for one year and had no issues at all. Nice acceleration in sports mode. Very tall people might have issues entering it. Drives nice on snowy roads with winter tires.

Pros
Great Commuter, very fuel-efficient

Cons
I am not aware of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JASON M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2020
Superb Value and Style for the money.
After testing the Tesla Model S and the newest Prius model, I decided to check the market for other manufacturers with hybrid offerings before making my choice. This was going to be my first hybrid and I wanted to make the right, informed decision. The truth is, I didn't even know that Hyundai even HAD a line of vehicles of this nature, nor have I ever owned one of their vehicles before. One could say that I have been a Toyota man for a long time. So, I tested another 8 models, from different manufacturers, to get a feel for how they should drive, accelerate, and handle. Some were pretty decent, actually, but I was not overly impressed. I had pretty much decided on the Tesla and was about commit. On a last-minute lark, I stopped by the Hyundai dealership near my work to see what they had. Oh my... that Ioniq caught my eye across the parking lot and I said to myself...man, I wish they had Hybrids of THAT model! They did... that was what they WERE. I test drove it that same day and Tesla was suddenly in BIG trouble. It was also $15000 cheaper, was loaded with extras and handled like a dream. I went back twice and drove one again over the next 3 days. I was sold.... not even a competition at that point. Let me hit the lows upfront... it uses some gas, of course. If it's cold or hot weather, and you need to use the heater or ac, the engine will stay on most of the time. Even so, I still average over 50MPG efficiency. I took a road trip to Denver last winter and I averaged 60.2MPG over the 22 hours of driving. Pretty amazing. Also, there is no spare tire. That is intentional, but it comes with an odd repair kit that may or may not work. Those are, literally, the only gripes I have. The highs...SO many and too many to name, but I'll hit a couple! From the automated driving system that takes over the wheel and self-drives if you take your hands off the wheel (works AMAZING, by the way)...the auto-adaptive cruise slows your car down and accelerates on it's own if traffic conditions change.. many many more of these systems are included and they work REALLY well. The biggest pro for me is the smoothness of the ride and the exceptional fuel efficiency. In the spring and fall I averaged over 70MPG efficiency. I drive about 25 miles a day to and from work. So, I had to buy gas about once a month...once a month! Ok, I'm being too wordy...great things...device connectivity, sound system is exceptional, safety and collision-avoidance features are fantastic, and it handles like a dream. Buy one!

Pros
SO many! Read my review or just test drive one... you will be pleasantly surprised.

Cons
No spare tire. Using the AC or Heater reduces the efficiency by a bit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CHRISTIAN K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
Ioniq Hybrid Plug-In
I really really wish the manual had more technical information in it. I hate the lack of regen til you actually hit the brake and|or the lack of regen settings. Wish it had GPS. Otherwise, it's great!

Pros
Nearly everything with the exceptions noted under cons.

Cons
Lack of regen settings!
Very little regen until one actually hits the brake
The owner's manual kind of "talks down to me".
Except for the 80 mile range, the Nissan LEAF is actually a better car. (We got one (2013 model) with 8300 miles off EBay, used, in 2015, so it's not really a fair comparison.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KEITH H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/10/2020
Ionic 2019
The Hyundai Ionic is truly a car to consider in the EV era. The ionic delivers 50+ mpg in city and more on hwy. Its design is sporty and yet has a comfortable, great ride. Look at this before considering any other hybrid/Electric out there!

Pros
Sporty design, great acceleration, roomy, classy

Cons
Bar in back window, a bit loud on the hwy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FI
FRANK I.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
2019 Ionic. Premium
The car handles well. Is fun to drive especially with the 6 speed dial clutch so much better than a CVT. Very comfortable for a small car. I really liked the looks as it has a more conventional vibe.

Pros
Acts like a non hybrid with fuel efficiency of hybrid. 600 plus mile driving range is nice.

Cons
So far everything is positive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRIAN B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
Great gas mileage
I was looking for a car with the best gas mileage that was not a plug-in and this beat everyone else out. Live in a townhome without a garage so I couldn't get a plug-in and this was the next best thing. Love the headlights and how they adjust around turns. The speaker system is pretty good too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 335 in total