2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(119 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SL
SEAN L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
2019 Hyundai Ioniq
I was looking to switch from a performance sports car to something more utilitarian and eco-friendly. I researched all the hybrid options out there. I feel with the Ioniq I got the most for my money. It has a clean interior, supports both apple and google apps, lots of safety features, and gets amazing gas mileage. However, I feel like the obtaining that excellent MPG is a chore. I find it difficult to anticipate when the vehicle will use EV mode compared to my expectations such as when starting up from a stop-light or cruising at desired speed.

Pros
- Amazing MPG if you can modify your driving style
- Tons of safety features
- Comfortable
- High value

Cons
- Obtaining high MPG is an effort
- EV mode is unpredictable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HT
HAROLD T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
aces
Hyundai Sansone in NJ rocks. Thank you for the 2019 Ioniq Blue.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
William G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
HYUNDAI YES, prius no.
I am a 15 year PRIUS owner. Thought it was the best. At the time i was probably right. But time has a way of moving on. Due to price and rude Toyota sales people, I decided to give Hyundai a try. What an eye opening experience. Much more interesting. I LOVE my Ioniq. Less expensive for more car. Better warranty. Really innovative. For instance, uses main batteries for 12 volt "starter" battery, eliminates need to replace expensive, one off battery (Prius/$200+ three times in 15 years) for life of car. Give Hyundai a try, you have nothing to lose. I'll wager you'll be surprised.

Pros
So far everything I've every thought I'd like in a car are standard in the LTD for a reasonable price. Great value. Fun to drive.

Cons
I'm 6'2" and over 70, I don't bend as well as I used to. I'm about a big as you can comfortably be to use the IONIQ.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
SCOTT E.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
Brand new
Haven't had this car long but the quality seems great so I expect to be driving it for a long time. Interior is very comfortable and it is so fun to drive. Good performance and great handling beyond what you might expect from a car designed to sip fuel. Purchased the model with every available option. No regrets.

Pros
Comfortable, quiet, good performance, great handling, fun to drive, sips fuel

Cons
Not the prettiest

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NO
Nancy O.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/30/2019
Awesome car!
My Ioniq now has 35000 miles on it, and it hasn't let me down once. I LOVE my little car. I'm also 5' tall so on the back window that bar keeps me from getting blinded at night from headlights. Warranty is the best! Lifetime on the batteries. I also got the extended warranty so I have up to. 120000. The only thing I wish it had was heated mirrors, better looking wheels, and arm rest on the driver's side. I went up and back to Charleston Sc from Kissimmee Fl. I only had to fill twice. Once when I got there, then when I got back. Even folded down the back seat and put a air mattress back there, it was the best. This thing gets better fuel mileage then my motorcycle....LOL

Pros
Best car for the money. Outstanding warranty.

Cons
Needs nicer looking wheels. Heated mirrors, and some arm rests in the front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JUDY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
ioniq
great car easy to drive love the safety features. metallic blue is the color I selected. the car is beautiful inside and out. the interior leather upholstery is easy on your eyes, no glare.
it has a lot of trunk storage room.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHRISTOPHER R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
For the people who want to secretly own a hybrid
I love the stylish looks and interior features of my Ioniq. Despite not reaching the advertised MPG, I'm still very high on this car and anticipate owning it for as long as it runs thanks to Hyundai's free battery replacement for life for the 1st owner.

The entertainment package on the SEL trim was a big selling point for me. The 7" touchscreen and Apple CarPlay made this feel like the first car I've owned that feels truly modern. It could obviously be distracting for less disciplined drivers, but it makes driving a breeze when using navigation.

Pros
Tons of safety features, terrific entertainment features, great gas mileage, perhaps the biggest cargo space you'll find in a sedan/hatchback, looks more like a regular sedan than a Prius or other hybrids have in the past.

Cons
Tight leg room in the rear seats, has not yet met the advertised MPG since I have owned it, lots of road noise that could be distracting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KAITLYN K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Fuel Efficient car, relatively fun little driver
Coming from a manual, I was looking for a car that still acted like a car. The dual clutch transmission allows for that. I'm particularly pleased with the quick pick up the car has in sport mode, especially when entering the highway and merging into traffic. The interfaces are intuitive and clean. Android Auto works nicely to integrate my phone with the car.

Pros
Nice acceleration for merging into traffic, fuel efficient as all get out, and incredible value for the money.

Cons
Slightly weird hatch styling with a split rear window.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
FALK B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
I love my 2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
I drove the vehicle 3,300 miles and it is a nice experience. It is mainly my commuter car.
Smooth switching from EV to HEV mode. The fuel economy is very-very good. What are gas stations?
I can only say I am very satisfied with that vehicle.

Pros
Very good fuel economy, nice to drive, Lots of storage space

Cons
I don't know yet, Ask me in one year

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PETER T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
great overall experience with outstanding gas mileage
We test drove a number of new cars when it came time to trade in our 2010 Audi A3. We loved the Audi, but it had never been reliable, and it was getting worse. We wanted something we could count on for less than $26,000, with some style, good mileage, and good handling. I'm a car guy, and I do environmental work, so we wanted to avoid the unnecessary bulk, poor mileage and emissions inherent to SUV design. We fell in love with the new Mazda3, really liked the Corolla GT and even flirted with the Golf (even as I heard my mechanic shouting in my ear, "no more German cars!"). We went to the Hyundai dealer to test drive the Elantra GT, the nearest thing we could find, style wise, to our Audi. While there we noticed the sticker in the Ioniq's window advertising 56 mpg. I've always thought hybrids were for people who don't like cars - weird looking, cheap and tinny feeling, with agricultural-sounding motors straining to accelerate through annoying CVT transmissions. The salesman urged us to give it a try; "it'll surprise you. Trust me." We did, and it did. It handled well, moved through the turns with some gusto, felt pretty solid, and had a real transmission. It was nicely outfitted (we drove the Limited version) and comfortable. So that's what we got, and we really like it. Like other people who've reported in, our mileage is way better than what we were used to, but usually well below the advertised number. The only flaw is that the liftgate rattles against its latch on certain types of broken pavement (about the only kind of pavement we get here in the Bay Area). It's annoying in a brand new car, and I'm hoping the dealer can fix the problem. Overall we like the car a lot, and would recommend it to friends.

Pros
gas mileage, features, comfort, smooth ride, good handling, acceleration in sport mode, reasonable styling, passenger and luggage room

Cons
gas mileage doesn't match expectations, liftgate latch rattles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jacob S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Hyundai ioniq
Over all a great car that gets awesome gas mileage and right at what it says it does. Good design and comfortable. Some disappointment is hubcaps instead of rims and no sunroof and does not come with blue link. But is very affordable and has a good design and comfortable to drive even for taller people.

Pros
Great gas mileage good performance for a hybrid

Cons
Does not have a sunroof or blue link and does not have rims

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARY R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
Hyundai Quality
Only drove this vehicle because of a circular received in the mail promising free stuff if I test drive, decided to check it out, had no intention of trading for another vehicle. But when I drove it, I fell in love with it. after much deliberating, I bought it.

Pros
Overall: Excellent quality

Cons
Needs a jack and a spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Raynal R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Myras Review
Great little car, i loved the minute we test drove it....overall rating will depend on reliability. Styling is contemporary and interior is sleek with the leather. Very comfortable ride compared to the Prius which i drove for 1 years.

Pros
great looks and economy, super steering and brakes.

Cons
acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PF
PEMLY F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Battery guaranteed for life!
We love our new Ioniq. It’s much more stylish than the Toyota Prius or Honda Insight, it comes with more bells and whistles than their (Honda & Toyota) standard models, it gets amazing gas mileage and the battery is guaranteed for life! Plus, it is very affordable. It’s zippy, comfortable and has great features.

Pros
Battery guaranteed for life, price, features.

Cons
Back window has a bar that separates the top and bottom, this can sometimes obscure your vision when backing up or looking behind you in rearview mirror

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CARLOS S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 Ioniq Electric
Wow! I am so pleased with my recent lease of this vehicle. It's more roomy than you would think, and no more visits to the gas station. I will recommend Hyundai to all my friends. This is my second Hyundai but not my last!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
STEVEN C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
2019 Ioniq Hybrid
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHAWN S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Best hybrid for your money
I wanted to get a hybrid vehicle that was spacious enough to fit a stroller and other cargo and also be comfortable in the front and back seat. Miles per gallon mattered to me as well since that was the point of getting a hybrid. The Ioniq had better cargo space than the other hybrids we looked at, and just plain looks better than other hybrids of comparable price and size. The biggest competition was probably the Prius, but honestly, the Prius looks ugly to me. Miles per gallon in the Ioniq is better than the Prius. Cargo space is better in the Ioniq. The overall look of the exterior of the vehicle is way nicer than the Prius. The price of the Ioniq is also cheaper than the Prius. So getting the Ioniq, we got a nicer looking exterior, better miles per gallon, better cargo space, and a better price than anything else we looked at. We ended up getting the base model also, because it had everything we were looking for, didn't seem necessary to upgrade to the higher models for what they were adding. I can't believe that the Hyundai Ioniq is not more popular, barely see any on the road, but I'm ok being one of few. Every time I see a Toyota Prius on the road, I laugh thinking how much happier I am driving the Ioniq compared to the Prius. I'm not affiliated with Hyundai or Toyota in any way, just shocked how many people buy a Prius without knowing or researching that Hyundai makes the Ioniq and it is better in the many ways described above.

Pros
gas mileage, price, exterior looks better than most hybrids in my opinion unless you're buying a $90,000 Tesla

Cons
Plastic rims aren't the prettiest but I got the base model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Madison H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Hyundai Ioniq is a serious Hybrid competetor
The Ioniq has more space then needed. The hatchback makes it easy to carry my boyfriends bicycle, my luggage, or groceries. I have not had an issue with anything. The interior features are nice and the display screen is easy to use.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Alan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
I love this car
Love this car. Miles per gallon is amazing. The handling is very sharp. Sharp good looking car only thing that’s bad is the back window on it. It has a bar that blocks the visual of the traffic and backing up.

Pros
Great gas mileage,cheap maintenance,

Cons
For the money but the sel models worth the upgrade and comfort is 10x better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2019
Great value comes standard
Never heard of an ioniq! Went to dealership specifically looking for an Elantra. I've owned about a dozen new Hondas. Did some research on the Elantra because I my friend has one and loves it. After comparing it to the Civic, I found that the price was significantly less, yet had more features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 119 in total