2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(159 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SK
Susan K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/11/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
Absolutely have no words that can describe this wonderful hybrid its mileage and reliability is outstanding. I get any where from 58 to 64 mpg absolutely love it! Who said toyota doesnt have a competitor!! Need I say more?

Pros
Mileage and reliability

Cons
More cup holders? ?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carlos G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
IONIQ 2019
Nice car and would recommend it to my friends and family. Looking forward to taking it on a vacation this summer and see how well the advertised mileage is (55 MPG).
At the present time I am getting 55 MPG in town so I will see what it does on the highway driving.

Pros
great gas mileage.

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EV
Elizabeth V.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
My new Prius
I love my new Ioniq...it runs like a Prius and is less expensive with a better overall warranty! This is an awesome car! It gets great gas milage like the Prius, and sometimes even better milage! Very comfortable and easy to drive.

Pros
I love everything about my new Ioniq

Cons
Wanted a sun roof...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
Andy O.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2019
A Prius-beater in almost every respect.
I have owned and driven 3 different Prius models, the last of which was a 2014 Liftback 3. With each I have had to drive carefully, using the onboard aids, to achieve good fuel economy - typically around 54-58mpg.

When it came time to trade in the 2014 for a new one, I was fully expecting to get another Prius, and even though the current 4th generation models are stylistically a cross between industrial origami on the outside, and cartoonish on the inside, I was more interested in driving quality and economy, along with suitable levels of equipment and trim. Unfortunately, Toyota have moved many of the features I like, such as GPS and keyless entry to models outside my price range, so I thought I'd see what else was on the market that might satisfy my fuel-efficient needs.

This took me to my local Hyundai dealer to have a look at a 2019 Ioniq SEL in Black Pearl. I was not expecting to be impressed, and when I got in it for the test drive, I wasn't. It looked and felt like a normal car. No extensive dashboard tools for eking out mileage, no mode buttons, not much of a geek-factor either. Yet lots of safety features such as lane keeping assist, cross-traffic sensors, automatic emergency braking, radar cruise control, blind-spot monitoring - none available on my Prius, and only on a new Prius at much higher price. And CarPlay, which was not available on a Prius at all, where Entune is still the totally useless, pointless, and entirely disappointing option.

The test drive was a revelation. It became immediately clear that the 6-speed/dual clutch transmission was a great deal more responsive than the Prius CVT, and moved the Ioniq along briskly and quietly, in ways the CVT never did. On the highway, acceleration into traffic was excellent, and overall, the car was comfortable, quiet, and well planted. I was impressed in ways the Prius had not managed in the test drives I'd had. Potentially good fuel efficiency, in a car that drove very normally - suddenly, that seemed like a very good thing.

Costed fully, the SEL worked out to be equivalent to a Prius costing almost $6000 more, and as long as I was able to return similar fuel-efficient results, I knew I'd be happy.

The first tank of fuel returned 61.3mpg, mixed city and highway, and in the warm temperatures this spring, the car is averaging 65mpg on my daily city commute. And it does this without me having to try, as I did before in the Prius. The result is a comfortable, pleasing, driving experience which is relaxing and satisfying.

When I stopped by the dealer, I told the salesperson that if any Prius owner came in to look at an Ioniq, to tell them that a satisfied customer with 12 years of Prius ownership said the only complaint is that it had taken so long to realize there was a better option to drive.

Pros
Comfortable
Quiet
Excellent dual clutch transmission
Well implemented safety aids
Great equipment level including CarPlay/Android Auto
Modest very effective styling inside and out
Dual-zone climate controls
Useful multi-function instrument display
Sport mode!

Cons
Lack of cargo cover supplied as standard ($150 extra)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Ironoaks S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
We use this vehicle for our community patrol and it has met and exceeded our needs.
Both vehicles have preformed as expected over the past two years. Gas mileage is very good considering we drive a low speeds (20 to 40 MPH) and do a lot of turning while on patrol. We are very pleased with the performance of both vehicles.

Pros
as stated above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
George H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
The car that is different!
I bought my first hybrid from Garvey in 2011 and it was a great car. I got 36 to 42 miles per gal. and it was great. I just bought a 2019 Ioniq and in my first few months I am getting 50 to 60 miles per gal.. It handles and rides very nice. The only negative I will point out is the rear window in the hatch back is too small. Thank goodness for the back up camera!

Pros
Comfortable, handling, safety features, fun to drive, and the super gas milage. Every one loves the color! Love the heated seat in the winter!

Cons
Small rear window!
Plastic wheel covers!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Daniel T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Great mpg, normal driving experience!
I am really loving my Ioniq so far. I get 60+ mpg with normal driving. I love the apple car play, and the sound system is pretty decent! It’s a comfortable ride, I average 250-350 miles per day. I regularly get 700+ miles per gas tank.

Pros
Great mpg
Comfortable ride
Looks nice

Cons
I wish it had a bigger gas tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NL
Nancy L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Surprisingly downsizing doesn’t mean losing comfort
My Ionic Hybrid was a downsize in vehicle. It is still roomy, and comfortable. With in a week or do I felt like this vehicle was made for me. Sporty feel, high tech and eco friendly make this a great choice!

Pros
Bluetooth connection, sport drive, earth friendly

Cons
No CD player. Oil change price with synthetic oil.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
The best value and the lowest cost of ownership.
Okay I'm not an owner yet (of an Ioniq) but I recently retired after over 50 years in sales, the last 8 years as a Brand Specialist and Trusted Advisor selling Hyundai products and driving a 2013 turbo Veloster that is paid off and I wouldn't sell or trade for anything except probaby adding an Ioniq and the New Santa Cruz truck when it comes out to my garage. I've been selling cars for about 20+ years and have driven just about every brand and helped 100's of customers find the best vehicle value that meets their needs, wants, and budget.
Here's what I know about Hyundai and the Ioniq: First, if you're looking for the best value in any vehicle then you owe it to yourself to look at Hyundai. Their philosophy isn't about building the best vehicle in the world but building the best car value for your money. They start with the best and longest warranty in the business.
Their basic bumper to bumper warranty will fix your car if something goes wrong for 2 years longer than the rest and their 10 year or 100,000 mile powertrain warranty covers all the expensive parts. They give you more standard features than the others. The other brands charge extra for almost everything on the sticker. Hyundai includes almost everything in the price. If you're a value shopper and want the most for your money then look at Hyundai. They passed the 2 most popular Japanese brands 9 years ago in Brand Loyalty, more people come back and buy Hyundai once they've owned one then any other brand.They have the lowest cost of ownership for the brand and most are lowest cost of ownership in the first 5 years for their class. They own their own steel mills (only 1 other brand does but they only use about 1/3 of the amount of the strongest but lightest, and best quality steel that Hyundai uses), that's only one of the many reasons that gives virtually every Hyundai a 5 star+ safety rating.
Now the Ioniq, they had a great hybrid in the Sonata for those that wanted a hybrid that is way more comfortable then the typical little hybrids out there but efficient too. They set out not to build another hybrid but to build a better one. They get the best gas mileage in a non plug in car then any other brand (I have customers experiencing upward of 70+ mpg's) and well over 600+ miles regularly on a tank of gas. They are the Only hybrid with a LIFETIME warranty on their lithium polymer batteries, and 10 years or 100,000 miles on all hybrid components, saving you thousands of dollars down the road. They are, smaller, lighter, more powerful, last longer produce less heat and are moldable so they took them out of the trunk where they took up so much space and molded them under the rear seats. They used recycled materials whenever possible so many "materials" used inside may look cheap to some are made of recycled plastic, volcanic rocks and sugar cane and the foam inside the seats are soy bean based just in case you ever get stranded and run out of food you can boil them and make soup, ummm!! Just kidding, Lol. Most vehicles come with solar glass to help protect you from uv a+b cancer causing rays and help protect your interior from deteriorating as quickly as possible. Here's another money saving item most people don't know about, almost all vehicles have electronic, motor driven power steering or what they call steer by wire. Have you ever seen a vehicle crash where the steering wheel shaft came back into the driver? There isn't one in steer by wire cars. Most of you know that when you turn on the air conditioning you lose 7-10% of your power and gas mileage, well guess what, most air conditioning in Hyundai's are Electronic Motor Driven also so they don't effect your mileage and power like others do, they don't run on a belt sucking the mileage out of your engine. Keep this in mind when considering what they say is their mileage, you can likely expect 7-10% less with the air conditioning on. Oil changes are 7500 miles instead of 3000 and tire rotation is 8000 miles instead of 4000.
I can go on and on but you get the picture right? If you are a value shopper and want the best value in a vehicle you need to give Hyundai a chance, you'll save money in places you probably didn't think you could. This may not be the perfect car for everyone ( I don't think there is) but I love this car and I think you will too!!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None, well as Tim the tool man used to say, more power, for when you feel the need for more power when merging on the freeway or passing or just feel like driving like when you were a kid on curvy mountain roads, don't be afraid to use the sport mode or paddle shifters. You won't believe you're driving a hybrid. You'll feel like you're driving a sports car. Exhilarating!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kathleen S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Happy with my car.
I Love, Love LOVE my new car. It has been everything I expected and more!! Mileage ratings were for 58 mpg and we are getting 63-65 - what's not to love. It rides very well for a small car and I believe it is the quality Michelin tires used. Highly recommend this little jewel.

Pros
I give all the above features above 10+

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WN
Warren N.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Great Value - Much Better MPGs Than Advertised
I drive 170-miles roundtrip, Monday through Friday. This car has an EPA rating of 55-MPG city and 54-MPG highway. I have consistently averaged 10-MPG better than the EPA rating.

The car is roomy.

The build quality is good.

This car is a great value.

I wish Hyundai would replace the dual-clutch transmission with a continuously variable transmission (CVT).

I also wish the driver's seat was more comfortable for my long-distance commutes.

Pros
Car has an EPA rating of 55-MPG city and 54-MPG highway. I drive 170-miles roundtrip, Monday through Friday, and this car has far exceeded my expectations with 64-MPG.

Roomy interior, big trunk.

Build quality is good.

Great value -- I paid $22,060 for my Hyundai Ioniq SEL, which has many safety features compared to the Blue trim, and we'll worth the small price increase.

Cons
The dual-clutch transmission should be replaced with a continuously variable transmission (CVT). It is odd driving with it. In my opinion, the DCT is holding the car back from a better driving experience and even better fuel economy.

Driver's seat could be more comfortable for long-distance rides.

Would like to see the cargo screen as standard equipment. I purchased it for $122.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
WILLIAM P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Ioniq Hybrid Review
Great Car xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Worth every penny

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRITTA H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
I love my Ioniq!
This car is amazing. It's beautiful, has a great fuel economy and has all of the safety features I can count on driving on the freeway daily. I love that it has Apple Car Play with all of my favorite apps. I never have to look at my phone while using the car. Texting & Navigation made super simple!

Pros
Safety features
no road noise
apple car play

Cons
back window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LYSSA R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Worth test driving
The ride is very comfortable. Plenty of leg room. Quick driving response. Very good fuel economy. The appearance of this vehicle is nice. The car feels heavy and the doors in this vehicle closes quietly and seals well.

Pros
Economy, quick response brakes/steering. Plenty room for legs.

Cons
Buttons on radio to small, air conditioner buttons need to be moved for better access

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
WILLIAM W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Ioniq
Excellent fuel economy and technical features. Would like to see a new transmission in the future. The transmission that is in my Honda CRV feels smoother as it moves between gears. The Ioniq transmission feels sluggish.

Pros
fuel economy and technical features

Cons
transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RICHARD S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
exceeded my expectations!
We needed something reliable for a reasonable price and that got great fuel mileage. We love the styling, comfort and features. The ride is great and the mileage performed as they said it would. The integration with my phone is great as is the mapping system.

Pros
design, function, mileage, cost.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HARRY H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Great car to drive; great car at the gas pump.
I love my Ioniq. After a great experience with a Sonata Hybrid, I researched the hybrid options, and felt the Ioniq was what I wanted. The dealership unfortunately knew how I had settled on the model in question, and I would never go there again. But the car!! It is everything I hoped for, with comfort, gas mileage, handling, and style. Although there is no trunk, the cargo space is roomy and protected from view with a cargo shield. Get the Limited with the Ultimate package, it is worth it.

Pros
Gas mileage. Gas mileage. Gas mileage.
Electronics, handling, heat/air, comfort.

Cons
Small bar in back window makes rear view mirror a little while to get used to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Get a ioniq
The ionia is our families 4th Hyundai. Well built cars. Traded in my land yacht (which I loved) For something with better fuel economy. In my opinion, the ioniq is the best hybrid on the market today. Great gas mileage (63 mpg on this tank) and great styling.

Pros
Gas mileage
Styling
Safety features

Cons
Can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RANDY M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Best car I've ever driven.
I own the 2019 Hyundai Ioniq SEL. I have researched this brand of car for 2 years since they came out. Its everything I expected and more. Its fuel mileage is incredible and driving it is so much fun. It drives and rides so smooth It really surprised me. I plan on keeping this car for many years so I can only hope It holds up to my expectations. Im sure it will.

Pros
Too many to list.

Cons
No navigation on SEL series.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DOUGLAS R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Best Hybrid Available
The Ioniq Hybrid SEL is a perfect car for me. Getting low 60's mpg, great ride and drive, fantastic styling (too bad Prius), comfortable, and loads of features. The black color with the chrome trim look great. Back split window gives plenty of view. Nice interior and good looking dash and seats. Hatch gives great utility. This car needs to be adversised and shouted from the mountain tops.....BEST HYBRID FOR THE MONEY.

Pros
MPG
VALUE
APPEARANCE
RELIABLE

Cons
NONE SO FAR......

ALTHOUGH MISS A SPARE TIRE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 159 in total