2018
Hyundai
IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(13 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ER
Eric R.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2019
Ioniq plug-in
Have had the vehicle since the beginning of the year and no problems. It is serviced every 10,000 miles. I plug it in every day. The car gets very good mileage.
I drive it almost daily, for Uber and Lyft.

Cons
The plastic scratches pretty easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kurt H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/25/2019
Great idea and good execution for the most part
I want to love my Ioniq because it drives so well and I really enjoy commuting to work in all electric mode but having the hybrid mode for longer driving on weekends. Unfortunately some steering and engine issues have come up before reaching 7,000 miles. The steering wheel started sticking at the center (neutral) position at higher speeds, and then a creaking noise when turning at very low speed started. After two service visits (one for steering and a very recent one for the engine issue) these steering issues have abated. The very recent engine issue required two weeks to diagnose and repair (partly because a specialized part had to be ordered), and in the process of the diagnosis and repair it was found that the engine oil was overfilled (a complete surprise to me because I had not had oil change work done yet) and specks of metal were observed in the oil while it was being changed (service staff suggested this was leftover from the engine manufacturing process). I'm really hoping that these are rare and unlucky kinks in an otherwise good and reasonably priced plug-in hybrid car concept and execution.

Pros
Enough battery for all-electric commuting to work and getting kids from school to activities in the city/close in suburban setting. Excellently laid out front interior. Ultimate package features (including leather seating and sound system) are very nice. Outside styling is so much better than Prius has ever been. Not an exciting car to drive but the engine can deliver power when it is needed.

Cons
Some steering and engine issues have come up in the first 7,000 miles. I have been able to quiet most of the rattling in rear part of the interior with strategic placement of adhesive felt pads and non-adhesive felt fabric and a third party rear cargo mat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Eric K.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Great economic car! Saves gas! Comfy ride!
I love how much gas this car saves for me. Lots of luxary features. I did wish it had a better sounding sub for bass. But overall really happy! Got about 8000 back in rebates and savese a 1/3 of what I was paying for gas. I drive mainly 90% freeway.

Pros
Gas saving. Sun roof. Advanced cruise control. Sat radio. Lane departure. Blind spot monitoring. Collision warning. Electric vehicle rebates. Electric vehicle parking. Carpool lane usage with paid fees. Electric vehicle charging rates from power utilities. Comes with 120volt charger and will charge in 6 hours. No problems at 46,000 miles.

Cons
Only 29 electric miles on fun charge. Only 140 HP but enough to get into freeway. Paddle shifters help with acceptations. Cold weather can affect electric range. Subwoofer only produces decent bass with infinity sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Curtis W.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
My Hyundai Ioniq
I made an excellent purchase when I decided to purchase a Hyundai Ioniq EV hybrid.I've had no problems with this vehicle, and I purchased it new last August 13 miles and now it has around 40K and I'm averaging around 55 mile to the gallon. My service cost has been minimal and affordable. No complaints here.

Pros
Hardly at the gas stations

Cons
Not quick at take off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
Perfect commute car, saves $$ and zippy when it needs to be
Love this car. Drove 2400 miles before filling up with gas. Could have gone longer but took a few longer trips. Currently at 1100 miles and still have 3/4 tank. My commute is about 15 miles RT so charging overnight works fine and I run on electricity 5 days a week. The paddle shifters are fun and sport mode squeals the tires and gets me on the freeway fast. If your commute is more than 30 miles RT and you can't plug in at your office, then maybe this is not an electric-ish car for you, but otherwise what are you waiting for? On the freeway at 70-75 mph I pretty consistently get 45mpg which is still great, and around the city I get about 55-60 mpg (couldn't charge up for about 2 weeks and drove on gas the whole time). The only problem with this car was getting my hands on one - if you're not in CA, good luck (local dealers said they couldn't order it). So, I called a few CA dealers and the wife found a cheap ticket to Oakland and we took the BART train and walked to a dealer, bought it and drove back to TX in a couple of days (on gas of course). The hatchback and folding seats allow a lot of cargo - I just transported a lawnmower, folding ladder and weedeater to a friend's house.

Pros
Great for commute & short trips. Still good for long drives because it's a hybrid and gets great gas mileage. Base model is filled with features and the higher models have a lot more. Paddle shifters and sport mode. Heated seats. Hatchback has a lot of room. Inexpensive and a nice tax credit.

Cons
Hard to get outside of CA. Can't get a sunroof unless you get power seats and a bunch of other stuff. The trunk mat is made for the hybrid but not the plug-in so although the dealer took one out of a regular hybrid and gave it to me, it doesn't quite fit (close enough though).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lavelda B.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2019
70 + mpg
I believe a PLUG IN HYBRID is the best car for commuting to work. I work 30 miles from my house. I plug my Ioniq in every evening. It takes about 3 hrs to fully charge. When I drive to work I use virtually no gas because the batteries will get me about 30 miles. Then when I drive home, I use gas. My gas only milage is about 49-55 mpg.
Sometimes I run errands on the way home and use a bit more gas. I am averaging 70+ miles per gallon. If I get a plug at work, That would go to more than 100+ miles per gallon. I love the car, my main reason I purchased it was for gas milage. I was spending about $350 a month on gas with my truck. My payment is about $350/month. This is virtually a free car!

Pros
Gas milage, Car Play, styling, comfort, electronic info on screen, backup camera, plenty of luggage storage, price, TAX REBATE!!!!

Cons
I can't carry a 4'x8' piece of plywood or tow a trailer, that is why I kept my truck. But I rarely drive it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lewis P.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
Amazing Mileage and Performance
I bought my Ioniq after my Sonata plug-in hybrid was totaled. The car is conformable, gets 50+ MPG on gas only and better when it's plugged in to charge. When I need more power getting on the freeway or passing, putting it in Sport Mode makes a big increase in power.

Pros
Fantastic gas mileage and good power, not wimpy like some hybrids.
Doesn't look like a hybrid or a Prius!
The rebates and tax credits make it cost effective. I received almost $10k back.

Cons
It's a limited view out the rear window. The split glass helps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Scott H.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2018
Best hybrid around!
I absolutely love this car! Now realize that everything
I write is with consideration that the vehicle im reviewing is a hybrid vehicle within the 20-35 thousand dollar range. The feel of this car is of a quality that should cost at least 10000 dollars more! The leather steering wheel has an awesome feel to it and the instant torque from the electric part of the car is fun. I can be all about mileage when I want to and I can be a fast car passer in sport mode. I got the limited with the base sound system, however the sound quality is still very good! It's no klipsch home speaker setup, but it's enough to keep you awake and happy on the freeway. My only regret about getting this car is that my dealership didn't have the premium package! All in all would buy this car again and again. An amazing car with no problems.

Pros
Attention to detail
Great bargain
Better looking than the rest
It's a hybdrid

Cons
Transition from electric to gas feeling can get annoying.
It's a hybrid

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kristopher C.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Kick ass little car
My ionic has been a great addition to my family. I commute about a 160 miles a day and all the features makes my commute amazingly better. The adaptive cruise control is a game changer. Nice job Hyundai for building a great little car.

Pros
Adaptive cruise,

Cons
Seat dosen't hold me very well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kenneth L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2018
Love the plug in hybrid ioniq
I’m getting better MPG than sticker states. Car is fun to drive. So glad I waited for this car it is well worth the wait. Bought it for our good MPG vehicle. Would have been happy to get what the sticker said. I’m really happy that it’s getting over the amount by more than 20%. I recommend this car to everyone that is looking for a new economy car with lots of options.

Pros
Great MPG
Fun to drive

Cons
Didn’t buy it for luxury so no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Christopher L.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2018
Great car
I live this car it’s so smooth, it drives great amazing gas mileage and all the features are great! I’m in my car everyday all day and I’m so comfortable in it! It’s just a great car super happy with the Hyundai brand I own 2 Hyundai’s

Pros
Great gas mileage, nice display and build is amazing

Cons
Better outlet locations, more apps for everyday use.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
raudy j.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2018
half electric half hybrid
excellent vehicle to not brake your piggy bank, it does everything above and beyond. this car was designed 12 years ago and they perfected to their best abilities, im driving this car every day for bussines purposes and i don’t feel any negative grudges of my ioniq plug in. go ahead and test drive it!

Pros
build quality

Cons
nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2018 Hyundai IONIQ PLUG-IN HYBRID
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2018
Excellent car - definitely worth considering if one considers a plug-in
I've had Ioniq PHEV for about four months with a little over 5,000 miles right now.
It's fun to drive. The car behaves very well on the road. I keep the LaneAssist and other safety features always on, and it's nice when it warns you about drifting or a car approaching in the dead zone.
The efficiency is better than the official claim (27 miles for the fully charged battery). I've made more than 30 in certain conditions (city start/stop driving, no heat and no a/c).
In hybrid mode (with fully discharged battery), I once got around 67 mpg. Sweet!
The car is roomy - bigger than Prius Prime, which I was also considering at the time.
Sometimes, when I am driving, I feel like I am playing a video game - getting points for good driving! :-)
A few things that can be improved:
Seats could be more comfortable. They are OK, but there is room for improvement.
The steering wheel blocks partially the dashboard. I know it can be moved, but I have not figured out yet the best position.
Climate control: I have not seen the perfect car in this sense.
Auto-adjusting seats: I can press the button and move the seats according to the memory setting, but the mirror stays unmoved. Silly.

Summary: I would definitely recommend looking at this car if one is on the market for a new car.

Pros
Features, efficiency, fun to drive

Cons
No big cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 13 reviews