2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(54 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JO
Jose O.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2020
The Best Car Overall
This car will save you lots of money in the long run.
I use only the electric motor all the time. The last time I filled the tank was 6 months ago, and I still have 3/4 gasoline in the tank. I don’t pay to charge the battery because where I live is free.

Pros
Everything...

Cons
Driver’s seat is very uncomfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JI
JOHN I.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2020
Great purchase
Very economical and 30 miles electric is all you need in the city. Purchasing from the dealership was very easy and they were help in answering all the questions I had. Even when the electric battery runs out the mpg is high, consistently over 50.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JULIE L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2020
Great mileage, comfy and practical car
I usually drive under 20 miles a day, so I almost never use gas with this hybrid - the first 26-28 miles are all electric. I can charge it overnight using a regular plug. I recently did at 300+ mile road trip and still had 1/3 tank of gas when I arrived. The car is small enough to park easily and spacious enough to hold four people and a bunch of groceries easily. The "S" gear provides great pick up for getting on the freeway and climbing hills. Heated seats are lovely in winter, and remote start allows the A/C to run a few minutes before getting in the car in summer. These features plus smart phone connectivity make the car extremely comfortable.

Pros
Fuel economy, comfort, practicality

Cons
Could be more stylish

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2020
Love the Plug-In Hybrid
With home charging overnight I can often drive for weeks in all electric mode and not have to use the gas engine. I have gotten 1100 miles on a tank of gas, over 110 MPG. Overall, I drive around 55 percent of the time in electric mode, and don't have to worry about range anxiety when I go on a long trip.

Pros
Plug-in is great, easy to use.
Warranty, especially hybrid components and battery is a huge plus.
Most of the benefits of all-electric, but no range anxiety or inconvenience with charging on trips.

Cons
Android Auto stopped working. Could be a problem with my phone or software updates.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CONDON W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2020
Love both my Ionic PHEV and EV
My PHEV is a year old and is only on its 3rd tank of gas. The EV mode takes me where I go daily. The hybrid mode is there if I go further. I purchased the Ultimate model (fully loaded) and really enjoy the all the extras and luxury.

Pros
Everything, especially the MPG and luxury.

Cons
Nothing really, but if I were to change anything, perhaps the rear window could be altered yo enhance the rear view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Maciej J.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2020
Prime slayer
Ionic is the way to go. Go full EV if you can find one but PHEV is great too. You going to love filling up after more than 1000 miles on the tank. Also the battery is perfect size for entry level EV. Charges in 7 hours on 110v. Just right for overnight and while at work. No need for fancy chargers.

Pros
Great value, great mileage, non-offensive appearance as far as hybrids/EV's go

Cons
Lack of safety features in base trim, confusing door locking/unlocking logic, annoying notifications from onboard controller

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LAWRENCE R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2020
1st Plug in and I will never go back
I purchased last years model and had no intentions for a Plug In. My wife didn't like the colors available and we could only compromise on Black. This was only available locally in the Plug in. I looked at the Gov Rebate and it made it cheaper than the non plug in options. I LOVE IT and would prefer to only have Electric or Plug in vehicles from now on. I have a long commute and went from filling up my Civic 2 times a week to filling this up 1 time every other week. Both have a 10 gallon tank. I am able to charge at home and at work. Maybe I would not be as excited if I couldn't charge at work but I am very happy with the vehicle.

Pros
It is a high efficient vehicle. I went from filling up 2 times a week to only 1 time in 2 weeks

Cons
I wish the electric range was greater because of my long commute.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/03/2020
Wish EV battery was better
Car is average in terms of style and performance. My only concern is I wish the EV battery allowed for 60 or 100 mile range instead Of the average 26 or 28 I usually get. Other than that the car is decent in every aspect.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
James N.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
Love this car!!!!
This is an amazing vehicle. It is fun to drive. Brakes are amazing. It is sporty inside and out. I get great gas mileage which is what we were looking for when we purchased. I only have to fill up every week and a half. I love this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
TIMOTHY F.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/18/2020
Great commuter
Overall it's a great little car for commuting. I couldn't live in it every day, but I very much enjoy the ability to get 50+mpg. The electric only is a let down, ive never been able to get the full 29 miles; I did cost comparison to charging vs gas and it is cheaper to just drive it, kind of disappointing in the progress of EV if that's your thing. The radio volume will switch between standard radio and XM, each set has it's own "line" it seems; really a dumb thing Hyundai. The cruise always sets 1mph below what you want it to; probably my OCD that drives me nuts about that. It also does a poor job at maintaining it's speed through small hills and valleys. Last, the car is an absolute slug to drive in normal mode, like bad. If you need to do any type of speed maneuver, you have to slip it over to sport mode. Overall though, I highly recommend the car if you get a deal on it like I did.

Pros
Great MPG, comfortable, does what it's supposed to do.

Cons
Slow in mpg mode...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LAURIE G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/17/2020
Overall happy with car
Overall we really like the car, it is comfortable, drives well, quiet and gets good fuel economy especially if you are on town roads. Fuel economy drops on the highway and there is a large blind spot due to the styling of the windshield. I wish the hatchback trunk was not so slanted, it would improve the storage space in the back. I like the two windows but not having a rear windshield wiper is a disadvantage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CHRISTINA L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
I love this car
I've had my Ioniq for exactly one year now. It is a great little car with no problems so far. The range on the electric engine exceeds expectations (I get about 33 miles per charge), and the gas mileage is great too, about 55 mpg. I haven't bought gas in months! It is zippy, fun to drive and the quality seems to be excellent. The charging is a breeze, I do it with my standard plug in in the garage. My electric bill (in the Northwest) only went up about .50/day, or $15 a month. Still a huge savings over gas

Pros
Mileage, performance, looks good, feels good. Very economical considering I hardly ever have to buy gas anymore

Cons
There's a tiny delay going from zero to fast, takes some getting used to. The heater in the winter uses a lot of power, I was surprised.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROSE M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
Amazing
I love the car, wish I had a little more room upfront for stuff. Middle console a little bigger. Good ride, love the gas mileage I'm getting. I would love a car like this as a convertible. I always drove a van or a Suv, I would drive something larger if I could get better mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RONALD A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2020
Great purchase
Its a great looking car inside and out.Fuel economy is outstanding. Very happy with my Hyundai Ionic.Would lease one again.My wife drives a leased Hyundai Elantra and it has sum what more pep in the acceleration and is a very nice car as well.

Pros
Fuel economy

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gregory W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/06/2020
This is a nice car.
On the pricey side, but very low gas cost. Very AVERAGE looking car, and I have to come up with more words, so I guess I will add that the thing that pulled me into dealership was the lease price on this car.

Pros
Hot ass?

Cons
No heated steering wheel, but nice warm ASS. I CONTROL the car with my HANDS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 05/06/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

FB
FALK B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2020
Great Commuter
The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Plug-In is a great vehicle. Very fuel-efficient car. I have it for one year and had no issues at all. Nice acceleration in sports mode. Very tall people might have issues entering it. Drives nice on snowy roads with winter tires.

Pros
Great Commuter, very fuel-efficient

Cons
I am not aware of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Andrew S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/13/2020
Enjoying a Great Hybrid
Hyundai stepped it up when they made this car. Smooth ride and excellent MPG. This is a great versatile car. Plug it in for around the block driving, or fill it up for a nice all day scenic drive. Easy to drive and has great advanced technology to keep you up to date with your electronics. Having a blast so far. Very minimal maintenance, but have already had a couple check-engine lights under 5000 miles. Growing pains like anything Im sure. Feels great after the service!

Pros
MPG, versatility with plug-in options, smooth ride, state of the art technology, engine performance exceeded expectations, fun to drive, piece of mind with the warranty. Hatchback space is more than expected, fold down back seats, sleek design.

Cons
Engine is a little loud when it first starts up, sensitive steering on highway, seat not very adjustable, requires subscription to utilize all the features, had to get serviced during break-in period.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CHRISTIAN K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
Ioniq Hybrid Plug-In
I really really wish the manual had more technical information in it. I hate the lack of regen til you actually hit the brake and|or the lack of regen settings. Wish it had GPS. Otherwise, it's great!

Pros
Nearly everything with the exceptions noted under cons.

Cons
Lack of regen settings!
Very little regen until one actually hits the brake
The owner's manual kind of "talks down to me".
Except for the 80 mile range, the Nissan LEAF is actually a better car. (We got one (2013 model) with 8300 miles off EBay, used, in 2015, so it's not really a fair comparison.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CHRISTOPHER W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
2019 ioniq
I enjoyed all of the features avaui lable in this vehicle. The ride is smooth and quiet. We have driven this vehicle for almost 2 months and we still have not stopped for gas. I would recommend this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cheryl C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Awesome car
My experience at Hyundai was excellent! My car salesman Bryon was not pushy, he explained everything about the car and a lease, since I’ve never leased before. The car is easy to drive and has an elegant feel. My little haven from a stressful day, I can relax on my drive home and listen to great music sound. It’s awesome for the environment as it is a plug in, and I can commute just on electricity! Thankyou Hyundia!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 54 in total