2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(47 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KW
KENNY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
First timer purchasing a EV
The Kona EV is fun to drive and have neat features, right now I would only rank it as a good car but it could be a great car if they can fix the little stuff from here and there and lower the price tag!

Pros
Acceleration, style, design, smooth handling and ride,

Cons
Tires are low quality; the placement of the charging part and design of the charging port cover; the placement of the driver park reverse and neutral buttons; the nitro fill inflation for the tires which means I can’t inflate myself when needed to adjust the tire pressure; the center console design and functionality; The back seat needs more leg room; the design of the front seat could be better so i won’t bump the back of head to the head rest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEFFREY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/06/2019
If you like the smell of fertilizer this car is for you
Bought this car based in great reviews. My car emits a noxious chemical odor like fertilizer through the vents. Tried working with dealer and told it is the heated seats!!! Makes no sense. Also tried asking Hyundai for help received no assistance. Will not buy Hyundai again as I am on my own with a car that makes me sick.

Pros
Nice looking vehicle, great acceleration

Cons
Cannot drive due to noxious interior odor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CAITLIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
LOVE!
I am a toxicologist, so I know all of the junk we put into the atmosphere on a daily basis. I LOVE that my new car doesn't emit ANYTHING into the air - and shows me how much CO2 I'm saving from going into the air. The car drives like a dream and has an excellent initial acceleration. It took a bit to get used to the regeneration driving, but after I did, I hate driving without it. There's also a mode that you can drive in (auto hold) where once you brake, you can let your foot off the brake and your car will stay there (if at a light).

Cons
The legroom in the backseat isn't that great, but it's completely fine in the front!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my new EV Kona and will never buy a gas car again. The AV system is easy to use and the Car Play is very functional. The car is very quick and fun to drive. The hatchback design is very functional.

Pros
Great batter range. Quality functionality

Cons
Base model seat adjustments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TIMOTHY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is a great car!! It is my first electric vehicle (EV) and I sincerely wish I had bought one much earlier. The decision to buy Hyundai is a surprise. Before starting to look I expected to buy a BMW, but the Kona blew me away.

Pros
Miles range and economy

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KWANG C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2019
Owner
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearingPlease replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing

Cons
Defect wheel hub bearing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
LEONARD N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Fun to drive
Totally love the overall design of the vehicle. everything is Conveniently located. The performance of the EV in eco mode is far better than I had thought it could be. The car is very responsive and I love the safety features. My favorite thing above all else with the car is the ability to remotely cool my car before I have to get in it to drive.

Pros
great styling, controls are easy to use. love that there are so many pre sets for the sound system.

Cons
no navigation system and no power seat for the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TONI M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2019
Best Car ever
I love my new electric car, the Hyundai Kona has all the features I wanted as well as looks great. Its comfortable and calming to drive. Everyone that gets in the car is amazed at how quiet the car is. I always get asked is it running?

Pros
Its electric and I do not need gas or oil changes.

Cons
I may need to stop for charging on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JAMES A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
A great electric vehicle
The vehicle has a ton of good features and has very good distance for the cost. The Kona EV is very quiet while driving, it handles very nicely, the level 2 charging is relatively quick, it supports DC fast charging, there's decent space in the back for groceries, the headlights are pretty bright which is good for driving at night, the automatic features on the premium model are effective and make the driving experience better. The only 2 complaints that I really have about it are the wireless charging bay does not have cooling in it and the back seats have less leg room than I would like. Frankly the leg room back there is a little tight. It's very comfortable for the driver and the passenger in the front though.

Pros
A lot of nice features
Very good distance for the cost for an electric vehicle
Good night driving experience
Better than expected performance given the cost

Cons
Little leg room in the back
Does require a lot of time to charge if using level one charger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SCOTT M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Another First time EV for the Masses
EV’s have typically been either too expensive for the average Joe/Jane, not enough range to be considered a viable option as a family hauler, or of quirky aesthetics (or all three!). The Hyundai Kona electric and entries from Kia, Nissan, and Chevrolet are here to change your mind. You’d be forgiven for not noticing that the Kona you are looking at is just another gasoline powered,smallish, CUV like any of its siblings. It is stylish, sleek, and features just about any quality of life improving amenity that you could think of, provided that it is included in the one of three available feature packages that you are looking at; Hyundai is mercifully spartan on nickel and diming for every extra option outside the three trim levels. It is not until you heard the vehicle silently pull away with only a slight synthesizer generates whir that you would figure out that you were looking at a full EV car. One, that I might add, will push you back into your seat as it starts to chew into its 300 mile range. If the wheels don’t spin first, which they all too easily will, so keep a light foot. Three driving modes -Eco, Normal, and Sport - let you dial up the power as you see fit. Given it’s not a race car and not-too-sticky stock tires won’t let you mistake it for a race car, anything above Eco mode it just playing. An Eco+ mode will let you eek every last mile out of the car, albeit at the cost of no AC or heat and a maximum speed of 60 mph. Charging can be done out of any home outlet for about 48hrs of time. Install or visit a Level 2, 240v charger and that comes down to about 9 hrs. DC fast charger? About 1 hr to 80%. Electric rates vary, but call it about $5 for 300 miles. The ride at highway speed can be noisy, but probably because everything else is so quiet. The interior can feel a bit plasticy, but that’s a matter of taste. I preferred the piano blacks of my Volkswagen Golf, but I’ll adjust. The interior cabin is spacious and visibility is above average, i’d Say. The non-premium sound system is passable, but audiophiles would likely opt for the upgraded model in the top trim level or install an aftermarket system, if possible.
If you’ve never owned or considered a full EV before, do yourself a favor and include the Kona on your next dealer visit. It just may change your mind and you may go home that night to see where you’ll have your Level 2 charger installed.

Pros
It’s a full EV
Torque and power to spare
Recharge at home (or for free if Courtney chargers are near by)
No more oil, belt, hoses to change

Cons
A bit noisy at highway speed
A lot of range, but requires planning if taking road trips
Standard sound system include CarPlay/Android Auto, but is just OK in my book
Tires could be stickier or car could have ‘smarts’ to limit tire spin

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BENJAMIN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Love my Kona
I've been looking for a new car for a while...my criteria we're good mileage, good styling, reliability, and acceleration. I considered an electric vehicle after talking to a friend and the Kona satisfied all of these categories for a reasonable price.
As an Arizona resident, I had to fly to California to do a test drive and then come back once I found the vehicle I wanted for the right price

Pros
Range, styling, driving comfort, recharge time, acceleration!

Cons
Rear seats are a little tight on leg room
Only sold in certain states

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MARJORIE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Great range and very little lifestyle change
This is my first electric vehicle. I’m absolutely happy with it. The range is excellent and I have not changed my lifestyle to get to a charger (no home charger currently). There are so many great bells and whistles. My favorite features are the sound system (think subwoofer, tweeters, center channel, and mains) and the flat load-in in the cargo area. So fun to drive, too.

Pros
So many to talk about, from all the features offered (I’m in an Ultimate trim) to ease of use of all of these features. The range is excellent - my indicator after a charge to 93% showed 274 miles, in excess of the marketing materials showing 258 miles. The styling is pretty good, but there are better looking back ends on some sub-compact crossovers out there. Sound system is excellent. I’m so happy with this purchase!

Cons
Only con really is that, after researching the maintenance on electric vehicles, I’m finding it would be helpful to know how hot your battery is and get guidance (in the manual or something) on how hot is too hot. And, to what level you should let the battery cool before charging. I don’t think this “CON” is exclusive to the Kona EV, though.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JUDITH F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
300 mile dynamo
The Hyundai Kona EV was a brilliant purchase because of the comfort of the ride, ease of operation, and the driving distance on a charge. It is the perfect size for freeway driving. I can adjust the seats for precise comfort. Visibility is excellent.

Pros
see above

Cons
needs internal GPS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GERALD S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Kona ev
I’m really happy with it.only issues.
More road noise tan i expected at high speeds.
And some handling issues at high speeds in sport mode
Otherwise vey happy with it.
Has more miles per full charge than advertised
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EO
EDWARD O.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Great performance
Vehicle accelerates and handles well. Range estimates seem to be based entirely on driving in Eco mode at 60 mph. I did not realize how much charging time is impacted by ambient air temperature. Charging my vehicle on a 90+ degree day allows me to add ~30 miles of range per charging hour. Also, if you don’t turn off the car during long waits, it will consume quite of bit of battery range. Very impressed with the ease of charging hookup to vehicle. Charging via a 110v plug is estimated in the owners manual takes 59 hours. That’s a huge problem.

Pros
Comfortable, fantastic acceleration in sport mode

Cons
Charge rate on hot days

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MILLICENT E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/04/2019
Kona Electric
Mostly great
00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
Joomo Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/03/2019
Kona EV
Great battery range. Fun to drive with nice styling. Good handling. Ride comfort is adequate and as expected for a compact SUV. Love the android auto function. So far no significant rattling but it's only been 2 1/2 months. The lift gate issue needs to be fixed. Wish it had seat memory function and one touch operation on all windows. The interior needs to look more premium - for a similar price point it doesn't match the Tesla model 3 which I seriously considered getting if it wasn't for the higher federal tax credit on the Hyundai. Overall I like the car minus the things I mentioned above.

Pros
Battery range. Fun to drive. Styling. Android auto. Auto hold feature. Charging port in the front of the vehicle.

Cons
Lift gate has to be slammed shut. No seat/mirror memory function. No power lift gate. No one touch function on rear windows. Too much hard plastic. Inside noise too loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2019
Kona EV
All and all this is a great looking little car, it's fun to drive and has an above average sound system. I really feel the interior design is kind of cheesy and I think a larger selection of wheels and tires should be made available. The moon roof in my vehicle makes far too much noise when opened.The Black Paint is very attractive. and it need more luxury features such as folding exterior mirrors and a passenger side electric seat, also an A/C vent is badly needed for the back seat passengers, and some kind of electric rear hatch opener

Pros
Great EV

Cons
wheel base too short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MATTHEW V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
I love my Kona EV!!
This car is a completely new driving experience. So quiet, so fast and responsive it is such fun to drive! Handles the corners and climbs mountains beautifully. You should test drive one to feel the difference. Having instant torque at any speed is awesome. Excellent design throughout! Costs me about $4 to charge 200 miles at home (That would be 8 gallons of gas at $2.80/gal =$22.40). Please Hyundai sell this in all of your dealerships!! More people will buy them!! I had to drive from GA to NJ to get mine.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JEFFREY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Love My Kona Electric
I've racked up over 6000 miles in 2.5 months and love every minute I'm in my Kona Electric (Ultimate model). The automatic and safety features are outstanding. The user interface (touch-screen) is fast and well laid out. The acceleration is amazing. I'm not really a sports-car type, but its nice to have the raw speed when you want or need it. My biggest concern about any electric car was worrying over the range so when the Kona Electric came out with 258 miles of range I figured out this could work for me. Well it turns out I really only use about 125 miles per day to and from work including gym and some errands, so it turns out the Kona Electric has more than enough range for my needs. I charge it every night in my garage just like I charge my phone every night at my bedside. I ordered a class-2 charger on Amazon and had it installed in my garage. Mostly I use the Kona Electric for commuting, but I recently took a 300 mile trip and planned it so that I made a stop about half-way that had a fast-charger. By plugging in as soon as I arrived at the stop and using the time for lunch and a phone break, it took 45 minutes to charge it to 80% and I was then ready to get back on the road. There were also several public chargers (slower class-2) available at my destination so I was able to prepare for the return trip. There is an App for your phone that lets you check the status of the car anytime, like if its done charging so you can move it out of the charging space (if at a public place). The Kona Electric is the coolest piece of technology I have now. The Automatic Cruise Control, Lane Keeping and Automatic Braking make commuting a breeze. I had these same features on a 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback but they did not work nearly as well. I love my Kona Electric. Oh and my dog can climb in and get onto the backseat easily, as long as I move the front seat forward, and he is comfortable spread out or sitting up on the deep, flat back seats.

Pros
Automatic everything, great interface, great range. Handles nicely.

Cons
No spare tire (which is a common problem in most cars now). Legroom in back seats is very limited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 47 in total