2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(32 Reviews)
Latest review about 12 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MV
MATTHEW V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
I love my Kona EV!!
This car is a completely new driving experience. So quiet, so fast and responsive it is such fun to drive! Handles the corners and climbs mountains beautifully. You should test drive one to feel the difference. Having instant torque at any speed is awesome. Excellent design throughout! Costs me about $4 to charge 200 miles at home (That would be 8 gallons of gas at $2.80/gal =$22.40). Please Hyundai sell this in all of your dealerships!! More people will buy them!! I had to drive from GA to NJ to get mine.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JEFFREY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Love My Kona Electric
I've racked up over 6000 miles in 2.5 months and love every minute I'm in my Kona Electric (Ultimate model). The automatic and safety features are outstanding. The user interface (touch-screen) is fast and well laid out. The acceleration is amazing. I'm not really a sports-car type, but its nice to have the raw speed when you want or need it. My biggest concern about any electric car was worrying over the range so when the Kona Electric came out with 258 miles of range I figured out this could work for me. Well it turns out I really only use about 125 miles per day to and from work including gym and some errands, so it turns out the Kona Electric has more than enough range for my needs. I charge it every night in my garage just like I charge my phone every night at my bedside. I ordered a class-2 charger on Amazon and had it installed in my garage. Mostly I use the Kona Electric for commuting, but I recently took a 300 mile trip and planned it so that I made a stop about half-way that had a fast-charger. By plugging in as soon as I arrived at the stop and using the time for lunch and a phone break, it took 45 minutes to charge it to 80% and I was then ready to get back on the road. There were also several public chargers (slower class-2) available at my destination so I was able to prepare for the return trip. There is an App for your phone that lets you check the status of the car anytime, like if its done charging so you can move it out of the charging space (if at a public place). The Kona Electric is the coolest piece of technology I have now. The Automatic Cruise Control, Lane Keeping and Automatic Braking make commuting a breeze. I had these same features on a 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback but they did not work nearly as well. I love my Kona Electric. Oh and my dog can climb in and get onto the backseat easily, as long as I move the front seat forward, and he is comfortable spread out or sitting up on the deep, flat back seats.

Pros
Automatic everything, great interface, great range. Handles nicely.

Cons
No spare tire (which is a common problem in most cars now). Legroom in back seats is very limited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BROOKE D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Kona EV is excellent
The Kona EV is stylish and affordable. I feel good knowing I need no gas or oil changes and that I am supporting the environment. I get 300 miles to each charge and that is plenty with the type of driving I do. I highly recommend going EV and Hyundai does a great good in styling and comfort.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALEXANDER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
a
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
a

Cons
a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
NERINA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Best car I’ve owned
I’m confident I made the right choice to go electric with the Kona. I love everything about it. The ride is smooth, excellent acceleration, looks sporty, the regenerative braking is amazing. I love the car

Pros
No more gas, the link to my smart phone, the large display, regenerative braking

Cons
Liftgate doesn’t close tightly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
TOMAS N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
2019 Kona EV Ultimate
I love most everything about this car. It's good looking and fun to drive. Very disappointed in the cabin heater, it just doesn't work. I hope Hyundai addresses this issue as it mars an otherwise awesome electric car.

Pros
Gets more range per charge (280) than advertised. Plenty of acceleration and fun to drive. It's a sharp looking car.

Cons
The cabin heater takes 30 minutes before it blows warm air.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LORI J.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
I Love, Love, LOVE my new Hyundai Kona
This is my first electric car. The Kona has great styling and performance and a best-in-class driving range. I test-drove the Chevy Bolt and didn't like it nearly as well. I traded in a Lexus SUV, and while I miss the cargo space (it's small in the Kona), I don't miss anything else except that the trunk opened automatically at the press of a button.

Pros
Great handling and amazing pick-up. Electronics and interface with smart phone is fantastic. It's quiet and has great styling. It's range is more than 250 miles on a single charge.

Cons
The hatchback doesn't open by pressing a button on the key fob. It must be done manually. The passenger seat may only be adjusted manually, whereas the driver's seat can be adjusted electronically. So far I can't figure out how to display a trip monitor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
BEN-DAVID K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
The vehicle exceeds my expectations.
Massey (Maryland) dealership is the worst dealership I've ever dealt with. The forced me to finance through their bank and didn't let me lease the vehicle even though Hyundai Finance had a lease special at the time. They said they don't lease vehicles.

Pros
Range

Cons
Lack of documentation to explain features. Should have been given an interactive ".pdf" to explain features like "Utility Mode".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
NIKEO S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2019
2019 Kona EV limited
Excellent ,sleek and modern design. Fun to drive because of the positive high level of energy still burning inside my body at the end of 2 hours of HWy driving. One must test drive. It will make one believe in an EV cars generation likely to bypass combustible car engine in decade and half.

Pros
Too many to mention in such a little time. I am on call.

Cons
Next to none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019
Love my Kona EV
I wanted to replace my gas engine Sonata with a hybrid Sonata but in researching discovered the Kona EV. I researched several brands of Electric Vehciles and the Kona kept rising to the top of the recommendations & reviews. Due to limited availability in the USA currently I had to travel from NC to MD in order to test drive & purchase. But I was deteremined to get it so making the road trip was not a detractor. THe high mileage available with a full charge was very inviting and helped me decide to go with total electric vehicle. So far (just over a month) I love this car. Getting great mileage per KW (higher than expected -- getting around 4.5-5). Currently charge at home off 110v system but having a level 2 charger installed in near future. Have used public charging a couple times and that worked fine and both times it was a free charge. I highly recommend the Kona EV if you are considering an electric vehicle. Trunk area is a little smaller than some but still usable and with back seats down room is plentiful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/06/2019
A good car
I like the car. I would prefer not to have the sunroof. I would prefer more cargo space and less wind/road noise. The additional cost to get navigation is outrageous. Front and back adjustment of the headrests would be nice. Existing headre ssts are too far forward to be comfortable for my wife.

Pros
Runs on electrons

Cons
Noisy interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ERIC P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
Great Things Come in Small Packages
I used to think EV's were a gimmicky oddity, not ready for wide distribution. The Kona is ready for prime time. It has silky smooth acceleration. Or, if you like, it's crazy fast off the line with tons of torque that leaves the gas-eaters wondering what that little SUV was that just disappeared up the road. The range of 258 miles on a charge means it's a practical mode of transportation for real people. I like that you sit up a little higher than in a standard car, but you're not in a huge SUV, and the handling is very quick. It corners well because the weight of the battery gives it a low center of gravity so you don't get that "rollover" feeling SUVs can give you in sharp turns or on exit ramps. It takes some getting used to when you're on the road and all you're hearing is wind and road noise--no engine noise no matter how hard the car is working, so it's probably just as quiet as other cars in its class(?) It comes with all the safety features and the interior is generally well-appointed if a little plastic at points. I get a lot of questions about the car because of the distinctive grille, or the lack of engine noise as it pulls up, or just the fact that the Kona (gas or electric) is a pretty cool little package. All that said, the KONA is not a car for a big family. The back seat is cramped. The 60/40 fold down seat and just the normal lift gate area provides plenty of storage and carrying space and would be a great weekend getaway car. And with the range, this is finally an EV you can actually get away someplace and get back! Overall, Hyundai has hit it out of the park for a reasonable price. I love my Kona.

Pros
Acceleration. No gas required. No carbon footprint. Excellent range and charging time for an EV

Cons
Slight oversteer in sharp cornering (like u-turns). Cramped rear seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOHN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Electric car crush!
I love my Kona electric car! It zooms around so fast. Maneuvering in and out of traffic is a breeze. I love how high up I sit. It makes it so easy to park anywhere. It uses less space in the garage than my Sonata

Pros
So fast!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2019
Great first step
Hyundai did a great job with this. Hope they add all-wheel drive in the future and increase range will be great. The current range is perfect for a city dweller that likes to get out of town. Handling is inspiring on dry but lacks in wet. I believe this could be fixed with tires. A programmable driver seat would be fantastic for two drivers.

Pros
Great range. Fun to drive.

Cons
No programmable driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STEPHEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
All the benefits of a quality Electric vehicle, without the smug attitude!
Hyundai makes the most comfortable cars on the road. That's why I purchased it. Sure it's quick, has great range, strong handling and good looks, but a stress-free drive makes the Kona EV a keeper. While it suffers from some poor traction control, and has large blind spots, the convenience of a nightly charge with no oil changes, transmission or timing belts leaves to a quality peace of mind. Good luck getting one!

Pros
Every creature comfort one could need
quiet and smooth ride
good storage space
Industry-leading range

Cons
Traction control is an issue, especially paired with the Nexen tires
Large blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Kona EV
New car. Give me some time to experience it. No more trips to gas station is the main reason I bought this car.
No more tune up, spark plugs, oil change, transmission oil change, no more engine noise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HEATHER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Kona Electric Review
Love our electric car - it's been a pleasure to drive. A little small but we knew that before we bought it but service and quality and the dealership were all top notch. Highly recommend this car and Norm Reeves Hyundai.

Pros
Almost everything about this car is great!

Cons
Wish we had power seats on the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHEN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 Kona EV
The 2019 Kona EV lives up to the reviews that were available prior to the launch of this new EV. Based on those reviews and a lot of research on purchasing my first full EV (I have a PHEV Chevy Volt), I needed to test drive the car to determine if I would buy it. I registered for a waiting list and was contacted by the dealer when a Kona EV came into inventory and could be seen on the dealer lot and test drivent. Based on that brief drive and the reviews, I bought the car. So far the car has lived up to its high billing. Overall it is a 9.5 out of 10. The biggest disappointment is the seat back for the driver and front passenger is too narrow at the shoulders and uncomfortable. As a result my wife now drives what was going to be my perfect new EV. I can only drive it on short trips because of the seat. The other issue is that you can not lock the car while it is attached to a public charging station. This means if you have belongings in the car, you can not leave the vehicle unatteded while you get food or take a walk while charging. Overall I have to say the car is a great car and so far lives up to its billing. Sadly, the seat is a deal-breaker for me, and I am likely to buy myself a different brand electric car like a Tesla with my next purchase. My wife is very happy with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SCOTT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Great compact SUV with eliminates emissions on the road!
The Kona EV is a great entry vehicle into the EV market. It's the first EV we have purchased and we've been very happy with the performance. The acceleration/engine power is noticeably better than our other vehicles -- you really notice the pickup on the highway when you're yielding or coming up on an entry ramp. The car is incredibly quiet and it's a fun car to drive. Would highly recommend.

Pros
Lots of features for the price point

Cons
Like any EV, price!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NARASIMHA K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Great electric car but as expensive as a Tesla Model 3
Overall I am happy with the purchase. However, the price is as much as a Tesla Model 3 and I feel that the Tesla has a better brand value and price retention compared to a Hyundai. For the price paid, I would expect Hyundai to provide similar value that a Tesla provides.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 32 in total