2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(56 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JD
JEFFREY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/06/2019
If you like the smell of fertilizer this car is for you
Bought this car based in great reviews. My car emits a noxious chemical odor like fertilizer through the vents. Tried working with dealer and told it is the heated seats!!! Makes no sense. Also tried asking Hyundai for help received no assistance. Will not buy Hyundai again as I am on my own with a car that makes me sick.

Pros
Nice looking vehicle, great acceleration

Cons
Cannot drive due to noxious interior odor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kim T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
All Electric Kona Ultimate
Being able to pass the gas station for months now has been liberating. I feel better about the 160 miles a day I commute because I'm 100% electric. It's not an environmental issue for me, it's a money issue. Skipping the pump and qualifying for four years of HOV lane access is what made this decision easy. There were a few growing pains in the beginning, worrying about how and where I'd plug in but after working out all of the details, I'm very happy with this car. The Kona electric is fun to drive, gets up to speed quickly, and is easy to park.

Pros
electric, quick, compact, look good, nice electronics options

Cons
seats aren't super comfortable,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Kona EV
New car. Give me some time to experience it. No more trips to gas station is the main reason I bought this car.
No more tune up, spark plugs, oil change, transmission oil change, no more engine noise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2019
Great first step
Hyundai did a great job with this. Hope they add all-wheel drive in the future and increase range will be great. The current range is perfect for a city dweller that likes to get out of town. Handling is inspiring on dry but lacks in wet. I believe this could be fixed with tires. A programmable driver seat would be fantastic for two drivers.

Pros
Great range. Fun to drive.

Cons
No programmable driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/06/2019
A good car
I like the car. I would prefer not to have the sunroof. I would prefer more cargo space and less wind/road noise. The additional cost to get navigation is outrageous. Front and back adjustment of the headrests would be nice. Existing headre ssts are too far forward to be comfortable for my wife.

Pros
Runs on electrons

Cons
Noisy interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
TOMAS N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2019
2019 Kona EV Ultimate
I love most everything about this car. It's good looking and fun to drive. Very disappointed in the cabin heater, it just doesn't work. I hope Hyundai addresses this issue as it mars an otherwise awesome electric car.

Pros
Gets more range per charge (280) than advertised. Plenty of acceleration and fun to drive. It's a sharp looking car.

Cons
The cabin heater takes 30 minutes before it blows warm air.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/31/2019
Kona EV
All and all this is a great looking little car, it's fun to drive and has an above average sound system. I really feel the interior design is kind of cheesy and I think a larger selection of wheels and tires should be made available. The moon roof in my vehicle makes far too much noise when opened.The Black Paint is very attractive. and it need more luxury features such as folding exterior mirrors and a passenger side electric seat, also an A/C vent is badly needed for the back seat passengers, and some kind of electric rear hatch opener

Pros
Great EV

Cons
wheel base too short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
Joomo Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/03/2019
Kona EV
Great battery range. Fun to drive with nice styling. Good handling. Ride comfort is adequate and as expected for a compact SUV. Love the android auto function. So far no significant rattling but it's only been 2 1/2 months. The lift gate issue needs to be fixed. Wish it had seat memory function and one touch operation on all windows. The interior needs to look more premium - for a similar price point it doesn't match the Tesla model 3 which I seriously considered getting if it wasn't for the higher federal tax credit on the Hyundai. Overall I like the car minus the things I mentioned above.

Pros
Battery range. Fun to drive. Styling. Android auto. Auto hold feature. Charging port in the front of the vehicle.

Cons
Lift gate has to be slammed shut. No seat/mirror memory function. No power lift gate. No one touch function on rear windows. Too much hard plastic. Inside noise too loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MILLICENT E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/04/2019
Kona Electric
Mostly great
00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KWANG C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2019
Owner
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearingPlease replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing

Cons
Defect wheel hub bearing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KENNY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
First timer purchasing a EV
The Kona EV is fun to drive and have neat features, right now I would only rank it as a good car but it could be a great car if they can fix the little stuff from here and there and lower the price tag!

Pros
Acceleration, style, design, smooth handling and ride,

Cons
Tires are low quality; the placement of the charging part and design of the charging port cover; the placement of the driver park reverse and neutral buttons; the nitro fill inflation for the tires which means I can’t inflate myself when needed to adjust the tire pressure; the center console design and functionality; The back seat needs more leg room; the design of the front seat could be better so i won’t bump the back of head to the head rest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LUIS L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/05/2019
Great performance and efficiency but...
Love my Kona EV, but if for some bad luck you happen to get in an accident. Expect to have the vehicle in the shop for ever! After 2 months of my accident it finally seems that the back ordered part will be finally here.
That is very disappointing, I wonder is that’s a common thing, since this is the first time I get in an accident in a brand new car. At this point my car has been longer in the shop that with me. I do love the little car thou, great style, lots of goodies and comfort and amazing performance!

Pros
Efficient and good performance, nice looking car that turns heads. Lots of safety features and entertainment features.

Cons
Repairs might take forever, a little too plasticky inside. Not a lot of cargo room, and leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JUN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Love the car!
Range + confirm exceeded my expectation and the car feels well built! I intend to own this car for a long time and it is worth the initial investment. Hyundai really did a fantastic job and I hope they output more high quality EVs!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Great electric crossover
Better range then other electric cars, small back seat, maintainance is minimal compared to ICE vehical, handels a little better then a typical small car in sports mode. Combo DC charging for long drives.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SREENATH R.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Hyundai Kona has exceeded the expectations
i have leased Hyundai Kona EV, over all i am very satisfied & exceeded the expectations i have, if the vehicle comes with self driving capability that will be a deal breaker for many customers like me and will not focus on buying Vehicles like Tesla.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DAVID M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Fun AND functional
This is the first EV I've owned and I'm thoroughly enjoying it. This car is really fun to drive. It has a ton of torque and responsive handling. I plug it into a standard household outlet and have plenty of charge for my workday. I sprung for the loaded version and I'm glad I did. The ventilated seats and LED headlights were worth the added expense. I love this car!

Pros
Amazing pickup, impressive battery and overall really good design.

Cons
The breaks are a little fussy on bumpy roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MATTHEW S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Excellent car, very solid, lots of great technology, great mileage on full charge
So far this is a great little car. Sporty, fast, well made, lots of great features, and very high quality fit and finish. This car is very fast and instant torque is impressive. Paddle braking is a great feature. Getting estimates of 330 miles per full charge, which is almost 80 miles more than the "official" numbers. Quite impressive.

Pros
Great mileage on a full charge, easy to use Vehicle information system / Android Auto, comfortable driving position, high quality build fit and finish

Cons
Cannot use Android Auto with wireless charger, which makes the wireless charger almost useless

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Fun to Drive and All Electric
Purchased the Kona EV because I wanted and EV and it fit my needs. I also considered the federal tax credit as an incentive for this vehicle over some others. But, most of alll i was impressed by the lifetime warranty on the big battery and my belief that Hyundai will be around as a company for the long haul. I very much like the short turning radius of the car. The negatives are the drive selection buttons in the center and I wish the car had a regenerative breking gear, rather that the levels of regeneration available through a menu. Have told our #2 son what a good car it is and offered to let him take it for a couple of weeks. Our #1 daughter-in-law lows to drive it.

Pros
fun to drive. great milage with the EV. great turning radius. Easy for me to enter and exit

Cons
In my version instead of a gear shift lever, there are four buttons that sit in the middle of the center console. Still trying to get used to that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUDITH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
Kona EV Does not dissapoint!
About two months, a couple thousand miles and like it more and more. Careful driving yields over 300 miles on a charge, while "fun" driving feels like those electric Go-Karts with real acceleration and tight handling. Couldn't be happier.

Pros
Tight, solid feel whether "noodling" along the country roads or down the highway

Cons
could use a bit more storage, have to put a seat down to load the golf clubs :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHIVASHANTH M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
I love driving this Car
I love driving this Car. The best part of this car is the Range. 260 + Miles per Charger is kick asst, I was surprised by the quality of the built and Drive. I like the info system, The safety features are pretty good. Lane assist and Collision warning are so good. Forward collision warning is so good (one of my favorite Safety feature). I feel a lot safer driving this car.

Pros
Electric- Awesome Performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 56 in total