2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(86 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KT
Kathleen T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
Love our 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric
We've had the Kona Electric for about 5 months and have put almost 6 thousand miles on the car, including a 1,600 mile road trip. We love the car, it's fun to drive, has all the room we need, has a great range and is a great looking car. So far so good!

Pros
Fun to drive and a great looking car.

Cons
Not much room in the back seat for adults with legs, unless the people in the front seats are very short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OT
OWEN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
One of the best cars on the road
Comfortable, compact, with a great range, plenty of power, and great efficiency (we're averaging around 4mi/kWh). Plenty of room, and packed with standard features.

The biggest downside of the Kona EV is probably that they are hard to find. We're lucky that we live in a ZEV state, and the dealership has been able to get them in easily. But I really think it's a car worth taking the time to look for.

Pros
Excellent range, fun to drive, very efficient, ton of space, compact

Cons
Not the smoothest ride, louder cabin than I could wish, the seats are a bit firm for more than 2hrs at a time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DARRELL K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
Best EV available!
Don't wait any longer. This should be your everyday car; it has power, range, versatility, AND it's emission free. No more gas, charge it at home. It's performance will (should!) take your breath away, and it has the range to take you where you need to go. Now is the time to move away from fossil fuel, and this is the car that will do it. Great car. Period.

Pros
Range sufficient for almost everyone. Has more power than necessary; handles extremely well since the battery gives it a low center of gravity.

Cons
It does lose range in colder weather, but the seat heaters work well and don't use a lot of energy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
GHULAM MUHAMMA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Reasonable Subcompact SUV
The Kona EV is a very reasonable subcompact SUV. Its a front wheel drive, being an EV it has instant torque and with a 258 miles range it is very adequate for a daily commuter. Handles very well at corners. Seating height is good. I bough it because Its an EV, however it lacks certain features that should have been standard in at least Limited trim if not the base SEL trim. I drive mostly on highways so a dynamic radar cruise control is very crucial and reduces the burden on driver. The Ultimate trim has dynamic radar cruise control with stop and go assist but in Limited trim its only a basic cruise control. Also, the vehicle came with only a 120V Charge connector/ Mobile charger that would take almost 60 to 70 hours to charge it from 0 to 100%. The charger should have been 120/240V rating to allow a faster charge rate. I had to shred another $500 to get a 240V charge connector/ Mobile charger. Please do not fall for YOUTUBE reviews these people do to make money out of viewership and skip critical information. Go test drive it and you may like it like I did.

Pros
Its an EV.
Take advantage of the Federal and State Tax credits.

Cons
Ancient cruise control technology in Limited trim. (same perhaps in SEL trim). If you need safety spend another 4Gs. (Unjustified)
No 240V charger for faster home charging.
Excessive wind noise (taking into account it is an EV). It still has more wind noise.
Very very annoying artificial engine sound maker.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
AJAY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/10/2020
kona review
Relatively satisfied with the purchase so far. Features like smart cruise control should have been offered in limited.
Lane assist is quite flaky, it gets often disengaged with slightly tighter curves.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
THOMAS W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/05/2020
2019 Kona EV
The Kona EV is an excellent practical EV with great range. We need more cars like this in the market, i.e. electric vehicles that have great range, and are practical. Not just high end sports sedans. Well engineered design and implementation. Keep up producing the EVs!

Pros
Great range
Practical EV

Cons
Need more information on charging pattern recommendations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SUSAN F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Love my Kona EV!!!
Transitioned form a plug-in Hybrid to the all electric Kona and so glad I did. No range anxiety - range has been spot on and there's plenty of it on a full charge. All the bells and whistles and all the safety features for a very reasonable price,

Pros
Range Range Range

Cons
Back seat legroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OM
Olivier M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2020
Amazing Range!
Bought my Kona Electric on 6/28/2019. Since then, I have driven about 22k miles. My average range is over 300 miles, usually around 330 miles. AC use will cut that range by about 10%. I don't use the heater as I'm in Florida. I tested out the range at different speeds on road trips.. At 70 mph (speed limit here in Florida), I get about 250 mile range.. At 65 mph, I'm getting about 275 mile range and at 60 mph, I'm getting over 300 miles of range. I drive about 100 miles per day.. Probably about half of that at 65 mph on the highway and the rest in 35 mph to 50 mph city driving. Without AC use, I average 4.8 to 5.7 miles/kwh which translates to 305 to 364 miles of range. Of course, those who drive over the speed limit at 80 mph, the range will drop significantly but with a light foot, I consistently get over 300 mile of range.
As I said before, AC use will take about 10% off that range. I love the ANDROID Auto integration in the car.. Works great.. I always use WAZE or Google maps for navigation. After 22k miles, I spent $40 for the cabin air filter for the 15k mile service. I'm doing the service myself as the only thing that needs to be replaced is the cabin air filter.. All the other items are checking fluids, brake pads etc. which can be easily done. I switched my Residential Electric plan to a Peak/Off-Peak plan and I charge my car at 4.7 cents per kwh, which means that it costs me around $5 for a full charge that can get me 300 miles. As I use lots of free chargers at places that I usually go, my electric bill only went up $10 per month for 3000 miles per month.. Driving the Kona Electric is virtually free.. Soon, we will get free EV chargers at work, so it will be almost completely free to operate. My 2019 Kona Electric still has the lifetime warranty on the most expensive part.. The EV battery. So far, there has been no measurable degradation. I'm still getting the same range like when the car was new.

Pros
Amazing range with a light foot
Great performance (acceleration)
good handling
very reliable

Cons
Relatively Small trunk space
Not a lot of head room for rear passengers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PETER T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
Great choice for anyone looking for an electric vehicle
I've had numerous electric vehicles -- 3 Chevy Volts, 3 Teslas, and 2 BMW i3. The Kona is a great EV. It's much better equipped and handles better on the highway than the BMW i3. The EV range is competitive with more expensive vehicles. Performance is not as quick as a Tesla, but it's still plenty of fun to drive. I'm very happy with the purchase of this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Don't go hybrid
With a range of over 240 miles, this vehicle will serve you well. Our compliments to Hyundai. It is time to go electric. It has the most comfortable seats we have ever had in a vehicle. Drive with confidence.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
ERIC Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Very nice EV
I was in the market for an EV, and there aren't that many to choose from. The Kona struck me in that the reviews were excellent, the test drive showed that the car was good to drive, and most importantly my wife liked it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
A different type of car
I wanted to buy an EV. I want to make a difference to the environment and wanted to make a statement in the process, while buying a car that's fun to drive. I believe I have done so..
I live in a state where the Kona EV is not available and had to go out-of-state to buy it. All the extra work and time involved was worth it. It's neat having a car that is unique to this area. And it's a great conversation piece. Hyundai has designed a great car.

Pros
Fun to drive
Economical
The wave of the future

Cons
None of any significance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MARY O.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Comfortable, efficient and stylish
After much research, we chose the Kona EV. The range is impressive and the feature set fulfilled all our expectations. The other cars we considered were fine, but the immediate reaction we had upon test driving the car sealed the deal. One month in, our admiration has only increased. Having had two previous electric vehicles, we're confident that the Kona will be a solid performer and a money-saver. Highly recommended.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MICHAEL Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Very Satisfied
We bought a 2019 Hyundai Kona EV a month ago and love the car. Quick off the mark, adequate room, and we like being 'up" in this small crossover SUV. Excellent car, and the $7,500 federal rebate and the California $2,500 rebate were huge.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RYAN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Great Electric SUV
This is a great little electric SUV with a lot of features. Both exterior and interior styling are bold and appealing. The performance and range are exceptional as well. It's a car that will turn heads and is fun to drive.

Pros
Impressive performance
Fun to drive
Great styling
Lots of features

Cons
Not AWD
Missing a couple features that would be nice to have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ELISSA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
love the little potato
My first electric vehicle. I have only had this Kona EV for 3 months. So far so good! Range is great and the car is comfortable and fun to drive. I am particularly impressed that it is handling the mountain roads I drive daily. Seems to stick to the road very well when compared to my old all wheel drive Subaru. I enjoy the Kona EV's acceleration capability more often than I should. I hope to be driving the little Kartoffel well into the future. Keep making those electric vehicles!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MARCIA Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/09/2019
Disappointment that the car I truly enjoyed turned into a lemon
I purchased the 2019 Kona EV with great enthusiasm. My initial experience was very positive. I enjoyed excellent performance and handling, with ample acceleration even in the ECO setting. Unfortunately, when fall weather got cool, I discovered that the heater did not work. Even worse, the service department was unable to diagnose and confirm the defect without leaving the car overnight to assistance from regional service engineers. Ultimately, it was determined that a defective part could NOT be replaced, as the part is not available. Hyundai has indicated they will be buying the car back from me. While I am glad that they have committed to refunding my purchase, the time I have lost dealing with this situation has been very disappointing. I hope they can address this new model/production quality issue and that future purchasers can enjoy the pluses of the Kona EV without the problems I have experienced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/10/2019
Allow us to reopen the case we had with you and review your concern once more. Please expect a call shortly from our specialist. Thank you. ^cc

HY
HOWARD Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Fun to Drive and No More Range Anxiety
I spent a lot of time researching options and waited patiently for more vehicles to be available. Once I was able to test drive the Kona EV, I was absolutely certain it was the right way to go. Compared to the Tesla Model 3, the Kona isn't as fancy or tech forward, but between the price difference and the available tax credit, it is hard to justify the $10K+ difference in price of the Tesla. My coworker has the Model 3, which is excellent by the way, and I've driven that car many times (he likes letting others drive it).

The stated range is 258 miles on 100% charge, which is only realistic if you don't use the climate system. That said, because the electric motor doesn't generate heat as a byproduct, I actually find lots of times where I have no need for A/C or heat. And the heated/ventilated seats are an amazing ally for not using the other climate systems. My daily commute is about 75 miles to/from work (about 25K miles/year), so I charge it every other night so I don't run into a situation where errands or other short trips put me at risk of running out of power. Previously, I was spending about $225/month on gasoline for my car; now I spend under $40/month in electric power for the car. (I don't have solar, yet!)

This car drives like a "Hot Hatch" with super nimble handling and rocket fast acceleration. (The acceleration is similar to other electric vehicles because of the torque.) In fact, the Kona is so much fun to drive that I've had to seriously temper my inner 18-year-old from doing stupid things on the road. After a couple of weeks, I set the regenerative braking to the max, which helps add to the battery range, but also allows for the 1-pedal driving along with the steering wheel paddles, where the only use of the brake pedal is in emergency situations. It takes a bit to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, you are able to smooth out the drive and conserve power.

The Kona doesn't scream out "ELECTRIC" when you see it, since it looks identical to the gas version. The downside of this is that there probably could have been more storage, perhaps even in the front (like the Tesla "frunk") where the traditional gas motor would go. Instead, there is a lot of wasted space in the front and the rear has smaller useful storage area. Also, even at the top trim level, you don't get a spare tire, rather a "fix-a-flat" kit. It seems like they choose this route to give you some extra storage space, but the fix kit could easily fit in the wasted space in the front engine area. Folding down the rear seats makes the storage capacity excellent, although it isn't long enough for really long IKEA boxes. The back seats are a little cramped for people 6'+ tall, but average sized adults are okay.

I am super happy with this car and by simply keeping track of the charge level, I haven't run into any situation where I felt limited by the range.

Pros
200+ mile range
Great handling & acceleration
Comfortable seats

Cons
Inefficient use of front engine compartment for space
Fix-a-Flat kit instead of spare tire
Eco-tires feel under spec'd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GIFFORD H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Zippy car
A nice driving car with plenty of power even in Eco mode. Live in rural mountainous area need the 250 range to make round trips to town and back. Have class II charger at home. Charging away from home is available. Driver's seat adjustable and comfortable.

Pros
Electric, driver's seat comfort, acceleration, range

Cons
Range, interior rm, passenger rm,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RONNIE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/06/2019
Needs improvement
Good entry level ev but still needs lots of improvement mileage low when using heater and low when using AC they also say will charge faster than what it really does. Also front collision detection camera keeps acting up in the snow
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 86 in total