2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(69 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RK
RONNIE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/06/2019
Needs improvement
Good entry level ev but still needs lots of improvement mileage low when using heater and low when using AC they also say will charge faster than what it really does. Also front collision detection camera keeps acting up in the snow
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
ROBERT W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2019
Very Satisfied
I was looking for an electric vehicle with reasonable range and lacked confidence in the financial stability of Tesla. While I considered the Chevy Bolt, it was, in my opinion, too ugly. I liked the character of the Kona and consider the appearance very acceptable. I also liked all of the features available in the Ultimate grade. So far, I absolutely love the car. While it is far from the luxury cars I have driven most of my life, it is perfect for this point in my life when I do minimal driving. Highly recommend.s
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KAREN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2019
A super fun ride
I've been very happy with my Ultimate Kona EV. I've had it about 2 months now. It's peppy, easy to drive, has great features, easy to charge. I have not even installed a 220v charger in my home because I haven't needed it. Plugging in a 110v over night has been sufficient given the great mileage on a single charge. I had to go from VA to NJ to purchase my car because I couldn't get the color car I wanted in MD. I was able to drive home on a single charge which was great. The car is comfortable, has most all the features I want and I love the heads-up display, especially when using navigation. The only features lacking that I wish it had are preset driver seat/mirror adjustments for switching seat and mirror positioning between when I drive the car and my husband drives it. And I wish there was an auto close hatch button for closing the hatch when my arms are full with unloading groceries or other items from the back. Extra cup holders in the back would be nice too. I love the car, it's features, the look and how it drives. The battery warranty for the life of the car is also a huge plus. The charger port locks while charging so people can't uplug or take charger Highly recommend for the price, comfort, long-distance charge of 258 miles, safety features, and ease of driving.

Pros
Most everything - easy to drive, distance of 258 miles on a single charge, locking charger port, ports to fit different chargers, comfort features, navigation system and hads-up navigation, blue link, pep, overall look and style.

Cons
No preset driver seat buttons
Hatch not auto-close
Rear seat door cup holders awkward when using middle seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
STEPHEN E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/22/2019
Kona Electric over Tesla (This time)
Fast, nimble, real cheap to drive, great features. Has everything I'd need and then some.
I was signed up to get a model Y and decided on the Kona Electric for three basic reasons.
1. Tesla tax credits dropped below the threshold of making it the cheaper car. I got a $12,500 in tax incentives opposed to zero (next year) for the Model Y.
2. The life time warranty for the battery. This is better than Tesla.
3. If I need to get it fixed, Hyundai has an established support system.
4. My old car was costing me too much money in service and gas.

Pros
A blast to drive with quick acceleration, on the rails cornering, very comfortable, lots of tech. ...LOVE the vented seats.

Cons
Traction control has difficulty on powered cornering. (Inside front tire losses traction and spins)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANNE F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2019
Love my Kona EV!
Great, zippy, spacious small crossover with awesome range. I replaced a Fiat 500e, and the Kona EV wins hands-down. The only issue I have had so far is the rear liftgate doesn't always completely latch, but overall a great EV.

Pros
Great range
Fun to drive
Good space for a small crossover

Cons
Rear liftgate can be tricky to latch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANDREA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
KONA EV 2019
Amazing car. Unlike most EV cars, the KONA EV is stylish and has an amazing battery range. I love how the car drives and all the driving options that are available.
I do not see enough of these cars on the road. Interested buyers in an EV should seriously consider test-driving the KONA EV. You will not be disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PETER S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/02/2019
Bert and Ernie
Bert and Ernie, thats what Road and Track said about the comparison between the Bolt and the Kona. It seems like the styling look was attempting for an SUV look but it tastes like an econocar to me. I would vote for lower overall body with a lower coefficient of drag, and 60 series tires instead of 55 series for pothole protection. I am guessing that the tech features are required to sell cars but they make me nervous. The batteries are warranteed for life but the car is a travelling computer and will it still work in 15 years?

Pros
EV with 250 mile range. Available with level 2 and 3 charge capability. Good reliability prediction

Cons
Boxy shape that is not too efficient at highway speeds. Too much electronic fun going on that I don't believe will work in 15 years. the tires seem too low for back roads in Vermont.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANTHONY F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Kona EV
This is a very well appointed small SUV with an excellent electric drive system. The fit and finish is top of the line, it is easy to get in and out of. and the form factor is well thought out with the length-width-height ratios in an appealing proportion.

Pros
Perfect sized Ev with 250 mile range.

Cons
Rear view visibility by rear seat head rests and corner pillars is limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRISTL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2019
Kona Electric
It appears to be a well made utility vehicle, but is neither charming to look at, nor to drive. It handles like a very heavy vehicle. The view through the rear window is poor, especially in the vertical direction. It was delivered with a privacy rear window, which was a safety hazard. Vehicles coming from behind could not be seen on a sunny day if the driver was wearing sunglasses, and at night, only if the approaching vehicle from the rear was using its high beams. The window was replaced by the purchaser at a cost to him of $621.

Pros
The electric drive is very nice.

Cons
The vehicle feels heavy to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MATHIAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
zippy little creature
The car is a zippy little creature that handles well with a range that is pretty much as publicized. Styling and functionality in all respects is adequate to exceptional. My only criticisms are with the size (it could use at least a little bit more space in the rear compartment) and with a handful of exceptionally minor things that are barely worth elaborating on.

Pros
Range
Handling
Brake/Energy recapture system

Cons
Size (more room needed in rear compartment)
Height (occasionally catch my head on the top when getting in and out)
Lightness (obviously this is critical for the range of an EV, but it does make it susceptible to wind gusts and such)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TINA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
Many reasons to buy this car
258 miles between charges
Lifetime warranty on the battery
Greatly reduced maintenance costs
$7500 federal rebate
$2500 state rebate
Terrific response and handling
No gas, no oil changes, no DEQ
Zero emissions

Pros
258 miles between charges
Lifetime warranty on the battery
Greatly reduced maintenance costs
$7500 federal rebate
$2500 state rebate
Terrific response and handling
No gas, no oil changes, no DEQ
Zero emissions

Cons
Heater and a/c reduce miles
Limited colors in ultimate model
Many dealers are increasing their prices above MSRP.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STEPHEN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2019
Almost perfect
The future is here. We have 5 autos. This is our first electric vehicle. We love it. However, we must upgrade our charging capacity and that costs money. We will need 2, 40 amp chargers.....expensive all around.
We love the car. Overall excellent except for dangerous front wheel torque spin on wet roads This car must be AWD to avoid that..wake up engineers! We love the car and will certainly upgrade after 3 year lease. But will Tesla get our business? What will Hyundai do to keep us loyal?

Pros
Torque

Cons
Slip when wet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEVIN C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Great Electric Vehicle
Hyundai Kona is an Excellent buy
Hyundai’s Electric Vehicle Battery has a Lifetime Warranty and the Kona gets 250+ miles per full charge !! Nobody can beat
this deal !! The Kona has lots of room ! Great legroom in the back two seats, which also fold down and create a huge cargo area to haul full size bicycles etc. !!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Shaunda H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Oustanding electric vehicle
The Kona EV is the best decision we've ever made. Hyundai is right that the Kona EV is serious business. It's a good looking, modern vehicle and the performance blows my mind. The performance capabilities, speed, torque and handling are superior. Love all the high tech features that are compatible with the iPhone. My only regret was why didn't I go electric sooner? The answer is I waited for the best. Thank you Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LUIS L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/05/2019
Great performance and efficiency but...
Love my Kona EV, but if for some bad luck you happen to get in an accident. Expect to have the vehicle in the shop for ever! After 2 months of my accident it finally seems that the back ordered part will be finally here.
That is very disappointing, I wonder is that’s a common thing, since this is the first time I get in an accident in a brand new car. At this point my car has been longer in the shop that with me. I do love the little car thou, great style, lots of goodies and comfort and amazing performance!

Pros
Efficient and good performance, nice looking car that turns heads. Lots of safety features and entertainment features.

Cons
Repairs might take forever, a little too plasticky inside. Not a lot of cargo room, and leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOHN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Love my Kone EV
So comfortable, fun to drive, zippy, lots of cool features and best of all I am not burning petroleum!
Everyone stares at my EV when I drive by because of its cool sound.
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
BRAIN A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Buy it if you can!!
Electric cars are the future. The folks at Kona have really worked through all the flaws in their competitor's cars and put out an amazing vehicle. I could not afford a Tesla Model S or X which are the gold standard in electric cars, but I think my Kona blows the Model 3 out of the water especially when it comes to build quality. I love this car and so do my friends and family. Both my sons think it is really cool to drive and they're right, It is a blast. Regenerative braking and Smart cruise control are my two favorite features. My only complaints are so nit-picky the only correct response to them would be an eye-roll. BTW, if you do get a Kona, check out EVDoubler on amazon. The guys at the dealership recommended it and it is worth every penny to cut your charging time in half without spending much money.

Pros
We call it "the spaceship" So fun to drive and so much higher build quality than the Tesla 3.

Cons
The front grill is a little polarizing. I didnt like it at first, but now it's kinda grown on me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JON S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love the Kona EV!
Love the Kona EV I'm leasing! Range is awesome, as is the instant power of the electric motor. Even the base model has a lot of awesome technology & features. Can't beat the warranties. So glad I got an EV, love my Hyundai!

Pros
Great warranty, lifetime battery warranty, instant power, a lot of safety & technology features even in the base model

Cons
Minimal rear leg room, not much cargo space, speakers are not great, especially the rear ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RAJENDRA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
Hyundai Kona EV
See my survey please. If you must, Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel economy are good points. Overall I have no issue and can recommend this car to my friends and family.
Exterior can be more stylish.
Android Auto for navigation is very poor.
Charging network is not easy as Level 3 charger is not easy to find.

Pros
Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel, economy

Cons
Exterior can be more stylish, Android Auto for navigation is very poor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
We Love This Car!
Went from a Honda CR-V to the Kona EV. The kids even love this car! We did lose some space going to this car but all of the features and what we are saving on gas are well worth it. My husband has an hour and thirty minute commute every day which was a huge reason for going electric, it’s been amazing for that.

Pros
No more gas or oil changes!

Cons
You lose some space with this car but it’s not that bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 69 in total