2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(38 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
STEPHEN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2019
All the benefits of a quality Electric vehicle, without the smug attitude!
Hyundai makes the most comfortable cars on the road. That's why I purchased it. Sure it's quick, has great range, strong handling and good looks, but a stress-free drive makes the Kona EV a keeper. While it suffers from some poor traction control, and has large blind spots, the convenience of a nightly charge with no oil changes, transmission or timing belts leaves to a quality peace of mind. Good luck getting one!

Pros
Every creature comfort one could need
quiet and smooth ride
good storage space
Industry-leading range

Cons
Traction control is an issue, especially paired with the Nexen tires
Large blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/24/2019
Kona EV
New car. Give me some time to experience it. No more trips to gas station is the main reason I bought this car.
No more tune up, spark plugs, oil change, transmission oil change, no more engine noise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HEATHER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Kona Electric Review
Love our electric car - it's been a pleasure to drive. A little small but we knew that before we bought it but service and quality and the dealership were all top notch. Highly recommend this car and Norm Reeves Hyundai.

Pros
Almost everything about this car is great!

Cons
Wish we had power seats on the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHEN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
2019 Kona EV
The 2019 Kona EV lives up to the reviews that were available prior to the launch of this new EV. Based on those reviews and a lot of research on purchasing my first full EV (I have a PHEV Chevy Volt), I needed to test drive the car to determine if I would buy it. I registered for a waiting list and was contacted by the dealer when a Kona EV came into inventory and could be seen on the dealer lot and test drivent. Based on that brief drive and the reviews, I bought the car. So far the car has lived up to its high billing. Overall it is a 9.5 out of 10. The biggest disappointment is the seat back for the driver and front passenger is too narrow at the shoulders and uncomfortable. As a result my wife now drives what was going to be my perfect new EV. I can only drive it on short trips because of the seat. The other issue is that you can not lock the car while it is attached to a public charging station. This means if you have belongings in the car, you can not leave the vehicle unatteded while you get food or take a walk while charging. Overall I have to say the car is a great car and so far lives up to its billing. Sadly, the seat is a deal-breaker for me, and I am likely to buy myself a different brand electric car like a Tesla with my next purchase. My wife is very happy with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SCOTT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/24/2019
Great compact SUV with eliminates emissions on the road!
The Kona EV is a great entry vehicle into the EV market. It's the first EV we have purchased and we've been very happy with the performance. The acceleration/engine power is noticeably better than our other vehicles -- you really notice the pickup on the highway when you're yielding or coming up on an entry ramp. The car is incredibly quiet and it's a fun car to drive. Would highly recommend.

Pros
Lots of features for the price point

Cons
Like any EV, price!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NARASIMHA K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Great electric car but as expensive as a Tesla Model 3
Overall I am happy with the purchase. However, the price is as much as a Tesla Model 3 and I feel that the Tesla has a better brand value and price retention compared to a Hyundai. For the price paid, I would expect Hyundai to provide similar value that a Tesla provides.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRIAN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Love this car!!!
EPA stated range is 258 miles per charge. I've been consistently getting over 300 miles per charge driving over various types of roads, including interstates at 65mph or faster. Love how quiet the car operates and how easy the bluetooth connection is. No more oil changes, tune ups, issues with ICE engine/transmission! Real environmentally friendly and economically sound car!

Pros
Stated EPA range is 258 miles. I've been consistently getting over 300 miles per charge, driving on mixed types of roads, including interstates at 65mph or more.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
RANDY R.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
Kona Electric is a First for Hyundai!
The Kona EV looks great and drives even "greater!" Amazing power and acceleration. Long range - over 300 miles city driving. Beautiful leather interior and stylish exterior. The Kona EV turns heads and represents a better consumer value than other brands. Conventional instrumentation melded with high-tech battery electric drive train! This is a daily driver, family car. This car will rapidly become the choice for running errands because it's so much more fun to drive than any gas engine car.

Pros
Great small CUV, with amazing acceleration! Handling is great, and mountain driving is fun using maximum regen for single-pedal operation!
Interior controls well laid out - intuitive and easily operated by touch.
Easily carries a family of five, and makes a great daily driver, even for long commutes thanks to the nearly 300 mile range capability.
Hyundai's "Lifetime" battery warranty is certainly a pro not offered by other manufacturers!
The Kona EV has a rather aggressive stance that makes it look more like a "Sporty-CAR Utility Vehicle!"

Cons
Too much torque for the front tires...as if that is a "con!"
Front fascia is a little bland - a contrasting nose applique would enhance appearance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
NICOLE G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
Amazing Vehicle!
We were looking to buy an EV car for a couple of years, but none were what we were wanting in a car. We read about the Hyundai Kona EV and couldn’t wait for its release date.
We couldn’t be happier with our purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHIVASHANTH M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
I love driving this Car
I love driving this Car. The best part of this car is the Range. 260 + Miles per Charger is kick asst, I was surprised by the quality of the built and Drive. I like the info system, The safety features are pretty good. Lane assist and Collision warning are so good. Forward collision warning is so good (one of my favorite Safety feature). I feel a lot safer driving this car.

Pros
Electric- Awesome Performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUDITH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2019
Kona EV Does not dissapoint!
About two months, a couple thousand miles and like it more and more. Careful driving yields over 300 miles on a charge, while "fun" driving feels like those electric Go-Karts with real acceleration and tight handling. Couldn't be happier.

Pros
Tight, solid feel whether "noodling" along the country roads or down the highway

Cons
could use a bit more storage, have to put a seat down to load the golf clubs :)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALAN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Fun to Drive and All Electric
Purchased the Kona EV because I wanted and EV and it fit my needs. I also considered the federal tax credit as an incentive for this vehicle over some others. But, most of alll i was impressed by the lifetime warranty on the big battery and my belief that Hyundai will be around as a company for the long haul. I very much like the short turning radius of the car. The negatives are the drive selection buttons in the center and I wish the car had a regenerative breking gear, rather that the levels of regeneration available through a menu. Have told our #2 son what a good car it is and offered to let him take it for a couple of weeks. Our #1 daughter-in-law lows to drive it.

Pros
fun to drive. great milage with the EV. great turning radius. Easy for me to enter and exit

Cons
In my version instead of a gear shift lever, there are four buttons that sit in the middle of the center console. Still trying to get used to that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MATTHEW S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Excellent car, very solid, lots of great technology, great mileage on full charge
So far this is a great little car. Sporty, fast, well made, lots of great features, and very high quality fit and finish. This car is very fast and instant torque is impressive. Paddle braking is a great feature. Getting estimates of 330 miles per full charge, which is almost 80 miles more than the "official" numbers. Quite impressive.

Pros
Great mileage on a full charge, easy to use Vehicle information system / Android Auto, comfortable driving position, high quality build fit and finish

Cons
Cannot use Android Auto with wireless charger, which makes the wireless charger almost useless

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DAVID M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Fun AND functional
This is the first EV I've owned and I'm thoroughly enjoying it. This car is really fun to drive. It has a ton of torque and responsive handling. I plug it into a standard household outlet and have plenty of charge for my workday. I sprung for the loaded version and I'm glad I did. The ventilated seats and LED headlights were worth the added expense. I love this car!

Pros
Amazing pickup, impressive battery and overall really good design.

Cons
The breaks are a little fussy on bumpy roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SREENATH R.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Hyundai Kona has exceeded the expectations
i have leased Hyundai Kona EV, over all i am very satisfied & exceeded the expectations i have, if the vehicle comes with self driving capability that will be a deal breaker for many customers like me and will not focus on buying Vehicles like Tesla.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RICHARD T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
All Electric Kona Ultimate
Being able to pass the gas station for months now has been liberating. I feel better about the 160 miles a day I commute because I'm 100% electric. It's not an environmental issue for me, it's a money issue. Skipping the pump and qualifying for four years of HOV lane access is what made this decision easy. There were a few growing pains in the beginning, worrying about how and where I'd plug in but after working out all of the details, I'm very happy with this car. The Kona electric is fun to drive, gets up to speed quickly, and is easy to park.

Pros
electric, quick, compact, look good, nice electronics options

Cons
seats aren't super comfortable,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Great electric crossover
Better range then other electric cars, small back seat, maintainance is minimal compared to ICE vehical, handels a little better then a typical small car in sports mode. Combo DC charging for long drives.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JUN M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Love the car!
Range + confirm exceeded my expectation and the car feels well built! I intend to own this car for a long time and it is worth the initial investment. Hyundai really did a fantastic job and I hope they output more high quality EVs!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 38 of 38 in total