2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(110 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RT
RYAN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2020
Excellent Electric Vehicle
The Hyundai Kona EV is an excellent vehicle in all regards. While not to everyone's taste, I like the styling and find it to be a good-looking vehicle. The performance is impressive, and the mileage per charge has generally been even better in my experience than estimated by Hyundai. The interior is comfortable and well appointed.

Pros
styling, performance, mileage

Cons
only front wheel drive, no AWD option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LEMUEL J.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/12/2020
Awesome alternative to overpriced Tesla!!!
This is an awesome vehicle for the price. The amenities are top notch for the price. Leather, lane keep assist, heated seats are great standard features. Truly fun to drive. The lifetime battery made this car hard to beat.

Pros
Lifetime warranty battery

Cons
You have to plan every trip around charging.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Aqeel A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/03/2020
Car's somewhat OK.
Sometimes the car AC blows in air that smells like something is burning. Driver leg room is very tight. Build quality is nice and also the car looks good. EV Charging port location should not be in the front of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 11/03/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

WL
WOON L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/22/2020
Hyundai Kona EV review
Hyundai Kona EV review: i like this car overall, but am not satisfied with recent "frozen LCD dashboard" problem and KONA EV's battery fire issues in South Korea and Canada. I am extremely worried about it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
AARON B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2020
System update service
Very efficient and very good customer service!!! :-)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JUSTIN V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2020
First EV, tall person problems
The car is amazing, the range is great and the feedback on "driving style" and average kWh/mile is turning me into a perfectionist when it comes to acceleration and coasting and regen breaking. It's very fun to drive, nimble, small on the outside but surprisingly spacious inside. The only real issue I have with the car is that the drivers seat needs to drop a little further down to the floor of the cabin. I am 6'6" and in order to not rub my head on the top of the car I have to put the seat all the way down and recline it far enough that adults can barely sit behind me (and only if they're small!). The "grill" of the EV Kona took some getting used to but i like it now, I wish the gas grill could be on the EV but I understand the impact to aerodynamics by doing that. Overall I love the car, got it for a reasonable price, and really enjoy all the EV wizardry!

Pros
Fun, zippy, nimble, modern electrical gizmos, amazing range, reasonable price, does not roll much during turns

Cons
Head height, somewhat harsh ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WILLIAM G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/03/2020
Fun to drive
Great car, love the pep from an EV car. Lots of great features and good handling. The backseats are way too small. The heated and cooled seats work good. I didn’t think I would like the The heads up display but I love it couldn’t do without it.

Pros
Good range with battery.

Cons
Backseats too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KATHLEEN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/23/2020
Great driving
Enjoy car. Some learning curve for charge changes due to weather. Use to commute 160 might round trip daily with no charge station at work. Enjoyable ride.dislike flat tire solution. Will be looking at alternatives.

Pros
Electric

Cons
While good range would like more.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILL B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2020
going green
Best green vehicle for the price. I would buy it again. The car is great for in-state trips, especially day to day short trips. There is virtually no maintenance cost. When I charge the vehicle it does not make a blip on my electric bill.

Pros
green

Cons
road noise over 35mph

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/13/2020
Love this car!
From its zippy EV handling, to the spacious cabin, it’s a fun and comfortable car to drive. And it’s so much fun to keep driving by gas stations. Highly recommended, especially as more charging stations come online.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WILSON G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2020
It's a good car
It's a very good electric car it drives fantastic it handles well.But there's no storage and it's little small inside.They should make a electric SUV large enough that you could take a decent amount of people in the car. The only disappointment ,I have is not comfortable to handle a person that's over 6 feet.

Pros
It's fun to drive.

Cons
Not enough room or storage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
FRANK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Leased Kona EV
Was looking to replace our leased MB electric; however, they delayed that model to following year and would not renew lease. Shopped around and was pleasantly surprised with Kona and all its safety features.

Pros
Nice car and dealer.

Cons
Needs forward looking camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
AMISH P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2020
Kona electric
Great car we will own this for a long time. Hoping in the future they offer all models in a full electric model and in all wheel drive with power lift gate. And the pricing for electric vehicle comes down. If not for the incentive this would be out of my price range.

Pros
No more gas

Cons
Not all wheel drive.
No power lift gate on a 46000 dollar car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OM
OLIVIER M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Best Car I've ever owned
I was looking to buy an EV and the first car I looked at was the Tesla Model 3 long range. I was ready to buy when I found out that Hyundai had a new long range EV. I have owned a new Elantra before which has been trouble free for the 100k miles that I've owned it, so my view of the brand was very favorable. I read some reviews on the Kona EV and found out about the 2019 Livetime EV battery warranty. This is what stood out for me compared to the Model 3 which has a 120k mile warranty. In my first year of ownership, I drove 31k miles with my Kona EV with ZERO issues. I'm getting 4.7 miles/kwh on average which translates to an AVERAGE range of 300 miles per charge, well above the EPA rating of 258 miles per charge. Absolutely fantastic car.. The only issue is that the car is front wheel drive and front motor, The power of the engine easily overpowers the front tires. Very hard to get traction in sports mode... Love the power but I'd love it if I could get more of the power to the ground..

Pros
Lifetime Battery Warranty
Extremely efficient
great power
Great infotainment and ANDROID AUTO integration

Cons
AUTO HOLD is not sticky
Limited traction upon heavy accelaration due to FWD
No AWD available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Best EV
I wanted a full electric vehicle. I researched all my options. Hyundai had the best warranty and the best range of miles for the price. The styling was better than all the other electric vehicles I looked at. The Kona looks like a regular gasoline vehicle but has the electric drive train. All I wanted was an EV that didn’t look like a space ship!! The Hyundai Kona did that perfectly. I can drive from San Diego to Las Vegas using rapid changing once each way. For a total of $20 round trip.

Pros
Great long range ev. Very fun to drive good styling nice safety features

Cons
Poor handling, the app is terrible and not even worth using. The drive buttons are directly next to the cup holder and I’m worried I’m going to spill a drink on them and not be able to push the buttons or drive the vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MATTHEW V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2020
The quickest most fun vehicle I have ever owned or driven!!
I have had my Kona for one year now and have put exactly 10K miles on it. I love it more now than ever!! It is the fastest, funnest car I have ever driven. ZERO maintenance - well I have to rotate my tires at 10K... It costs me about $4.00 in electric to get 200 miles of charge which lasts me one week (used to cost me $35-40 in gas per week). I will probably never buy another gas powered vehicle. Once you feel instant torque - without having to wait for a vehicle to downshift or the engine to get the RPM's up - and you just pull away... It is addictive. My previous vehicle was a 2008 Dodge Charger (retired state patrol vehicle with Hemi 5.7) - so I thought I knew what a fast car was. Try it - you'll like it!!

Pros
Don't have time to list them all!!

Cons
I think a smooth front would be easier to wash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2020
Fun, smart, practical
Great torque and fun to drive. Climate, entertainment system easy to operate. Great phone integration with iPhone. Love the wireless phone charging option and ventilated seats. Viability is very good and headlights systems excellent. Vehicle range is excellent and charging easy to manage/ monitor with app. Rear legroom is a bit tight, so not ideal vehicle for hauling kids and bikes, etc.

Cons
Rear leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2020
Owner
We wanted an electric car with Over 250 miles of range. The Leaf only had 84. My first choice was a Tesla model 3, but the big touch screen control center intimidated my wife as she’s not computer literate . The kona EV fit our needs but if my wife ever learns how to use a touch screen, I will trade for a Tesla, with OTA upgrades, the car never gets old!!!

Pros
Great overall

Cons
Cabin noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2020
A good car
I like the car, but it is too noisy at speed. Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla.

Pros
It's electric.

Cons
The navigation package is over priced. If not for the insistence of my wife, I would have not paid for the navigation system.
The cabin is too noisy at speed to enjoy the sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
EV Rocks
I chose the Hyundai Kona EV after extensive online research. Unfortunately it was only being sold in 3 states of which none were where I lived. I watched numerous YouTube videos from professionals comparing models to every day people who had a Kona or other electric vehicle. These videos convinced me that I could go total electric instead of hybrid and still do long trips with just a little extra planning. I have been very pleased with my Kona EV. I get great mileage. I can get around 300 miles/full charge in warmer weather. Cooler weather runs about 240. I have not taken any long trips but using it to go back and forth to work (about 12 miles one way) and some additional errand running, it has been costing me about $25-$30/month to operate. With the virus and less travelling it has been a maximum of $10/month. I did have a 240v Chargepoint charger installed at home. I can completely recharge overnight in about 6-8 hours when needed. Normal usage I normally charge once a week. This is my 6th Hyundai and I buy them because they have all been great cars and my Kona EV has not disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 110 in total