2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(64 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AP
ANDREA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2019
KONA EV 2019
Amazing car. Unlike most EV cars, the KONA EV is stylish and has an amazing battery range. I love how the car drives and all the driving options that are available.
I do not see enough of these cars on the road. Interested buyers in an EV should seriously consider test-driving the KONA EV. You will not be disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PETER S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/02/2019
Bert and Ernie
Bert and Ernie, thats what Road and Track said about the comparison between the Bolt and the Kona. It seems like the styling look was attempting for an SUV look but it tastes like an econocar to me. I would vote for lower overall body with a lower coefficient of drag, and 60 series tires instead of 55 series for pothole protection. I am guessing that the tech features are required to sell cars but they make me nervous. The batteries are warranteed for life but the car is a travelling computer and will it still work in 15 years?

Pros
EV with 250 mile range. Available with level 2 and 3 charge capability. Good reliability prediction

Cons
Boxy shape that is not too efficient at highway speeds. Too much electronic fun going on that I don't believe will work in 15 years. the tires seem too low for back roads in Vermont.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANTHONY F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Kona EV
This is a very well appointed small SUV with an excellent electric drive system. The fit and finish is top of the line, it is easy to get in and out of. and the form factor is well thought out with the length-width-height ratios in an appealing proportion.

Pros
Perfect sized Ev with 250 mile range.

Cons
Rear view visibility by rear seat head rests and corner pillars is limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRISTL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2019
Kona Electric
It appears to be a well made utility vehicle, but is neither charming to look at, nor to drive. It handles like a very heavy vehicle. The view through the rear window is poor, especially in the vertical direction. It was delivered with a privacy rear window, which was a safety hazard. Vehicles coming from behind could not be seen on a sunny day if the driver was wearing sunglasses, and at night, only if the approaching vehicle from the rear was using its high beams. The window was replaced by the purchaser at a cost to him of $621.

Pros
The electric drive is very nice.

Cons
The vehicle feels heavy to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MATHIAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
zippy little creature
The car is a zippy little creature that handles well with a range that is pretty much as publicized. Styling and functionality in all respects is adequate to exceptional. My only criticisms are with the size (it could use at least a little bit more space in the rear compartment) and with a handful of exceptionally minor things that are barely worth elaborating on.

Pros
Range
Handling
Brake/Energy recapture system

Cons
Size (more room needed in rear compartment)
Height (occasionally catch my head on the top when getting in and out)
Lightness (obviously this is critical for the range of an EV, but it does make it susceptible to wind gusts and such)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TINA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2019
Many reasons to buy this car
258 miles between charges
Lifetime warranty on the battery
Greatly reduced maintenance costs
$7500 federal rebate
$2500 state rebate
Terrific response and handling
No gas, no oil changes, no DEQ
Zero emissions

Pros
258 miles between charges
Lifetime warranty on the battery
Greatly reduced maintenance costs
$7500 federal rebate
$2500 state rebate
Terrific response and handling
No gas, no oil changes, no DEQ
Zero emissions

Cons
Heater and a/c reduce miles
Limited colors in ultimate model
Many dealers are increasing their prices above MSRP.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STEPHEN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2019
Almost perfect
The future is here. We have 5 autos. This is our first electric vehicle. We love it. However, we must upgrade our charging capacity and that costs money. We will need 2, 40 amp chargers.....expensive all around.
We love the car. Overall excellent except for dangerous front wheel torque spin on wet roads This car must be AWD to avoid that..wake up engineers! We love the car and will certainly upgrade after 3 year lease. But will Tesla get our business? What will Hyundai do to keep us loyal?

Pros
Torque

Cons
Slip when wet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEVIN C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Great Electric Vehicle
Hyundai Kona is an Excellent buy
Hyundai’s Electric Vehicle Battery has a Lifetime Warranty and the Kona gets 250+ miles per full charge !! Nobody can beat
this deal !! The Kona has lots of room ! Great legroom in the back two seats, which also fold down and create a huge cargo area to haul full size bicycles etc. !!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Shaunda H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Oustanding electric vehicle
The Kona EV is the best decision we've ever made. Hyundai is right that the Kona EV is serious business. It's a good looking, modern vehicle and the performance blows my mind. The performance capabilities, speed, torque and handling are superior. Love all the high tech features that are compatible with the iPhone. My only regret was why didn't I go electric sooner? The answer is I waited for the best. Thank you Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LUIS L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/05/2019
Great performance and efficiency but...
Love my Kona EV, but if for some bad luck you happen to get in an accident. Expect to have the vehicle in the shop for ever! After 2 months of my accident it finally seems that the back ordered part will be finally here.
That is very disappointing, I wonder is that’s a common thing, since this is the first time I get in an accident in a brand new car. At this point my car has been longer in the shop that with me. I do love the little car thou, great style, lots of goodies and comfort and amazing performance!

Pros
Efficient and good performance, nice looking car that turns heads. Lots of safety features and entertainment features.

Cons
Repairs might take forever, a little too plasticky inside. Not a lot of cargo room, and leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOHN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Love my Kone EV
So comfortable, fun to drive, zippy, lots of cool features and best of all I am not burning petroleum!
Everyone stares at my EV when I drive by because of its cool sound.
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
BRAIN A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Buy it if you can!!
Electric cars are the future. The folks at Kona have really worked through all the flaws in their competitor's cars and put out an amazing vehicle. I could not afford a Tesla Model S or X which are the gold standard in electric cars, but I think my Kona blows the Model 3 out of the water especially when it comes to build quality. I love this car and so do my friends and family. Both my sons think it is really cool to drive and they're right, It is a blast. Regenerative braking and Smart cruise control are my two favorite features. My only complaints are so nit-picky the only correct response to them would be an eye-roll. BTW, if you do get a Kona, check out EVDoubler on amazon. The guys at the dealership recommended it and it is worth every penny to cut your charging time in half without spending much money.

Pros
We call it "the spaceship" So fun to drive and so much higher build quality than the Tesla 3.

Cons
The front grill is a little polarizing. I didnt like it at first, but now it's kinda grown on me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JON S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love the Kona EV!
Love the Kona EV I'm leasing! Range is awesome, as is the instant power of the electric motor. Even the base model has a lot of awesome technology & features. Can't beat the warranties. So glad I got an EV, love my Hyundai!

Pros
Great warranty, lifetime battery warranty, instant power, a lot of safety & technology features even in the base model

Cons
Minimal rear leg room, not much cargo space, speakers are not great, especially the rear ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RAJENDRA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
Hyundai Kona EV
See my survey please. If you must, Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel economy are good points. Overall I have no issue and can recommend this car to my friends and family.
Exterior can be more stylish.
Android Auto for navigation is very poor.
Charging network is not easy as Level 3 charger is not easy to find.

Pros
Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel, economy

Cons
Exterior can be more stylish, Android Auto for navigation is very poor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
We Love This Car!
Went from a Honda CR-V to the Kona EV. The kids even love this car! We did lose some space going to this car but all of the features and what we are saving on gas are well worth it. My husband has an hour and thirty minute commute every day which was a huge reason for going electric, it’s been amazing for that.

Pros
No more gas or oil changes!

Cons
You lose some space with this car but it’s not that bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LYNN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Kona EV
Very pleased with this car so far. I drive less than 100 miles a week and have been able to use the portable charger to replenish the battery. (after last nights charge the car said the range was 327 miles). Living in a state that has incentives for EV purchase has helped with the price. The life time battery is a plus. Driving this car in "SPORT" mode is a lot of fun on twisty country back roads. For the slog into town to run errands the "ECO" mode helps save charge in the battery. There are no steel rims available yet for mounted snows. Have not driven the car in the winter, so I can not say much about how long a charge lasts in Vermont weather. A test drive is worth the time.

Pros
At about 3 cents a mile to drive this car is a winner right away. I love driving past the gas stations....and not even thinking about having to stop. The environmentally friendly aspects are a plus.

Cons
Will need to install a level two charger in our garage to be sure we could use it multiple days for longer drives. Once it is installed, it will be more convenient than stopping at the gas station. Hopefully, by the time this vehicle needs a new battery, the original will be repurposed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
Great Vehicle
Excellent all electric vehicle. Rebates available from 4 agencies which reduce the overall cost to comparable gas vehicles. Saving hundreds of dollars each month. Special rate for electricity makes the savings even greater. Range greater than advertised when using the economy drive mode. Daily round trips of 75 miles. Only charging every third day. Charging at home costs about 3 cents per mile.Lifetime battery warranty sealed the deal for me.Took a cross country 600 mile trip. DC rapid chargers easy to find. Cost a little higher than charging at home. Trip averaged 9 cents per mile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KENNY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2019
First timer purchasing a EV
The Kona EV is fun to drive and have neat features, right now I would only rank it as a good car but it could be a great car if they can fix the little stuff from here and there and lower the price tag!

Pros
Acceleration, style, design, smooth handling and ride,

Cons
Tires are low quality; the placement of the charging part and design of the charging port cover; the placement of the driver park reverse and neutral buttons; the nitro fill inflation for the tires which means I can’t inflate myself when needed to adjust the tire pressure; the center console design and functionality; The back seat needs more leg room; the design of the front seat could be better so i won’t bump the back of head to the head rest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEFFREY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/06/2019
If you like the smell of fertilizer this car is for you
Bought this car based in great reviews. My car emits a noxious chemical odor like fertilizer through the vents. Tried working with dealer and told it is the heated seats!!! Makes no sense. Also tried asking Hyundai for help received no assistance. Will not buy Hyundai again as I am on my own with a car that makes me sick.

Pros
Nice looking vehicle, great acceleration

Cons
Cannot drive due to noxious interior odor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CAITLIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
LOVE!
I am a toxicologist, so I know all of the junk we put into the atmosphere on a daily basis. I LOVE that my new car doesn't emit ANYTHING into the air - and shows me how much CO2 I'm saving from going into the air. The car drives like a dream and has an excellent initial acceleration. It took a bit to get used to the regeneration driving, but after I did, I hate driving without it. There's also a mode that you can drive in (auto hold) where once you brake, you can let your foot off the brake and your car will stay there (if at a light).

Cons
The legroom in the backseat isn't that great, but it's completely fine in the front!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 64 in total