2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(102 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/07/2020
Kona EV
We love the instant acceleration and brilliant range on a single charge. We usually charge it to 90% and we have around 270 mile range. We love not having to stop and get gas. The factory navigation works so well with the voice recognition. It is way better than our Toyota RAV4 hybrid. It is a fun car to drive and we use it when ever we go around town.

Pros
Very zippy acceleration. Great navigation system that works well with voice recognition. Charging the Kona to 90% we usually get around 270 miles which is a great range. Seats are in a higher more upright position and it's not as hard to get in and out of compared to our Prius that was replace by our Kona EV

Cons
The same button on the door handle locks and unlocks the door. When we go to leave and lock the door if we both push the lock button at the same time the other person unlocks it when we want to lock the door. On my RAV 4 there is different places on the handle to lock and unlock the door. The defrost system doesn't work well at all. There needs to be parking sensors on the front bumper. You only have them on the back bumper. Paint quality is not so good. It easily chips on the front hood and grill. The front grill with all the little bumps is hard to clean and wax.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LORENA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
KONA Vehicle - love technology and mile coverage.
Love our car, specially my younger 18 year old daughter who just got her driving license. Good car to learn to good drive in. Easy to manage, looks good, and feels safe with the Kona's driving features. Thank you.

Pros
Love technology

Cons
Older people may have to get used to buttons options for selecting modes (e.g. drive , parking, break, etc.)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUDITH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
Kona EV - really happy with this car!
A year later and we still love it! We've driven over 20,000 miles now including a long trip from NY to Florida. We found the car performed very well, and there was really no problem finding charging stations. Best plan, we discovered, is to stop overnight at Hotel/Motel with charging station so next day starts out with full charge. Then we stopped and charged to 80% when we needed a break for a stretch or lunch.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LISA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2020
I love my Kona EV
I wanted to buy an all electric vehicle, but not a Tesla. I read online reviews about all the electric vehicles I could find. Hyundai had gotten the highest overall reviews. I did test drive a BMWi3 but didn’t like the location of the gear shifter (nor the way I was treated at the dealership). I talked to my neighbor, who’s in the automotive industry & told me Hyundai was a great company (#2 in the world!?) who treated their employees well. That was also important to me. I test drove the Kona EV at a local dealership & instantly fell in love. It handled well, was easy to intuit, comfortable & can get over 300 miles to a charge! Sold!

Pros
It’s all good!

Cons
The vehicle is somewhat noisy on the highway due to the special tires that are used on EV’s. Also there doesn’t seem to be a lot of sound insulation. I wish the rear hatchback was easier to close. An automatic door would have been great. These are small items. Overall, I adore this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LORI K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2020
One Year In -- I Still Love my Kona EV!
I've had my Kona EV Ultimate for a year. I still love driving this car every day. It's mostly a commuter car, but I've driven it long distances, having to charge multiple times a day -- really no problems. The charging network is decent enough on the east coast of the US to take long trips. Best car I've owned, hands down.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANGELA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2020
Sold
LOVE this car. The battery performance exceeds all others in its class. The interior and exterior are stylish, and the vehicle is fully loaded with every amenity you can imagine, including a sunroof, which is VERY hard to find on an all electric vehicle. Above all, this car is a fun and comfortable ride that you can feel good about.

Pros
Fully loaded with every amenity a driver could want.
Long battery live (I have seen over 300 miles on a full charge).
Stylish interior and exterior.
No comfort or style sacrifices for an all electric vehicle.

Cons
Interior and storage space could use some expanding for a family of 5.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARIO A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
Great alternative to Tesla
Silo far more than 16000 mile and Love the car, mileage quotes are real world range. Great features, fun car to drive. Great for long commute. Very reliable only thing done for service is rotate tires and change cabin filter. They did try to sell me oil change at dealer, the service team can’t easily tell in system the car is electric.

Pros
Real world range accuracy
Fun to drive
Comfortable front seats
Love the heads up display (Ultimate model)

Cons
Rear seat space
Needs upgrade for premium interior materials and accents (wood, carbon fiber, Aluminum)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ERIK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
great ev
an excellent EV. range is up to 350+ mles in good conditions. excellent performance. quiet & solid. great alternative to a model 3 or bolt. not sure why this requires 200 characters so here is the filler.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LORI J.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
I love my Kona electric!
This is my first electric car and I don't think I'll go back to gas. The vehicle's pick up is faster than any car I've ever owned. It's responsive and the electronic bells and whistles (including wireless cell phone charger) are everything I need. The front seats are comfortable and the back seat has ample room. The trunk space is small, but I expected that. I traded in a Lexus SUV and the only thing I really miss is the automated trunk.

Pros
Having an electric vehicle is so much better for the environment. And, its pick-up is amazing. It's a cute little car and has lots of back seat room for passengers.

Cons
The trunk space is small and I really wish the trunk was automated in terms of opening and closing. It doesn't have a trip odometer, which I miss.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kim T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/16/2020
Skip the gas station
The 2019 Kona has given me the freedom to skip the gas station and use the HOV lane for free. What more could you want? Well, California and the federal goventmant both offer rebates and credits to owners of full electric cars. The Kona gets almost 270 miles per charge and depending on the extras stacks up against the very best luxury electric cars on the market.

Pros
High drive mies per charge
State and Federal rebates and credits

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KENNETH C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
Kona EV 1 year review
Looked forward to this vehicle for a long time. It was and is, almost, the perfect replacement for my previous long term ev. I've always valued a smooth driving, sporty feel to a car and this ev hits all the highs. The only downside is the fledging state of the DC fast charging network around the US and the high cost of by-the-minute charging. For 98%of my driving around home this is the perfect car. My 2 most perfect cars were a Saab 9000T and an Audi A4 Avant. The Kona EV comes close in utility but is world's ahead in drivetrain eco economy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
PAUL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2020
GREAT EV with great features
We added the Kona EV after selling a Tuscon. We already started our EV collection with a Chevy Bolt EV which we also love. Getting ready to buy the new RIVIAN pickup truck in 2020. We looked at the sister vehicle from KIA ... the Niro EV.

Pros
Too many good things about this vehicle to list. I will however like to mention the heads up display is a NEW for us. Very cool to use.

Cons
Non auto folding side view mirrors when shutting off the vehicle. Offered in other countries from the research we did. Why not in the USA version? Other than that the infotainment system can be difficult to navigate at times due to several sub menus getting you lost in the TECH TWILIGHT ZONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
TED F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
The Best Car You Didn't Know You Wanted
This is a good daily driver. Plenty of range so you are not constantly plugging it in. If you have ever thought of owning a electric car this is the one to buy. Great car should be sold in more states.

Pros
very fun to drive

Cons
small back seat room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHRISTOPHER C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
Kona EV is great!!!
We love our new Kona EV! Everything works very well and is nicely designed. We would definitely purchase another one. It is a joy to drive. No problems and a fantastic driving range! The Hyundai dealer made the whole buying experience very pleasant.

Pros
Great overall vehicle in every way as indicated in our ratings above.

Cons
A few very minor things that we would prefer differently, but certainly not a deal breaker. Gear selector can't be shifted by feel - need to look down to press correct button. No roof rack available. Doesn't have a purse/trash bag hook for front passenger. Can't stow a spare tire under cargo floor because of 110v charger cord and tire inflator. No power passenger seat available.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DONALD R.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
Best Car I've Ever Owned
This is the third all electric vehicle I've owned and it is by far the best. I am still finding out about some of the engineering that has gone into the vehicle and I am totally impressed not only with the design but also with the sophistication of the engineering. I recommend the Kona to anyone who asked me about my car or about buying an electric vehicle.

Cons
Very little rear seat leg room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRENDAN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/05/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
We really like the Kona EV. The convenience of charging at home rather than taking the time to go to the gas station is tremendous. We use it primarily for the local stuff so range is no factor. Have completed a couple of 150 mile round trips to the airport no bother. Great to be driving around at 120 mpgE.
LED low beam headlights seem to be too bright for other motorists.

Pros
Convenience of charging at home. No oil changes. 120 mpgE.

Cons
Annoyed oncoming motorists think we're driving around with the high beams on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kathleen T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
Love our 2019 Hyundai Kona Electric
We've had the Kona Electric for about 5 months and have put almost 6 thousand miles on the car, including a 1,600 mile road trip. We love the car, it's fun to drive, has all the room we need, has a great range and is a great looking car. So far so good!

Pros
Fun to drive and a great looking car.

Cons
Not much room in the back seat for adults with legs, unless the people in the front seats are very short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OT
OWEN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
One of the best cars on the road
Comfortable, compact, with a great range, plenty of power, and great efficiency (we're averaging around 4mi/kWh). Plenty of room, and packed with standard features.

The biggest downside of the Kona EV is probably that they are hard to find. We're lucky that we live in a ZEV state, and the dealership has been able to get them in easily. But I really think it's a car worth taking the time to look for.

Pros
Excellent range, fun to drive, very efficient, ton of space, compact

Cons
Not the smoothest ride, louder cabin than I could wish, the seats are a bit firm for more than 2hrs at a time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DARRELL K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
Best EV available!
Don't wait any longer. This should be your everyday car; it has power, range, versatility, AND it's emission free. No more gas, charge it at home. It's performance will (should!) take your breath away, and it has the range to take you where you need to go. Now is the time to move away from fossil fuel, and this is the car that will do it. Great car. Period.

Pros
Range sufficient for almost everyone. Has more power than necessary; handles extremely well since the battery gives it a low center of gravity.

Cons
It does lose range in colder weather, but the seat heaters work well and don't use a lot of energy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
GHULAM MUHAMMA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Reasonable Subcompact SUV
The Kona EV is a very reasonable subcompact SUV. Its a front wheel drive, being an EV it has instant torque and with a 258 miles range it is very adequate for a daily commuter. Handles very well at corners. Seating height is good. I bough it because Its an EV, however it lacks certain features that should have been standard in at least Limited trim if not the base SEL trim. I drive mostly on highways so a dynamic radar cruise control is very crucial and reduces the burden on driver. The Ultimate trim has dynamic radar cruise control with stop and go assist but in Limited trim its only a basic cruise control. Also, the vehicle came with only a 120V Charge connector/ Mobile charger that would take almost 60 to 70 hours to charge it from 0 to 100%. The charger should have been 120/240V rating to allow a faster charge rate. I had to shred another $500 to get a 240V charge connector/ Mobile charger. Please do not fall for YOUTUBE reviews these people do to make money out of viewership and skip critical information. Go test drive it and you may like it like I did.

Pros
Its an EV.
Take advantage of the Federal and State Tax credits.

Cons
Ancient cruise control technology in Limited trim. (same perhaps in SEL trim). If you need safety spend another 4Gs. (Unjustified)
No 240V charger for faster home charging.
Excessive wind noise (taking into account it is an EV). It still has more wind noise.
Very very annoying artificial engine sound maker.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 102 in total