2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(56 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


BB
BENJAMIN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Love my Kona
I've been looking for a new car for a while...my criteria we're good mileage, good styling, reliability, and acceleration. I considered an electric vehicle after talking to a friend and the Kona satisfied all of these categories for a reasonable price.
As an Arizona resident, I had to fly to California to do a test drive and then come back once I found the vehicle I wanted for the right price

Pros
Range, styling, driving comfort, recharge time, acceleration!

Cons
Rear seats are a little tight on leg room
Only sold in certain states

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SCOTT M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Another First time EV for the Masses
EV’s have typically been either too expensive for the average Joe/Jane, not enough range to be considered a viable option as a family hauler, or of quirky aesthetics (or all three!). The Hyundai Kona electric and entries from Kia, Nissan, and Chevrolet are here to change your mind. You’d be forgiven for not noticing that the Kona you are looking at is just another gasoline powered,smallish, CUV like any of its siblings. It is stylish, sleek, and features just about any quality of life improving amenity that you could think of, provided that it is included in the one of three available feature packages that you are looking at; Hyundai is mercifully spartan on nickel and diming for every extra option outside the three trim levels. It is not until you heard the vehicle silently pull away with only a slight synthesizer generates whir that you would figure out that you were looking at a full EV car. One, that I might add, will push you back into your seat as it starts to chew into its 300 mile range. If the wheels don’t spin first, which they all too easily will, so keep a light foot. Three driving modes -Eco, Normal, and Sport - let you dial up the power as you see fit. Given it’s not a race car and not-too-sticky stock tires won’t let you mistake it for a race car, anything above Eco mode it just playing. An Eco+ mode will let you eek every last mile out of the car, albeit at the cost of no AC or heat and a maximum speed of 60 mph. Charging can be done out of any home outlet for about 48hrs of time. Install or visit a Level 2, 240v charger and that comes down to about 9 hrs. DC fast charger? About 1 hr to 80%. Electric rates vary, but call it about $5 for 300 miles. The ride at highway speed can be noisy, but probably because everything else is so quiet. The interior can feel a bit plasticy, but that’s a matter of taste. I preferred the piano blacks of my Volkswagen Golf, but I’ll adjust. The interior cabin is spacious and visibility is above average, i’d Say. The non-premium sound system is passable, but audiophiles would likely opt for the upgraded model in the top trim level or install an aftermarket system, if possible.
If you’ve never owned or considered a full EV before, do yourself a favor and include the Kona on your next dealer visit. It just may change your mind and you may go home that night to see where you’ll have your Level 2 charger installed.

Pros
It’s a full EV
Torque and power to spare
Recharge at home (or for free if Courtney chargers are near by)
No more oil, belt, hoses to change

Cons
A bit noisy at highway speed
A lot of range, but requires planning if taking road trips
Standard sound system include CarPlay/Android Auto, but is just OK in my book
Tires could be stickier or car could have ‘smarts’ to limit tire spin

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JAMES A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
A great electric vehicle
The vehicle has a ton of good features and has very good distance for the cost. The Kona EV is very quiet while driving, it handles very nicely, the level 2 charging is relatively quick, it supports DC fast charging, there's decent space in the back for groceries, the headlights are pretty bright which is good for driving at night, the automatic features on the premium model are effective and make the driving experience better. The only 2 complaints that I really have about it are the wireless charging bay does not have cooling in it and the back seats have less leg room than I would like. Frankly the leg room back there is a little tight. It's very comfortable for the driver and the passenger in the front though.

Pros
A lot of nice features
Very good distance for the cost for an electric vehicle
Good night driving experience
Better than expected performance given the cost

Cons
Little leg room in the back
Does require a lot of time to charge if using level one charger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TONI M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2019
Best Car ever
I love my new electric car, the Hyundai Kona has all the features I wanted as well as looks great. Its comfortable and calming to drive. Everyone that gets in the car is amazed at how quiet the car is. I always get asked is it running?

Pros
Its electric and I do not need gas or oil changes.

Cons
I may need to stop for charging on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
LEONARD N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Fun to drive
Totally love the overall design of the vehicle. everything is Conveniently located. The performance of the EV in eco mode is far better than I had thought it could be. The car is very responsive and I love the safety features. My favorite thing above all else with the car is the ability to remotely cool my car before I have to get in it to drive.

Pros
great styling, controls are easy to use. love that there are so many pre sets for the sound system.

Cons
no navigation system and no power seat for the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TIMOTHY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is a great car!! It is my first electric vehicle (EV) and I sincerely wish I had bought one much earlier. The decision to buy Hyundai is a surprise. Before starting to look I expected to buy a BMW, but the Kona blew me away.

Pros
Miles range and economy

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CAITLIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
LOVE!
I am a toxicologist, so I know all of the junk we put into the atmosphere on a daily basis. I LOVE that my new car doesn't emit ANYTHING into the air - and shows me how much CO2 I'm saving from going into the air. The car drives like a dream and has an excellent initial acceleration. It took a bit to get used to the regeneration driving, but after I did, I hate driving without it. There's also a mode that you can drive in (auto hold) where once you brake, you can let your foot off the brake and your car will stay there (if at a light).

Cons
The legroom in the backseat isn't that great, but it's completely fine in the front!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my new EV Kona and will never buy a gas car again. The AV system is easy to use and the Car Play is very functional. The car is very quick and fun to drive. The hatchback design is very functional.

Pros
Great batter range. Quality functionality

Cons
Base model seat adjustments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
Great Vehicle
Excellent all electric vehicle. Rebates available from 4 agencies which reduce the overall cost to comparable gas vehicles. Saving hundreds of dollars each month. Special rate for electricity makes the savings even greater. Range greater than advertised when using the economy drive mode. Daily round trips of 75 miles. Only charging every third day. Charging at home costs about 3 cents per mile.Lifetime battery warranty sealed the deal for me.Took a cross country 600 mile trip. DC rapid chargers easy to find. Cost a little higher than charging at home. Trip averaged 9 cents per mile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LYNN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Kona EV
Very pleased with this car so far. I drive less than 100 miles a week and have been able to use the portable charger to replenish the battery. (after last nights charge the car said the range was 327 miles). Living in a state that has incentives for EV purchase has helped with the price. The life time battery is a plus. Driving this car in "SPORT" mode is a lot of fun on twisty country back roads. For the slog into town to run errands the "ECO" mode helps save charge in the battery. There are no steel rims available yet for mounted snows. Have not driven the car in the winter, so I can not say much about how long a charge lasts in Vermont weather. A test drive is worth the time.

Pros
At about 3 cents a mile to drive this car is a winner right away. I love driving past the gas stations....and not even thinking about having to stop. The environmentally friendly aspects are a plus.

Cons
Will need to install a level two charger in our garage to be sure we could use it multiple days for longer drives. Once it is installed, it will be more convenient than stopping at the gas station. Hopefully, by the time this vehicle needs a new battery, the original will be repurposed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
We Love This Car!
Went from a Honda CR-V to the Kona EV. The kids even love this car! We did lose some space going to this car but all of the features and what we are saving on gas are well worth it. My husband has an hour and thirty minute commute every day which was a huge reason for going electric, it’s been amazing for that.

Pros
No more gas or oil changes!

Cons
You lose some space with this car but it’s not that bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RAJENDRA W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2019
Hyundai Kona EV
See my survey please. If you must, Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel economy are good points. Overall I have no issue and can recommend this car to my friends and family.
Exterior can be more stylish.
Android Auto for navigation is very poor.
Charging network is not easy as Level 3 charger is not easy to find.

Pros
Ride, handling, performance, range, fuel, economy

Cons
Exterior can be more stylish, Android Auto for navigation is very poor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JON S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2019
Love the Kona EV!
Love the Kona EV I'm leasing! Range is awesome, as is the instant power of the electric motor. Even the base model has a lot of awesome technology & features. Can't beat the warranties. So glad I got an EV, love my Hyundai!

Pros
Great warranty, lifetime battery warranty, instant power, a lot of safety & technology features even in the base model

Cons
Minimal rear leg room, not much cargo space, speakers are not great, especially the rear ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
BRAIN A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Buy it if you can!!
Electric cars are the future. The folks at Kona have really worked through all the flaws in their competitor's cars and put out an amazing vehicle. I could not afford a Tesla Model S or X which are the gold standard in electric cars, but I think my Kona blows the Model 3 out of the water especially when it comes to build quality. I love this car and so do my friends and family. Both my sons think it is really cool to drive and they're right, It is a blast. Regenerative braking and Smart cruise control are my two favorite features. My only complaints are so nit-picky the only correct response to them would be an eye-roll. BTW, if you do get a Kona, check out EVDoubler on amazon. The guys at the dealership recommended it and it is worth every penny to cut your charging time in half without spending much money.

Pros
We call it "the spaceship" So fun to drive and so much higher build quality than the Tesla 3.

Cons
The front grill is a little polarizing. I didnt like it at first, but now it's kinda grown on me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOHN P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2019
Love my Kone EV
So comfortable, fun to drive, zippy, lots of cool features and best of all I am not burning petroleum!
Everyone stares at my EV when I drive by because of its cool sound.
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Shaunda H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
Oustanding electric vehicle
The Kona EV is the best decision we've ever made. Hyundai is right that the Kona EV is serious business. It's a good looking, modern vehicle and the performance blows my mind. The performance capabilities, speed, torque and handling are superior. Love all the high tech features that are compatible with the iPhone. My only regret was why didn't I go electric sooner? The answer is I waited for the best. Thank you Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 56 of 56 in total