2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(112 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JD
JEFFREY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/06/2019
If you like the smell of fertilizer this car is for you
Bought this car based in great reviews. My car emits a noxious chemical odor like fertilizer through the vents. Tried working with dealer and told it is the heated seats!!! Makes no sense. Also tried asking Hyundai for help received no assistance. Will not buy Hyundai again as I am on my own with a car that makes me sick.

Pros
Nice looking vehicle, great acceleration

Cons
Cannot drive due to noxious interior odor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MARCIA Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/09/2019
Disappointment that the car I truly enjoyed turned into a lemon
I purchased the 2019 Kona EV with great enthusiasm. My initial experience was very positive. I enjoyed excellent performance and handling, with ample acceleration even in the ECO setting. Unfortunately, when fall weather got cool, I discovered that the heater did not work. Even worse, the service department was unable to diagnose and confirm the defect without leaving the car overnight to assistance from regional service engineers. Ultimately, it was determined that a defective part could NOT be replaced, as the part is not available. Hyundai has indicated they will be buying the car back from me. While I am glad that they have committed to refunding my purchase, the time I have lost dealing with this situation has been very disappointing. I hope they can address this new model/production quality issue and that future purchasers can enjoy the pluses of the Kona EV without the problems I have experienced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/10/2019
Allow us to reopen the case we had with you and review your concern once more. Please expect a call shortly from our specialist. Thank you. ^cc

RK
RONNIE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/06/2019
Needs improvement
Good entry level ev but still needs lots of improvement mileage low when using heater and low when using AC they also say will charge faster than what it really does. Also front collision detection camera keeps acting up in the snow
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRISTL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/30/2019
Kona Electric
It appears to be a well made utility vehicle, but is neither charming to look at, nor to drive. It handles like a very heavy vehicle. The view through the rear window is poor, especially in the vertical direction. It was delivered with a privacy rear window, which was a safety hazard. Vehicles coming from behind could not be seen on a sunny day if the driver was wearing sunglasses, and at night, only if the approaching vehicle from the rear was using its high beams. The window was replaced by the purchaser at a cost to him of $621.

Pros
The electric drive is very nice.

Cons
The vehicle feels heavy to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
Kim T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/20/2019
All Electric Kona Ultimate
Being able to pass the gas station for months now has been liberating. I feel better about the 160 miles a day I commute because I'm 100% electric. It's not an environmental issue for me, it's a money issue. Skipping the pump and qualifying for four years of HOV lane access is what made this decision easy. There were a few growing pains in the beginning, worrying about how and where I'd plug in but after working out all of the details, I'm very happy with this car. The Kona electric is fun to drive, gets up to speed quickly, and is easy to park.

Pros
electric, quick, compact, look good, nice electronics options

Cons
seats aren't super comfortable,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KIN L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/24/2019
Kona EV
New car. Give me some time to experience it. No more trips to gas station is the main reason I bought this car.
No more tune up, spark plugs, oil change, transmission oil change, no more engine noise.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/03/2019
Great first step
Hyundai did a great job with this. Hope they add all-wheel drive in the future and increase range will be great. The current range is perfect for a city dweller that likes to get out of town. Handling is inspiring on dry but lacks in wet. I believe this could be fixed with tires. A programmable driver seat would be fantastic for two drivers.

Pros
Great range. Fun to drive.

Cons
No programmable driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/06/2019
A good car
I like the car. I would prefer not to have the sunroof. I would prefer more cargo space and less wind/road noise. The additional cost to get navigation is outrageous. Front and back adjustment of the headrests would be nice. Existing headre ssts are too far forward to be comfortable for my wife.

Pros
Runs on electrons

Cons
Noisy interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
TOMAS N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/12/2019
2019 Kona EV Ultimate
I love most everything about this car. It's good looking and fun to drive. Very disappointed in the cabin heater, it just doesn't work. I hope Hyundai addresses this issue as it mars an otherwise awesome electric car.

Pros
Gets more range per charge (280) than advertised. Plenty of acceleration and fun to drive. It's a sharp looking car.

Cons
The cabin heater takes 30 minutes before it blows warm air.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/31/2019
Kona EV
All and all this is a great looking little car, it's fun to drive and has an above average sound system. I really feel the interior design is kind of cheesy and I think a larger selection of wheels and tires should be made available. The moon roof in my vehicle makes far too much noise when opened.The Black Paint is very attractive. and it need more luxury features such as folding exterior mirrors and a passenger side electric seat, also an A/C vent is badly needed for the back seat passengers, and some kind of electric rear hatch opener

Pros
Great EV

Cons
wheel base too short.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
Joomo Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/03/2019
Kona EV
Great battery range. Fun to drive with nice styling. Good handling. Ride comfort is adequate and as expected for a compact SUV. Love the android auto function. So far no significant rattling but it's only been 2 1/2 months. The lift gate issue needs to be fixed. Wish it had seat memory function and one touch operation on all windows. The interior needs to look more premium - for a similar price point it doesn't match the Tesla model 3 which I seriously considered getting if it wasn't for the higher federal tax credit on the Hyundai. Overall I like the car minus the things I mentioned above.

Pros
Battery range. Fun to drive. Styling. Android auto. Auto hold feature. Charging port in the front of the vehicle.

Cons
Lift gate has to be slammed shut. No seat/mirror memory function. No power lift gate. No one touch function on rear windows. Too much hard plastic. Inside noise too loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
MILLICENT E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/04/2019
Kona Electric
Mostly great
00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KWANG C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/30/2019
Owner
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearingPlease replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing
Please replace my kona ev’s bad hub bearing

Cons
Defect wheel hub bearing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KENNY W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/13/2019
First timer purchasing a EV
The Kona EV is fun to drive and have neat features, right now I would only rank it as a good car but it could be a great car if they can fix the little stuff from here and there and lower the price tag!

Pros
Acceleration, style, design, smooth handling and ride,

Cons
Tires are low quality; the placement of the charging part and design of the charging port cover; the placement of the driver park reverse and neutral buttons; the nitro fill inflation for the tires which means I can’t inflate myself when needed to adjust the tire pressure; the center console design and functionality; The back seat needs more leg room; the design of the front seat could be better so i won’t bump the back of head to the head rest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LUIS L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/05/2019
Great performance and efficiency but...
Love my Kona EV, but if for some bad luck you happen to get in an accident. Expect to have the vehicle in the shop for ever! After 2 months of my accident it finally seems that the back ordered part will be finally here.
That is very disappointing, I wonder is that’s a common thing, since this is the first time I get in an accident in a brand new car. At this point my car has been longer in the shop that with me. I do love the little car thou, great style, lots of goodies and comfort and amazing performance!

Pros
Efficient and good performance, nice looking car that turns heads. Lots of safety features and entertainment features.

Cons
Repairs might take forever, a little too plasticky inside. Not a lot of cargo room, and leg room in the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PETER S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/02/2019
Bert and Ernie
Bert and Ernie, thats what Road and Track said about the comparison between the Bolt and the Kona. It seems like the styling look was attempting for an SUV look but it tastes like an econocar to me. I would vote for lower overall body with a lower coefficient of drag, and 60 series tires instead of 55 series for pothole protection. I am guessing that the tech features are required to sell cars but they make me nervous. The batteries are warranteed for life but the car is a travelling computer and will it still work in 15 years?

Pros
EV with 250 mile range. Available with level 2 and 3 charge capability. Good reliability prediction

Cons
Boxy shape that is not too efficient at highway speeds. Too much electronic fun going on that I don't believe will work in 15 years. the tires seem too low for back roads in Vermont.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
STEPHEN E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/22/2019
Kona Electric over Tesla (This time)
Fast, nimble, real cheap to drive, great features. Has everything I'd need and then some.
I was signed up to get a model Y and decided on the Kona Electric for three basic reasons.
1. Tesla tax credits dropped below the threshold of making it the cheaper car. I got a $12,500 in tax incentives opposed to zero (next year) for the Model Y.
2. The life time warranty for the battery. This is better than Tesla.
3. If I need to get it fixed, Hyundai has an established support system.
4. My old car was costing me too much money in service and gas.

Pros
A blast to drive with quick acceleration, on the rails cornering, very comfortable, lots of tech. ...LOVE the vented seats.

Cons
Traction control has difficulty on powered cornering. (Inside front tire losses traction and spins)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
AJAY C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/10/2020
kona review
Relatively satisfied with the purchase so far. Features like smart cruise control should have been offered in limited.
Lane assist is quite flaky, it gets often disengaged with slightly tighter curves.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
GHULAM MUHAMMA A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Reasonable Subcompact SUV
The Kona EV is a very reasonable subcompact SUV. Its a front wheel drive, being an EV it has instant torque and with a 258 miles range it is very adequate for a daily commuter. Handles very well at corners. Seating height is good. I bough it because Its an EV, however it lacks certain features that should have been standard in at least Limited trim if not the base SEL trim. I drive mostly on highways so a dynamic radar cruise control is very crucial and reduces the burden on driver. The Ultimate trim has dynamic radar cruise control with stop and go assist but in Limited trim its only a basic cruise control. Also, the vehicle came with only a 120V Charge connector/ Mobile charger that would take almost 60 to 70 hours to charge it from 0 to 100%. The charger should have been 120/240V rating to allow a faster charge rate. I had to shred another $500 to get a 240V charge connector/ Mobile charger. Please do not fall for YOUTUBE reviews these people do to make money out of viewership and skip critical information. Go test drive it and you may like it like I did.

Pros
Its an EV.
Take advantage of the Federal and State Tax credits.

Cons
Ancient cruise control technology in Limited trim. (same perhaps in SEL trim). If you need safety spend another 4Gs. (Unjustified)
No 240V charger for faster home charging.
Excessive wind noise (taking into account it is an EV). It still has more wind noise.
Very very annoying artificial engine sound maker.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRENDAN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/05/2020
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
We really like the Kona EV. The convenience of charging at home rather than taking the time to go to the gas station is tremendous. We use it primarily for the local stuff so range is no factor. Have completed a couple of 150 mile round trips to the airport no bother. Great to be driving around at 120 mpgE.
LED low beam headlights seem to be too bright for other motorists.

Pros
Convenience of charging at home. No oil changes. 120 mpgE.

Cons
Annoyed oncoming motorists think we're driving around with the high beams on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 112 in total