2020
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(49 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KB
KEITH B.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2021
202 Kona EV
First new car urchase, first EV. Still learning the vehicle, leased with it so far. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHEN L.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
A Car
Its a car; it does what it is supposed to do. But the factory's choice of tires is horrible. Doubt this will make it into any press release. You have a minimum character count of 200? That's ridiculous.

Pros
It's a car

Cons
The factory tires are horrible. Am considering replacing at less than 5k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HF
Howard F.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
Kona
Although I’ve only owned it for a couple of weeks, I am very happy with the Kona EV. I guess I’m supposed to fill in the blanks here because my Minimum amount of characters are supposed to be 250. I wish I could have gotten more for my trade-in but that’s life.

Pros
It’s a little smaller than what I’m used to but still a great value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Ron P.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/31/2020
A little disappointed
Please read the Pros and Cons. Love the fast acceleration but it's worthless if the tires don't grip the ground and I worry that I don't have all-wheel-drive. Sound system started out great but now my driver door rattles when the bass goes low. Not to mention my car is in need of towing to the dealership right now...

Pros
Loved it in the beginning. Love the fast acceleration that you would expect with an electric car but the handling is not great as it's not AWD. Then the problems started...see Cons

Cons
3 recalls in less than year. "Check EV System" light rendered my car undriveable. As I type this, my car is scheduled to be towed to the dealership to find out what's wrong. The manual was "helpful" in that it directs me to take the undriveable car to the dealership. The are no other instructions. Perhaps it was deliberably lit to keep me from harm? Who knows?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SEAN S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2020
Second Kona electric
The Hyundai Kona electric is a great vehicle that gets great range on a single charge (332 miles between charges) and the vehicle is so well built. The vehicle also handles extremely well on the highways and in the city. I couldn’t be happier

Pros
Safe, comfortable, easy to use and fun to drive

Cons
No fog lights and no all wheel drive is available on the fog lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2020
Live my Kona EV
It’s a peppy, fun car with all the add-ons I need. I love that it’s electric, and the 200+ mile range is more than enough for my 45-mile one-way commute. Fueling at home is simple. And it’s low-maintenance.

Pros
Nimble, economical, reliable, good safety features.

Cons
Practical, rather than elegant. Trunk isn’t large.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
HUY VAN M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/21/2020
Car issues with Noise, Window open Noise and button function layout
The car is good for what is intended use (commuter car). The ideal drive would be short or speed below 60 mph. It is fun and save on gas. Few things that needs to improve to make it a better experience with the car.

Pros
Fun to drive
Save gas, uses electric drive
has good pickup
design and size of the car

Cons
Major wind vibration and noise when window is open during the drive.
Wind noise
Road noise
Drive/function buttons layout

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 12/21/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

CS
CAROL S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2020
A Fun Car to Drive
I love this car. Its fun to drive, quick and responsive, stylish and all electric. It plugs into my household electric outlet. I did not want a hybrid because that is 2 engines to maintain. This all electric car has no real maintenance. No oil change, tune ups, nada. This is my third Hyundai and I love their cars reliability and their warranties.

Pros
Really fun to drive, environmentally friendly, low cost fuel.

Cons
Its the middle model so it doesn't have some of extras, like a heated steering wheel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Roberta B.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/13/2020
Kona Electric
Don't have to buy gas, great performance, nice features. If you drive it a lot or often, you will need to plug it in often. The supplied charger charges at a very low capacity, but it will work until you can buy a faster one ($400-$700) With a better charger you will need an electrician to install a 220V outlet near your your vehicle. Also, if you plan on making a LONG trip, You may still need a fossil burning vehicle. Only time will tell concerning reliability.

Pros
Don't have to buy gas, great performance, nice features

Cons
If you drive it a lot or often, you will need to plug it in often. The supplied charger charges at a very low capacity, but it will work until you can buy a faster one ($400-$700) With a better charger you will need an electrician to install a 220V outlet near your your vehicle. Also, if you plan on making a LONG trip, You may still need a fossil burning vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dave J.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2020
Kona EV is all around GREAT!
The Kona EV is one of the best ways to help eliminate our dependency on fossil fuel. I wanted a car for urban transportation, and the Kona EV accomplishes this wonderfully, with no emissions and has a range of about 300 miles. This car is right sized, very comfortable, and very nicely styled. If you’re looking at another EV, do your research and you’ll likely end up with a Hyundai Motor Group vehicle.

Pros
Great range, easy to charge, comfortable, great vehicle safety features

Cons
Interior heating is slow, no power front passenger seat controls, but that is a 1st world problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Normajean S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2020
this is the electric car to get!
we researched all e-cars and all reviews pointed to the Kona. we drove it and fell in love. it is responsive, has power and a smooth ride. it has awesome features like heat and cooling seats. also love the app preheat feature so i can start my car and warm it before i take off for work. it’s roomy and very comfortable for drive and passengers. the storage space is smaller than our Tucson but still plenty of room for groceries and more! just test drive and you will see what i mean. the Kona is a great value and everything you need!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Simona P.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2020
The gold
Kona 2020 is very easy to drive, safe and comfortable. I would like that the next years production to have additional features such as air conditioning at the back seats and the mirror to self adjust when we backup. My best decision for 2020!

Pros
Comfortable and reliable

Cons
Need few more features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Margaret S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/01/2020
KONA EV - Great mileage
I was going to but a hybrid but then I saw this EV with up to 300 miles on a full charge!!!!! I did a quick about face. I wanted a smaller SUV that was quiet similar to the hybrid I previously had. This car is not totally silent, it does have a back ding when I am reverse, and there is a slight hum when I am in drive mode. I like that because I have totally been surprised by super silent cars. It has all the features I was accustomed to in my other Hyundai, it has a great warranty Additionaly it has great warranties and roadside assistance, good bye Triple A. On top of that I received a substantial rebate off of the purchase price. I am also busy applying for rebates from the State of CA and clean air rebates from SCE and local air quality boards.

Pros
I am happy with my car. It is not a luxury car but a car to zip around town in. I look forward to driving it and not worrying about the number of miles I use! I'm finding many parking lots with charging ports! Lots of great new safety features to get used too!

Cons
It doesn't have a remote trunk opener.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULINE M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2020
Best EV on the market today. More are needed in Colorado!
in the EV world, the Kona is stylish, comfortable and fun to drive. The regenerative braking is a bonus. Display is intuitive. HUD makes monitoring speed safe & easy. Controls illumination are impossible to see in daylight. Overall the Kona EV is the best car I have owned.

Pros
everything but controls illumination.

Cons
blue control illumination is impossible to see during daylight hours.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GREGORY R.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2020
2020 Kona EV - long range, more affordable, front wheel drive and lots of fun.
I care about our climate and was determined to buy an all electric car. But, I live in a rural place and need the kind of range that was only available from a luxury mark.
The Kona EV caught my attention with the outstanding range. I had my eye on a much more expensive electric brand, but when I compared features, warranty, availability, for the body type I need, I found Hyundai had put a lot of thought into this offering. I got everything I wanted in an all electric car for a lot less money, and my local dealer had every trim level and lots of colors to choose out of inventory. I didn't have to pay extra to get the color i wanted. The available tax credits did influence my decision to buy, but now that I've been driving the Kona EV for a while, I just think its the better buy.

Pros
The Kona EV is quiet, fast, and full of tech. The interior is very user friendly. I live in the mountains, and need the ground clearance and range this car offers.

Cons
The basic electic charger that comes with the car takes a good long time to charge the car. I top off every night, so it hasnt been an issue for me, but if you drive a lot,
you need to consider the added cost of installing a level 2 or 3 charger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DAVID W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2020
Excellent EV
The Kona EV checks nearly every box for a great car: comfort, build quality, features, and appearance. The fact that it's an EV elevates it even further. If you've never driven an EV, you should; the driving experience is very different from conventional cars - much smoother, typically much faster, and a lot more fun. The Kona is not an exception to this. I look forward to finding reasons to drive this car.

Pros
Range - EPA rated 279 miles. My driving has given a range from between 200 miles (freeway driving at 75mph) and 320 miles (driving around town at average 40mph). For a daily driver, the range is no issue, and for long road trips, you'll only need to stop every couple of hours to recharge.

Comfort - I've developed back issues from a previous car, and the comfort was one of the main drivers in getting a new car. The Kona is extraordinarily comfortable and supportive.

Driving - 98% single-pedal driving: accelerate, maintain speed, and decelerate all with one pedal. It's intuitive and easier than switching back and forth between brakes and accelerator, and the change in speed is very smooth. No gear changes. No hard breaking after coasting. You won't truly appreciate it until you've driven an EV.

Space - good amount of storage space as well as head/leg room for both driver and passengers.

Cons
Only one worth mentioning: Rear seats don't fold flat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
Cass N.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
Love this car!
I don't actually love cars, but this Kona EV? It continues to impress and surprise me in really good ways. It's so smart! The charge lasts a long time, the ride is dreamy, the sound system divine. I feel very confident that this EV is well thought out, designed and engineered. Couldn't be happier!

Pros
safety features, pick up, fun to drive, sound system, GPMe, super intelligent design top to bottom.

Cons
On the pricey side, but then again, full of features!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEVEN R.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/11/2020
Great efficient vehicle and great for our environment.
Excellent value for a vehicle that meets all your needs for comfort, safety and helping the environment. A test response should be a minimum of 200 characters which is ridiculous so I am adding this to meet those requirements

Cons
Poor selection of colors for the Ulitamite

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
ATAC T.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/09/2020
Good solid EV
I leased this EV because the EV technology is progressing so fast that I didn't want to commit long time and try newer technologies in coming years. I am very satisfied with its performance except interior road noise. It is not bad but it can be better. In summary, this is a good solid, fun to drive, good range EV with given pricing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TO
TERRENCE O.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2020
Great Vehicle!
Hyundai was my 3rd choice as I was doing research. I was looking for a PHEV (Rav4 Prime & Ford Escape). Those two brands struggled to meet my needs or price point. I took a look at the Kona EV and with dealer price and rebates, this vehicle was the most affordable of the 3 and BONUS, it full electric!
My dealership experience was the best I have ever had and I have owned many new cars. I love the Kona and knowing that they have the best warranty in the business, treat their customers with respect, I will be a return customer. Terry O
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 49 in total